Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

The below is the OG faux training report from nearly 9 years ago - often imitated but never surpassed

In the absence of Keys I went down for a trundle this morning to check them out on return. Just a few random notes I took down...

• A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2017.
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2017. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

You might wonder why I’ve put this up and stickied it

Because this is the standard all copies should be measured against and it’s a reminder of how high the bar was set

And to hopefully discourage sequels.

If you want to have a crack in my absence, go ahead but if it doesn’t equal the standard set (as judged by me), then expect

• A one week threadban for a first offence
• A two week threadban for a second offence
• A one year threadban for a third offence

Actual training reports, minus discussion, can become found here:

Following today my best 23 currently looks like this:

FB: Ginbey Edwards Hough
HB: Baker Young Starcevich
R: Flynn Harley McCarthy
C: Duursma Yeo Allan
HF: Schoenberg Waterman Graham
FF: Cripps Shanahan Duff-Tytler
INT: Duggan(Def), Archer(Ruck), Hewett and Kelly (Mids), Newton (Fwd)
EM: Lindsay(Def), Davis and Robertson (Mids), Long(Fwd)

Bolded - Unavailable for R1 (suspended)
Italics - Potentially in doubt for R1

Notes:
1) Duff-Tytler is a question on structure. Can we carry an extra tall when we’re already playing a ruck, a ruck/forward and two KPFs. Personally think his agility/skills enable that given the matchup problems his height could create for opposition’s third tall defender.
2) I’ve gone for Duursma and Allan on the wings but it’s a line ball decision between them and Davis. Hall isn’t far behind them either
3) Robertson is very unlucky and the likes of Schoenberg, Kelly, Newton and even Hewett have no room for error with their form.
4) Lindsay or Dewar shape as the most likely to contend for Baker’s R1 spot

A potential WAFL side from those not selected in the 23 looks like this:

FB: Maric Bazzo Cole
HB: Lindsay Brock Dewar
R: Barnett Robertson Gross
C: Hall Macrae Davis
HF: Owies ??? Johnston
FF: Long J Williams Champion
INT: Grego, T Williams, Brockman

Not considered due to injury - Allen, B Williams, Rodriguez, Hutchinson

That’s probably a best case scenario in terms of availability but it looks like a team that should be competitive

There’s a hole at CHF that could be filled by Bailey Williams if/when fit. In the meantime we should consider moving Maric forward particularly with Jamieson likely to play as a KPD
Cracking look at our best 23.
I expect after what we have seen today from the 2 RUCK/KPF's in A Reid and CDT they will be the preferred options and it will come down to match ups.
I am completely blown away by the performance of CDT and A Reid in that role, albeit playing on B grade KPD's today.

The SF/HF role looks to be a battle of Kelly/Schoenberg/Cripps/Newton/Long and can see good competition meaning Cripps will be in and out of the side and so will whoever shows the best form.
Pre-season game but a lot to be excited about today.

My lad Dev Rob doing enough to get through without issue and still providing some nice highlights.
That kick into the middle was chef's kiss. Delicious.
Don't need him to be HR9 or TMac. Just need him to pick up enough slack that it makes the oppo think twice about leaving him alone.

Agreed with everyone else on Shoenberg. Was very good today.
Not sold on Macrae though.

I was against CDT as a selection, not because of his talent but just on fit in the team, glad to say I was wrong on that and he looks the goods.

Happy to see Long getting back to his debut season level. Was sad for his output last year coming back from that horrific injury.

HR9 looks like he's having fun and doing Harley things. Absolutely looking forward to seeing him tear some teams apart. Looked like he's also being more team focused which is fantastic for his growth.

Lindsays kicking is sublime. Need to get 50 Games into him immediately, going to be an insane weapon. Should be the replacement for Duggo should he miss the Freo match next week.

Happy with all the talls, yes even Barnett seemed to be improved on last year (except for that putrid kick that hit the deck to the middle). CDT and Reid showed a lot. Jilliams and Hedwards both looking noticeably leaner.

Overall a good intraclub hitout, lots to like.

He's obviously taken time to reach his potential but Tmac is looking ridiculous.

I really hope the bloke gets a few years at it without interruption.

BWilliams looks like he has picked a really bad time to be unavailable. Falling down the pecking order rapidly.

Almost NN level of athleticism
giphy.gif

Just looking at Keys starting 23, although still very young and inexperienced, it's not hard to see this lineup being competitive and actually winning their fair share of winnable games.

AAs Waterman, Yeo, Kelly.
The best prospect of the current youth in the comp in Reid
GF experience in Strasavich, Baker, Cripps, Duggan.

Plus guys who if their trajectory from last year continues will be definate B graders, Hough, Hewitt and possibly A graders in Ginbey and Shanahan.

I'm still not expecting a march up the ladder, but cautiously optimistic in saying we won't be bottom 3 or 4.

That was a refreshing sugar hit, some pleasant surprises (Schoenberg, Kelly) and others living up to the hype (albeit just a scratchie). Freo match should be another level of course. I wonder how long it will take for Duursma to put on some bulk, another preseason? CDT looks more solid and may bulk up easier. Even McCarthy could do with more around the upper body and arms. Starcevich built like a Panzer tank!
If duursma puts on bulk is it a sugar hit? Love a good sugar hit, well at least the last 2 or 3 seasons where it became the catchphrase of the masses

Nope. Edwards played in the blue team with Jobe.

Shanahan just had a quiet day at the office. Did show some smart leading patterns and kicked a goal.

Harry was playing chb against undersized flankers.

Had no opponent to worry about.

just started watching the replay. Wonder if CDT could even end up as a CHF with his athleticism and running power.
Absolutely, which is why the “what if he doesn’t have a position at AFL level” crowd always looked silly. He was always at worst going to be a high level KPF.

Don’t have a problem with people who preferred Sharp, given the club’s clearance problems (although given where Sharp was picked I think it’s clear that drafting him at 2 would have been a poor use of resources, and picking him would have been contingent on a suitable trade down that brought back some more draft capital). I do have a problem whose preference for Sharp led them to deride a guy who was universally regarded as a top 5 draft prospect as Bailey Williams 2.0.
Thats the thing with drafting isn't it. Its quite often done with potential in mind, not output
Where was butters drafted? Or priddis? P cripps?.
Its definitely not clear yet that taking sharp at 2 would've been a poor use of resources
Taking CDT might prove to be the right move but it makes sense that a team that seemingly is reasonably well stocked for talls whilst also seemingly being light on for inside mids takes an inside mid might be the right call , also when the preferred inside mid has had a much better junior career that the tall in question
Anyway I hope CDT comes on well and finds his niche and we find our extractor.

Unfortunately this is true. And even if Hamish is a bust there is still the problem of development opportunity because you can expand that group out to all of Hall, Gross, Allan, Allen, Noah Long, Dewer and possibly Brockman. In an environment where they will probably prioritise Duurs, CDT and Lindsey as the inexperienced quota. We just have too many commitments to too many kids. Charlie will probably end up a better player than 90% of them and it was still an absolutely dog move not to add him to the mix considering who we kept on, but he'd of needed to be ranked top 10 for us to have been really serious about getting him. Ah well, he'll honestly get more games and it will be better for him career wise being where he is so its fine, and maybe one day he'll come home anyway.
But st kilda is a better team than us so you think he'll get more games there?
And the midfield is our weakest line? Its an interesting take, kinda like Murphy Reid would suck with us because we suck

The melts over previous melts are almost as embarrassing as the initial melts. (Inb4 nice melt) Pull ya heads in. Almost as insufferable as the salivators itching to shit on others draft preferences, already halfway through a victory lap. None of us are Saruman with a Palantir.

Don't mind Tommy G attacking the man and ball like that, clumsy yes but it happens in the heat of battle, goodness gracious me we have been begging for some fight and aggro for near on half a decade and you want to crucify a kid for going hard? F**k off i love to see it.

Pleasantly suprised with the form of Schoenberg in particular, CDT McCarthy and Harley outstanding, good solid hitout and excited to see how the lads go against the dokers with the step up in intensity.

Its definitely not clear yet that taking sharp at 2 would've been a poor use of resources
sure it is, you only have to look at how the draft played out to say that. Even if Sharp ends up being the best player from this draft, he was the 9th player in the open draft to be selected. Essendon picked him as their third draft pick. Clearly he wasn’t valued as the second-best player by any club in the draft, so if you were really set on drafting him - even knowing that there’s some inherent unpredictability in the draft - you trade down with someone like Essendon or Melbourne and then pick him.

Part of playing the draft is if there’s a particular player you like - ie Cam Nairn at Hawthorn - you try to gauge how other clubs value that player and if you think you can get him later, then you drop down and accumulate assets in the process.

Did we move up the draft order to get Lindsay? Or did we do it because we miscalculated and thought we were going to be able to take one of GC academy players off them and Lindsay was the consolation prize? Or do we still not know what was in their heads when they made that move?

But st kilda is a better team than us so you think he'll get more games there?
And the midfield is our weakest line? Its an interesting take, kinda like Murphy Reid would suck with us because we suck
I don’t see why he’d get games for either in fully fit teams at this stage. Looking like one of Allan/Davis miss who both have similar weaknesses (apart from Allans pace) and better strengths + an extra year in the system. Saints have Wood (peak version of Banfield) and Hill in the wing roles.

I assume the poster was looking into the future, as Hill and Wood are both 32. Whereas the players Banfield would compete with (all of which are better talents imo) are practically the same age.

Did we move up the draft order to get Lindsay? Or did we do it because we miscalculated and thought we were going to be able to take one of GC academy players off them and Lindsay was the consolation prize? Or do we still not know what was in their heads when they made that move?
Was reported Lindsay would not have been available had we not made the move.

We may have expected GC wouldn’t match but I highly doubt we “miscalculated”.

-On CDT gets his goals from overworking his opponents. Plenty of out the back style marks and running into open goals & being involved in open play. Opportunistic rather than commanding up forward, though he is no slouch with positioning.
Also got dumped a few times in tackles. Has to change something or his shoulder will get dislocated at some point😬

-Flynn was his usual self. Is still our #1 but not dominant.
-Barnett rucked most of the day for the whites and was OK. Lacked intent and got outbodied too easily under high balls.
-A Reid was quiet but quality when he got a chance. Was thrown in the ruck at times. Kicked a few on Harry Taylor to pad his day out and is "almost there".

-Kelly was real good in and under
-Dev brought the grunt we need whenever played in the middle.
-Schoenberg was good but his problem has always been 2 way running.

-Duursma & Davis on a wing each. I think both have huge tanks and will provide the running power we have lacked. Neither are necessarily locks for 22 games this year though.

-McCarthy was slippery but his 20 disposals as a mid are probably less effective than off the back flank.
-Hall was solid enough. No clangers, but didn't get a lot of it.
-Macrae was just about whites best over 4 quarters. Midfield and back flank. Pretty much what we expected and likely starts WAFL but should play during the year.
-B. Allan was quiet. Played off both flanks & a bit in the middle. Still a headless chook of a player with ball in hand. I think we should bulk him up and send him to the midfield permanently.
-H. Reid did the small things👍
-Bazzo as always was good aerially. Still has a lot to offer if he can get the shutdown part of his game right.
-Edwards sat loose and gobbled everything up that went past halfway.
-Ginbey was trash.
-Lindsey was super solid and looked composed. I think his kicking is overstated, and perhaps goes for too much sometimes. I'd back him to hit all the kicks he should, but I don't think he will magically open up the play with the miracle 45 like Jetta could pull off. Sam Butler lite.
-Maric drifted around and was generally tidy whenever he had it. Needs to start pulling off harder kicks to justify that position but makes the right safe decisions.
-T. Williams showed a few tricks but is a long way off.
-Newton had a few moments up forward but was mostly quiet.
-Johnston worked hard but was on the white team that struggled.
-Long was handy enough. Top of the small fwd pile but still building.
-Cole was his usual self, played on both teams.

R1
Assummed Walking Dead: Duggan, Graham, B Williams, Hewett, Gross, Hutchinson, Hough, Rodriguez

FB: Ginbey Edwards Cole
HB: Maric Young Starcevich
C: Duursma H. Reid Davis
HF: Cripps Waterman Kelly
FF: Long Shanahan A. Reid
R: Flynn Schoenberg Robertson

BENCH: McCarthy, Yeo, Baker, Lindsay, Dewar

E: Macrae, Duff-Tytler, Hall, Owies

Was reported Lindsay would not have been available had we not made the move.

We may have expected GC wouldn’t match but I highly doubt we “miscalculated”.
If you sacrifice a draft pick to move up the draft order to get a particular player because you think another club can't or won't match and then they do match then you have miscalculated.

It may have been a risk worth taking and a good decision based on what you knew at the time. You can't judge decisions purely on what the result is. And you might be pleasantly surprised by the quality of the player you end up with instead if you turn out to be wrong and the other club does match. But the fact remains you were wrong and the other club did match.

There is no shame in being wrong as long as the decision you made was sound based on the information you had. You are going to be dealing with incomplete information and being wrong some of the time is inevitable. But there is also nothing to gain pretending things worked out exactly as you planned if thats not what hapenned.