Training Saints preseason 2026

Had a big day yesterday and enjoyed the distractions at times with the excellent reporting by stavro#4 and Joffaboy. Well done, lads!

In terms of being predictably good, I think we can all agree that--especially with the new recruits--our defence and midfield will be predictably very good/elite. However, the forward line I can't say yet is predictably very good/elite--doesn't mean I can't see it being gangbusters, though. Alot of that also has to do with big Max.

In terms of the trackwatchers in particular, how do we see the forward line functioning at the moment? I imagine with the rule changes that the game will speed up so reliance on the big KPFs may lessen.

I just loved the periods in '97, 2004-2005 and 2009-2010 where we had at least two power forwards. Assuming Max is back, is the second going to be Marshall/TDK? Neither I have to say has shown they are guaranteed 2-3 goals a game.

Had a big day yesterday and enjoyed the distractions at times with the excellent reporting by stavro#4 and Joffaboy. Well done, lads!

In terms of being predictably good, I think we can all agree that--especially with the new recruits--our defence and midfield will be predictably very good/elite. However, the forward line I can't say yet is predictably very good/elite--doesn't mean I can't see it being gangbusters, though. Alot of that also has to do with big Max.

In terms of the trackwatchers in particular, how do we see the forward line functioning at the moment? I imagine with the rule changes that the game will speed up so reliance on the big KPFs may lessen.
Changed your first nappy yet?

Yep you guys were spot on re Ryan. Preseason training, struggled with the running before Xmas. Had a chat to Lyon, must have worked his arse off over the break as he came back a bit leaner.
But his game day work between the 50's and his field kicking was a real eye catcher.
As far as Ainsworth goes. We have TDK, Marshall, Keeler, and the best ruck prospect I have seen at the Saints since Spider Everitt in Dodson. Even if we trade Marshall, I think we are covered for ruckmen.
C’mon….everyone know vertical stripes are more flattering 😉 😂

I did in fact--it was the epic black tar poo. I tell you what, I never thought anything would top a Saint's flag--but I think I did yesterday!
You haven’t experienced a saints flag.. so hold that thought.

In all seriousness. Becoming a dad is unrivalled. Best experience of my life x2.

Enjoy the journey mate.

Interesting point regarding Stocker. So he actually only asks for one year contracts?

Also I want to ask...if Travaglia was taken at pick 58 rather than pick 8 but his performance at training and on gameday was identical to what we've seen so far, would he be on that list?
Trav’s one year in, and a stickman.
I’m definitely not writing him off.
Dalrymple has not stuffed up yet.

Oskar Ainsworth pulled a hamstring in December
Recovered
Then pulled/tore his hamstring again recently
3 months? on the sidelines
Is set to sign with Saints vfl team though.

Reckon we should put Tex Wanganeen in the Vfl team also

Then we could maybe pick up one of them in the MSD.

Or we train-on another SSP player? with 3 weeks to go until the cut-off.

Wonder if we could call up Sam Ainsworth- Norwood Ruck/Forward
Was unlucky not to be picked up in the draft/s last year.
Was U18 All-Australian Ruckman.
Currently only 198cm though, so probably more a forward in the Afl.
Has played back also.
And has a good set of wheels on him for a 198cm player & tidy ball use also.
Looks like a young Carl Ditterich with the blonde locks.

I would have given Harry Lemmey another go. Mates with Nas too I think. Moved back to SA to play SANFL next year now. He was actually good in the VFL and got Riewoldt comparisons at the draft but similar size to Sam Ainsworth.

Might as well proclaim it now, Keeler is my current favourite in our squad and thats among a lot of players I absolutely love. If he puts it together, he will be HUGE for this club. I pray we give him all the time he needs and he finds his mojo at St Kilda, and we keep him here.

I've got front seat on the "Psycho" Keeler bandwagon, stopping no stations, express to the promised land!

He moves so sweetly for big guy. He reminds me of young Buddy in his movement. He just glides across the ground. Seeing him rip down marks against some absolute guns makes it feel like he might be going to take the next step.

It will be funny if he's holding a fit Max King out of the side by years end. The potential to make him a 2 meter tall pressure forward is there IMO. An absolutely unique type of player. Tackling slow tall defenders as they try to leave the area.

Just watched the training footage. Keeler beating Marshall in the air a couple of times was impressive. Ryan seems to have pulled his finger out and has an AFL physique which is very promising - hopefully he can improve his output compared to recent years. Tauru is significantly bigger. Caminiti is looking like he'll be tough to beat in defence after actually having time to train in the role. Zak Jones seems to have had a growth spurt.

Ryan has been playing high half forward like Max Hall. He wasn't a stay at home small forward in the last couple of seasons. Which was possibly because he was wasted in a terrible side camping waiting for scraps but HHF is a position like quality rebound running defenders that you can't live without. Having a couple of very good ones allows us to move one on ball for periods. He will set up a lot of goals like Max Hall did last year. Also quite a good pressure player.

The science of drinking beer.

I always reasoned that the pot was an ideal size for an Aussie beer. Best consumed ice cold, and therefore you want to be able to drain the glass before it gets warm.

A British ale, on the other hand, served at cellar temperature, is still an enjoyable drop as it approaches room temperature, so does okay in the larger pint glass.

I have never been able to 'chug' a beer, so I miss the pot. If I'm drinking a lager I want it cold. I don't like Pale Ales, which are currently 'on trend'. Do they still go down okay once they start to get warm?

No they are shit warm, you just need to drink faster. You can usually still get a pot at most pubs. Usually slightly more cost effective to go for pints.

I’ve been trying to put my finger on why he struggled so much when at CHf yesterday and I keep coming back to the fact he doesn’t jump at the ball.

He leads directly at the kicker. But when Keeler came across he didn’t jump into or over him.

I've been saying for years that he's terrible camped forward. He's great when he can move up with the play and drift into space with no-one on him. He's really ideally a floating utility that can camp across HB and then run forward with the play to provide options ahead of the ball or be a link up. He's quite good at distributing the ball by hand and can give quick no-look passes to players running past which is rare for big blokes.

Given the extra conditioning work Ryan had to do pre-chirstmas, it might not be a stretch to say he's entering the season fitter than he has in a while.

If he's known for going to another level once games start, it's exciting to think what he might have another level to his game with that increased fitness.

The motivation must be sky high too. Coming to a club with momentum and learning a new game plan, meeting new team-mates etc must be a massive revitalisation. Playing in a bottom side with nothing on the horizon must be hard to get out of bed for. He must be champing at the bit for the footy to start for the first time in ages.

No they are shit warm, you just need to drink faster. You can usually still get a pot at most pubs. Usually slightly more cost effective to go for pints.
I kinda recall Schooners being a NSW thing
Pints being a English/Irish thing
Pots & Jugs being a Vic thing
Probably wrong though?
There is a 'Middie' too

I'm curious why we overlooked Murphy Reid (twice). His form in the U18s seemed better than Trav's.

We weren't alone. Reid looked outstanding but people marked him down for being a footballer over an athlete. Lyon wants run and he was never going to be that player. He's like an upmarket Hunter Clark. Trav is an adaptable runner with good height and a rounded game. His assets are good and he should have been a safe bet. He looked more of a safe bet than Tauru who could have been anything or nothing.

At the end of the day we just need him to develop away in the VFL until he is ready to push Sinclair out of the backline. If he doesn't work out we also have Hasty in development. I see both was potentially Sam Gilbert types. They don't need to be stars, just valuable players.

I'm curious why we overlooked Murphy Reid (twice). His form in the U18s seemed better than Trav's.
Because U18s form doesn't necessarily transfer to AFL upside

Reid dominated U18s as a midfielder but he won the RS off the high half-forward role - the same high half-forward role that Max Hall dominated in for us. Would both of them have thrived in the same side?

The knock on him was that his ceiling was a Gryan Miers (brilliant player but HFs usually aren't worth top 10 picks IMO) because he was too slow/small/unathletic etc for full time mid. This theory is still yet to be proven wrong

I might sound stubborn but I'm still ok with the Trav pick over Reid for now

We weren't alone. Reid looked outstanding but people marked him down for being a footballer over an athlete. Lyon wants run and he was never going to be that player. He's like an upmarket Hunter Clark. Trav is an adaptable runner with good height and a rounded game. His assets are good and he should have been a safe bet. He looked more of a safe bet than Tauru who could have been anything or nothing.

At the end of the day we just need him to develop away in the VFL until he is ready to push Sinclair out of the backline. If he doesn't work out we also have Hasty in development. I see both was potentially Sam Gilbert types. They don't need to be stars, just valuable players.
In hindsight we should have split one of those picks, many here were saying to do that. I reckon if we did though we still might have taken Trav - considering we picked him first.
Tauru, Murphy and Shanahan would have been A++.

Tauru is not playing VFL. I have no idea why soo many on here have that weird idea. He's a future superstar of the club who already more than carries his weight. He is not playing 2s.
Yeah unless he’s right off the boil I agree, and the fact he can be swung forward or back will also help ensure he keeps getting picked.

Could also envisage him being played on the wing occasionally, like Roo did for a season late.

He’d be a serious weapon in the air either floating back, or pushing hard forward.

You haven’t experienced a saints flag.. so hold that thought.

In all seriousness. Becoming a dad is unrivalled. Best experience of my life x2.

Enjoy the journey mate.
They are the greatest teachers of life you will ever have.