Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2

We beat a team that we should have beaten at home but we showed the exact same flaws that we did last week.

The fast play is looking amazing but we then go into our shells and don't take the game on for long periods of time. It's like we have simultaneously gotten better and worse over the offseason from what we have seen so far.

At 3/4 time that was our chance to show we had developed the maturity to put a team into the ground and we just coasted and lost a bit of percentage. Still not showing the killer instinct we need against the poor teams to build more percentage and against good teams to put them away.
There’s no way you can play at that pace for 4 quarters there’s two teams out there. 14 goals in half a game will win most if not all

We’ve glossed over the negatives but there is one positive to come out of the weekend.

Last year we were 12th for scores per inside 50, in large part due to being 13th for tackles inside 50 and 18th for marks per inside 50. And that’s been a big concern for me under Longmuir, we usually create enough chances but waste a lot of them for various reasons.

Obviously it’s a very small sample size with teams having only played 1 or 2 games, but so far we are 1st for scores per inside 50 by a significant margin. We are scoring @ 65%, with 2nd place being the Bulldogs @ 57%.
  • In the final last year we scored 19 times from 59 entries
  • On the weekend we scored 30 times from 46 entries
Now obviously we aren’t going to score 65% of the time we go inside 50 every week (last year no team scored @ 50%) but with the way the game is trending we need to be more efficient and this weekend was a good start.

Went at 57% again yesterday for scores per i50, keeping us outright 1st at 60.6%, well above the AFL average of 47% and well above our average last year of 44%.

Early days I know but after 15 years of defensive sludge have we finally become a team that can score?

It’s not the finished product but I do like that we are trying to play faster, more attacking footy for the most part.

Went at 57% again yesterday for scores per i50, keeping us outright 1st at 60.6%, well above the AFL average of 47% and well above our average last year of 44%.

Early days I know but after 15 years of defensive sludge have we finally become a team that can score?

It’s not the finished product but I do like that we are trying to play faster, more attacking footy for the most part.
It feels like the Hardwick switch.

He tried to make Richmond a kick mark team like Hawthorn. When he just let the control off and Richmond went bang with flags.

Sack him. Lols yeah nah just jokes pretty quiet in here this week though 🤷‍♂️
Absolutely should be sacked. Today.

Guy just isn’t winning us a flag man.

We beat a team that we should have beaten at home but we showed the exact same flaws that we did last week.

The fast play is looking amazing but we then go into our shells and don't take the game on for long periods of time. It's like we have simultaneously gotten better and worse over the offseason from what we have seen so far.

At 3/4 time that was our chance to show we had developed the maturity to put a team into the ground and we just coasted and lost a bit of percentage. Still not showing the killer instinct we need against the poor teams to build more percentage and against good teams to put them away.
Stick to your spuds mate.
Not sure you noticed but even in the second quarter when some reckoned we faded, we controlled most of the 1/4. Our transition out of the back line was so quick that our forwards had no time to get back to accept the gifts that were coming their way. Hence, the one with the ball had to baulk, and go backwards.
At 3/4 time the game was over. Maybe we could have won by more, but I am prepared to say we coasted. We rested Pearce, later we rested Darcey up forward.
This was a club, Melbourne,that last week beat at the time one of the flags favoyrites. The media wete all over Melbourne as a big chance of the premiership.
Stopp loiking for faults and credit the good.
How good was Scerri! A rookie. Played like a 100 gane veteran. How good was Deadly! Ladt year a player who showed at times he could be a real AFL player.
How good was Ryan, after a dose of Covid. Came back under done. But was superb.
The list goes on, Brayshaw, Treacey, Bolton, Pearce, Worner, the list goes on.
But stay in your corner and never admit we are a good team.

It’s a long season. This place was pretty reactionary last week.

It goes both ways. If it’s reactionary to critique the coach after losing to a top-half team away then it’s also reactionary to be praising the coach for beating a bottom-half team at home.

We’ve got a pretty favourable 5 games coming up:
  • Richmond @ home
  • Adelaide @ away
  • Collingwood @ neutral (gather round)
  • West Coast @ “away” (home)
  • Carlton @ home
As of right now all of these games look very winnable. If we can come out of this stretch 6-1 that sets up our season nicely and the Geelong loss becomes irrelevant, however if we drop games we’re expected to win like we did in the early stages of last season, we’ll be reminded of how we were 6 goals up in Geelong and choked and that missed opportunity could end up being the deciding factor of our season.

There’s no way you can play at that pace for 4 quarters there’s two teams out there. 14 goals in half a game will win most if not all
We wont' be able to score 50 points a quarter for the whole game, but in the second and fourth quarters last night we conceded 7 and 8 scoring shots. I'd like to see us start limiting that if we can't score ourselves.

I reckon we beat most teams playing like we did yesterday, I'd back us to beat Adelaide, Collingwood will be a test though for sure.
I disagree as we only played 2 quarters of footy - we played very well in patches, whether that’s enough to beat the better sides, time will tell.
As you say, the test is Adelaide and Collingwood.

It goes both ways. If it’s reactionary to critique the coach after losing to a top-half team away then it’s also reactionary to be praising the coach for beating a bottom-half team at home.

We’ve got a pretty favourable 5 games coming up:
  • Richmond @ home
  • Adelaide @ away
  • Collingwood @ neutral (gather round)
  • West Coast @ “away” (home)
  • Carlton @ home
As of right now all of these games look very winnable. If we can come out of this stretch 6-1 that sets up our season nicely and the Geelong loss becomes irrelevant, however if we drop games we’re expected to win like we did in the early stages of last season, we’ll be reminded of how we were 6 goals up in Geelong and choked and that missed opportunity could end up being the deciding factor of our season.
In what world is Adelaide in Adelaide "very winnable"? At best it's 40-60. Collingwood is also 60-40 at best. The rest are definitely very winnable but that's a tough assessment designed to make it hard to live up to.

If we’re a contender we win them.
That's drastically oversimplifying it. If we're a contender we win one and put up a decent showing in the other. I respect Adelaide in Adelaide too, they're also contenders. Collingwood have shown a bit of slipping but are still top 4 hopefuls on a neutral ground with one of the best players in the game still running around for them.

They're not "very winnable" games

Stick to your spuds mate.
Not sure you noticed but even in the second quarter when some reckoned we faded, we controlled most of the 1/4. Our transition out of the back line was so quick that our forwards had no time to get back to accept the gifts that were coming their way. Hence, the one with the ball had to baulk, and go backwards.
At 3/4 time the game was over. Maybe we could have won by more, but I am prepared to say we coasted. We rested Pearce, later we rested Darcey up forward.
This was a club, Melbourne,that last week beat at the time one of the flags favoyrites. The media wete all over Melbourne as a big chance of the premiership.
Stopp loiking for faults and credit the good.
How good was Scerri! A rookie. Played like a 100 gane veteran. How good was Deadly! Ladt year a player who showed at times he could be a real AFL player.
How good was Ryan, after a dose of Covid. Came back under done. But was superb.
The list goes on, Brayshaw, Treacey, Bolton, Pearce, Worner, the list goes on.
But stay in your corner and never admit we are a good team.
Good post mate. I'm pretty sure he just does it for reactions now. There are some on here who will only post after a loss, and some who like to jump on and stir the pot just for shits n giggles. I don't mind it actually. Certainly adds some spice. Most of them have outed themselves by now so we know who they are. There's a poster on here we're pretty sure is an Eagles fan with an alt account. Pretty easy to figure out who if you read back. You just keep up the good posting and let them vent.

Sack him. Lols yeah nah just jokes pretty quiet in here this week though 🤷‍♂️
star wars comedy GIF by Hyper RPG

If we’re a contender we win them.
Nah - if we're a contender we should be aiming for

• Most, if not all, of our optus games
  • Most, if not all, away games against crap sides
  • 50/50 away games against good sides. For now, I'll include CW @ AO

We'll probably drop one or two we shouldn't, but we'll probably win one or two we shouldn't
That should get us top 4