Review Cats bake Pies by 54 points

while the big #6 has time to get used to the new prosthetic limbs.
giphy.gif

Genuinely chuckled.

It is sort of interesting that your only posts about football in this thread after a great win were to correct someone on how much Mullin could improve. Not in a bad way. Just interesting.

That's true, it's quite interesting. I'd say it's fair to use the word in that context.

Truth be told - and I know you'll probably be skeptical of this - I do like interesting observations just as much as anyone else on this forum, so I say to you in all sincerity that I'll ponder your interesting observation over and muse on its interestingness now that you've brought it up to me. If I'm honest, I don't think I would have thought of it as particularly interesting until you mentioned that it was interesting, but now that you've drawn my attention to it, I think I can understand why you might have found it interesting.

That's true, it's quite interesting. I'd say it's fair to use the word in that context.

Truth be told - and I know you'll probably be skeptical of this - I do like interesting observations just as much as anyone else on this forum, so I say to you in all sincerity that I'll ponder your interesting observation over and muse on its interestingness now that you've brought it up to me. If I'm honest, I don't think I would have thought of it as particularly interesting until you mentioned that it was interesting, but now that you've drawn my attention to it, I think I can understand why you might have found it interesting.
That means a lot. You've always been like a brother to me, and one of my more interesting ones.

We won a flag in ‘23 (when) we were the worst kicking efficiency in the competition … kicking efficiency is not a number that we care too often about.”
Clearly he doesn't care because they were actually 5th best.

And are second best this year. (we're second worst but improving).

I'd kinda want my coach to be on top of that sort of stuff, or at least not to have the completely wrong impression.

(source: wheelo)
1778419165237.webp

1778419189964.webp

I mean....maybe.

But he's played 53 times now for the club, many of which have come as a midfielder, and only now at the age of 26 has he just had his first game of more than 18 disposals. I agree he played well last night, but reading through some of the posts in this thread I really think people are getting carried away talking about Oisin like he's on the verge of becoming this amazing attacking mid who could "be anything".

Love the support for Mullin but maybe let's see whether he's able to get the ball more than his current average of 13.5 times a game before we start anointing him the second coming of GAJ.
Its very hard to win the ball when you have eyes mainly on the player. Our most dangerous opponent on the day.

Getting disposals is a secondary role for Mullin.

His role is slowly evolving. And as others have said he will see more of the game as a mover rather than stopper before much longer.

As an aside, I would like to see Clark take on his role as tagger if Scott releases Mullin later this year against the lesser sides.

Just thinking out loud.

It was untidy footy, especially that first half, but wow, what a result in the end.

Tidy up the skills, disposal, decision making and we'll be a nuisance.

Next week won't be easy though.

Credit to the boys.

Great second half though.

Good that he got rewarded by goals, but I thought it was by far the best Ollie Henry has looked. Was working so much harder all game.

Extremely pleased to see Pendlebury get praised relentlessly for a good first quarter (and he was early), but not a murmur once his direct opponent in Bailey Smith murdered him the longer it went. Smith isn't the best kick but his running is relentless. Yet again we see Daicos does not like close physical attention, nor will he put his head over the ball. Nor will he tackle and chase. How other teams don't do this more (or better) is crazy. He's their only gameplan.

As solid a team performance as I can remember.

There was a passage in the 3rd up our end where he must have been tackled on the 50m arc as he stayed down while Collingwood attempted to bring the ball up to their end

He finally got up, signalled to the bench he was ok but made no effort to get into the attacking half of the ground

When we forced a turnover, he then opted to match up on Close in our forward 50 as that was about as far away from the ball as he could get

It was just a really weird passage from Naicos as Collingwood were still in the game at that stage

Unfortunately with the increased money they earn, there are going to be more and more selfish players now. Just the reality.

But Daicos is almost in a class of his own. His method is simple - run past a player with the ball, demand it, give it off quickly before any opposition player is within the same postcode, and then do it again. Kick the ball backwards or sideways, doesn't matter. And never, ever put your head over it, your body in, tackle, or chase.

Thought De Goey was a hundred times better, he'll never be as fit or run around as much but he's a far better pure footballer.

Is he actually as slow as everyone keeps saying? He’s changed his body shape quite a lot from his draft year where he was coming off an ACL. I haven’t seen any VFL this year so I can’t comment, just wondering.

I think he’s still a chance since his tank is meant to be ok, he’s a nice kick, his hands are good and his football IQ is strong. Clearly his speed off the mark is an issue but he just seems to have too much going for him not to be given some more opportunities.
I watch every vfl game (not live) and have been advocating for Stevens to get a game for ages, so I will try to give a realistic and unbiased opinion.

Yes, he is still slow, I would say the slowest on our list. That is the negative, the positives are he is above average in winning hard balls, in tackling and in quality of delivery. He brings the outside players into the game. Whether his positives can outweigh his negative is what we are debating and what some of us would like to see put to the test.

His ability to cover the ground is great, you will see him run from back pocket to hff all game long. He just can't run fast enough to put pressure on an opposition player with the ball. I'd argue if you are relying on someone to chase opponents all day, then you have already lost the game. His lack of speed didn't stop him getting 2 Brownlow votes in his first game (21 disposals). In his second, he only had 7 before he was subbed off, and he seemed to be the scapegoat for a very poor team performance, he certainly wasn't alone that day.

Maybe the modern game with its extreme emphasis on running and pace doesn't suit him, but maybe having one player who can win a hard ball and get it out to those (and we have a number) who can't, but have the athleticism to do something when they have it, could be valuable.

Great second half though.

Good that he got rewarded by goals, but I thought it was by far the best Ollie Henry has looked. Was working so much harder all game.

Extremely pleased to see Pendlebury get praised relentlessly for a good first quarter (and he was early), but not a murmur once his direct opponent in Bailey Smith murdered him the longer it went. Smith isn't the best kick but his running is relentless. Yet again we see Daicos does not like close physical attention, nor will he put his head over the ball. Nor will he tackle and chase. How other teams don't do this more (or better) is crazy. He's their only gameplan.

As solid a team performance as I can remember.

Well summarised.

The turn around after HT was remarkable. We still had some scrappy moments but it was chalk and cheese compared to the complete garbage we dished up in the first half.

Scott obviously had something to say and things clicked thereafter.

Naicos is a bit of a fraud in my eyes, and like you said, Pendles had an unremarkable game because Smith ran the absolute legs off him.

Backing up Thursday night is the next challenge.

Naicos is a bit of a fraud in my eyes

Good player, but his weaknesses are that the doesn't chase (not that Mullin's catchable LOL) and disposal turns to crap under pressure. I reckon if you could have Mullin face off against GAJ in his prime, Mullin would trouble him for pace but GAJ wouldn't turn into Shanky McUpandunder from the close attention.

I watch every vfl game (not live) and have been advocating for Stevens to get a game for ages, so I will try to give a realistic and unbiased opinion.

Yes, he is still slow, I would say the slowest on our list. That is the negative, the positives are he is above average in winning hard balls, in tackling and in quality of delivery. He brings the outside players into the game. Whether his positives can outweigh his negative is what we are debating and what some of us would like to see put to the test.

His ability to cover the ground is great, you will see him run from back pocket to hff all game long. He just can't run fast enough to put pressure on an opposition player with the ball. I'd argue if you are relying on someone to chase opponents all day, then you have already lost the game. His lack of speed didn't stop him getting 2 Brownlow votes in his first game (21 disposals). In his second, he only had 7 before he was subbed off, and he seemed to be the scapegoat for a very poor team performance, he certainly wasn't alone that day.

Maybe the modern game with its extreme emphasis on running and pace doesn't suit him, but maybe having one player who can win a hard ball and get it out to those (and we have a number) who can't, but have the athleticism to do something when they have it, could be valuable.
Unfortunately for Stevens I think the key negative outweighs any positives that he brings to the team. He cannot run and Geelong's game plan is clearly built on the running strength. Even the fox footy commentators woke up to that on Saturday night.

Chris Scott again trotted out his regularly used line at the post match presser on Sat night - "if you can't run you can't play".

Unfortunately with the increased money they earn, there are going to be more and more selfish players now. Just the reality.

But Daicos is almost in a class of his own. His method is simple - run past a player with the ball, demand it, give it off quickly before any opposition player is within the same postcode, and then do it again. Kick the ball backwards or sideways, doesn't matter. And never, ever put your head over it, your body in, tackle, or chase.
Harsh, but he is becoming a bit of a meaningless accumulator these days

1778460370564.webp

Bailey Smith really has turned out better than expected.

Above all else he works so hard. Running, contested ball, tackling.
He has to be best in the game in gut running and getting on the end of balls in transition.

But i can see why the dogs didnt want him in the centre square.

Im just loving the fact we are now back to being a handball team. At least on occassion.
Over the past 2 weeks we have massively lifted our handball to kick ratio. Looks to be an evolution of the gameplan, especially if we see the same over the next 2 weeks against the best teams in the comp.

Bailey Smith has been sensational for Geelong , ive got no idea what Footscray were doing with him , and Smith on Sat night another high possession 1st class game

When it comes to Holmes and Smith as to who you think is the better ( and its a very tight vote/contest ) im trying to think which game it was - maybe the Nth Melb game - but when Holmes has a ripper game - he bounces the ball and really uses that line breaking pace , i just think that is so damaging to the opposition and so beneficial to Geelong

So if push came to shove and its great that Geelong have got both of them , but i would just give the nod to Max Holmes

Harsh, but he is becoming a bit of a meaningless accumulator these days

View attachment 2607902

I had to chuckle when they mentioned how many disposals he's averaging and how it was "ridiculous" or "incredible" or whatever.

Considering their entire game plan revolves around giving him the ball (and seemingly not much else), and he goes out of his way to avoid any contact whatsoever, it's not that incredible at all.

Im just loving the fact we are now back to being a handball team. At least on occassion.
When we are off we tend to turn it over between the arcs and get punished. Not surprisingly that has been prominent when we lose or concede scores.
We were brilliant in the second half , absorbed finals like pressure , amped up our pressure and executed ball movement superby by hand and foot.
It's only one game but it had shades of 2022 when no one could go with us when we hit top gear............

We were brilliant in the second half , absorbed finals like pressure , amped up our pressure and executed ball movement superby by hand and foot.
It's only one game but it had shades of 2022 when no one could go with us when we hit top gear............

I saw quite a few Pies fans during the week claiming that we are no good away from KP.

As far as I can see, we've been a much better side at the MCG compared to KP for the past few seasons, which is no surprise for a team stacked with elite runners.

Good to see this play out on Saturday night, after getting so close on Easter Monday too.