Game Day Round 9 vs. Geelong, Sat 09/05 at 7:35pm (MCG)

• Thread starter Thread starter unplugged

On Allan, he has been smashing it as an inside mid in the VFL. His last couple of games in the VFL have been fantastic.

However, when he is selected to play AFL, he never gets to play mid. Instead he is played as a winger, which is not the same. As a winger, his performances have often been somewhat indifferent, and then he gets dropped.

I don't understand why we don't just give him the opportunity to play inside mid in the AFL. No wing, no other requirements, just inside mid.

I want to see him get that chance. Just throw him in the guts, and say to him: show us what you've got. I'm hoping he gets a block of games as pure inside mid.

It would be terrible if we were to delist him without ever even seeing what he could offer at senior level in what the VFL is showing to be his true position.

In: Pendles, Howe, McCreery and Allan
Out: Long, Perryman, and I’m struggling beyond that.

I think the ins will dictate the outs this week with 3 walk up starts likely returning plus I suspect they’ll reward Allan with a job on Dempsey.
Playing Allan on Dempsey on the wing is setting him up for failure.
He has to be given the chance in the midfield. That's his position.
But I wouldn't be dropping Long this week, he was really good against Hawthorn.
I'd definitely have Long's game above Gus' game last week.

Is it? We’ve just rested players and had one out with “general soreness”
Is DC 38 like Pendles?

Everyone knows Beau has a hand injury and needed a week off. If you want to believe ‘General soreness’ I trust the tooth fairy comes tonight for you also

Is DC 38 like Pendles?

Everyone knows Beau has a hand injury and needed a week off. If you want to believe ‘General soreness’ I trust the tooth fairy comes tonight for you also
I believe in general soreness. I wake up with it every day!

Will really miss DC if out
Not just ruck but the marking and his positioning is excellent
Saves us numerous times
I’d go as far to say we don’t win without DC.
Hoping like hell he gets up.

I’m happy for Bobby to gain more form and fitness in the twos. That will give him more chance of coming in and impacting straight away. Hayes is also benefiting from the exposure. Shows better signs each game.

Even though we have a good record in Sydney I think this is the one we really need to throw everything at. Sydney are flying and the Cats look vulnerable.
After Sydney we play Eagles, Bulldogs, Dees, Port in Melbourne, Richmond, Suns away, Kangas and Blues. If we win one of our next two I think 7 of the next 8 isn’t out of the question.
That’s a lot of “if’s” but fingers crossed we could be 12 & 5 plus the draw.
That puts us in a position to Challenge for a good ladder position

I’m happy for Bobby to gain more form and fitness in the twos. That will give him more chance of coming in and impacting straight away. Hayes is also benefiting from the exposure. Shows better signs each game.
Bobby back for WC and Pendles’ record breaking game would be something very special.

Cats have ruled out Blicavs for this week
Gryan Miers and Jack Henry are tests

Even though we have a good record in Sydney, I think this is the one we really need to throw everything at. Sydney is flying, and the Cats look vulnerable.
After Sydney, we play Eagles, Bulldogs, Dees, Port in Melbourne, Richmond, Suns away, Kangas and Blues. If we win one of our next two, I think 7 of the next 8 isn’t out of the question.
That’s a lot of “if’s” but fingers crossed we could be 12 & 5 plus the draw.
That puts us in a position to challenge for a good ladder position
Ummm.. what? 🫪

You mean at Stadium Australia? What is the closest thing that might be considered AFL standard in the whole state of NSW? Yeah, we lost three in 13 starts from 2003-2014. Then the Swans had a sook, and we've played them at the SCG ever since.

We've beaten the Swans three times there since 1995. 2000, 2017, and 2019. Obviously, playing elsewhere doesn't make that a stat, but we don't play well on their landing strip excuse for an "oval," where even Jezza Cameron would blush about the football field meeting the carpark. I reckon the 50-metre arcs are about 35 metres from the goal mouth at their widest. It's a sadistic joke.

I'd love to be optimistic about that trip. Yes, one point in a prelim we should have won, if not for their six-goal head start, Papley pushing Darcy in the back for their only goal, and being up by almost five goals at 3QT in 2024, and dropping our bundle. Maybe there were some controversial free throws there, but like the Hawks on Thursday night, we shouldn't be giving teams a sniff.

You mentioned the Gold Coast game, too. Another travesty is playing up there to keep that franchise afloat. They should pay us the profits from the gate, because we basically have Pies fans pay for the Suns' annual membership in one game, across their whole supporter base. Yet another example of where, like sh1tney, it should be played at the MCG.

People have a whinge because we never leave the MCG. We do more than most, and we prop up these ridiculous venues like lambs to the slaughter.

I am definitely pinning this comment for when we, in cricket terms, go on and raise the bat a few times. If we can draw with a bogey team like Hawthorn, especially given we should have had absolutely no hope, then maybe the sky is the limit. Maybe it's only the glass ceiling.

But let's keep Jezza out of the car park this week, first. Hopefully, DC, Big Beau, and Pendles play, and Pezza isn't too badly done that he is out for too long!

I don’t take any notice of the primary producers results down at party drug stadium. The shithole looks like it was drawn freehand by a right handed bloke with his left hand. We’ll smoke the flogs this week
It's a good time to get the Cats but the Pies have lost 6 of the past 8 against them and none were played in Geelong.

Let’s not pretend that Geelong are contenders. You are on the slide like us.
Should be a good game.

Is DC 38 like Pendles?

Ah yes, Pendles is the first player we’ve ever rested or been precautious with!

And DC has an ankle injury.

I’d go as far to say we don’t win without DC.
Hoping like hell he gets up.
I agree, we will hugely miss DC.
But I reckon we can still win even if he doesn't get up.
We'll support Steene with both Buller and Frampers playing ruck in F50 and D50 respectively.
Geelong doesn't have a powerful ruck contingent to smash Steene.
Pendles will be there directing traffic and providing almost 3 decades of experience to the midfield group.
We'll have Jem Howe providing intercept cover in D50 as well.

Should be a good game.

I tipped Cats but I can still see us Winning as well

Should be a good game.
FWIW (probably not much), I refuse to rule us out as contenders. Especially after that game against Hawthorn.
Our defence is just second to none. It is the absolute best in the competition.
Our forward line definitely at present looks sub par.

But:

a) Bobby Hill is going to return
b) We haven't found out how much Buller can improve nor what West might contribute.
c) We have Ed Allan smashing the VFL midfield. Let's see what he is capable of, not as a winger but as a pure midfielder, before we completely discount our chances.
d) Edit: Billy Frampton is playing like a champion. Who would have ever believed that Frampton could have become such a lynch pin in our defence? From Premiership forward to an elite defender. This is another new factor.

There is something about this team, and the way Fly coaches, that makes it impossible to rule us out completely. Pendles Sidey and Howe are still magnificent players, but they must be managed with kid gloves. We are learning how to do this, and the elimination of the sub allows us to do so by giving them limited game time.

I admit, Brisbane looks formidable. But remember in 2025, with all our injuries - Pendles out during warm up - we were the only team that had a chance to beat them.

There is some quality about this team that you can just never ignore.

Just went to the feline board. Very slow traffic there...only 2 pages of posts about the upcoming game. Here is a snippet from an apparently rather nervous Geelong supporter:

1777984434801.webp

According to him we are a 2nd rate team of no namers, yet we held a Premiership contendor to a draw. Our main strength is pressure, along with the ability to track play continously and prevent loose Hawthorn players from impacting contests.

Our players are "unlikeable", with so many tattoos (apparently indicating aggressive personalities)....

He's confused about who the greater threat is,Naicos or Pendles....

FWIW (probably not much), I refuse to rule us out as contenders. Especially after that game against Hawthorn.
Our defence is just second to none. It is the absolute best in the competition.
Our forward line definitely at present looks sub par.

But:

a) Bobby Hill is going to return
b) We haven't found out how much Buller can improve nor what West might contribute.
c) We have Ed Allan smashing the VFL midfield. Let's see what he is capable of, not as a winger but as a pure midfielder, before we completely discount our chances.
d) Edit: Billy Frampton is playing like a champion. Who would have ever believed that Frampton could have become such a lynch pin in our defence? From Premiership forward to an elite defender. This is another new factor.

There is something about this team, and the way Fly coaches, that makes it impossible to rule us out completely. Pendles Sidey and Howe are still magnificent players, but they must be managed with kid gloves. We are learning how to do this, and the elimination of the sub allows us to do so by giving them limited game time.

I admit, Brisbane looks formidable. But remember in 2025, with all our injuries - Pendles out during warm up - we were the only team that had a chance to beat them.

There is some quality about this team that you can just never ignore.
Agree. We are still super competitive against the best. Coulda, shoulda beaten two of the current top three. I’m liking that we don’t really know the makeup of our best side and what our full potential is this season. Already seeing some promising signs from newcomers who can give us some variety in selection and different options and I’m thinking that this has also given our coaches a nice freshen up too.

In a really nice position to come into finals with confidence and depth and some surprises up our sleeves too. I like it.