Rumour GFC 2026 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists Pt 1

• Thread starter Thread starter cats_09

We can all make an effort to make this forum a more positive experience for everyone. That said, I do think our board is better than most. I find the majority of posters are considerate.

Online forums are very different to real life. If I met one of you in person and you said "I really rate Jhye Clark, I think he will be a star" id probably say "oh yeah? Well I hope you're right" and just be glad to be chatting to a fellow Geelong supporter.....but on this forum I probably say "Well I don't know what you've been watching, he is no good".

I try to remember there's always a real person behind the text but normal politeness does go out the window and I'm certainly guilty at times.

We can all make an effort to make this forum a more positive experience for everyone. That said, I do think our board is better than most. I find the majority of posters are considerate.

Online forums are very different to real life. If I met one of you in person and you said "I really rate Jhye Clark, I think he will be a star" id probably say "oh yeah? Well I hope you're right" and just be glad to be chatting to a fellow Geelong supporter.....but on this forum I probably say "Well I don't know what you've been watching, he is no good".

I try to remember there's always a real person behind the text but normal politeness does go out the window and I'm certainly guilty at times.

Excellent post.

As you say, a forum is very different to real life. It can be hard to decipher tone and intent when we just have words on a screen and no visual or audio cues to tell us whether a reply is curious, encouraging, angry, snide or humorous.

I know I've had to sit back on occasion and carefully ponder a post to try and ascertain its intent.

Then we all have that poster, or two, who just rubs us and it can be difficult not to bristle just a little bit, straight up, simply because it's THAT poster, which primes us to read offence into anything they say if we're not careful.

Like you said, it's a good forum overall, but it could be even better if we all invest just a little more effort.

Might start a gofundme to pay @CHAWKTS2 to come back
One thing he highlighted as being exhausting was the over the top nature in which we relentlessly criticise players, form whipping boys, write off veterans etc. Food for thought. It can get pretty toxic and nasty. There is a level headed way to say that performance standards are not up to scratch, then there is the over the top abuse you see all too commonly.

Id be going for Darcy Wilson

Plus im not sure why not many are not mentioning Nick V from Richmond.
Could be a good pick up free agent like Isaac Smith.
I know Calder also is happy to get him like me
There’s a player I’ve wanted purely because I think in a good team he will be a very good player.
Jordan Boyd from Carlton, tends to be in and out of the blues but I reckon he could slot straight into our team and play week in week out as a BP

Gut feel is we’re saving everything for H.Reid in 2028.
I’m sure the club would love to get Reid but if we sit back and build trade capital until then we will have been left in the dust of the best 6-8 teams.

If you can’t keep moving forward you die.

Swans vs Sharks WAFL Colts
Big win by the swans in the end with great attacking run and strong presence from the tall forwards all day.
Jai Debono 31 disposals 2 goals

Strong tallish midfielder who seemed to have a good tank and just was at every contest through out the day. Not the most polished but not bad, reminded me of Johnson a little from Fremantle.

David Shanahan 15 disposals 6 marks
Some very solid marks and defensive efforts across the half back line, looks tall and would definitley be creating some attention as a possible kpb prospect.

Joshua Hardeman 16 disposals
Looked to be very versatile and did some great things with ball in hand, gained meters and also in the air with one very nice contested mark.

Lebron Yarran 11 disposals 3 goals 2
Showed some magic and elite speed, looks like he could be a match turning type player. Faded a little but a real important part of setting up the win.

SCHARENGUIVEL Ethan 4 goals 11 disposals
Had to copy and paste this name haha, he did some amazing things a couple of goal of the weeks in one game. Looks to have some real goal sense and creativity.

Nate Scott 19 disposals 1 goal
This guy really caught my eye, looks like a very well rounded small defender who can attack as well. Did some very good things, nothing too flashy but works both ways and the type a club could really benefit from having.

Hunter Hearn 24 disposals
Another for East Fremantle who had great two game and provided rebound while doing a good job defensively as well.

The ruck battle was great with Powderley and Lee- Gowland the ruck it self was won by lee -gowland but around the ground powderley was very impressive both players providing a very nice contest.

Forwards Duddfield and Smith showed some very nice things as well, they both presented well and held their position well in the aerial contest, they seemed to really structure that forward line with the way they presented and were not pushed off the ball easily.

Gut feel is we’re saving everything for H.Reid in 2028.
He could have left and he didn’t.. not entirely sure why things would drastically change for his next contract. He will get a massive 2m + deal again much the same.

Unless we want to go massive bucks, we most likely won’t land him then either. WCE just has too much money to burn.

We need to get players in now, not wait and hope for something in 2-3 years time

There’s a player I’ve wanted purely because I think in a good team he will be a very good player.
Jordan Boyd from Carlton, tends to be in and out of the blues but I reckon he could slot straight into our team and play week in week out as a BP
Can't say I know anything about him

It suddenly looks a pretty weak team once Stanley and Clark go out. Miers will be on managed minutes and either Knevitt or Wiltshire are likely to be held over as an emergency.

If that happens we'll be down to 10 afl listed players and most of them aren't even proven at VFL level.

Collingwood aren't much chop at vfl level but our vfl team was really good again today. Starting to make improvements.

I can see the Dogs winning a flag in the next few years tbh.
If they had all there players playing they'd be contenders this year

Im not sure about that. Their defence is already weak and with them spending more cap on butters unless they are going to let someone like sanders or other mids go they wont have the cap and picks to fix the defence.

Id be going for Darcy Wilson

Plus im not sure why not many are not mentioning Nick V from Richmond.
Could be a good pick up free agent like Isaac Smith.
I know Calder also is happy to get him like me

I would love wilson and he would fit the Geelong style but I assume he stays or goes to North Melbourne (given the connection there).
Vlas because of age i assume does 1 more year there or retires.

We really should have gone phillipou. Rate him highly and he will be a gun. Big miss imo from wells

Yeah nah.
Bullet dodged well and truly.
Betting my left nut he isn't at Moorabbin next year. Shipped off willingly by the club my man there tells me.
Wells knew exactly what he was doing in regards of putting line thru him.
He was hoping Bailey Humphrey was gonna slide. Unfortunate, but that is footy.
Took Clark as the bridesmaid in a draft that pretty much has given the league Sweet FA with maybe 7-8 decent players.
Worst draft overall in a long long time...even more so when u take out the 3 FS of Ashcroft Fletcher Michalanney.

Hes the only player i would have taken instead of Clark but I can also see why we didnt. Mattaes has massive attitude issues and that tends to be something we steer clear of (rightly or wrongly).
Spot on.
This is why he will be elsewhere in 2027 as i'm led to believe.

Yeah nah.
Betting my left nut he isn't at Moorabbin next year. Shipped off willingly by the club my man there tells me.
Took Clark as the bridesmaid in a draft that pretty much has given the league Sweet FA with maybe 7-8 decent players.
Worst draft overall in a long long time...even more so when u take out the 3 FS of Ashcroft Fletcher Michalanney.

I would love to get Humphrey, especially if we don't get Butters but I doubt GC would let him go.

He's Melbourne or Hawthorn bound IMO, and that's if they even let him go.

It's a geography thing. He's from Moe and there's a few family issues/homesickness problems I believe. We're just on the wrong side of town for this one, and trading with the Suns is like buying gifts for a billionaire.

Will end up coming down to how sympathetic Dimma wants to be.

Yeah nah.
Why shipped out?? What’s the story

It's a geography thing. He's from Moe and there's a few family issues/homesickness problems I believe. We're just on the wrong side of town for this one, and trading with the Suns is like buying gifts for a billionaire.

Agree with all that but i think they back themselves to keep him happy he has 2 years left on contract after all.

Swans vs Sharks WAFL Colts
Big win by the swans in the end with great attacking run and strong presence from the tall forwards all day.
Jai Debono 31 disposals 2 goals

Strong tallish midfielder who seemed to have a good tank and just was at every contest through out the day. Not the most polished but not bad, reminded me of Johnson a little from Fremantle.

David Shanahan 15 disposals 6 marks
Some very solid marks and defensive efforts across the half back line, looks tall and would definitley be creating some attention as a possible kpb prospect.

Joshua Hardeman 16 disposals
Looked to be very versatile and did some great things with ball in hand, gained meters and also in the air with one very nice contested mark.

Lebron Yarran 11 disposals 3 goals 2
Showed some magic and elite speed, looks like he could be a match turning type player. Faded a little but a real important part of setting up the win.

SCHARENGUIVEL Ethan 4 goals 11 disposals
Had to copy and paste this name haha, he did some amazing things a couple of goal of the weeks in one game. Looks to have some real goal sense and creativity.

Nate Scott 19 disposals 1 goal
This guy really caught my eye, looks like a very well rounded small defender who can attack as well. Did some very good things, nothing too flashy but works both ways and the type a club could really benefit from having.

Hunter Hearn 24 disposals
Another for East Fremantle who had great two game and provided rebound while doing a good job defensively as well.

The ruck battle was great with Powderley and Lee- Gowland the ruck it self was won by lee -gowland but around the ground powderley was very impressive both players providing a very nice contest.

Forwards Duddfield and Smith showed some very nice things as well, they both presented well and held their position well in the aerial contest, they seemed to really structure that forward line with the way they presented and were not pushed off the ball easily.
Wanna draft Debono just so we can nickname him U2

Yeah but billionaires don't what things cost.

"Hey we're out of milk and my ohone is dead, can you spot me $10k?"

"Hey we need to get rid of Bowes contract, can we offload with a late pick? Something like 8 or so?"