2026 Pre-Season Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

I used to think Reville was somewhat of a novelty. The name, the hair etc. And was destined to be that 2s player with a bit of a cult following that we tried in the 1s but we couldn’t get to make the jump to the top level.
Really off the mark. Genuine weaponry and adding strings. Laser for a leg.
We must find a spot for him.
He is hard at the ball as well. Special player SpecialBruce

Post match press conference... Good to hear that some players got a lick of the ice cream.

ZZ my man!, so happy to see him playing. Watched him in the WAFL colts quite a lot and always thought he had something special about the way he plays. Great leap, nimble and great agility and just has a crack.
He would be very used to having his name last on a list (alphabetically) and maybe he is the last player picked for rd 1 this year!

Our seconds players also in-tune with game plan was quite impressive to watch. They were able to execute the surge from half back - McLachlan looked good and the one play where he got the footy from Wilmot, broke through 2 or 3 suns players in traffic and then found Bailey? who kicked it deep to Morris was quite impressive.

I really loved seeing new players like ZZ and Curtin. Curtin in spite of being a big unit went on some really long chase downs which was impressive. ZZ looked exactly like what everyone was saying, lot of potential and just needs a few games for it all to click together. His leap and reach over Witts/Moyle in center bounces in the last quarter was quite impressive to see. Spring heeled. Kicking needs to evolve a bit as he didn't look very assured on that front.

Bruce was awesome, there is a level of confidence you can see when he's trusting the body to break through traffic and tackles. Primed to take over Ah Chee role or any other role. He has to play.

Gardiner kept competing and it's wonderful to see how well established he's in defense now after his little adventure up forward last season. Wilmot looked the real general to me in Chief's absence, he was directing traffic as well as putting in a lot of effort to shut down rebounds. Defense in general looked really good last night, they were going full throttle and not just trying to compete. I wish we could've seen Lloyd a bit longer in CHB, similar to ZZ.

Line up / depth looks pretty strong and the team is finals/prelim worthy again. Exciting times.

Very impressed with ZZ's game. Could see him being the 5th player on the bench using him sparingly for 3 qtrs and then on for the last qtr in the ruck where he will jump over everyone. Always been a fan of Bruuuce. Loved his game.

Good to see we are recruiting players who show some mongrel. Curtin has it in spades and Gallop we all know about. Quietly impressed with Brains game. Seemed too play a bit smarter. Our development coaches are doing a dam good job with the skills these young blokes are showing.

Was a great hitout. Very happy.

Hard not to be impressed by ZZ and Curtin. Threw themselves around at every contest and won plenty of the ball. Enthusiasm like that can only inspire your team mates and bring the best out of the older players in a match they might have been happy just to put miles into the legs.

The one thing that has really stood out for me is Charlie Cameron looks like he is a new man. He really struggled last year and didn't look engaged at times. However, the Grand Final performance the effort last week in the State of Origin and last night were all signs of a hungry and dangerous looking Charlie. If he can be a lot more consistent this year - look out opposition teams. I like him getting up the ground as well.

Wilmot is an A grader but no other team knows it. Or so called expert commentator.

Some observations and opinions on the non‑established players from yesterday’s game

A handful of our developing players gave us plenty to think about. Some confirmed what we suspected, others surprised, and a few showed enough in limited minutes to keep their names in the conversation.

Zakostelsky
Last week I mentioned that Zakostelsky already showed signs of a strong footy IQ, he consistently found the right spots, read the play well, and had the awareness you can’t teach. The issue then was execution: a technical flaw that held him back. Remarkably, it looks like that was addressed in the space of seven days.

Last night he delivered a genuine glimpse of his ceiling. His athleticism, agility, and second efforts were all on display, and he looked far more assured with ball in hand. Credit belongs across the board: the recruiters for spotting the raw talent, the development coaches for refining it, and Zane himself for doing the work.

What’s most exciting is his emerging versatility. He looks capable of covering multiple roles as needed, tall defender, ruck/forward, forward/ruck, even a tall wing option. Early days, but the trajectory is promising. He’s a genuine smokey for that fifth bench spot.

Curtin
Curtin is still in the very early stages of his AFL journey, only six months into life on an AFL list, yet he already looks like a player who slipped far too low in the draft. Every week he makes the recruiters of other clubs look a little sillier. His composure and natural instincts stand out for someone so new to the system.

Brain

Brain continues to impress. He’s stringing together performances now, not just moments. His growth curve is trending in exactly the right direction.

Reville
If last night’s performance becomes his baseline, the wing spot is his to lose. He was brilliant, clean, composed, and consistently involved. He looks ready to make that position his own.

Others
A few others showed flashes in their limited minutes, with McLachlan in particular catching the eye. Not enough time to make sweeping judgments, but enough to keep him firmly in the mix.

I would just like to jump in here, be the voice of reason, and say I don't have high expectations for how we'll go tonight.

So on that basis you can fully expect me to completely throw the toys out of the cot as we get dominated in the ruck, our forward line is a mess and our under-strength backline is exposed.

How good's footy 🤷
This aged well!

Some observations and opinions on the non‑established players from yesterday’s game

A handful of our developing players gave us plenty to think about. Some confirmed what we suspected, others surprised, and a few showed enough in limited minutes to keep their names in the conversation.

Zakostelsky
Last week I mentioned that Zakostelsky already showed signs of a strong footy IQ, he consistently found the right spots, read the play well, and had the awareness you can’t teach. The issue then was execution: a technical flaw that held him back. Remarkably, it looks like that was addressed in the space of seven days.

Last night he delivered a genuine glimpse of his ceiling. His athleticism, agility, and second efforts were all on display, and he looked far more assured with ball in hand. Credit belongs across the board: the recruiters for spotting the raw talent, the development coaches for refining it, and Zane himself for doing the work.

What’s most exciting is his emerging versatility. He looks capable of covering multiple roles as needed, tall defender, ruck/forward, forward/ruck, even a tall wing option. Early days, but the trajectory is promising. He’s a genuine smokey for that fifth bench spot.

Curtin
Curtin is still in the very early stages of his AFL journey, only six months into life on an AFL list, yet he already looks like a player who slipped far too low in the draft. Every week he makes the recruiters of other clubs look a little sillier. His composure and natural instincts stand out for someone so new to the system.

Brain

Brain continues to impress. He’s stringing together performances now, not just moments. His growth curve is trending in exactly the right direction.

Reville
If last night’s performance becomes his baseline, the wing spot is his to lose. He was brilliant, clean, composed, and consistently involved. He looks ready to make that position his own.

Others
A few others showed flashes in their limited minutes, with McLachlan in particular catching the eye. Not enough time to make sweeping judgments, but enough to keep him firmly in the mix.

I really hope McLachlan can keep improving, as he's a such a fun player to watch. Has an extraordinary leap on him, like a dog catching a frisbee. Just needs to calm down a bit once he has the ball, work on his composure. He dropped a chest-high sitter last night because I reckon he'd already spent it before he got it. Same with his set-shot goal kicking. He should talk to charlie, because whatever zen-thing charlie seems to be doing since about round 19 last year is working. Been a lot more accurate in big moments.

For top teams practice matches were traditionally games where you got some miles into your legs and did your best to not get injured.

Competition for spots is obviously a bit hot at our club because those on the cusp really threw themselves in last night and it seemed to infect some of the old hands to really have a go.

No signs of complacency as we've really refreshed our list and those coming to the club are keen to impress.

I remember Bruce's first few games in the AFL and he really stood out with some of the imaginative ways he was able to get hold of the ball and score. But I thought a this age he didn't have the strength and body to compete at Senior level . That problem's been solved. He's obviously worked very very hard because his physical transformation has been something to behold.

I know its a broken record but Logan Morris is something special. Absolutely roasted macandrew last night. I know its practice but I don't think were gonna have enough money to hold onto this kid. I know its early doors but to my eyes he is Jeremy Cameron / Wayne Carey levels good.

I was keen on Curtin for a lot of last year - but as a KPD - his hard at it nature and spurts of speed and chase are tremendous assets. I was amazed at his capacity physically in the ruck given he is a draftee. He could be an exceptional swingman capable at Fwd, Ruck and Back at a pinch (he can do it from his juniors but not sure whether he has trained there yet to understand our systems).

ZZ similarly now looks like a genuine rucking option (well effective second ruck) while having been in the backs for some time and being swung forward occasionally.

The effort of these two last night changes the list needs profile quite a bit as it now seems we have Draper, Fort and Henry as genuine rucks and now Curtin and ZZ ready to be the extra ruck with flexibility to fill in any KPP injury in a game which is amazing.

As many have mentioned the smoothness with so many key players being removed is a huge confidence booster and credit to the coaching team who have a whole squad ready to play not just a few stars with support players - its like some clubs are playing supercoach with the guns and cheapies strategy whereas we are actually building a whole squad of players.

I also really liked one bit of the commentary (forget who it was) but they were talking about ZZ and Lloyd being later picks that have good potential and Morris in the same draft at 31 - the comment was something like 'Academies and Father Sons aren't that important if you're drafting players like Morris at 31' - and now we can add Gallop and Curtin to what look to be excellent late tall drafting and shows another key aspect of our current success.

I know its a broken record but Logan Morris is something special. Absolutely roasted macandrew last night. I know its practice but I don't think were gonna have enough money to hold onto this kid. I know its early doors but to my eyes he is Jeremy Cameron / Wayne Carey levels good.
I feel OA was a good signing at the time but I wonder what the long term contract plan is to make the room for a player like Morris - as you say he is exactly what every team needs so every team may get in a bidding war for him and we may not be able to match. I wonder still if OA has a good couple of years we can trade OA for draft capital and free up cap space mid way through his contract and then get him for 'free' as a free agent then get draft capital as well? Not sure if this scenario has occurred yet so would be interesting.

Hey Mebevan. Wayne Carey was probably the best of all time in his role. Could do it all and dish it out in what was a tough era I remember the first interstate game he played as a young man and he was taking speccies over Roos all night. Everyone thought who is this guy. A bit like when Ablett senior played his first interstate game on the wing and those of us who weren't aware were open mouthed as he kept booting bomb goals off the wing.

I don't think Morris will be near their levels but a fine player he is and who knows ,he's going to get better. He's building physically which is what we like to see.

Umpire throws the ball left not straight up LoL. Shambles
BTW being a genuis is a low bar for footballers, but probably more reflects the intelligence of fox footy.

Hey Mebevan. Wayne Carey was probably the best of all time in his role. Could do it all and dish it out in what was a tough era I remember the first interstate game he played as a young man and he was taking speccies over Roos all night. Everyone thought who is this guy. A bit like when Ablett senior played his first interstate game on the wing and those of us who weren't aware were open mouthed as he kept booting bomb goals off the wing.

I don't think Morris will be near their levels but a fine player he is and who knows ,he's going to get better. He's building physically which is what we like to see.

He's already better than Carey, Ablett and Lockett combined and I won't hear any different