Player Watch #1: Nick Vlastuin

If Aussie Rules footy was an international sport and a real All Australian team was being picked, you wouldn't be loading up the bench with all midfielders.

Seriously, I reckon the All Australian team has lost some of its prestige over the last few years. But thats my opinion.

As always and as it should be, Finals footy will always be the truest and toughest test for players even though the timespan only lasts for 4 weeks (1 month), but thats when the Premiership is won.

How often do we see All Australian players/Brownlow medallists fall down during Finals footy. The pressure and expectation goes up ten levels.
You're spot on, just like the Brownlow; unless you're a mid, you have no chance. Another introduction into the game, which was to celebrate players' achievements for the year as the best for their spots. Yet best HB FB CF FF, so on, are non-existent; they just make the team with names.

The AA team would defend well, wouldn’t they? Dale, NWM and Clark are terrific running flankers, but as if you’d ever have all three in your starting line-up …. none of them could defend an AusKicker.

This is it. 6 defenders only named. 3 of those are defensive ball users. No team ever has more than 2 of those.

10 inside mids. 🤣

Izak Rankine can't get a gig as a forward. 4 inside mids on the bench. Daicos who played the whole season inside mid, has no less than 14 inside mids rated above him, but gets AA, as what precisely?

Sam Darcy would have to be desperately stiff to miss selection as a key forward/ruck. He is the highest rating forward in the competition. The 2nd, 3rd, and 6th highest rated forwards selected but not the top rated one.

You would love to be privy to the discussion, it must be laughably biased towards certain players.

I have no idea why Richo stood down from the AA, apparently he didn't like the criticism he got & ppl questioning him being biased, but it's pretty obvious the other panelist are all biased anyway & just pick their favourites, we need to get Jack Riewoldt or someone like Cotch on the panel.

The AA team would defend well, wouldn’t they? Dale, NWM and Clark are terrific running flankers, but as if you’d ever have all three in your starting line-up …. none of them could defend an AusKicker.

Should be 2 talls, 2 general defenders and 2 rebounders/runners.

I have no idea why Richo stood down from the AA, apparently he didn't like the criticism he got & ppl questioning him being biased, but it's pretty obvious the other panelist are all biased anyway & just pick their favourites, we need to get Jack Riewoldt or someone like Cotch on the panel.

Where did Richo say he didnt like the criticism etc?

Almost pleased Vlastuin was not selected, though of course he has done more than enough to deserve AA selection at some point in his career.

But he can now stand as more irrefutable evidence of anti-Richmond bias from the AFL.

If you get to choose between these two sets of contemporary players:

Dangerfield, Stewart, Selwood, Hawkins

Or

Martin, Vlastuin, Cotchin, Riewoldt

We are Richmond supporters, we are not hesitating to pick the Richmond group, especially given their triple Premiership success, all at the expense of those 4 Cats. I believe most fair neutral judges would say that is a tough choice. Every single direct comparison, ie Hawkins v Riewoldt, Selwood v Cotchin, Stewart v Vlastuin is at least debatable. Not sure many are taking Dangerfield over Martin.

AA Selectors:

Cats foursome combine for 24 AA selections.

Tigers quartet combine for 8 AA selections.

🤣

only explaination is they rate them as different defender roles. i'd say nick as a general defender and ballet as a kpd? idk.
Makes his selection even more puzzling imo
If they picked him as a key position player Keane Shits all over him as far as actual defending goes

Absolutely puzzling selection

If Aussie Rules footy was an international sport and a real All Australian team was being picked, you wouldn't be loading up the bench with all midfielders.

Seriously, I reckon the All Australian team has lost some of its prestige over the last few years. But thats my opinion.

As always and as it should be, Finals footy will always be the truest and toughest test for players even though the timespan only lasts for 4 weeks (1 month), but thats when the Premiership is won.

How often do we see All Australian players/Brownlow medallists fall down during Finals footy. The pressure and expectation goes up ten levels.
In my opinion, both the All-Australian team and the Brownlow Medal don’t hold as much significance anymore. How often do they select players who play in their correct positions? As for the Brownlow Medal, it’s a midfield award. In my view, the best awards are given by the coaches.

Heaps of Pies fans happy Daicos won the MVP. That thread "Daicos can he be the GOAT" is going into overdrive. They (Pies fans) dont like anyone with a different view to them.

They would "boy's club" em anyway.

The GFL.

Lol,the organisation we play in has a chip on the shoulders the size of Everest against Richmond.

#CGFL

Farkin ridiculous situation that floss hasn't ever been awarded this given how consistently good he's been for 13 yrs.

Regardless, 3 premiership medals looks better on him than a cheap green suit....

If they are serious about picking a ‘team’, then every position should require a minimum amount of time played in that position…. so if Bailey Smith has only played 5% of his time in the wing, he can’t be selected there and so on …

It’s a joke that intercepts and scoring from turnover are literally the most important elements of the modern game …. and two of the very best at intercepting and turning the ball over kn Vlastuin and Worrell don’t get a look in, as they’re too busy selecting uncontested runners who couldn’t defend a wet lettuce leaf.

If they are serious about picking a ‘team’, then every position should require a minimum amount of time played in that position…. so if Bailey Smith has only played 5% of his time in the wing, he can’t be selected there and so on …

It’s a joke that intercepts and scoring from turnover are literally the most important elements of the modern game …. and two of the very best at intercepting and turning the ball over kn Vlastuin and Worrell don’t get a look in, as they’re too busy selecting uncontested runners who couldn’t defend a wet lettuce leaf.

Just like in cricket when picking "teams of the year" etc.....You dont open the batting with an Opening bowler.