Autopsy Round 6, 2026: Hawks dim the lights

Which it hasn’t in the last 2 years.
He hasn't been thrown in the middle and told to hunt it. He's been played as a defensive half forward. His third best position behind tagger and offensive onballer.

We beat Swans at the G with no Heeney or Gulden.
Beat the Cats by a point with no Dangerfield.
We beat the Dogs with no English or Libba.
Barely won in Melbourne against Power.

Yeah, I know we're missing Day etc and it's great to be banking wins against the better teams, but I don't think we really know where we're at yet.
Wouldn't be drinking our own bathwater too much.

You're right

Why bother.

FMD

3 poor games in a row? Did we all watch the same Geelong game or? He was literally one of our best players against Geelong.

Thought he used the ball poorly but I can excuse it due to the immense pressure of the game.

Having a look at the center clearances, I'd like to see us take a leaf out of Cameron Ling's play book and force opposition playmakers under the contest from behind, not allowing them free movement. We seem to allow the sweeper free movement. Butters especially was holding defensive side for a spillage under no pressure at all. Our mids seem to make initial contact, then release and back themselves to win the contest, but spill it under pressure... then Port always knew the sweeper would be available.

Sammy obviously addressed how loose we were playing at half time. I'm no master at this, but there's clearly a lot to learn from the second quarter. Port came at us hard with pressure in the second, controlled the corridor and picked their way through our defence with a heap of uncontested marks (not sure where to find the stats). We simply didn't match their intensity until the break. It's hard to watch, but it's good to know where our weakness is.
This is what gets me too. The Cats did it for years and still do and Port used both Butter and JHF at the back of stoppages, by the time they take off their moving to fast to tackle. Is it just the fall of the ball or a set play, take one step back to go forward ? I am genuinely curious at this, does the sweeper need a hard tag? JHF did it twice in the last at the Center ball up and took off, I cursed him the first time but watched with awe and surprise the second. Mind you the kid can play.

He hasn't been thrown in the middle and told to hunt it. He's been played as a defensive half forward. His third best position behind tagger and offensive onballer.
Because he’s not good enough at AFL
Level to do it and clearly the Sam and all the selection committee know it as well, a midfield of Nash Newcombe and Finn maginness just does not work at all, there’s a clear reason Sam doesn’t want him on ball.

During the game I was getting frustrated with these uncontested marks happenning in the middle.

Mark kick game in defence is all good which means we must have extra players on our side. Was wondering how TF were port still marking uncontested upfield

I have Crawford anywhere between 21 to 60 which is a great list of players

I don't rate him top 20 ....still a great player of Hawthorn regardless
Crawf maybe a victim of circumstance
he played in some pretty lousy teams
put him in the 3 peat side or the 80's teams
he is also exactly what this current side needs
he would be top 5 all time Hawk
he was that bloody good

Crawf maybe a victim of circumstance
he played in some pretty lousy teams
put him in the 3 peat side or the 80's teams
he is also exactly what this current side needs
he would be top 5 all time Hawk
he was that bloody good
I loved Crawf and he was a star but i think you are selling quite a few others short in hawthorns history if you think Crawfs top 5

Edit: Just off the top of my head

Lethal
Dunstall
Hudson
Knights
Franklin

There are many others that would come into consideration

How the hell has an autopsy thread turned into “I think player X from 30 years ago is better than player Y from 30 years ago”? 😂

I loved Crawf and he was a star but i think you are selling quite a few others short in hawthorns history if you think Crawfs top 5

Edit: Just off the top of my head

Lethal
Dunstall
Hudson
Knights
Franklin

There are many others that would come into consideration
Agree but they all played in dominant sides & won multiple flags,
Crawf's teams were BAD got lucky that he held on in 08
If he had 2-3 flags i think he sits comfortably with that lot

Agree but they all played in dominant sides & won multiple flags,
Crawf's teams were BAD got lucky that he held on in 08
If he had 2-3 flags i think he sits comfortably with that lot
Mate most of those guys are already Legends of the AFL and if not will be in the future

Having a look at the center clearances, I'd like to see us take a leaf out of Cameron Ling's play book and force opposition playmakers under the contest from behind, not allowing them free movement. We seem to allow the sweeper free movement. Butters especially was holding defensive side for a spillage under no pressure at all. Our mids seem to make initial contact, then release and back themselves to win the contest, but spill it under pressure... then Port always knew the sweeper would be available.

Sammy obviously addressed how loose we were playing at half time. I'm no master at this, but there's clearly a lot to learn from the second quarter. Port came at us hard with pressure in the second, controlled the corridor and picked their way through our defence with a heap of uncontested marks (not sure where to find the stats). We simply didn't match their intensity until the break. It's hard to watch, but it's good to know where our weakness is.
It was all about work rate, intensity. Simple.

During the game I was getting frustrated with these uncontested marks happenning in the middle.

Mark kick game in defence is all good which means we must have extra players on our side. Was wondering how TF were port still marking uncontested upfield

That's makes sense. Battle lifted ALOT after the second quarter.

Adrian Cox - good player!

I'm not sure which part of "Worpel was playing this role" isn't understood by some people.....

How the hell has an autopsy thread turned into “I think player X from 30 years ago is better than player Y from 30 years ago”? 😂
Our midfield is "supposedly" so bereft of any talent that we are seeing who we could get out there in a wheelchair to assist.....

Can we just highlight that we had 37k to the game?
Thats got to be our largest marvel home crowd in some time, if ever
That's a crazy good crowd for a Port match.

I reckon having characters like Wiz, Ginni, Chol, etc is really drawing in a younger crowd.

Plus we play very entertaining footy.

He got a lot of it but had a bunch of handballs over his head to nobody and poor kicks. Similar the Sydney game.

He was much better against GWS and Essendon.
Against GWS he definitely lowered his colours and was poor. His one really good game was against Essendon.

He’s got lots of talent but it’s about consistent performance from him now.