Roast 05/07/14 Performance

• Thread starter Thread starter Syphoncom

I haven't watched the game yet, but from what I have heard, they had no rotations at all in the 4th (received several texts, so could be untrue). If this is correct, that is disgraceful by the players.

9 years on BF and about 800 posts and I've never bagged out the club or players. I'll watch the replay and make my comment then. I hope it isn't as bad as some are making out.
It's worse.

It was actually a pity Dixon, Mckenzie and Ablett got injured because if they didn't we would have lost like Geelong, 5-7 goals and we'd have been exposed for what we are, NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

As it is we blame a few players for shocking moments in the final quarter (Keeffe could got near Day one day, JUST ONE TIME), but if those players didn't get injuries a lot more would have been exposed.

We are no where near a top 4 side, stop blaming injuries, the Hawks and Swans have had injuries too, yet they've dealt with it, we can;t.

Not angry, just quite sad.

Knowing that this season is just nothing for us, we can't challenge and if we drop down the ladder we don't get a better draft pick because we are just picking up Moore anyway.

Pendles for the brownlow is just about the only thing to feel positive about right now.

You used to be a team I liked watching as a neutral. Sorry if this appears as a troll, but right now, you look like a team that lacks flair.

Not angry, just quite sad.

Knowing that this season is just nothing for us, we can't challenge and if we drop down the ladder we don't get a better draft pick because we are just picking up Moore anyway.

Pendles for the brownlow is just about the only thing to feel positive about right now.
This plus the fact we havent even got games into Freeman and sharenburg.

I was their 2nd year in a row 2nd year walk away extremely frustrated

Toovey - Seriously why the **** do we persist with this bloke he is terrible I am sick of him

Keefe - If he is our future we are in some trouble he will have his good games but he will cost us plenty to

Grundy - People wanted him in over White if you really think he offers more forward then White you are crazy

It was actually a pity Dixon, Mckenzie and Ablett got injured because if they didn't we would have lost like Geelong, 5-7 goals and we'd have been exposed for what we are, NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

As it is we blame a few players for shocking moments in the final quarter (Keeffe could got near Day one day, JUST ONE TIME), but if those players didn't get injuries a lot more would have been exposed.

We are no where near a top 4 side, stop blaming injuries, the Hawks and Swans have had injuries too, yet they've dealt with it, we can;t.

Well said!

I actually wish they all played and smashed us, I want the message to sink in to the players to stop playing like we are good because we are not. We are not even close to a good side.

Like you said, the Hawks had injuries, I would even say their injuries were more crucial to their side then ours are and they were still winning. This is no doubt this is worst loss we have had under Buckley, when you lose to a young side who have their best players injured and with no bench, it's disgraceful!

We are still yet to beat a good side apart from a depleted Sydney side in round 2.

You used to be a team I liked watching as a neutral. Sorry if this appears as a troll, but right now, you look like a team that lacks flair.

Ahh the good days in 2010 and 2011, when we use to scare sides with our press and hunger. Those days are long gone and we lack a lot more then just flair these days.

I was their 2nd year in a row 2nd year walk away extremely frustrated

Toovey - Seriously why the **** do we persist with this bloke he is terrible I am sick of him

Keefe - If he is our future we are in some trouble he will have his good games but he will cost us plenty to

Grundy - People wanted him in over White if you really think he offers more forward then White you are crazy
Toovey isn't a bad player for us. Very under rated and shuts down his opponent. But kicking and decision making (like the kick from defence to the top of the forward 50) was abismal.

I'm sorry but I can't listen to this Toovey is a great stopper etc his a ****ing terrible footballer who cares if his keeping his player to a goal his giving 5 up by foot.

I haven't watched the game yet, but from what I have heard, they had no rotations at all in the 4th (received several texts, so could be untrue). If this is correct, that is disgraceful by the players.

9 years on BF and about 800 posts and I've never bagged out the club or players. I'll watch the replay and make my comment then. I hope it isn't as bad as some are making out.
Mate don't watch it. Some things should be avoided if possible.
the most disgraceful display of skills, decision making and effort you will see.

Exactly. Senseless to drop White when Elliott was out injured.
Agree wholeheartedly. We, (match committee) keep making dumb structural decisions. We needed as much mobility as possible. White did as much last week as Grundy did tonight. Love Grundy as a ruckman not a forward.

Might be cause we do.

Davis, Daisy, Shaw, Wellers, all quick explosive, all had differing types of xfactor about them and all are gone.

We have not replaced them with similarly pacey xfactor types.

People a few weeks back were bragging how well Hine has done at the draft because most our team are either ex rookie listed or very late picks, but this also means we have a dearth of early talent class and it shows.

People saying this was the worst loss they have ever seen must have very short memories.The Fremantle loss in round one was twice as bad.But having said that,tonight's loss was hard to take.Our skills are rapidly becoing a joke,and our forward line is completely dysfunctional.We'll never get anywhere carrying players like Blair,Dwyer,Young,etc,etc.The team definitely needs a good clean out.But the question needs to be asked:does Buckley know what to do,and does he know what sort of players we need to become a good side again?

that is just about the most disappointing loss i can re call in years. How we couldn't beat a side with 3 of their best players out injured in the the second half is astounding.

We have now lost 3 of the last 4 and Bucks needs to make some selection statements. We are still in the 8 with a massive game next week against Essendon so we can't afford to panic.

Ben Kennedy should be a permanent fixture in the side for the rest of the season imo. He has class and we just need more players who can use the footy effectively and show some form of pace.

Everyone was so desperate to get rid of White last week to bring in Grundy.... Grundy was shocking today, so the 2nd tall player is becoming a real issue. We were in some good form between round 2-7 when we played all 3 big fellas, so i'd like to see us revert back to that.

The Backline's lack of leadership is another issue. All great young players with bright futures, but without Maxwell i feel communication is poor. I mean the amount of times we fly 3 guys up for a mark and it just goes out the back is just so frustrating to watch.

I just cant believe how badly our midfield got decimated. I would bring Martin in and play him on ball... try something new, Beams has been down the last month and no one else has stepped up to fill his void.

And Finally.... Clinton Young. This could be a controversial call, but a part of me believes he dropped that mark on purpose due to him not wanting to take what would effectively have been a game winning shot. Despite his stats, i thought he was horrible, and i would consider dropping him.

changes for next week- depending on VFL form would be;
IN:Maxwell, White, Martin, Elliott, Ball
OUT: Dwyer, Goldsack, Blair, Adams, C.Young/H.Lumumba

B: M.Williams, J.Frost, A.Toovey
HB: N.Maxwell, L.Keefe, T.Langdon
C: S.Sidebottom, S.Pendlebury, P.Seedsman
HF: D.Beams, T.Cloke, D.Swan
F: J.Elliott, J.Witts, J.White
R: B.Grundy, K.Martin, B.Macaffer
I: B.Kennedy, L.Ball, H.Lumumba/C.Young
S: J.Thomas

Yep. Easily our worst game since the last Gold Coast one.

We played even worse than the Freo game. Difference was, we were playing a full strength pissed off Freo so it appeared worse.

People saying this was the worst loss they have ever seen must have very short memories.The Fremantle loss in round one was twice as bad.

You are incorrect.

Anti Collingwood Psychics sitting in the stands sending negative thoughts to the players via telepathy, has to be!

Was hoping we wouldn't win in the end, it would've glossed over how terrible we actually were. Tonight we could not blame inexperience, we had more players available at the most crucial stage of the match and their best player was missing from midway through the third. It is simply unacceptable. I play under 16s footy and I reckon I've seen better kicking efficiency from even the worst teams in our league.

These players are not up to standard and something big has to happen. They're not being held accountable for their poor performances, too many of them are getting away with doing whatever they want, and it's the same old names; Lumumba, Keeffe, Dwyer, Young, Blair etc. the list goes on. Sure, Young didn't lose us the game but when the moment arrives you must step up or step down and he did the latter.

The delivery into the forward line was disgusting once again but that is not an excuse for Trav. Get your f**king kicking right son, how hard is it!? You're on $XXX,XXX a year and you can't kick a football? Strength in the marking contest is all well and good but if you can't finish the job there is just no point. Did Grundy even play tonight? Bring back White ASAP, at least he is somewhat athletic. Hopefully Jamie comes up soon too...

Backline without Maxwell, Reid and Brown is a rabble. Tonight we missed Maxy a hell of a lot. The 1%ers and leadership I dare say would've gone a long way to winning this match for us.

Over the years I have been probably Pendlebury's biggest fan but tonight when the crunch came, he was nowhere to be seen. We all marvel at how he can slow down time and dispose of the ball quickly but he is not particularly damaging and I've been quite disappointed with his season to be quite honest compared to previous years. That really says something when he is still going to win the Copeland.

I'm an Buckley fanboy but surely it says something when our best player was the same player he left to rot in the VFL for a number of weeks. That man Ben Kennedy, along with Seeds and Caff, are the only boys who can somewhat hold their heads high. Sure there is probably something else I've missed but that's all I can think of right now.

This is 10x worse than our loss to them last year. In terms of footballing potential we are easily a top four side (the 'easy' matches we've dropped would pt us in the top 4) but we are just so immature and need to wake up to ourselves. Wouldn't be surprised if we missed top 8 from here.

First half wasnt that bad. I mean, it wasnt great by any stretch, but it had a "yeah we were crappy but could probably win this".
The second half was the single worst half of footy Ive seen the Pies play in... a long time.