Prediction Round 11, 2026: Changes vs Collingwood (Harley’s 50th)

Am I the only one who thought Jack Williams didn’t do a lot? His leading patterns were disadvantageous and he’s just a bit of a tank in moving.

does CDT come back in for Williams, or does he get a week in the WAFL?

Tough one.

I think they’ll bring CDT back, but I can’t tell you if it’s the right call or not.

I’d like Tom Gross in for Johnson. Maybe Owies in for Hutchinson but I thought he was nippy in patches tonight.

No changes wouldn't be the worse thing but it's a bit of a loser mentality coming out of a great win and pretending like we can't be better than that.

Out: HJ, Cole
In: Owies, Allan

I'd be pretty keen to see Milan tag Daicos, that would go well. Hough to Pendle's but that probably isn't as effective but gotta do it. Whopper has showed some signs but Champion is outshining him and Owies was good before doing his calf. if we drop Cole gotta get 100 games into the side or the statistical age/games folks will have a stroke.

No changes for mine.

Johnston is the only one I would replace if we had a viable alternative, though Owies is arguably better and Baker could swing back forward so Allan comes back in. I don't think any of those moves warrant making changes just yet.

As much as I would love for CDT to come back in and play in front of 80-90k people at the G, I liked what Jack Williams brought to the side and would be reluctant to bring CDT in just because.

Hough to tag Pendles (sorry Pendles) and Murdock to tag Daicos.

No changes for mine.

Johnston is the only one I would replace if we had a viable alternative, though Owies is arguably better and Baker could swing back forward so Allan comes back in. I don't think any of those moves warrant making changes just yet.

As much as I would love for CDT to come back in and play in front of 80-90k people at the G, I liked what Jack Williams brought to the side and would be reluctant to bring CDT in just because.

I also think it’s kinda very unfair to bring a young tall and drop them the following. Think Jack like most KPF’s need a couple weeks to settle into the side. Think it tool Jack a few weeks to get going in 2024 when he came back into the side.

I feel like the game could go a few ways.

1: Totally overawed from 1st minute, flogged
2: Embrace the opportunity and play some exciting footy.

but probably the usual oppo gets out to a good start and we cant quite get things going

Im not fussed if we lose, we aren't expected to win and the narrative (Gerard 🤓) Will be a endless led pies win but geez would be amazing to give them a fright.
Maybe but the pies really ever smash sides they do struggle to score ...and even when they win they keep the opposition in it...thats what I am expecting cuz

we still struggle in first quarters even when we win...we need to start well

We could be a chance with all the emotion/promotion of Pendlebury's 400 odd games of never playing in Tassie ..that has to be celebrated :drunk:

I wonder how many shirts pendles will wear and change probably over 20 needs the cash .....harley should sign his own shirt for the game lol

No changes for mine.

Nah Hough to Daicos and I would run Duursma with pendles great learning opportunity for Willem

I would have Murdock on De Goey

IN: CDT, Allan
Out: Jilliams, Cole

Emergencies: Cole (travelling), Jilliams, Gross

Jilliams unlucky but CDT should come straight back in and we can’t go too tall up forward.

Cole also not terrible but I’d like someone from tonight’s 23 to be the travelling emergency, otherwise someone misses two weeks in a row (like Hall has now).

Maybe but the pies really ever smash sides they do struggle to score ...and even when they win they keep the opposition in it...thats what I am expecting cuz

we still struggle in first quarters even when we win...we need to start well

We could be a chance with all the emotion/promotion of Pendlebury's 400 odd games of never playing in Tassie ..that has to be celebrated :drunk:

I wonder how many shirts pendles will wear and change probably over 20 needs the cash .....harley should sign his own shirt for the game lol
Yeah I just keep picturing that really disappointing Hurn 300th game 🤮 such a let down

I would go no changes. Players played with intent. Owies isn't good enough to be an automatic-inclusion-after-injury type player.

Individual performance matters little if it worked for the team. Players like HJ might just be good for team balance.

Rough on CDT perhaps who was rested but I'd go no changes.

Am I the only one who thought Jack Williams didn’t do a lot? His leading patterns were disadvantageous and he’s just a bit of a tank in moving.

Tough one.

I think they’ll bring CDT back, but I can’t tell you if it’s the right call or not.

I’d like Tom Gross in for Johnson. Maybe Owies in for Hutchinson but I thought he was nippy in patches tonight.
Actually reckoned he led alright but was almost never used. Duggan burned him twice in one minute in the last when he worked the space perfectly and he looked very frustrated by it.

It doesn’t help when we are too Waterman focused and just bomb it in too often. He has some decent clunkers but he (like every other key tall) will suit a quicker forward entries thag allow them to lead into space.

Tough one.

I liked JWilliams today IMO. Think we're still really working out the system amongst all our tall forwards, Shanahan can go missing a bit too, as can CDT/AReid when played of course. Think we still haven't figured out how to keep them all in the game at once, even with only 2 of them and Waterman.

He had a few moments where he set the tone with pressure early, clunked some good marks and was more of a consistent nullifier in the ruck than CDT is (expect CDT to overtake him but think he stays in for mine).

Nothing wrong with CDT playing a game at WAFL level and hopefully having a little bit of a confidence booster, while Jack Williams gets to have a bit of consistency in the AFL side at a stage of his career where he probably needs it.

does CDT come back in for Williams, or does he get a week in the WAFL? Tough one.
No, you’re not.

I’m Jack fan. I had him in our B23 at the start of the year, but in the two games he’s played this year, he’s been very underwhelming. Now that could be for a range of reasons, primarily with the supply being poor in his first game (against St Kilda) this year but he’s not really taken his chances.

I thought CDT’s form has gradually been tapering off since about R3. I’d been saying he was due for a rest from about then, rotating with Archer who was in the side at the time. Perhaps an extra week for Jack in the league gives him a chance to prove he can play under Mini and let CDT earn his spot back. Always preferred selecting players on form rather than gifting them games as some have benefited from in recent seasons.

Tough one.

What would you actually like to see happen?
Gross playing half forward gives me no joy.
Dropping Hutchinson same, interesting take.

I think Duursma needs a week as managed myself. Think this weeks the one to do it. Johnston just not up to it and Cole is much the same

IN: Owies, Allan, Gross
OUT: Cole, Johnston, Duursma
I wouldn’t omit a young Victorian fella playing in front of his family at the MCG in front of 90k fans. I know he needs it, but is rather him on managed minutes but have the exposure to the big stage. It’s so rare that they’ll get that.

The next 3 games after are Essendon, Porte and north all at Optus. That’s 3 weeks of no travel, and then a bye. I reckon he gets through the month.

CDT needs an actual game in the WAFL to try and dominate. Two weeks at home and only one game will do him great.

Owies doesn’t come straight back in.

If anything is move baker forward for HJ and put Allan in his place … although maybe I’d keep HJ in for one more week, then give Allan the three games b2b2b in Perth to have a big run at.

I'd like to see Allan and CDT come in. They're both a massive part of our future and this game will be a great experience for them. Pretty sure CDT is a shoe-in after being managed vs GWS.

Bit harsh on Jack Williams but someone has to drop. He's a long way behind Waterman and Shanahan

In: Allan, CDT
Out: Cole, JW