- Sep 22, 2011
- AFL Club
- Essendon
During the draft I've been thinking about concessions / priority picks. Like (I suspect) most people, I'm pretty much against them, and find the fact the West Coast have been handed them absolutely absurd.
What is more absurd, however, is the lack of concessions given to North. They have zero draft concessions this year (admittedly after having some in recent years). This led me down a bit of a path to see if North's performances are actually not as bad as I'm thinking.
And I was wrong... they're much, much worse.
The state of North is an enormous issue for the league, by far the #1 issue I think.
Over the past six years, North has won 20/130 games. That's a 15.4% win record.
How does that stack up? Well when people talk about teams going poorly, you'll inevitably hear "the worst team since Fitzroy". Or even comparisons to expansion clubs... the Bad New Bears, or Gold Coast and GWS when they were more-or-less Under 18 teams playing in the AFL. But none of these "bad" teams have been anything like North Melbourne.
In the entire history of the VFL / AFL - 129 season going back to 1897 - there is only FOUR teams that have ever had a worse win-rate over a comparable six-year period
1. St Kilda 1897 - 1902
2.0% (2/99)
St Kilda were the last side admitted to the VFL and were woefully unprepared to compete. They lost their first 48 games and over their first six seasons, won just two games.
2. North Melbourne 1926-1931
9.3% (10/108)
After a relatively successful first year in the league in 1925, North went through a very tough run. High player turnover and the effects of the Great Depression hit the club hard over an extended period
3. Fitzroy 1963 - 1968
12.7% (14/110)
Fitzroy in the 60s were a mess, with appalling conditions at Brunswick St before being homeless for a period - making it nigh-on impossible for them to recruit.
4. St Kilda 1943 - 1948
15.2% (16/105)
The period known as "the lean years" in St Kilda history, when they were forced out of their home ground as the Junction Oval was commandeered by government for the war effort.
5. North Melbourne 2020 - 2025
15.4% (20/130)
You can forget all the talk about expansion teams, Fitzroy, the Bears and other disastrous teams. North are worse than all of them by a stretch, and the worst performed club in 60 years... since well back before equalisation measures were introduced.
So what does it mean? I reckon this shows that North aren't just your average team going through a poor run. This is an all-time disaster and absolutely unprecedented in anything approaching modern, equalised footy.
Personally I'd be all for North being given some significant concessions in terms of draft and salary cap. Expansion clubs get them, and North are clearly in a worse spot. I've got no probably with teams having lean spells, but this has gone beyond that. Having one club so absolutely uncompetitive over such a long period affects the whole league and the money coming in from TV for all.
Perhaps this is the time to look at it. The league went through two lots of concessions at once for Gold Coast and GWS, perhaps North and Tassie could get them at the same time too.
And yes I'm well aware there'll be all the same nuffy calls about "fold them!", "relocate them!"... which is pointless, that's not going to happen, the league and the TV deal are predicated on the current number of teams so they're not going anywhere - they're required to bring the TV money in.
What is more absurd, however, is the lack of concessions given to North. They have zero draft concessions this year (admittedly after having some in recent years). This led me down a bit of a path to see if North's performances are actually not as bad as I'm thinking.
And I was wrong... they're much, much worse.
The state of North is an enormous issue for the league, by far the #1 issue I think.
Over the past six years, North has won 20/130 games. That's a 15.4% win record.
How does that stack up? Well when people talk about teams going poorly, you'll inevitably hear "the worst team since Fitzroy". Or even comparisons to expansion clubs... the Bad New Bears, or Gold Coast and GWS when they were more-or-less Under 18 teams playing in the AFL. But none of these "bad" teams have been anything like North Melbourne.
In the entire history of the VFL / AFL - 129 season going back to 1897 - there is only FOUR teams that have ever had a worse win-rate over a comparable six-year period
1. St Kilda 1897 - 1902
2.0% (2/99)
St Kilda were the last side admitted to the VFL and were woefully unprepared to compete. They lost their first 48 games and over their first six seasons, won just two games.
2. North Melbourne 1926-1931
9.3% (10/108)
After a relatively successful first year in the league in 1925, North went through a very tough run. High player turnover and the effects of the Great Depression hit the club hard over an extended period
3. Fitzroy 1963 - 1968
12.7% (14/110)
Fitzroy in the 60s were a mess, with appalling conditions at Brunswick St before being homeless for a period - making it nigh-on impossible for them to recruit.
4. St Kilda 1943 - 1948
15.2% (16/105)
The period known as "the lean years" in St Kilda history, when they were forced out of their home ground as the Junction Oval was commandeered by government for the war effort.
5. North Melbourne 2020 - 2025
15.4% (20/130)
You can forget all the talk about expansion teams, Fitzroy, the Bears and other disastrous teams. North are worse than all of them by a stretch, and the worst performed club in 60 years... since well back before equalisation measures were introduced.
So what does it mean? I reckon this shows that North aren't just your average team going through a poor run. This is an all-time disaster and absolutely unprecedented in anything approaching modern, equalised footy.
Personally I'd be all for North being given some significant concessions in terms of draft and salary cap. Expansion clubs get them, and North are clearly in a worse spot. I've got no probably with teams having lean spells, but this has gone beyond that. Having one club so absolutely uncompetitive over such a long period affects the whole league and the money coming in from TV for all.
Perhaps this is the time to look at it. The league went through two lots of concessions at once for Gold Coast and GWS, perhaps North and Tassie could get them at the same time too.
And yes I'm well aware there'll be all the same nuffy calls about "fold them!", "relocate them!"... which is pointless, that's not going to happen, the league and the TV deal are predicated on the current number of teams so they're not going anywhere - they're required to bring the TV money in.