Expectations for 2026 (Now discussing: Our next two months)

• Thread starter Thread starter Tugga27

finish season last with 2-21 record and between 55 and 60%
Yeah seems this is most likely unfortunately.

If we lose them all but fight games out and lose a few under a couple of goals I dont really care anymore.

Obviously a win or 2 would ease pressure but all that has done in the last has allowed turd efforts to creep back in.

I think our fortunes come down to if Mini decides to go back to what was working in the early rounds vs what he's doing now.

We snagged 2 wins off of high-intensity, contested run 'n gun footy. Somewhere between those 2 wins and now, I reckon Mini's said to himself "this is unsustainable for such a young group" and has pivoted to a slower style "Simmoball" gameplan to conserve bodies and energy, possibly in an attempt to keep us in games longer and prevent blowouts.

The problem with this though, is "Simmoball" is a solved game, and rather than restricting opposition scoring it does the opposite, allowing opposition sides to run through a defensive setup that favours forcing the ball up the wing (usually by transitioning through the corridor) and into forward 50 under little pressure.

If we're gonna win anymore games we have to abandon what we're currently doing, and go back to contested running. If we do, we'll snag maybe 2 more wins against poor sides and spook a couple of mid-table teams before falling in a heap somewhere around Round 16 due to the kids running out of legs. If we dont, well, the worst side in footy just did us in at home, so make of that what you will.

I think our fortunes come down to if Mini decides to go back to what was working in the early rounds vs what he's doing now.

We snagged 2 wins off of high-intensity, contested run 'n gun footy. Somewhere between those 2 wins and now, I reckon Mini's said to himself "this is unsustainable for such a young group" and has pivoted to a slower style "Simmoball" gameplan to conserve bodies and energy, possibly in an attempt to keep us in games longer and prevent blowouts.

The problem with this though, is "Simmoball" is a solved game, and rather than restricting opposition scoring it does the opposite, allowing opposition sides to run through a defensive setup that favours forcing the ball up the wing (usually by transitioning through the corridor) and into forward 50 under little pressure.

If we're gonna win anymore games we have to abandon what we're currently doing, and go back to contested running. If we do, we'll snag maybe 2 more wins against poor sides and spook a couple of mid-table teams before falling in a heap somewhere around Round 16 due to the kids running out of legs. If we dont, well, the worst side in footy just did us in at home, so make of that what you will.
problem is we dont have 2 big mids in dev and Graham to help.

Maybe we can pick up a couple of big SANFL mids to crash n bash Murdock style

I’m honestly at the point where I don’t think the West Coast Eagles actually care about results anymore. You listen to the messaging coming out of the club , especially the “we’re improving” line from Andrew McQualter and it just feels like they’re drinking their own bath water once again, the approach that got us in this mess in the first place. There’s no alignment between what we’re seeing on the field and what they’re telling us.

This isn’t a football-first organisation right now, it’s a commercial machine. As long as memberships are rolling in, Optus is full, and the merch is flying off shelves, there’s no real pressure to change. Why would there be? The money keeps coming regardless of performance. That’s why the spin keeps coming too. They know fans are loyal, we’ll show up, we’ll support, we’ll buy in. And they’re banking on that.

I hate to say it, because I love (did) this club, but nothing will shift until it hits them where it hurts. attendance and revenue. If crowds start dropping and memberships plateau, suddenly the “we’re improving” narrative won’t cut it anymore. Boycotting games and merch sounds extreme, but what other lever do supporters actually have? Right now, we’re rewarding mediocrity and the club knows it.

I’m honestly at the point where I don’t think the West Coast Eagles actually care about results anymore. You listen to the messaging coming out of the club , especially the “we’re improving” line from Andrew McQualter and it just feels like they’re drinking their own bath water once again, the approach that got us in this mess in the first place. There’s no alignment between what we’re seeing on the field and what they’re telling us.

This isn’t a football-first organisation right now, it’s a commercial machine. As long as memberships are rolling in, Optus is full, and the merch is flying off shelves, there’s no real pressure to change. Why would there be? The money keeps coming regardless of performance. That’s why the spin keeps coming too. They know fans are loyal, we’ll show up, we’ll support, we’ll buy in. And they’re banking on that.

I hate to say it, because I love (did) this club, but nothing will shift until it hits them where it hurts. attendance and revenue. If crowds start dropping and memberships plateau, suddenly the “we’re improving” narrative won’t cut it anymore. Boycotting games and merch sounds extreme, but what other lever do supporters actually have? Right now, we’re rewarding mediocrity and the club knows it.
They do ...but we are irrelevant as a football club in the AFL and we have lost our identity ..we have no power and we fail to use our wealth nothing we just put up with getting reemed by the AFL

Look at gather round stand alone games Anzac Day travel we get nothing..no other team gets to play games at 9 in the morning. We are an annoyance to the AFL when scheduling games ...no other team well apart form freo games are scheduled to suit a Eastern states audience...like even yesterday..why the F**k wasn't that a sat night game ??..reason north Geelong games, Saints Carlton takes precedence over us and they get the night games.

Unless the club can stand up for itself and its supporters/members we will go nowhere

As if competitors like Pyke, McQualter, Woosha, Shuey and Hurn would accept that shit. The problem with the AFL is that development also happens in the main league. We are a development team with a lot of young talent. Until the bulk of them get 3+ preseasons and 50+ games, we are going to struggle.

Woosha has come out and said this only a few weeks ago in that big article he did. Players need 50-100 games together. 50 games for the current players (that are good enough to make it) will happen by end of next year. So that's why he said they're targeting finals end of 27 (if they get lucky) or from 28 onwards.

Gives us one more draft to nail (before Tassie) and two periods of trades/FA to fill needs. I think our talent identification has been a lot better since Pyke overhauled everything, so I'm sure we'll do fine.

The biggest unknown at the moment is the coach. He also needs 50+ games of experience. He's having a real rough trot at the moment, how he comes out of this will determine if he's got it or not.

Has the WAFC got the balls to run an independant internal commission at the Eagles?

Not until the money stops flowing in... attendance and merchandise and viewers.

They do ...but we are irrelevant as a football club in the AFL and we have lost our identity ..we have no power and we fail to use our wealth nothing we just put up with getting reemed by the AFL

Look at gather round stand alone games Anzac Day travel we get nothing..no other team gets to play games at 9 in the morning. We are an annoyance to the AFL when scheduling games ...no other team well apart form freo games are scheduled to suit a Eastern states audience...like even yesterday..why the F**k wasn't that a sat night game ??..reason north Geelong games, Saints Carlton takes precedence over us and they get the night games.

Unless the club can stand up for itself and its supporters/members we will go nowhere

We have always been that type of club though, hence the nickname the Chardonnay set.
Now of course we must of had a killer instinct as we have won 4 flags but in a general sense we would rather look good than be good. Even when we had the line in the sand game in the western Derby, that alone should have meant a deep hatred for the dockers but alas not really. It’s like we are playing our childhood sweetheart against the dockers.
Now look at the difference in SA where the showdown is an absolute hatred between clubs and it’s heading now to a stand alone Friday night fixture in the future.
I am not even sure we have accepted we are the little brother now. The Dockers are now the big deal in WA and we have become irrelevant.
I am not sure how it all changes but it’s not a club I am proud to support these days.

We have taken a huge hit with Robertson, Graham, Starc and to a lesser but significant extent Harry. I will be a slow build from here. I think the odd win will come from unexpected games. I thought Richmond had far too many stronger experienced players in key positions for us to topple, and thats how it turned out. Boys on men. Our best were midfielders and our most dangerous forward was Owies. Our back got molested.

I agree with the sentiment of your post, but Waterman kicked 3.1 and was our best forward by far.

As if competitors like Pyke, McQualter, Woosha, Shuey and Hurn would accept that shit. The problem with the AFL is that development also happens in the main league. We are a development team with a lot of young talent. Until the bulk of them get 3+ preseasons and 50+ games, we are going to struggle.

Woosha has come out and said this only a few weeks ago in that big article he did. Players need 50-100 games together. 50 games for the current players (that are good enough to make it) will happen by end of next year. So that's why he said they're targeting finals end of 27 (if they get lucky) or from 28 onwards.

Gives us one more draft to nail (before Tassie) and two periods of trades/FA to fill needs. I think our talent identification has been a lot better since Pyke overhauled everything, so I'm sure we'll do fine.

The biggest unknown at the moment is the coach. He also needs 50+ games of experience. He's having a real rough trot at the moment, how he comes out of this will determine if he's got it or not.
Yeah I get the point and for the younger guys yes but look at the games played now for these guys..they have played enough now together and still producing the same shit week in week out ....gingers excepted

Ginbey 71
Hough 83
Brockman 56
Edwards 56
Maric 54
Bailey Williams 92
Flynn 59
Owies 91

I have highlighted these lads because they have played enough...and honestly apart from Ginbey none of them would make a list of another club currently....you could make a case for hough but he has gone backwards more so than any other player in the comp

Just pumping games into players ...yeah every club does that when they play a game...we have to make them better thats the issue and atm they are just shit

Yeah I get the point and for the younger guys yes but look at the games played now for these guys..they have played enough now together and still producing the same shit week in week out ....gingers excepted

Ginbey 71
Hough 83
Brockman 56
Edwards 56
Maric 54
Bailey Williams 92
Flynn 59
Owies 91

I have highlighted these lads because they have played enough...and honestly apart from Ginbey none of them would make a list of another club currently....you could make a case for hough but he has gone backwards more so than any other player in the comp

Just pumping games into players ...yeah every club does that when they play a game...we have to make them better thats the issue and atm they are just shit
Edwards and Maric would.

Maric is a bit of a luxury player at the moment and I think he'd do really well in a stronger side.

All being said, he's done more than enough the last 2 weeks to keep his spot for now.

Ginbey 71
Hough 83
Brockman 56
Edwards 56
Maric 54
Bailey Williams 92
Flynn 59
Owies 91

I agree - that's why I said those who make it. The aim is to get a talented core and then they are supported by role players.

Of your list, I agree that only Ginbey (and I think Hough when fit like seasons past) are part of the core. I think Maric is a good role player and I really liked him on the wing yesterday. Edwards I also think is serviceable but his body is letting him down. The rest are probably all gone by the end of next year (maybe not Bailey Williams - he would be good depth ruck).

Our future is the elite talent from the last 3 drafts. Harley, Duursma, Shanahan have all shown they will be elite (Harley almost there already). CDT and Lindsay look promising. Then there are a few others that should at least be role players (Davies, Allan, hopefully Hewett, McCarthy and maybe Hutchinson). Murdock and Dev as well.

We'll definitely need to trade in one or two others for the core (a mid and a KPD) and hopefully find one or two more this draft. The rest we pad from MSD, FA or low value trades.

My expectations for the rest of the year are very low. Hard to get excited about the style of football we are churning out. Would be lucky to win another game if improvement is not made.

At this point I dont expect us to win any more this year.

I think I'll be pleasantly surprised if we are even close in any games TBH.

Only real excitement is getting games into as many kids as possible.

Hopefully some good story comes out of the MSD too

The drafts have been the best part of the season the last half a decade

On the back of all these poor performances I just can't stand the club propaganda machine anymore, or the lack of accountability by coach and players.
Having said that, the coach has said it all before in previous losses, what else can he say?
"I'm a shit coach, still learning and trying to improve a shit list?

So that Richmond game gutted me and my expectations, am not so invested any more, losing my religion so to speak.

Yet strangely, there's still a part of me that thinks there's enough working components for it to click on any given game day, with the right inclusions (MSD) and the right coaching?

I'd be happy to win 1 more game, with some 'fighting it out' and close games at the back end of the season and pray we don't cop any more serious injuries.
That's a definite improvement on last year, even if we get another wooden kitchen implement.(which would be a bonus)

Genuinely, could a must trade for experience end of first round pick or two be on the table this year if we do fully shit the bed for the rest of the season