Roast 05/07/14 Performance

• Thread starter Thread starter Syphoncom

It was actually a pity Dixon, Mckenzie and Ablett got injured because if they didn't we would have lost like Geelong, 5-7 goals and we'd have been exposed for what we are, NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

As it is we blame a few players for shocking moments in the final quarter (Keeffe could got near Day one day, JUST ONE TIME), but if those players didn't get injuries a lot more would have been exposed.

We are no where near a top 4 side, stop blaming injuries, the Hawks and Swans have had injuries too, yet they've dealt with it, we can;t.

We are not a Top 8 Side. How we played today. We should be on bottom of the Ladder

Didn't expect us to win, but we seem like a carlton board.........oh well been there done that :oops:

Well we should of won Easily. But they F**ked every chance we had of Winning.

VFL Team could of been better

How can Goldsack and Blair be called 'pressure players' if they have 1 and 2 tackles respectively? Pendles had 3x their combined total. I know they do contribute 1%'s but tackles must stick. They will be the pressured ones soon, for their spots in the team.

How they both play is a Joke. You are Carrying 1 too many players.

Blair in the Side has to be a Joke

Time to play our kids and make the calls on some senior flagpies.
Some would call it a tank, but I prefer to have my September free if we are no chance of taking the big prize.
Plus, a slide down the ladder I proves our draft positions. Each and every round.
Make it so Bux.

That's because Grundy does **** all most games. He's so overrated on this board.

Half the time I didn't even realise he was playing, just coasted in the forward line. At least Young contributed, mate.

Kidding. Young cost us the win. Grundy is a 19yr old ruckman who is going to be inconsistent until his fitness is up to scratch.

Might be cause we do.

Davis, Daisy, Shaw, Wellers, all quick explosive, all had differing types of xfactor about them and all are gone.

We have not replaced them with similarly pacey xfactor types.

People a few weeks back were bragging how well Hine has done at the draft because most our team are either ex rookie listed or very late picks, but this also means we have a dearth of early talent class and it shows.

This is a great point and something I've been thinking about. It's all well and good having heaps of rookie picks come good but we need top end talent coming through that will take us all the way. Ben Kennedy showed on Saturday just how damn good he is going to be. So much class and x factor. Just wish Scharenberg and Freeman would hurry the **** up and get better. We have too many average players in the seniors who aren't going to take us to another flag.

Seriously, our first quarter was some of the best footy we've played for the year. Intensity at the contest, good on the spread, quick ball movement and accurate kicking for goal. The 2nd was pretty similar except for the ****ing goal kicking. We should have been 6 goals up at halftime. They came out firing in the 3rd (a point i'll touch on) and all of a sudden are in front. Cloke really let us down in that first half. Destroyed May but couldn't convert. Was even getting the better of Thompson but his lack of conversion was a joke.

I was at the game and you could see that the suns were going to jump us in the 3rd term. They were out early after the break to warm up. They were up and about. What were we doing? We ran out like a bunch of under 9's. There were players all over the shop. I'll point out Swanny. Dead set I know he's a laid back campaigner and all but FFS man show some enthusiasm. He barely broke in to a stride when we came out to warm up. Walking around having a laugh. You could see from a mile away what was going to unfold.

No Ablett, no Dixon, No Mckenzie and we still couldn't ****ing overrun the Suns. What annoys me is it took a couple of young fellas in Kennedy and Seedsman to stand up and kick crucial goals in the last. Thomas also snagged one. Our senior players are really letting us down right now.

Overall, there just seems to be a real lack of team unity and spirit. We're every chance of losing our next 2 games and if so a big chance to miss the finals. We sure as hell aren't playing like one ATM. This seems to be a carbon copy of 2013. Start well, mid season slump... Whether we have a late season spike remains to be seen. If we don't, there will be no September action. Sad but true.

Have been as pissed off as anyone over the performance on Sat night. I felt after the game it was our stars that let us down in the last Q so I have just put myself tHrough watching that again. I reckon I am right. Pendles and Swan gave us nothing in the last Q, Cloke and Beams only a little and Sidebottom was a pass. Especially for Pendles, playing against the youthful midfield who had no rotations, it was a time to stamp himself on the game. He was just ineffectual and didn't force an impact.

For all the knockers Blair had a good last Q and looked a bit dangerous and creative. It was the kids in Thomas, Kennedy and Seedsman who provided a bit of spark. We needed some of that form our leaders. They went missing when that game was there to be won. Even Clinton Young, who stuffed up big time, had some good moments in the last. He at least was pushing into dangerous places and taking the game on. Lack of class didn't lose it on Sat, nor our bottom 6, it was the top end of the team we missed when the game was on the line.

Perceived pressure you just gotta look like you are going to tackle these days and it it gets you games, it the type of pressure that Hawks eat for brekky.

Unfortunately quality teams and players only succumb to the real kind and nothing says pressure like scoreboard pressure it makes defenders nervous and doubtful of their ability in the following contests.

Have been as pissed off as anyone over the performance on Sat night. I felt after the game it was our stars that let us down in the last Q so I have just put myself tHrough watching that again. I reckon I am right. Pendles and Swan gave us nothing in the last Q, Cloke and Beams only a little and Sidebottom was a pass. Especially for Pendles, playing against the youthful midfield who had no rotations, it was a time to stamp himself on the game. He was just ineffectual and didn't force an impact.

For all the knockers Blair had a good last Q and looked a bit dangerous and creative. It was the kids in Thomas, Kennedy and Seedsman who provided a bit of spark. We needed some of that form our leaders. They went missing when that game was there to be won. Even Clinton Young, who stuffed up big time, had some good moments in the last. He at least was pushing into dangerous places and taking the game on. Lack of class didn't lose it on Sat, nor our bottom 6, it was the top end of the team we missed when the game was on the line.
I think Pendles was being monitored by Stanley if I am not mistaken? Afraid to say Stanley got the points this time. We really needed Swan, Beams, Dwyer & Sidebottom to lift but alas that did not happen.

I watched him closely this mornig on replay. He spent time side by side with O'Meara and Swallow. Both of these guys easily won clearance situations with him as their direct opponent in the last Q. Pendles is a champ and I dont want to knock him too much but the last Q was tailor made for him to lead the charge to a strong win and he didn't fire a shot. His lack of urgency was the quality most lacking.

Dwyer was off in the last. Swan was a non event. Beams did a couple of good things but was too quiet. Sidey held his own in the last Q , ran and got involved. Pendles was in the thick of it most of the last Q and just didn't get involved.

You are a better man than I am, i could not in a hundred years bring myself to watch the atrocity that happened on the weekend.

Stanley is another player we let go, but as I am always told, he is just a hack, isn't he? He wouldn't get a game with us given the quality of our mid field.:rolleyes:

That was true when we let him go. Was a fair decision at the time. Good on him for taking his 2nd chance.

Watched it again too GC, have to agree with you on all points, it was our more senior ( and supposedly more talented ) players that let us down in the Q4. Our senior mids in particlular were awful.
I am concerned with the form of Beams since he missed that week with a calf injury; no run no acceleration at all from him. Blair did have a very strong last qtr, so much so i would have used him higher up the ground.
Lack of a target forward also damaging, with their talls standing up and kicking a number of 50m goals at clutch times. Based on what we saw from the younger types in BK, Seeds, Thomas i think its time to keep playing them and adding Broomhead into the 22 also. This will mean pressure to hold their postion coming upon the likes of Dwyer, H, Adams ( due to disposal ) and possibly Caff. I think having 2 defensive forwards and a tagger is too limiting and ; think we need to take more wickets rather than restrict runs.
We have to remember during the first half without the GC injuries, we were far the better side, poor conversion and lack of forward class preventing us going into the sheds with a strong lead. Its not only injuries that have marked the Buckley years, terrible goal kicking has hurt us time and again, with the usual suspects showing up far too often.

What are you talking about, we let him go in 2010. How was he ever going to get a game in that midfield? Ridiculous.

Yep, guy needed a second chance. What about Cook that we sent with him, should i do :rolleyes: to his trade to balance out your :rolleyes: