Player Watch #9: Jack Steele – traded from St Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter Scythe

Pissed myself laughing when I lurked the Richmond board yesterday and you were bemoaning not having a Steele type.

Mate, I have been going on about Steele before he ever was connected with the Demons. I wanted them to cut May's best pals Prestia & Lynch & sign on Steele & Cox instead, citing both will play far more games & Cox can play both both Full Forward & Ruck. It was pitchforks on fire when i suggested it.

Within 2 weeks into the season Lynch was injured for 5 weeks, Prestia had already been injured & our only 2 ruckman Nank & Simms got injured leaving Samson F-ing Ryan our only option.

I am the first to admit, I suffer from severe "I told you so" syndrome

Jack Steele: 26 touches at 92% (!), 11 clearances(!), eight tackles.

His opponent and last year's Brownlow Medallist, Matt Rowell: 13 touches.

Been fantastic, but was incredible today.

Jack Steele: 26 touches at 92% (!), 11 clearances(!), eight tackles.

His opponent and last year's Brownlow Medallist, Matt Rowell: 13 touches.

Been fantastic.

Don't recall ever seeing a two way mid like this play for us.

Would be stiff to miss the MFC Hall of Fame.
Hes turning into Daniel Cross 2.0 fast. Hard not to love the bloke, great clubman who doesnt say much but puts his all in every game.

Fair play, couldn't have been any different to the Freo game he was top 3 on the ground for us. If he keeps it simple like that he's got a fan in me.
Welcome to the give yourself an uppercut bandwagon TK.

Lewis played HBF and Cross came into the shittest midfield of all time. Steele makes absolutely **** all sense and you should uppercut yourself and Bluelegs for supporting it

Welcome to the give yourself an uppercut bandwagon TK.
Im still keen to see how he works with viney, I think hes thriving as the main contested winner and he will struggle if his role gets demoted but yeah nah he was great. I actually reckon they pulled him aside after the Freo game and told him not to just kick as long because hes been way better the last 2 weeks

For the record I was filthy when St Kilda fleeced the Giants to get him, wondering why that couldn't have been us. Unlike Carlton who picked up every GWS reject spud this guy was always destined to turn out to be a midfield sledgehammer.

Im still keen to see how he works with viney, I think hes thriving as the main contested winner and he will struggle if his role gets demoted but yeah nah he was great. I actually reckon they pulled him aside after the Freo game and told him not to just kick as long because hes been way better the last 2 weeks
Don’t think you can play him, Viney and Sparrow in the same midfield.

One of those guys you never dream of seeing play for your club, best pick up since Langdon (arguably our only good pick up since, Ben Brown did a job I guess). What Dunstan was meant to be for us.

Don’t think you can play him, Viney and Sparrow in the same midfield.
I dont either but I thought he was gonna look slow and shit and I was wrong. Maybe Viney can use his legs out of clearance more often. I just think Steeles role is so perfect for him that with another inside guy, they then will be asking for him to balance more towards outside which doesnt suit him at all

Balance is they key word. King mentioned it when dropping Rivers and part of the reason he was dropped. When Viney is fit hopefully he sticks to his philosophy and not play all of Sparrow, Steel and Viney. Providing both stay in form can't see Viney coming in. It's all hypothetical atm we'll see in 5 weeks or so.

I reckon I posted once potting this trade. Probably should find it and delete it before he goes full Daniel Cross.