Review R1: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood

The rule sucks but Collingwood fans had this kind of shocked tone when those 50s got paid in the last quarter. Like "how dare you do this to us". Pretty funny.
The great part about the rule is that it's completely unambiguous. No grey area. Umpire says stand and someone has to stand. Don't do that, it's 50. One of the games easiest rules

Yeah, totally agree.

Pedlar, ANB and Keays are all safe and they all play different roles. It’s that diversity that helps the balance of the team.

Pedlar = safe
There were a couple of instances late in the game, Cumming looked to have some sort of leg injury ......he was in the background looking hobbled .....played on, so hopefully it was cramp

For me, Peatling may be most at risk

Yeah… Ben had a massive first half..

View attachment 2551910View attachment 2551911

His second half was better..

And lets not discuss his finals series last year either..

He’s a senior player.

Kicked a goal and had 3 goal assists.

From memory all were created because of his elite running.

I get as frustrated as anyone with the skills at times. But time and again he is able to make things happen that others cannot because of his superior running ability.

The great part about the rule is that it's completely unambiguous. No grey area. Umpire says stand and someone has to stand. Don't do that, it's 50. One of the games easiest rules
It's not that I don't like it because I think it's too vague. It just seems like a massive penalty for such a minor transgression. Most of the time the offending player is not having any impact on the kicker whatsoever.

Seeing you edited at end of game it would be good if you and the anti laird clan could you do your homework

84% efficiency
25 disposals inc 15 kicks
Ten marks

All comparable with Worrall and Milera and more efficient than Dawson at 81%

Integral part of our clearance out of defence even he has one really bad kick per game

Compare with hbf for pies in Houston quaynor and even J daicos all on 80-90% range

Just for the record fox vfl were disgusting critiquing every mistake of ours and game plan but not a mention of pies errors or lack of game plan

Lyon the worst but Riewoldt not far behind

Attachments

• IMG_0401.webp
    IMG_0401.webp
    60.4 KB · Views: 4
It's not that I don't like it because I think it's too vague. It just seems like a massive penalty for such a minor transgression. Most of the time the offending player is not having any impact on the kicker whatsoever.
It's a massive penalty as punishment to coaches who were abusing the mark system

Fog had multiple players hanging off him on the wing and still gets a disposal out. Beast.

I’m still finding him very frustrating at the moment. Just doesn’t get involved in the game as often as I’d like.

I thought last night was a great opportunity for him to get up the ground and take heaps of marks with an undersized opponent and he wasn’t doing that.

Ideally, he’d be the one up the ground I think and leave Thilthorpe at home, especially on a weaker defender like Frampton. That’d give him the energy to do that on ball role more regularly if we’d want. Instead, Thilthorpe was up the ground a lot, which he is very good at, but I don’t know if that’s the best way for us to use him.

I think Fog could be the guy to mark the ball on the wing and open up the play with his kicking, the way Tex has done his whole career, but he just seems to have these low disposal games so regularly.

You posted that Cumming had his best game for the club. That can’t be true because his role isn’t to get the football. Getting it 19 times and kicking 2 goals means he couldn’t have been playing to instructions.
Is your theory that he improved as a footballer over the off season as a 27 year old?

Kicked a goal and had 3 goal assists.

From memory all were created because of his elite running.

I get as frustrated as anyone with the skills at times. But time and again he is able to make things happen that others cannot because of his superior running ability.
I’m dropping pedlar before i’m dropping keays..

But i never want to see ben in the midfield ever again and I expect more consistency quarter to quarter from a senior player who is a leader.

And I have never once questioned ben’s effort, hard running or commitment in all the yesrs he’s donned the jumper.. not ****ing once.

There were a couple of instances late in the game, Cumming looked to have some sort of leg injury ......he was in the background looking hobbled .....played on, so hopefully it was cramp

For me, Peatling may be most at risk
I’m thinking Bind, not for the reason a few are happy to repeat over and over but last man up, first man out. He will get more opportunities

Max will slide into that defensive role with Berry moving to the bench with Rankine starting on ball.

But i never want to see ben in the midfield ever again and I expect more consistency quarter to quarter from a senior player who is a leader.

Half forward is a role that is going to have dead periods where you don’t touch the footy.

Watching the second quarter I’m not sure what it was that Keays could have done more of to get involved?

So who are we dropping for our most gifted player ??

It won't be a defender.
I’m thinking Bond, not for the reason a few are happy to repeat over and over but last man up, first man out. He will get more opportunities

Max will slide into that defensive role with Berry moving to the bench with Rankine starting on ball.

Who's to say we wouldn't have won by five goals with a different option on the bench?

Last year teams were forced to do it, though. We've got an extra bench position that can be used for the whole game now, is robbing ourselves of the option to use it a good idea?

I don't think his low game time was a function of this being his debut. I think the plan going forward is to not use him very much. He's McAndrew's relief ruckman and seemingly nothing else.

If I'm right about that, then I think the question has to be asked, did he really provide enough value during his short time on ground to be worth it? Did he provide anything that couldn't be provided by any other tall, be it Maley, or even ROB? I understand the desire to keep Thilthorpe out of the ruck, but I don't think that torching a bench position to do it makes sense.

On the other hand, if there is a plan to get him more involved in the game, I'm still yet to see where he plays. We're already tall enough up forward, and he's not needed down back. I guess he's injury cover if we lose a tall mid-match?

I expect his game time will dial up as Tex’s dials down as the old bloke heads towards a full game rest. Assuming he’s doing enough of what’s asked to continue getting selected.

The rule sucks but Collingwood fans had this kind of shocked tone when those 50s got paid in the last quarter. Like "how dare you do this to us". Pretty funny.
Weren't Collingwood the catalyst for the rule too? They were the pioneers of the gameplan of leaving the mark open. Makes it even funnier.

I’m thinking Bond, not for the reason a few are happy to repeat over and over but last man up, first man out. He will get more opportunities

I doubt we’re going to be reducing our defensive rotation by 1. If Bond goes out, I’d expect Nank to come in. The only structural change I reckon they’d make is Murray out for Rankine. And I reckon that’s unlikely after a pretty impressive win.

So a key defender for a half forward/midfielder and that’s a structural change

Yeah ok.

Darcy, Naughton nand the Bont playing forward and you want to drop a key defender.

Yeah, ok.

Edit: on reflection, I’m now assuming you mean Toby Murray. I cannot see them changing that structure after a great away win. I’m assuming they will stick with McAndrew and Toby Murray for a few rounds, especially when that structure is working.

The 2 Perth trips would be a good strategy.

Would definitely rest him in round 17 vs West Coast but would not lock the Rd 23 clash with Fremantle in. Based on how important a win is, that would be the factor between resting him and playing.

I doubt anything is locked in at this stage, we’ve played 2 trials and one game for points. At his age, things can change very quickly.