Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2

Also the windy conditions we'll barely face all season.

Your not going to get a four goal breeze at Kardinia Park, Optus Stadium, MCG, Adelaide Oval, Docklands etc.

Reckon in more normal conditions the eagles score 2-3 less goals and we're talking about a 40-50 point win.

Anyway pre season form etc. Even how we go against Adelaide this week doesn't make one bit of difference to Round One. Only thing that matters is how we play over the 23 (hopefully 3-4 more) games that actually matter.
I agree, but both teams faced those windy conditions, and we started poorly which was a massive issue last year, so disappointing to see us concede the first 3-4 goals as per last year so often.

I agree - pre season form means nothing, but it’s all we have to go on currently.

They better be breathing fire round 1 vs Geelong, as I don’t want to see another limp rollover like last season.

I agree, but both teams faced those windy conditions, and we started poorly which was a massive issue last year, so disappointing to see us concede the first 3-4 goals as per last year so often.

I agree - pre season form means nothing, but it’s all we have to go on currently.

They better be breathing fire round 1 vs Geelong, as I don’t want to see another limp rollover like last season.
Both teams faced the same windy conditions, WC kicked with the breeze in the 1st quarter, it was all squared up at half time.

Was it really an issue? It was a few seasons ago but last year we were ahead at quarter time 14 out of 24 games last season. That seems like a fair ratio and not something we need to really be worried about based on a scratch match.

Geelong will be coming off an actual AFL game in round 1 so if we are within 2 goals of them at quarter time I will be happy.

Was it really an issue? It was a few seasons ago but last year we were ahead at quarter time 14 out of 24 games last season. That seems like a fair ratio and not something we need to really be worried about based on a scratch match.
Good get mate, I would have tipped we'd been soundly beaten in first quarters. 👍

It always seems to me like we concede a goal in the first few minutes but again that's probably innacurate and just "the vobe" 🤣

Good get mate, I would have tipped we'd been soundly beaten in first quarters. 👍

It always seems to me like we concede a goal in the first few minutes but again that's probably innacurate and just "the vobe" 🤣
In 2023 we were flogged in first quarters. I think it was like three for the whole year we were ahead and maybe 10 the following season as we started to address it. Definitely fixed it last year though but sometimes old wounds reopen easily.

Our slow starts have undoubtedly been a theme under Longmuir.

His 1st quarter win/loss record: 55-3-73 (42%)

The other 3 quarters: 195-11-187 (49%)

Not to mention in the 3 finals we’ve played under Longmuir we’ve kicked 1 goal combined in 1st quarters which is pretty astounding. 1 goal in 90 something minutes of footy in the 3 most important games he’s coached in is not a good indictment.

And in the last 5 games we played last season we lost the 1st quarter 4 times so it seems the issue is still present.

I don’t blame anyone for being worried about our slow start on the weekend. Wind or no wind the 1-22 Weags killed us out the middle.

I think thats the thing that bothers me at times. Feels like we have a plan which is all well and good but when the plan isn't working we are too slow to mix it up. We go with Serong, Brayshaw as the primary CB players and just persist for a set number of rotations even if we lose 6 in a row and have 6 goals kicked against us.
I'd like to see them throw Bolton or someone else in quicker and change the dynamic faster when we we're getting taken to the cleaners.

Same with watching Ryan bomb the ball to the same spot and have it come back 6 times in a row until one goes through the middle.

Our slow starts have undoubtedly been a theme under Longmuir.

His 1st quarter win/loss record: 55-3-73 (42%)

The other 3 quarters: 195-11-187 (49%)

Not to mention in the 3 finals we’ve played under Longmuir we’ve kicked 1 goal combined in 1st quarters which is pretty astounding. 1 goal in 90 something minutes of footy in the 3 most important games he’s coached in is not a good indictment.

And in the last 5 games we played last season we lost the 1st quarter 4 times so it seems the issue is still present.

His first quarters record in 2025 was 58%. How is it a problem now if it stays at that level?

The Suns kicked 2 goals vs our 1 in the final. Not sure you can blame the coach for Freddie trying to dribble it in rather than just kick it from point blank range.

Geelong will be coming off an actual AFL game in round 1 so if we are within 2 goals of them at quarter time I will be happy.
Try watching that final and telling me it wasn’t an issue… we went behind too often in games and had to try come back.
Whether it was the first quarter or the second quarter… it was an issue.

His first quarters record in 2025 was 58%. How is it a problem now if it stays at that level?

The Suns kicked 2 goals vs our 1 in the final. Not sure you can blame the coach for Freddie trying to dribble it in rather than just kick it from point blank range.
58% isn’t good for a team with designs on finishing top 4.
It was actually our 2nd quarter that was the big big problem vs the Suns.

2025 was the first year under JL that our 1st quarter win percentage has been above 50%, and even then 58% is still not all that great. Out of the top 8 it’s the second lowest 1st quarter win percentage, only in front of GWS.

When it’s been a clear and consistent theme for 6 years under JL then yeah it is a coaching problem or at the very least a coaching and captain problem. I almost think it’s by design now for us to start games cautiously and try to work ourselves into the game, absorb and conserve and try to overrun teams late. Other teams have caught on and often come out full tilt against us and get the jump on us and we spend the rest of the game playing catch up footy. Sure we had a few good come from behind wins last year but it’s not sustainable long-term and it cost us in the final.

2025 was the first year under JL that our 1st quarter win percentage has been above 50%, and even then 58% is still not all that great. Out of the top 8 it’s the second lowest 1st quarter win percentage, only in front of GWS.

When it’s been a clear and consistent theme for 6 years under JL then yeah it is a coaching problem or at the very least a coaching and captain problem. I almost think it’s by design now for us to start games cautiously and try to work ourselves into the game, conserve energy and overrun teams late. Other teams have caught on and often come out full tilt against us and get the jump on us and we spend the rest of the game playing catch up footy. Sure we had a few good come from behind wins last year but it’s not sustainable long-term and it cost us in the final.
I'm saying is that it has been addressed at the trend level and is basically fixed. Bringing up old data isn't relevant anymore and neither is picking on 1 game.

Suns didn't have the full bye heading into that final due to opening round so it was hard for us to match their tempo straight up, that probably needs addressing. The lack of proper bye also cost GC the following week when they got flogged by Brisbane.

Geelong is going to be very hard to match in the first quarter of Rd 1 due to the stupid opening round bullshit. Can't wait for all the hand wringing then.

I'm saying is that it has been addressed at the trend level and is basically fixed. Bringing up old data isn't relevant anymore and neither is picking on 1 game.

Suns didn't have the full bye heading into that final due to opening round so it was hard for us to match their tempo straight up, that probably needs addressing. The lack of proper bye also cost GC the following week when they got flogged by Brisbane.

Geelong is going to be very hard to match in the first quarter of Rd 1 due to the stupid opening round bullshit. Can't wait for all the hand wringing then.

It’s not really old data though is it? As I said, 4 out of 5 of our most recent games we lost the 1st quarter. I’m going to be pedantic and include the scratchie and make it 5 out of our last 6.
  • R21 - Fremantle 2.0.12 v Carlton 5.0.30
  • R22 - Fremantle 4.5.29 v Port.0.4.4 (we then threw the lead away conceding 8 goals in the 2nd)
  • R23 - Fremantle 0.5.5 v Brisbane 3.2.20
  • R24 - Fremantle 2.2.14 v Bulldogs 4.5.29
  • Elim Final - Fremantle 1.2.8 v Gold Coast 1.6.12
  • Scratchie - Fremantle 1.1.7 v West Coast 5.2.32
For an aggregate of 10.15.75 v 18.19-127 (59.05%) in our last six 1st quarters.
  • 5 out of 6 of those we kicked 2 goals or less
  • 3 out of 6 of those we kicked 1 goal or less
  • 4 out of 6 of those we lost the 1st quarter by over double our score
  • The minimum scoring shots we conceded in 1st quarters over that stretch was 4, a total we surpassed in only 2 out of 6 of those games
I would love nothing more then for us to come out R1 and pump Geelong and be up 10 goals at quarter time but if that doesn’t happen lets not pretend it’s for any other reason then us coming out lackadaisically.

Both teams faced the same windy conditions, WC kicked with the breeze in the 1st quarter, it was all squared up at half time.
We outscored them in the third quarter and the last.
Maybe some are under estimating the Yellas.Yes they were a horror story last year, but they have been gifted the golden goose once again by the AFL.They have returning quality players from last year and previous years.
They have some very good young players.
And make no mistake. I detect the Yellas. but wait ans ee se once the real pressure goes non.

It’s not really old data though is it? As I said, 4 out of 5 of our most recent games we lost the 1st quarter. I’m going to be pedantic and include the scratchie and make it 5 out of our last 6.
  • R22 - Fremantle 4.5.29 v Port.0.4.4 (we then threw the lead away conceding 8 goals in the 2nd)
  • The minimum scoring shots we conceded in 1st quarters over that stretch was 4, a total we surpassed in only 2 out of 6 of those games
I would love nothing more then for us to come out R1 and pump Geelong and be up 10 goals at quarter time but if that doesn’t happen lets not pretend it’s for any other reason then us coming out lackadaisically.
1-2 goals in a first quarter is just sh5t. There's no way of defending it.

You're really cherry picking stats if you are including a scratchie, desperate.

We have won our last 13 of 16 games (including the scratchie lol). In this time we had patches where we didn't start that well, but we're going at a 81% winning rate. Not sure what the problem is if we are hitting that winning rate and as long as we don't waste the first third of the season again we can finish with at least 18 wins.

We're not starting well against Geelong due to the AFL scheduling. It won't be a team issue that is easily resolvable and not worth worrying about as a problem to solve.

I don't think we have the data to say it's fixed until were significantly into the 2026 season.

Good post. There seems to be some lingering perception of Freo and first quarters, that facts can’t quell. Of the 14 first quarters we won, we only lost the one match (Sydney from memory?). And from the 9 we trailed, we came back and snatched 3 (a less impressive stat).

On that, clearly winning the first quarter goes some way to wrapping up the game and reflects on much improvement in that area. Here’s hoping that this trend builds with the growing potency of the forward line, receiving silver service from the likes of Young, Reid and to a lesser extent Wagner and Clark.

I would, however, like to see games with a bit of flair at the end of them, padding the score line for percentage. Ever since the 2/3 of the Ross years, it is like the clubs go back in the bag as soon as there is a total to back. Has really taken the wind out of many wins over the years, as the oppo grounds down a deficit in junk time.

Clearly, JLo is in a career year. Love or loathe, one has to admit that he showed some mettle in steering the ship around last year when the pressure was piling. Whilst the club has had some hella disappointing losses under his shift (St Kilda last year being right up there. Eagles in 2024 another), we have also seen some defining moments of a young team demonstrating belief and ability in taking home the points against much more fancied sides in Collingwood last year, Melbourne in 2022 etc. Sydney and Bulldogs in recent times come to mind, too. Moments such as these, alongside the retention and vibes of the joint, have me thinking there is something about the bloke, that punters through a media-filtered gaze may not be privy to.

He is the anti-Ross that the club was after, holistically speaking. Sure, there are times that I too wish he had gone to some Harvard Summer School Course in Public Speaking. But do we need a salesman? We have Garlick for that. We need a facilitator and all the language suggests that he is this. Unlike the ex, he actually lets the cobbler’s cobble.

You're really cherry picking stats if you are including a scratchie, desperate.

We have won our last 13 of 16 games (including the scratchie lol). In this time we had patches where we didn't start that well, but we're going at a 81% winning rate. Not sure what the problem is if we are hitting that winning rate and as long as we don't waste the first third of the season again we can finish with at least 18 wins.

We're not starting well against Geelong due to the AFL scheduling. It won't be a team issue that is easily resolvable and not worth worrying about as a problem to solve.
Agree there is virtually no chance Geelong don't get the jump on us, regardless of how well prepared we are.