'05 midfield dynamics

• Thread starter Thread starter Mad Dog

Fudd said:
you dont think burton would get a game with the saints over Guerra or Milne? They have some very good players at the saints, but i still think they have a few passengers. Not nearly as strong across the board as Port, the lions or even geelong IMO. I rate cats higher than saints. Saints have more Superstars but geelong are more even i htink. Personally i think Burton would get a spot in any team in the league, providing he plays up forward, or his disposal returns to what it was 2003.
I certainly don't think Burton is as dangerous as Milne.......sure form issues have seen him fall from grace recently. He would be a better prospect than Guerra - but it's not Guerra's position he would be taking.......I see Burton as a marking forward...and therefore I wouldn't see him replacing any of those.

IMHO...I think Burton is way over-rated......He stands out as a better than average player in our squad...mainly because of the problems with our squad.
On his day - Burton can be spectacular.....both in the positive and negative sense. I agree though that he is a marking forward - or he is nothing....his disposal errors down the ground - with Doughty also in the side - are way too costly

crowsarethebest said:
We have to have a cleanout next year. we got heaps of duds in our side. Look at the depth of sides like geelong st killda. Thier list is young as well.

Both Geelong & the Saints have had quite a few years at or near the bottom of the ladder to use their early draft picks to good effect where as we on the other hand have been up near the top for the last 4 years or so & we made the choice to give away our early picks in 02 for Wayne Carey.

Agree though that there could be more of a clean out next year if certain players don't live up to the 2nd & 3rd chances that Craig has given them.

As with others i am not impressed with Bock, no 2nd effort & seems to drop his bundle a little to easy, has good pace & a good size but what good is that if the motor stalls all to easily.

Have a ? on Jericho as well & will look forward to see how this guy develops or not in the next year or 2.

I was just wondering where you see Jericho's future? I was REALLY impressed with that kid in the "fluke" showdown win you had over us earlier this year. Could he be an onballer or will he forever be a forward pocket/flanker type?

BTW the "fluke" comment is entirely tongue implanted in cheek......:)

portentous said:
I was just wondering where you see Jericho's future? I was REALLY impressed with that kid in the "fluke" showdown win you had over us earlier this year. Could he be an onballer or will he forever be a forward pocket/flanker type?

BTW the "fluke" comment is entirely tongue implanted in cheek......:)

The jury is still out for me on Jericho.....I think he gets lost at half fwd, and his attack on the ball is questionable.
I think he probably prospered that night (showdown) from the general lack of respect the power players paid us across the board. IMO we were allowed to run free by an arrogant opponent....I think Jericho was just one of the guys they refused to match up on.
Obviously he has good pace - I'd like to see him on the wing for a while where he played some of his better games in '04.
I think if they persist with him in the fwd line - his career might be a short one at the AFC

I think Jericho has real promise. He could be just about anything. He reminds me of Scott Welsh. Both could play significant roles in the middle but for mine are dangerous around goals and should play a forward a lot. I wouldnt be at all suprised if he kicks 5 or more on a few occasions next year.

Crowked said:
I think Jericho has real promise. He could be just about anything. He reminds me of Scott Welsh. Both could play significant roles in the middle but for mine are dangerous around goals and should play a forward a lot. I wouldnt be at all suprised if he kicks 5 or more on a few occasions next year.
he reminds me a bit of modra i think. :rolleyes:

crowsarethebest said:
he reminds me a bit of modra i think. :rolleyes:
:rolleyes: ...to look at ...yes they both have blonde hair but that's only a short visit to BiLo away for most footballers

in terms of football ability and sheer talent......not even in the same postcode.

Crowked said:
Jericho has been gifted with some great natural ability. He is quick, has a good leap on him & is solid kick for goal. My main concern is that he is very soft & could learn a lot from Welshy about forward pressure & the ability to tackle, harrass, etc

Mad Dog said:
:rolleyes: ...to look at ...yes they both have blonde hair but that's only a short visit to BiLo away for most footballers

in terms of football ability and sheer talent......not even in the same postcode.

Its actually very likely that they are related somehow. The Modra and Jericho family histories are closely linked. I'm a Modra myself.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Jericho has been gifted with some great natural ability. He is quick, has a good leap on him & is solid kick for goal. My main concern is that he is very soft & could learn a lot from Welshy about forward pressure & the ability to tackle, harrass, etc

Yep, agreed. He is only young though. Welshy didnt always tackle hard, he was taught to, and so should Jericho. Just cant wait to see the impact of Alan Stewart on players like him, Bock, Rutten, so and so forth.

Crowked said:
Yep, agreed. He is only young though. Welshy didnt always tackle hard, he was taught to, and so should Jericho. Just cant wait to see the impact of Alan Stewart on players like him, Bock, Rutten, so and so forth.

I can't see Alan Stewart having ANY impact in that area. Maybe you guys should get Gary McIntosh out there running a few sessions. Some of your kids could learn a lot about attacking the football from him;dirty Norwood mongrel that he was! ;) If we don't pick up Hassan, he might part of the long term solution in that area for you guys. Fiesty little bugga he is!

I personally didn't see anything Modra like about Jericho. Thought he read the play really well though.

You're right though, our side didn't pay yours enough respect on the night and we were duly hammered. Can happen to any side on any given week. The Lions did the same thing in the Grand Final and it bit them on Lynchy's fat A**! :D

portentous said:
I can't see Alan Stewart having ANY impact in that area. Maybe you guys should get Gary McIntosh out there running a few sessions. Some of your kids could learn a lot about attacking the football from him;dirty Norwood mongrel that he was! ;) If we don't pick up Hassan, he might part of the long term solution in that area for you guys. Fiesty little bugga he is!

I personally didn't see anything Modra like about Jericho. Thought he read the play really well though.

You're right though, our side didn't pay yours enough respect on the night and we were duly hammered. Can happen to any side on any given week. The Lions did the same thing in the Grand Final and it bit them on Lynchy's fat A**! :D

I think you underestimate the influence of Alan Stewart.

Central District was a laughing stock until he personally turned the tide.

Now they are clearly the best in the SANFL, and so it will be for the Crows.

Dont worry it wont be long before you understand what I mean.

;)

Crowked said:
I think you underestimate the influence of Alan Stewart.

Central District was a laughing stock until he personally turned the tide.

Now they are clearly the best in the SANFL, and so it will be for the Crows.

Dont worry it wont be long before you understand what I mean.

;)
I don't think you understand what you mean most of the time crowked! :p

Anyway, surely "on ball toughness" is not what you recruited Stewart for. You need tough players to play tough football. About time you found some.... :eek:

portentous said:

Anyway, surely "on ball toughness" is not what you recruited Stewart for. You need tough players to play tough football. About time you found some.... :eek:

i think you'll find ball toughness will also come when a player is given confidence in his spot and his abilities, Jericho isnt going to go screaming into the pack if he is unsure of his place in the team to do this and also after being hammered by oppposion players (being a younger player this surely would have an influence) for the majority of the year he may not have the confidence to do it. I think Alan Stewart has been recruited to help the younger guys gain confidence in their skills/ability - also Alan won't whisper sweet nothings in their ear - he tells it how it is so so Jericho will either make it or be delisted at the end of the year

Personally i hope he makes it because he has the talent - i still remember him kicking 5 golas in the last quater to personally sink Norwood earlier this year We were winning damn it !!

portentous said:

Yeh, your right. We recruited AS for a couple of reasons. He is great with young guys, he knows how to bring the best out and make them perform. He is the best eye for talent in the country. Something you will miss in the near future. And it depletes Port Adelaide. Again, you dont know how big his influence has been at Port, but you will.

There is a tough footballer in every one, he will help them realise it. Mark my words. ;)

Crowked said:
Yeh, your right. We recruited AS for a couple of reasons. He is great with young guys, he knows how to bring the best out and make them perform. He is the best eye for talent in the country. Something you will miss in the near future. And it depletes Port Adelaide. Again, you dont know how big his influence has been at Port, but you will.

There is a tough footballer in every one, he will help them realise it. Mark my words. ;)

well he didn't help Cain Ackland become "tough" did he???

I know exactly how big his influence has been at Port. You undervalue the other blokes that are still there. That's your prerogative. Much of our "recruiting nous" has come from Chris Pelchen in recent times and I've rarely seen AS do anything at training ON the field.

Still you wouldn't be a crows supporter, and me a Port one, if we could agree on anything....... ;)

portentous said:
well he didn't help Cain Ackland become "tough" did he???

I know exactly how big his influence has been at Port. You undervalue the other blokes that are still there. That's your prerogative. Much of our "recruiting nous" has come from Chris Pelchen in recent times and I've rarely seen AS do anything at training ON the field.

Still you wouldn't be a crows supporter, and me a Port one, if we could agree on anything....... ;)
Hang on a minute, Allan Stewart's role at Port Adelaide and at Crows are 2 completely different ones. He was your recruiting manager but at Crows that position is occupied by James Fantasia. Allan Stewart will be our development manager. His role is pretty much the same as Goeff Morris has at Port Adelaide.

I think you will find that prior to this year Stewart spent as much time in victoria as he did in SA scouting TAC Cup. This is from the horse's mouth;)

Ok so you really think Allan Stewart is going to be your "saviour"?? Just like Wayne Carey was.......There was only one "messiah" and he's gone. Good luck in the bottom 8 if you think a "development manager" is going to solve all your problems.

Some players just aren't nasty. I'm sure Michael Wilson didn't have to be shown how to play tough, it just comes naturally. You need to recruit a few mongrels. Roo can't do it all by himself.

Just the views of an outsider, bag me all you like! :) I'm interested in your views though. Financial success doesn't equate to onfield success and vice versa. The kangaroos are an abject lesson in that.

FWIW I think footy in SA is better off when both SA teams are strong and there are less Vic teams in the 8! Don't get me wrong, love nothing more than beating you guys but it's far less important than winning finals.

portentous said:
Ok so you really think Allan Stewart is going to be your "saviour"?? Just like Wayne Carey was.......There was only one "messiah" and he's gone. Good luck in the bottom 8 if you think a "development manager" is going to solve all your problems.

Some players just aren't nasty. I'm sure Michael Wilson didn't have to be shown how to play tough, it just comes naturally. You need to recruit a few mongrels. Roo can't do it all by himself.

Just the views of an outsider, bag me all you like! :) I'm interested in your views though. Financial success doesn't equate to onfield success and vice versa. The kangaroos are an abject lesson in that.

FWIW I think footy in SA is better off when both SA teams are strong and there are less Vic teams in the 8! Don't get me wrong, love nothing more than beating you guys but it's far less important than winning finals.

I dont think Alan Stewart is going to be our new messiah, i certainly havent been claiming that. He is their to help us in every department because i think we have realised that financial success doesnt equal on field success and we are going to use all his knowledge to help rebuild our team from the bottom floor up much like he did from port when they first started. He is going to help with recruiting because ours hasnt always been the greatest in the past as many people know, at the moment i think we need all the help we can get to get us back where we belong.... in the top 4!

What you said about players being angry naturally is true and has been the subject of a couple of my posts lately, we were talking about who would get in there and back up a team mate.... and we could only come up with one... Roo and thats a worry, a real worry. Its not like you can teach players this either, it is something either they have or they dont and at the moment our team is severly lacking that, hopefully Scott Thompson can bring some of that with him from Melbourne. A prime example of this is when that coward Farmer need Doughty, no one and i mean no one went in and got into Farmer, if it were a port, essendon or brisbane it wouldve been the first thing they did but no... not adelaide!

Like you said its good for us when both teams make the 8, it means footy is alive and well in this state and that their are less Vic teams in the 8..

RooDog said:
I dont think Alan Stewart is going to be our new messiah, i certainly havent been claiming that. He is their to help us in every department because i think we have realised that financial success doesnt equal on field success and we are going to use all his knowledge to help rebuild our team from the bottom floor up much like he did from port when they first started. He is going to help with recruiting because ours hasnt always been the greatest in the past as many people know, at the moment i think we need all the help we can get to get us back where we belong.... in the top 4!

What you said about players being angry naturally is true and has been the subject of a couple of my posts lately, we were talking about who would get in there and back up a team mate.... and we could only come up with one... Roo and thats a worry, a real worry. Its not like you can teach players this either, it is something either they have or they dont and at the moment our team is severly lacking that, hopefully Scott Thompson can bring some of that with him from Melbourne. A prime example of this is when that coward Farmer need Doughty, no one and i mean no one went in and got into Farmer, if it were a port, essendon or brisbane it wouldve been the first thing they did but no... not adelaide!

Like you said its good for us when both teams make the 8, it means footy is alive and well in this state and that their are less Vic teams in the 8..

As long as they are a few rungs below us i'll be happy. :)

But you & portentous make some very good points & it's been a major gripe of mine for quite a while in that we don't have enough "mongrel " installed in too many of our players at the AFC.

I too remember that incident regarding Farmer & i was jumping up & down shouting at the bloody TV for someone to make a stand on the bludger :mad: but sadly no one did.

For too long now we have recruited too many players for their skill (supposedly) & forgotten to bring a little more hardness to the club & hopefully trading for young Thompson will go someway to squaring the ledger.

portentous said:

No not at all.

What I was getting at is that Stweart will have more interaction with young players in his new role than he did with you guys. His job at your club was to identify the talent and bring it into the club. After that he hasn't had much to do with them.

I also agree with you about players either having some mongrel in them or not. Its mostly natural and at the moment we only have Roo and possibly Scott Thompson. Apart from maybe those 2 the cupboard is bare. Thats why its imperative that over the next few years we get some players with a lot of mongrel in them. Allan Stewart has identified this and part of his role is to tell the recruiting department what types of players we need on the list. He has already acknowledged that to win premierships you need those type of players on your list. Hopefully over the next 3-5 years we recruit some real tough nuts who stand up to the opposition and stand up for their team mates.

noddy said:

I too remember that incident regarding Farmer & i was jumping up & down shouting at the bloody TV for someone to make a stand on the bludger :mad: but sadly no one did.

the problem with the incident is alot of players didnt realise what had happened at the time, when they looked at the big screen it was a different story i even saw trent hentschel run about 50m to "escort" farmer over the line , why do you think farmer was so stirred up after the game i think i even remember bock (could be wrong there as the player was standing away from me could have been scott welsh) giving him a mouth full and a few "jumper punches"