List Mgmt. Gettable- The Adelaide List Build

• Thread starter Thread starter Cleric

Not sure which big free agent signings are on the cards honestly after missing out on Petracca and NWM. Would be nice to get a big midfield signing though. Not sure Bailey is it.

He’s probably the best free agent available though, and the closest to what we need.

Plus it does seem as though we are in with a reasonable chance of getting him across. Given that all it costs is cap space which we should have available it’s a no brainer for me to go all for him.

Not sure we can be treated as an example of a success story. We spent years out of finals and didn't even win one. Now we are decent we have Brisbane and Gold Coast with stacked teams.
Why not? The full list rebuild started end of 2019, we did get pick 4 from a pick swap to accelerated it but stuffed up that pick (still have Pedlar on the list though with associated pick swap). The top picks we got from 2020 to 2022 were 1 (got that draft right) and 11 (hopefully will be right at the end of this year), 6 (got that draft right) and 5 (trade for Rankine). We should have played Finals in 2023 so that's 4 years into a full rebuild, traded an outside top 8 pick for pick 8 (got that draft right). Then had a down year and received pick 4 and finish top last year (too high too early), compare that to the picks West Coast and North who rebuild around the same time have received, we are an example of a very success story for how to do a full list rebuild.

We have done a lot right and the best we can but it won't be good enough because of the unfairness with academies and father sons.

It was too long out of finals, surely that's not what the AFL wants.

Isn't Archee more in the Shane McAdam style forward ? ......I'm still big on Cook and Turray
Yes as a smallish but effective marking forward (but without the hangars). Better on the ground also with lots of footy smarts with assists etc

Also much more flexible around d the ground.

Good quality pkayer, rate him highly. 10m over 7 years whilst not being elite (top 50 in league or never finished in the top 7 in Lions B&F) is my issue.

We have done a lot right and the best we can but it won't be good enough because of the unfairness with academies and father sons.

We have done very well from 2020 - 2024 especially. Both inbound trades, draft picks across many rounds and non conventional pick ups and player retention. Must be close to league best in this 5 year period.

If we had nailed a couple of earlier picks - and I get no team does - but say a Pickett or Serong in 2019 and Butters in 2018 (we were strongly considering him) we probably have the clear best list in the league.

One of the major advantages of being crap and having a culture where players want to stay, is our plethora of long term commitments by our young guns (Rachele, Soli, Curtin, Wozza etc) where we have likely front loaded contracts giving still massive salary cap capacity

Reckon we could do Bailey (1.4) and NWM (2m), whilst re-signing all existing guns before capping out . TT will really cost us in 2028 but SA boy who loves the club and already a cult figure in a seemingly successful team may accept 300-500k under what others offer up (1.6m perhaps vs 2m+ offers. Just my guess)

Yes as a smallish but effective marking forward (but without the hangars). Better on the ground also with lots of footy smarts with assists etc

Also much more flexible around d the ground.

Good quality pkayer, rate him highly. 10m over 7 years whilst not being elite (top 50 in league or never finished in the top 7 in Lions B&F) is my issue.
Sorry, I'm not following your line of argument ....my comments were in relation to Ah Chee ....how did did we get onto Zac Bailey ?

It is interesting though ....you'd think, if you throw all your marbles at Bailey, you cut yourself out of the race for Sanders & perhaps NWM ?

So, do we think Bailey is the better Mid ....or do we think Sanders doesn't want to come

Sorry, I'm not following your line of argument ....my comments were in relation to Ah Chee ....how did did we get onto Zac Bailey ?

It is interesting though ....you'd think, if you throw all your marbles at Bailey, you cut yourself out of the race for Sanders & perhaps NWM ?

So, do we think Bailey is the better Mid ....or do we think Sanders doesn't want to come

sanders will come for standard dollars. Crows cant wait on NWM though and he could choose port. So they have to go all in on Bailey. I dont mind to be honest. We are just about to have Prime Curtin rip the competition apart. So our need for extra xfactor isnt as pressing as it was to think lower the offer for both but risk losing both anyway.

haha, pls ignore. You are right. I am even more confused than normal here :-)

Hungover after one too many last night seeing family in ADL preparing for tonight's blockbuster!

To answer your question I believe ASSUMING either Curtin and/or Draper come on as quality mids we perhaps only need one further A grader mid brought in

Dawson
Rankine
Curtin/Draper
A grader (NWM the dream)

Rachele
Soligo
Peatling
Berry and other depth

Seems like easily top 4 midfield to me

Your thoughts on Sanders WW? I like the thought of him but not sure he justified his high end drafting. Caught a lot with the ball in limited time I have seen him this year.

That said, if only costing one first roundder , getting him worth likely be worth it: just not sure why he would be silly to sign a LT contract before Tassie can poach with massive salary $$ and a huge potential sign on bonus (could be as high as 1m). He and McKerchner seem the most obvious Tassie boys to target for the Devils and I would be betting he doesn't commit LT to ANY team before Tassie comes in

Your thoughts on Sanders WW? I like the thought of him but not sure he justified his high end drafting. Caught a lot with the ball in limited time I have seen him this year.

That said, if only costing one first roundder , getting him worth likely be worth it: just not sure why he would be silly to sign a LT contract before Tassie can poach with massive salary $$ and a huge potential sign on bonus (could be as high as 1m). He and McKerchner seem the most obvious Tassie boys to target for the Devils and I would be betting he doesn't commit LT to ANY team before Tassie comes in
Sanders up to this season, hasn't done anything to spark my interest ..... however, this year his game has improved dramatically, and you now tell he'll be a real player

My POV is Sanders has better lateral movement as a MID .....Bailey is predominantly a straight-line MID

Sanders has come out in recent times, indicating he doesn't want to join Tassie .....can't balme him, given the nomadic nature of the team, until the stadium is built

Sanders up to this season, hasn't done anything to spark my interest ..... however, this year his game has improved dramatically, and you now tell he'll be a real player

My POV is Sanders has better lateral movement as a MID .....Bailey is predominantly a straight-line MID

Sanders has come out in recent times, indicating he doesn't want to join Tassie .....can't balme him, given the nomadic nature of the team, until the stadium is built
Strange take on Sanders given his 2026 kick to handball ratio which has been something you have highlighted big time forever as a put down of players. 21 disposals, 3 kicks 18 handballs 125 metres gained which equated to just less than 6 metres per disposal?

Strange take on Sanders given his 2026 kick to handball ratio which has been something you have highlighted big time forever as a put down of players. 21 disposals, 3 kicks 18 handballs 125 metres gained which equated to just less than - metres per disposal?
Good point ....yeah, I prefer at least a 1:1 kick to handball ratio

CARL Walsh, when he's playing at his best, is preminantly a kicker ....and has more hurt factor (R0)

In R1 he reverted to a strong handball game .....and his impact was greatly diminished

The inside MIDS are tending to handball more ....Serong was guilty of this in 2025 ....he's kicking more this year

Six years is a pretty fast rebuild- especially considering how close we got in 2023. The AFL would absolutely be happy with every rebuilding club doing that.

Did you get a good look at Joel Freijah on Friday night Kristof? 😜
Goes alright hey.

I find it hard to believe that we nailed our rebuild. And even if we did it was by dumb luck. We offered Harry Petty a stupid deal. We offered the Roos a stupid deal for JHF. We've been saved from ourselves numerous times, think Sanders would've been a mistake too.

The best we can? We have not drafted a single A grade mid since Matt Crouch in 2013. More than 10 years ago! Thats a massive handbrake, self-inflicted.

How many more darts does Hamish need to throw?