Expansion QLD and NSW academies

Oh deary me 13 years of hell after winning a threepeat, how did you Brisbane fans handle that???

Literally had to have the AFL come in and replace our entire club because of how incompetent our administration was. When was the last time you saw that happen? The bottom finishes were just the bonus.

Which year did the AFL come in and replace your whole administration?

If this is the qualification for an academy, then Essendon should get all of Australia as their exclusive academy.

Oh deary me 13 years of hell after winning a threepeat, how did you Brisbane fans handle that???
You're club was happy to send fitzroy to the other side of country and agreed to the conditions of the merger then complain about it after the fact when started winning. we deserved the concessions we got ,we still have around half the amount of locals on our list that victorian clubs do ,your club can bid on any academy player with your picks.

The issue is the academy rort has already paid off and will continue to do so for at least another decade. Ashcroft, Fletcher, Walter, Read, Annable etc are all extremely young still.

Being up in qld they're every chance of just hiding future players to tank their value so they can continue to pick up top line draftees for peanuts.
Geelong already do this with locals. See the likes of Jack Henry, Tom Atkins, Oliver Dempsey, Gryan Miers, Lawson Humphries and Tom Stewart for a few examples of this.

The heart of the problem: sustained periods of struggle for teams outside of footy heartland makes them unviable as a club (no crowd, unattractive to players, sponsors, require constant AFL work and funding).

So the AFL manufactures a way to keep them up. Salary cap and COLA, academies and assistance are all part of that goal. But in typical AFL admin fashion the short term is all that matters and the long term is forgotten.

So the entire system that allows them to keep their heads above the water in tough times is the same that now creates a monster with the likes of Brisbane building a great team, getting now the double benefit of f/s and academies and a supply of top talent through academies, and the attractiveness of a contender to free agents and trades just like any other well run and contending club does.

All this comes from a misdiagnosis of the original problem. Brisbane and GC weren’t unattractive because they were in QLD, but because of performance and culture. Now that it’s fixed they will get the compounding effects of their advantages. This was clearly an anticipated problem for those of us who were thinking longer term during the ridiculous outrage over the ‘go home five’, but is now about to become very clear to the masses.

The heart of the problem: sustained periods of struggle for teams outside of footy heartland makes them unviable as a club (no crowd, unattractive to players, sponsors, require constant AFL work and funding).

So the AFL manufactures a way to keep them up. Salary cap and COLA, academies and assistance are all part of that goal. But in typical AFL admin fashion the short term is all that matters and the long term is forgotten.

So the entire system that allows them to keep their heads above the water in tough times is the same that now creates a monster with the likes of Brisbane building a great team, getting now the double benefit of f/s and academies and a supply of top talent through academies, and the attractiveness of a contender to free agents and trades just like any other well run and contending club does.

All this comes from a misdiagnosis of the original problem. Brisbane and GC weren’t unattractive because they were in QLD, but because of performance and culture. Now that it’s fixed they will get the compounding effects of their advantages. This was clearly an anticipated problem for those of us who were thinking longer term during the ridiculous outrage over the ‘go home five’, but is now about to become very clear to the masses.
as long as the league itself grows and gets more money then it is a success, the AFL is a business and the only metric for success is money.

You won’t find me arguing against the fact that the AFL has the balance wrong in the commercial pursuit of the game, but it’s not black and white. If they over power the teams away from their heartland by an unacceptable margin (imagine now Brisbane and Sydney with COLA, extra salary cap, with no tweaks to academies and imagine then even more support just for the $$) then they will lose part of their heartland support and the ROI and business case stops making sense.

This is likely why the f/s and academies are seeing the tweaks coming up next year, AFL probably fears the consequences of going too far for too long with concessions.

They were unattractive because big vic clubs just lured players back home to Melbourne .

Yes, superstars like Patrick Karnezis and Billy Longer, and infamous Melbourne clubs West Coast and Port Adelaide for the go home 5.

Correct me if I’m wrong but are any of the following players from QLD/NSW? Dunkley (non qld), Daniher, Grundy, Adams, Rioli, Noble, Draper, Allen, Curnow? Case in point.

If you want to make a point that the only way northern clubs were to become attractive again (not that yours has ever not been) was to give them a leg up via exclusive talent, I will say that with harder thinking other ways can be found, but even then the academies priorities and double dip with f/s should have therefore only been an emergency assistance package and temporary, not a permanent fixture that we are now about to see the extreme consequences of.

Who gives a shit what any of them think Stevo, all born out of jealousy. We won again and will keep doing it. Carlton and St Kilda supporters, last time Carlton were any good they were cheating. And St Kilda- shit the bed when they had a chance at some flags. Pay average players heaps of money and get a coach whose believes best way to win is to keep a team to under 10 goals on a lightning deck under a roof. Big bad Brisbane taking advantage of rules that have been around forever and having pick 60 odd Harris Andrew’s in the team. Bullies.

Yes, superstars like Patrick Karnezis and Billy Longer, and infamous Melbourne clubs West Coast and Port Adelaide for the go home 5.

Correct me if I’m wrong but are any of the following players from QLD/NSW? Dunkley (non qld), Daniher, Grundy, Adams, Rioli, Noble, Draper, Allen, Curnow? Case in point.

If you want to make a point that the only way northern clubs were to become attractive again (not that yours has ever not been) was to give them a leg up via exclusive talent, I will say that with harder thinking other ways can be found, but even then the academies priorities and double dip with f/s should have therefore only been an emergency assistance package and temporary, not a permanent fixture that we are now about to see the extreme consequences of.
We were shit for 15 years and used this thing called the draft to get players while we were down the bottom. Strange concept hey😂😂😂😂 Christ

Expansion QLD and NSW academies