macca23

Adelaide Crows
Traditionally, the #1 guernsy has been reserved in most footy clubs as the number for the captain to wear with honour and pride. Players looked to the #1 for leadership.

Off memory, Adelaide's captain has never worn #1. With the Crows, it seems to be reserved to be worn by the duds of the world who end up getting delisted. Currently Smith wears it, and IMO is an embarrassment to the number.

Thinking about this, what are your thoughts about the following:

- Adelaide's captain be encouraged to wear #1, with the number he wore prior to moving to #1 preserved. That way when he finishes being captain, but continues to play, which is the trend, he can go back to his old number.

- if he doesn't go to #1, then the #1 is preserved and not used, until there is a captain who wants to wear #1.

Thoughts and comments??

A great tradition and honor but sadly destined to be confined to the vaults :p

If clubs can roate the captancy each year, next we will be having a captain of each zone, forward, onball and defence.

Sadly this once proud tradition is unlikely to see the light of day again.

macca23 said:
Traditionally, the #1 guernsy has been reserved in most footy clubs as the number for the captain to wear with honour and pride. Players looked to the #1 for leadership.

Off memory, Adelaide's captain has never worn #1. With the Crows, it seems to be reserved to be worn by the duds of the world who end up getting delisted. Currently Smith wears it, and IMO is an embarrassment to the number.

Thinking about this, what are your thoughts about the following:

- Adelaide's captain be encouraged to wear #1, with the number he wore prior to moving to #1 preserved. That way when he finishes being captain, but continues to play, which is the trend, he can go back to his old number.

- if he doesn't go to #1, then the #1 is preserved and not used, until there is a captain who wants to wear #1.

Thoughts and comments??
I would love to see it but as pointed out by Wayne's-World its desitned for vaults.

I am a bit of a traditionalist and as such I would like to see us do exactly what you said :)

No way.

I'm perfectly happy remember Ricciuto as the guy who wore 32 for us for his entire career. Likewise Bickley with 26, etc...

Why should a player have to switch to No1 when they've already made an identity for themselves in a different guernsey?

jo172 said:
#1 for the crows is relegated for the mascots back, that pretty much says it all!!

and at least he gives consitent good performances ;) Be nice about the crow, he's a mate of mine (and yes it is a guy with those chicken legs!)

DaveW said:
No way.

I'm perfectly happy remember Ricciuto as the guy who wore 32 for us for his entire career. Likewise Bickley with 26, etc...

Why should a player have to switch to No1 when they've already made an identity for themselves in a different guernsey?

What the Mod said is fine with me. :)

A cool idea, and one steeped in tradition.

Unfortunately these days a players gurnsey number is part of their identity through the club, with the supporters, and in a marketing sense.

After watching Roo since his first game, I couldn't imagine him ditching the #32 after 171 games to take the #1.

Anyway - I think the #1 should have been retired at our club after it was trotted out for 6 games in 1991, and then neatly folded in a drawer for the entire 1992 season..... :rolleyes:

Ando's mum must have spent a fortune patching those moth holes in 1993 !!! :D

I am happy the way it is.
While it used to happen a lot in the SANFL, most traditions have gone out the window with the AFL. Pity for some but this one I believe a player should keep his number unless he chooses to change ie Matthew Robran.

macca23 said:
Currently Smith wears it, and IMO is an embarrassment to the number.

On the contrary Macca, he's continuing a fine tradition down at West Lakes... I can't remember ever seeing anyone with ability in the number, with the exception of Greg Anderson.

dyertribe said:
On the contrary Macca, he's continuing a fine tradition down at West Lakes... I can't remember ever seeing anyone with ability in the number, with the exception of Greg Anderson.

That was the very thing that irked me about our #1 DT.

It should have the letters DUD after the number on the guernsey!! :D

I must say, it did seem rather strange 12 months ago to give the #1 guernsey to a rookie listed player.

A rookie listed player who had just been dropped off the main list no less.

Why should low numbers be more prestigious?

Number 1?? Pfffftttttttt

Give me number 99 anyday.

captain ebert said:
having the captain wearing number 1 is a nice touch in my book.

(& besides, its that little touch of tradition i reckon you guys could do well with....).

But.....but .........but ...............havent we got more tradition than your mob. :D

Couldnt help myself. :p