1/3 mark

The development league is a very plausible solution. Many of the metro leagues have had U19 for a while. I think with the Vets age being dropped to 30 and the idea of a permit system for senior players back from injury and in form slumps it could work. Another benefit is that the cost of a journeyman footballer should go down as the talent will spread more evenly between clubs.
the few hurdles I see is that players who are participating just for the love of a game in the twos will be squeezed out. These guys generally end up being the life long supporters of the club and may be lost to other hobbies if squeezed out

ive been banging on about this for ages

the fact is
out of the 9 venues in div 1 and 2 each week, 4 of these are seniors and reserves only, some weeks
its 5
footy as we grew up is not the same!
wouldn't it be more important to emphasise the kids having a kick in stead of the fat bloke who doesn't train anyway, under the currant system the unders falls over first,we are destroying the future, because it is the easy solution, they can top up the reserves and everything appears normal- there is nothing normal about players playing two games just to get the team out there
seriously when was the last time you watched a reserves game that was a better standard than the unders?
imo relegation system is paramount, would it really mattered if we went to a vfl style development league , cap it under 23 with 5 or 6 exemptions i.i.e 28 year old senior player dropped for form, and loosen the age limit on the vets, the same fat bloke can have a social kick but we get 2 quality games per week and the kids get to play, we can try and make it cool and all the other solutions ( free membership etc) but there appears to be too many clubs in the same boat, you couldn't question gembrook or Monbulk cultures, two of the best ran clubs going around, there is just not enough kids out there
open for ideas, thoughts

Agreed, there aren't the amount of kids. I would fear that your idea would fall victim to this problem, if there isn't enough kids to fill spots in the unders where are they going to come from to fill spots in a revamped twos/development style comp?

Reckon you are spot on Beau, Woori are rotating half a dozen u/18s through their 1s as they just dont have anyone in their 2's up to it

They dont go on spending sprees as they back their juniors as their culture and structures are so solid. They back their kids and have benefited from it.

Agreed, there aren't the amount of kids. I would fear that your idea would fall victim to this problem, if there isn't enough kids to fill spots in the unders where are they going to come from to fill spots in a revamped twos/development style comp?
your right but if the age group was increased from 16 to 18 to say 17 to 23 surely this wouldn't happen
if you take wandin this year, from the outside it looks like most of your reserves are made up of last years unders and your vets are made up of yesteryears 01,02 heroes
this is how a club should work, but take the example of warby, powelly, junction or yarra glen, yea, kinglake, alex, Healesville
40 kids tops, to filter up through 7 clubs that's 6 per club we all know that this not going to work!
there will be fallout from the locals who want a kick, surely the guys from thornton thought it would all work out over the summer too, wandin have improved there depth from the very move

your right but if the age group was increased from 16 to 18 to say 17 to 23 surely this wouldn't happen
if you take wandin this year, from the outside it looks like most of your reserves are made up of last years unders and your vets are made up of yesteryears 01,02 heroes
this is how a club should work, but take the example of warby, powelly, junction or yarra glen, yea, kinglake, alex, Healesville
40 kids tops, to filter up through 7 clubs that's 6 per club we all know that this not going to work!
there will be fallout from the locals who want a kick, surely the guys from thornton thought it would all work out over the summer too, wandin have improved there depth from the very move

Wandin recruited 10 SENIOR footballers over the summer this is not having a go at Wandin but how often do clubs up here have the capacity to do that?

Doesn't attracting sponsorship dollars and bringing quality people into your club also take a good club culture?

As the reigning premiers Woori set the tone for what is replicated in short term future however other clubs put there spin on it and develop other ideas that wen successful become the benchmark in the future and so the cycle goes on.

The Woori juniors you speak of will start to look elsewhere if the short term success dried up or money offers from other clubs in other leagues started to present themselves. Its happened to bigger stronger clubs East Burwood and East Ringwood to name a few.

I'm sure the powers that be at Woori are well aware of this fact and are prepared to ay handsomely when they feel it necessary to do so.

In the meantime Finger your thinly veiled jibes at clubs that are prepared develop in other ways are boring. There are only so many ways you can insinuate that Wandin are spending heaps and that certain people get looked after by the tribunal. Hopefully you have nearly ran out

I'm not ripping your idea. I, like you feel the league probably need to go radical. Maybe I'm a natural pessimist but I just think its a losing battle either way. These kids if they aren't playing seniors regularily by 20 or so aren't going to hang around for two or three more years to 'develop' at a yarra valley club, and even then if they do hang around surely they are doing it to play footy cause they love having a kick? And then you are forced to tell kids, that have then become good club men that they can no longer play at your club. I can see your argument but at the same time reckon you would end up with alot of clubs without any 'fabric' for want of a better term due to there being very few if any footy club guys there that just want to be around and have a kick on a sat. I agree with the old fat bloke line but surely that is up to the individual club to act rather than have it forced down there throat, after all you would agree with me that it would be negligent of them to not act. At the end of the day who remembers who won the twos flag 5 years ago? Don't play the kids at your own peril.

Wandin recruited 10 SENIOR footballers over the summer this is not having a go at Wandin but how often do clubs up here have the capacity to do that?

Jarod Bayliss amongst others at Wandin have done a great job fleecing the EFL of some quality players for a change. I'm sure is VCFL connections come in handy as well.
While Upwey appear to be clear favourites Wandin should improve on last years efforts in finals as well

I'm not ripping your idea. I, like you feel the league probably need to go radical. Maybe I'm a natural pessimist but I just think its a losing battle either way. These kids if they aren't playing seniors regularily by 20 or so aren't going to hang around for two or three more years to 'develop' at a yarra valley club, and even then if they do hang around surely they are doing it to play footy cause they love having a kick? I agree with the old fat bloke line but surely that is up to the individual club to act rather than have it forced down there throat, after all you would agree with me that it would be negligent of them to not act. At the end of the day who remembers who won the twos flag 5 years ago? Don't play the kids at your own peril.

Its a tuff one either way you look at it. In my opinion over the next 25 years the valley population should grow as more people move to the outer suburbs and Melbourne's Metro border continues to expand. Hopefully this injects the youth into the population that areas such as Mooroolbark are enjoying now.

Jarod Bayliss amongst others at Wandin have done a great job fleecing the EFL of some quality players for a change. I'm sure is VCFL connections come in handy as well.
While Upwey appear to be clear favourites Wandin should improve on last years efforts in finals as well

What has that got to do with the relevance of my post? I was responding to a post about how Wandins reserves are full of young blokes and the older types have been moved on. This is not possible for most clubs as they havent got the capacity to add 10 SENIOR players in one off season what ever the reason.

you preface by saying "not having a go" when what you mean is "Wandin's brought 10 senior players they must be spending heaps its unfair" Their recruiting methods whatever they may be, you clearly take exception to and that's ok just own your comments.
The discussion has been about a competition wide issue of reserves and U18 and how to move forward. You manage to drag it back to Wandin and their spending habits time and time again.
I want to offer you a Hypothetical. Say a club any club in div 1 were spending 200K and it was fact not rumour what position would you take on it?

you preface by saying "not having a go" when what you mean is "Wandin's brought 10 senior players they must be spending heaps its unfair" Their recruiting methods whatever they may be, you clearly take exception to and that's ok just own your comments.
The discussion has been about a competition wide issue of reserves and U18 and how to move forward. You manage to drag it back to Wandin and their spending habits time and time again.
I want to offer you a Hypothetical. Say a club any club in div 1 were spending 200K and it was fact not rumour what position would you take on it?

Where did i mention anything about money or payments? Facts are for varying reasons teams can't recruit 10 senior players it simply doesn't happen that often in this comp. I couldn't care if Wandin is paying 200k fact is 10 senior players are new which obviously helps their reserves and who they choose to play.

Not really just find it odd someone would bag Andys contribution to Wandin.
Yeah ya spot on again Finger....... Was such a ferocious bagging wasn't it? Where I was coming from was the fact he'd served his time there and had some great success but we can't keep flogging a dead horse. The decision by Wandin to appoint him for his last tenure was clutching at straws and hoping for the best. But the now different approach from the club appears to be investing in the excitement and enthusiasm youth brings to a club. By the way I've always been a fan of your posts that have been put on here in the past with your small headspace thinking you were in the inner sanctum of the Goodwin family. We'd be lost without ya mate the forum survives on your input!

Just got all the selection info people.

Woori has again backed their culture and youth development by selecting 3 U10's in the starting 22 this week, Warby have again gone to the local boys with 4 changes refusing as always to bring in outside talent. Emerald have coaxed back some Juniors from the 1957 U16 premiership for a late season charge, Wandin have gone to their scrooge MCDUCK like money room and brought a few more senior players to cover for Bayliss in his absence (Apparently he has near drowned swan diving into gold coins) . And Upwey well they have managed to get their whole half back line off a murder charge by sorting it out in house to be at close to full strength this week

(Disclaimer: Selection news is based on the fingers posts and may not be true)

Woori has again backed their culture and youth development by selecting 3 U10's in the starting 22 this week, Warby have again gone to the local boys with 4 changes refusing as always to bring in outside talent. Emerald have coaxed back some Juniors from the 1957 U16 premiership for a late season charge, Wandin have gone to their scrooge MCDUCK like money room and brought a few more senior players to cover for Bayliss in his absence (Apparently he has near drowned swan diving into gold coins) . And Upwey well they have managed to get their whole half back line off a murder charge by sorting it out in house to be at close to full strength this week

Hilarious! :thumbsu::)

Ive read these sort of of posts before that all worked out well.

Another good round of footy coming up.
No need to play the round because this is how it will pan out so maybe the league could call the bye this weekend!
gem v Warb - Gem Olin v Belg - olin upw v Mon - Upw Wan v Eme - Wan Woori v Mt Ev - Woori
Ladder will end up - Upw 40 Wand 40 Woori 32 Belg 28 Olin 20 gem 20 warb 20 Emer 16 mt ev 12 mon 12.
So stay at home, keep warm and have a nice week off.

A
Ive read these sort of of posts before that all worked out well.
And everyone has seen your response...... When your made to eat your words or provide a response of any credibility you simply don't. And in a weeks time you provide us with another topic for discussion that goes down the same path. I really think this pre season Finger you should be made to go back and read everyone of your posts from the last half a dozen seasons and there replies. I too found the selection wrap hilarious.

Long time reader first time poster...
thoughts on this weekend?
Belgrave Upwey- could belly knoock them off on their home deck? im going Upwey
Emerald Brookers- another cracker, brookers desperate but think Emerald might sneak over the line and shake off any thoughts of relegation.
Warby Woori- Warby usually very good at home, could be wet this week, because of this im going warby
Monbulk Wandin- wandin to win, but monbulk to show some fight, fowkes 8 goals
Mt Ev olinda-match of the round for mine, olinda pushing seriously for finals, need to win these games, rovers looking at relegation now, need to win. mounters to win in a high scoring game.

tough round!

Just can't seem to tip all games at the moment.
I'll try again.
Upwey to beat belgrave, Gembrook to beat Emerald,Woori to beat Warby, Wandin to beat Monbulk and Olinda to beat Mt Evelyn.
4 out of 5 of these tips will probably go the other way.
Pies to beat Adelaide and England will make 330 runs leaving Australia 265 runs on a dry pitch and that moron Swann will look like a hero, lets hope I'm wrong

Just can't seem to tip all games at the moment.
I'll try again.
Upwey to beat belgrave, Gembrook to beat Emerald,Woori to beat Warby, Wandin to beat Monbulk and Olinda to beat Mt Evelyn.
4 out of 5 of these tips will probably go the other way.
Pies to beat Adelaide and England will make 330 runs leaving Australia 265 runs on a dry pitch and that moron Swann will look like a hero, lets hope I'm wrong

No a bad round for you this week MS, but does anyone really want that 5th position? One question for you though. Swann and Pieterson are standing next to each other and you're only allowed one punch. Who would you hit?

Tough one. With 15 runs to get, I was really happy with Swann and Peterson. I was thinking that if Swann stood in front of peterson with his head really close, I could hit him hard and have his head smack Petersons face. Maybe Swann a bit short for that to happen!
So to answer, I would hit peterson.
My question is if you had peterson and tom waterhouse, who would you hit?

Yep, 5th position is up for grabs.
Just looking ahead, i think Warby might end up with 4th and Belgrave will scrape in with 5th.
Warby will end up a game clear in 4th and Belgrave will lose a couple but still make it.
Emerald will battle due to % so really need to win one extra to cover.
Olinda still have Upwey(home), Wandin (away), Warby (away) and Gembrook (away) - all tough games.
Olinda had to beat Mt Evelyn, keep an eye on mt evelyn. If they can apply the same pressure that they did against Olinda on Saturday, they could be a real pain for a few sides in the last few rounds. They showed the same desperation and discipline in round 1 and knocked of wandin. It's a hard way to play football and takes a lot out of the players but on the smaller grounds, they are very dangerous.

1/3 mark