News Hawthorn in the media 2026

Really classy of the Channel 9 press to request the bodycam footage to get more mileage out of this nothing story.
it was hardly worthy of being the lead story on the 6pm news, when we're having fuel issues and interest rate rises.

If we are getting forced to leave Tassie we should be rightly compensated. Turn our attention to more games at the G.
Yes, we need to demand compensation like we did when we got booted from Waverley ALL Home games to be at the MCG. Like originally promised in the Waverly park closure agreement.

We retain the right to relocate our home MCG games elsewhere if it suites us but we get replacement games that need guaranteed free entry to Hawks members.

Last few years with the Marvel game added and gather round and fully ticketed "replacement" games. An 11 game Hawthorn membership has become more like a 5 game membership.

Hawthorn leaving Tasmania would be a generous offer to allow them to succeed. We deserve to be compensated for that gesture and for our 25 years of service to the game in Tasmania that has made the team possible. Without that they'd have 0 hope. They'd just have a few failed Stkilda games in the early 2000s and no proof of concept of AFL attendance in Tasmania. We've grown grass level involvement, we've got consistent crowds, we have generated tourism income to the state and AFL Industry, Us playing there has led to multiple upgrades of UTAS.

Another condition we could impose would be to prohibit Hawthorn players being signed by Tasmania under their establishment concessions.

Thought Sam was very sharp tonight. None of the questions seem to bother him. Admitted we lost the trade... but we've also won some trades in the past. Really good media performance.

He nailed it.
Agreed, he is such an accomplished media performer. He even said it was a cruisey night at the end which resulted in a Wilson snicker.

Does she ever ask anything that is of a positive nature. Every question again tonight was negative. And Sam treated her questions with such a plomb

Unsurprisingly, she hasn’t raised her previous annual pet questions about pokies once Hawthorn sold theirs. The club she follows still uses them to raise revenue. Zilch. Nada.

Sam is obviously a fantastic coach and usually a brilliant media performer but, am I the only who thinks that was a tad clunky?? Basically admitting we pivoted for Zach when TRAC was available and also , the comment about it's too early to rate tracs form!! A bit different than what I thought he'd say going from his media outings from times before.

Agree, it doesn't come off well to say "wait and see on Trac's long term" as Petracca is a Norm Smith medalist, we all know how he plays and stands up in big games.

I think he's a bit naive currently thinking the AFL is mature enough to have these discussions. Just needs to say he's not discussing hypotheticals.

The last comment about "assigning blame to anyone" kind of stuck out to me. Like he may not have agreed with the strategy. One could read between the lines on a recruiter leaving the club.

Agree, it doesn't come off well to say "wait and see on Trac's long term" as Petracca is a Norm Smith medalist, we all know how he plays and stands up in big games.

I think he's a bit naive currently thinking the AFL is mature enough to have these discussions. Just needs to say he's not discussing hypotheticals.

The last comment about "assigning blame to anyone" kind of stuck out to me. Like he may not have agreed with the strategy. One could read between the lines on a recruiter leaving the club.
Agree with you and MS on this. That comment about Petracca being a wait and see struck a jarring note. I can imagine Petracca has already filed it away for when we next play them, and that's about the last thing we need against the Suns. Trac is Stringer x 10. It's only going to come across the worse if we were ever in discussions with Trac/Trac's manager as was reported and then looked elsewhere.

To be fair the US cops are never sure what is going to happen with something like that. Most of us would probably lose our sense of humor too if we were shot at on the job, and constantly on the lookout for more extreme type trouble than this.

At the risk of being too lame, it's an exceptionally tough job that a lot of them do.
They seem to have a very black and white set of parameters of whom to shoot and whom to simply arrest.

Some Richmond Muppet rang Wheatley on SEN this morning to have a whinge about how come a Richmond player got suspended for two weeks for high end drink driving but MacDonald and Moore didn't cop a suspension for hopping on a scissor lift.

Wheatley (to his credit) kept trying to make the caller understand that you can't equate a minor infraction like hopping on a scissor lift with drink driving but this idiot wouldn't listen (he seemed to think it was a conspiracy against the tigers and that the Hawks players had bought the game into "disrepute")

Honestly Richmond players and supporters are a close second behind the Dons on the flog meter 😬. I hope we absolutely destroy them this year 🤬

Some Richmond Muppet rang Wheatley on SEN this morning to have a whinge about how come a Richmond player got suspended for two weeks for high end drink driving but MacDonald and Moore didn't cop a suspension for hopping on a scissor lift.

Wheatley (to his credit) kept trying to make the caller understand that you can't equate a minor infraction like hopping on a scissor lift with drink driving but this idiot wouldn't listen (he seemed to think it was a conspiracy against the tigers and that the Hawks players had bought the game into "disrepute")

Honestly Richmond players and supporters are a close second behind the Dons on the flog meter 😬. I hope we absolutely destroy them this year 🤬
Just point the Richmond flogs towards Geelong flogs and stand back

I think the cats fans dislike us a little less since the last few years v Richmond online

Just point the Richmond flogs towards Geelong flogs and stand back

I think the cats fans dislike us a little less since the last few years v Richmond online
Wheatley even made a very good point that Dylan lost his vice captaincy because of it which is a harsher punishment than a one week suspension anyway but the caller totally ignored him.

Geez he was fair old sooking it up big time......

Wheatley even made a very good point that Dylan lost his vice captaincy because of it which is a harsher punishment than a one week suspension anyway but the caller totally ignored him.

Geez he was fair old sooking it up big time......
He was probably drunk!

It was a boom lift not a scissor list and i'm not sure about US Laws but here there are licenses for such machinery. But I don't think there is any evidence that they were operating it. If they were they'd be putting peoples lives in danger.

Had they been driving the lift drunk, without the proper licenses it's a different thing. That's not to say their aren't people showing up to work drunk and operating forklifts in warehouses all over the country though.

Credit to the hawks team (jo Gilbert?) Who managed exclusivity with the Danish Royals at the MCG rather than the usual representative from numerous clubs.

Will have little impact with sponsorship etc, but still a pretty good feat

Edit* also even better of them seemingly getting the rams on board - i assume they will be using our facilities for training, recovery etc

It was a boom lift not a scissor list and i'm not sure about US Laws but here there are licenses for such machinery. But I don't think there is any evidence that they were operating it. If they were they'd be putting peoples lives in danger.

Had they been driving the lift drunk, without the proper licenses it's a different thing. That's not to say their aren't people showing up to work drunk and operating forklifts in warehouses all over the country though.
I am no expert on heavy machinery but wouldn't they need a key to operate it?

They had to half jump down from it when the cops came so I don't think at any stage were they operating it. Looks like they saw a boom lift outside the bar, climbed up into it (probably for a photo opportunity) and thats the extent of it.

Would be another thing altogether i agree if they had been driving a boom lift drunk down a main street of downtown Arizona! Whately was saying its a $200 fine (trespassing) so about the same financial cost of a parking ticket (admittedly you don't tend to spend a night in jail for a parking ticket).

Still a silly thing to do though (specially in the states).

Agree with you and MS on this. That comment about Petracca being a wait and see struck a jarring note. I can imagine Petracca has already filed it away for when we next play them, and that's about the last thing we need against the Suns. Trac is Stringer x 10. It's only going to come across the worse if we were ever in discussions with Trac/Trac's manager as was reported and then looked elsewhere.
I thought the "wait and see" was relating to longevity, inferring that petracca hadn't committed longer than the remaining contract (either playing or in a coaching/leadership sense)

I am no expert on heavy machinery but wouldn't they need a key to operate it?

They had to half jump down from it when the cops came so I don't think at any stage were they operating it. Looks like they saw a boom lift outside the bar, climbed up into it (probably for a photo opportunity) and thats the extent of it.

Would be another thing altogether i agree if they had been driving a boom lift drunk down a main street of downtown Arizona! Whately was saying its a $200 fine (trespassing) so about the same financial cost of a parking ticket (admittedly you don't tend to spend a night in jail for a parking ticket).

Still a silly thing to do though (specially in the states).
If it was australia that owner of the lift could be charged with public endangerment, ad it has not been co.pletely lowered, and it is being stored in a location with easy access to the public (not fenced off)

I think the US's litigious regime would be scarier tbh