Training 2026 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

I seem to remember Elliot destroying his confidence down back with the help of some favourable umpiring. Not the first defender for that to happen to.
Zac is NOT a one on one defender,he was destroyed that night.He is a running half back handball receiver kick long out of defence or pinpoint a pass player.

He ‘can’ play midfield and is a very good small forward.Extremely versatile but injury prone as well.

Zac is NOT a one on one defender,he was destroyed that night.He is a running half back handball receiver kick long out of defence or pinpoint a pass player.

He ‘can’ play midfield and is a very good small forward.Extremely versatile but injury prone as well.

Am I the only that thought he had developed into a dangerous medium/small forward and brilliant at delivering the ball inside 50.
Don’t understand why we’re moving him back…again.
Zac is an underrated talent. Reckon too many people judge him harshly simply because of his contract.

Am I the only that thought he had developed into a dangerous medium/small forward and brilliant at delivering the ball inside 50.
Zac is an underrated talent. Reckon too many people judge him harshly simply because of his contract.
I also prefer him as a forward. He kicks goals, can hit targets going inside 50 and the role allows him to take on quick stints in the middle to add some speed to the midfield mix.

As a half back, he’s serviceable but unfortunately his defensive work leaves a lot to be desired. Collingwood targeted him by manipulating a match up against Elliott who dragged him to the goal square. Other teams will try to manipulate similar match ups which means it’s on our coaches to not let this happen - ie ensure someone like Cowan or Newman who can defend ends up on the smaller deep threat. Big game day coaching test if Zac plays back.

I think it’s a math problem as much as anything.

Cripps more forward
Hayward
Ainsworth
Byrne
Kemp returns
Jagga splitting time HF/mid

Charlie out

We’ve brought in 2 specialists in Ainsworth and Byrne who do the small forward job. ZW is clear best 23 for me and I’d be staggered to see him play VFL. But him being a smaller “swing man” might be where he’s most valuable

The fanbase clearly has to stop being so outraged and precious about everything the club says and does
Bout time the fanbase grew up and matured. It's really embarrassing seeing grown ass adults going off like absolute flogs.

It's a really bad look and is a terrible example for our younger supporters growing up and thinking this is normal behaviour.

Bout time the fanbase grew up and matured. It's really embarrassing seeing grown ass adults going off like absolute flogs.

It's a really bad look and is a terrible example for our younger supporters growing up and thinking this is normal behaviour.
They can start by banning the idjots who have become experts at bad mouthing the CLub on social media- the bloke that made that video changed hsi mind teh next time he went to training - total floggery posted him way too poften and he isnt alone out there either - entitled bunch of nuffies on youtoob

I get frustrated with him because by the time he's played a few games on the trot and gotten some form, he gets injured again. Then the cycle repeats. You only see gimples of what he's capable of.

They can start by banning the idjots who have become experts at bad mouthing the CLub on social media- the bloke that made that video changed hsi mind teh next time he went to training - total floggery posted him way too poften and he isnt alone out there either - entitled bunch of nuffies on youtoob
I'm talking more bout the flogs at games. The ones absolutely ripping into players and coaches after a loss.

I seem to remember Elliot destroying his confidence down back with the help of some favourable umpiring. Not the first defender for that to happen to.
+1

They overrated that one bad day. Made a lifelong call out of it and one of the free kicks wasnt there. Compare that to Carroll who had a similar disastrous game last year allowing in multiple goals while laughing.

Easily our best distributor off half back. With Carroll and Saad fighting for second spot. Saad has elite kicking but 3+ years show his kicking just doesnt end up in goal chains much.

We have 3 critical areas to solve. Elite kicking off half back, poor defensive midfielder transition to stop goals and the defenders stopping goals without the help of 18 players in the defensive 50 helping.

Zac is my choice for kicking off half back until we recruit an elite qtrback. We dont solve the midfield issue with Cripps playing with Hewett. We solve some of the defensive issues with Dean maturing in 2 years time.

Well said JaB. The bloke big notes himself as being a die hard Blues supporter, then proceeds to throw us under the bus.

Reckon he has some serious regrets since posting the video - would have gone into the foetal position once Cornes brought it up in the media and mentioned his name on national radio. Club would no doubt be filthy on him - they see these 'content creators' as some form of opposition, ol' mate Bucky will be right in their crosshairs.

It's kind of bizarre that the best Youtube Carlton training videos are posted by a Tigers supporter - GREAT vision, zero commentary.

Reckon there are a few on this board throwing that fan under the bus too. In the same video he had plenty of positive stuff to say about the latter part of training / match sim. And that's before we even consider his other videos etc. Of course, all of that gets ignored when the media gets hold of something and just repeats the most critical minute or so over and over.

I might not have been quite as harsh as he was about the poor patch of training, but he's absolutely not to blame for the way some in the media (and frankly some on this board) have thrown away the context as if he had nothing else to say aside from that one critical minute.

The rule changes affect all 3 of these. We needed to find or move in another athletic ruckman with mobility and once again I feel we have fallen behind in the future direction of the game. Hopefully the VFL ruckman (who shall remain nameless) is still with us.
Centre bounces will only enhance athletic & clever ruckman somewhat, particularly when direct clearances are impacted through tap work…
Stoppage all round the ground it’s all very much same same…
If we need a mobile ruck, we have O'Keeffe, but from my perspective the key issue is how much leaping will be required at the centre bounce now, and the impact that will have on the mobility of a given ruck.

I get frustrated with him because by the time he's played a few games on the trot and gotten some form, he gets injured again. Then the cycle repeats. You only see gimples of what he's capable of.
And sometimes it’s only a niggle / precautionary that rears up. Right to go next week.

If we need a mobile ruck, we have O'Keeffe, but from my perspective the key issue is how much leaping will be required at the centre bounce now, and the impact that will have on the mobility of a given ruck.
I know Soapy has relayed that the club thinks that O’Keeffe is considered more foward than ruckman, I’m more inclined to him becoming a better ruckman who can play foward once he develops and fills out…

Like the kid, atm shows he possesses plenty of natural aggression & hunger for the contest, not a natural goal kicking KPF but provides a good contest while displaying nice speed & athleticism for his size…

Contested markiing and rucking positioning/tap work need to keep improving…

interesting to hear different takes on content creators, I agree there’s a certain level of fervor and waffling from that pushes most channels from insightful into superfluous.

I wanted to give a shout out to the Saba Show, who does general opinion content that I find very informative. He also has for very insightful and very well produced post game analysis. Would recommend a watch for anyone who haven’t before.

Elliott is a hard opponent. He's elite in the air and on the ground. Can't leave him or he will get a run and jump at a ball coming and and mark it. Have to be super onto him when the ball hits the ground. Williams is not the best defender when it comes to strong overhead players. This is more of a job for someone like Newman of one of our third tall types. Saad is a little the same. They are genuine half backs and not as comfortable when it comes to playing the fullback line.

We have just been in a shit situation the last few seasons with injuries to half backs and young players not being ready for AFL level football.

With the 5th bench spot, having that taken by a player who can play both ends and a little midfield is great. Williams is the one who comes to mind for this spot.

I'm talking about that particular game, if your a back man, your a back man. You need awareness of where your opponent is as well as where the ball is coming from. Elliot is no slouch, that's for sure, but I would back Williams for leg speed. Williams was so preoccupied by Elliott he wasn't watching the ball carrier. He would turn and watch Elliott, which gave Elliott the time to give him a shove and run to the ball drop.

Instead, they left Williams there too long and didn't correct the situation quick enough which destroyed him mentally for that game. Agree he would be an excellent 5th as he ages but still good enough to cause headaches for the opposition.

interesting to hear different takes on content creators, I agree there’s a certain level of fervor and waffling from that pushes most channels from insightful into superfluous.

I wanted to give a shout out to the Saba Show, who does general opinion content that I find very informative. He also has for very insightful and very well produced post game analysis. Would recommend a watch for anyone who haven’t before.

This kid is good - should be on our coaching panel 👍

Agree but Ainsworth and Haywood have taken his spot and given the club chased these two they won't be making way for Zac.

at least the club has recognised that his skills and versatility are still worth using though. Tbh i'd have him at half back before Saad these days.

Agree but Ainsworth and Haywood have taken his spot and given the club chased these two they won't be making way for Zac.

at least the club has recognised that his skills and versatility are still worth using though. Tbh i'd have him at half back before Saad these days.
I would have thought we'd have wanted to add those 2 to Williams, not replace him. We are still well short of quality small/medium forwards.

My suspicion is Williams has switched to training back in case Newman isn't ready. He said he would be playing forward only recently on the Carlton website so something must have changed in the last month.

I would have thought we'd have wanted to add those 2 to Williams, not replace him. We are still well short of quality small/medium forwards.

My suspicion is Williams has switched to training back in case Newman isn't ready. He said he would be playing forward only recently on the Carlton website so something must have changed in the last month.

I'm assuming a mix of the following:

Harry
HOK
Kemp
Moir
Ainsworth
Haywood
F Young
Frank maybe although I can see him on a wing too
Cotts
Maybe Fog although I think he'll be pushed out as well

Zac's flexibility helps him stay in the side and lets face it we've been sadly lacking in run off half back.

Totally agree with you mate. I don’t understand this change.

I'm assuming a mix of the following:

Harry
HOK
Kemp
Moir
Ainsworth
Haywood
F Young
Frank maybe although I can see him on a wing too
Cotts
Maybe Fog although I think he'll be pushed out as well

Zac's flexibility helps him stay in the side and lets face it we've been sadly lacking in run off half back.
And more likely than not, Elijah.