Player Watch #15: Dylan Stephens

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

He played in a grand final so he must’ve been going alright. How old was he when he was playing for them? Not every player comes into the league like Harry Sheezel or George Wardlaw.
He was drafted by the Swans at pick 5, so he played for them from age 19-22 (January birthday). Averaged 14 possessions a game in that streak of games where he stayed in the firsts leading up to the grandfinal. The most outside of outside players, which is fine, but if that's your jam you need to find the ball and use it well.
I assume Sydney let him go for that reason. Personally I didn't rate him at Sydney and he hasn't changed my mind since coming to North.

He was drafted by the Swans at pick 5, so he played for them from age 19-22 (January birthday). Averaged 14 possessions a game in that streak of games where he stayed in the firsts leading up to the grandfinal. The most outside of outside players, which is fine, but if that's your jam you need to find the ball and use it well.
I assume Sydney let him go for that reason. Personally I didn't rate him at Sydney and he hasn't changed my mind since coming to North.
Well mate out of all of the players on our list from that draft he is the only one who has played in any finals. Phillips and Powell are expected to explode this year, why can’t Stephens?

Because he's no good. And Phillips was fortunate to get a one year deal.

But imagine an explosion of Phillips, Powell AND Stephens!!!!! It'd be like standing on top of Mt Etna wrapped in foil on half a mongrel reading Fifty Shapes of Grey.

Because he's no good. And Phillips was fortunate to get a one year deal.

But imagine an explosion of Phillips, Powell AND Stephens!!!!! It'd be like standing on top of Mt Etna wrapped in foil on half a mongrel reading Fifty Shapes of Grey.
Yea mate let’s delist and watch them become another Mason Wood at another club

That off season of getting fisher , Stephens , biggie and pink I’ll tell my grandchildren about.
I already do.

I even read them posts on here when we signed these guys.
The blind optimism makes for great fantasy bedtime stories.

The Grandkids often say “Pops, read the ones that say “I don’t mind him””. They’re their favourites. They laugh and laugh.

Yea mate let’s delist and watch them become another Mason Wood at another club
Good God!!!

What about the other 45 guys we’ve delisted over the last 5 years who have done absolutely nothing at other clubs?

Mason Wood is the only player to leave NM over the last 5-7 years and play decent footy at another club.

Majak, Dumont, B Brown, Mahony, Tarrant, R Clarke, Higgins, B McKay…….just to name a few…..have all been underwhelming at their new clubs.

But hey, let’s keep them all because of Mason Woods decent form????

I hope he does, it's just that it will be a pleasant surprise to me.
I don't know if having played that one final series makes much difference one way or another

It's upstairs with him. Struggles to stay mentally involved I reckon.

Sent from my CPH2069 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Agree 100%

Looks like he feels the underperformed top 5 pick tag a lot. Weighs on him after a mistake.
Plays like he’s worried how what he’s doing will look in the film room on a review.

Would be nice to see him take the weight off himself abit and play a bit more free, could seriously improve his footy.

Physically he has the tools. Not slightly built, great runner and a sound kick. As others mentioned it’s 100% mental

Agree 100%

Looks like he feels the underperformed top 5 pick tag a lot. Weighs on him after a mistake.
Plays like he’s worried how what he’s doing will look in the film room on a review.

Would be nice to see him take the weight off himself abit and play a bit more free, could seriously improve his footy.

Physically he has the tools. Not slightly built, great runner and a sound kick. As others mentioned it’s 100% mental
He's harshly judged on here.

I think overall he is yes, although some of his moments in games last year were pretty poor from a commitment level multiple times. To his credit though he fixed the hardness and committing the body in his second stint in the side.

I think he could be a real solid contributor if he gets it right, even though competition in that wing role is heating up abit

I think overall he is yes, although some of his moments in games last year were pretty poor from a commitment level multiple times. To his credit though he fixed the hardness and committing the body in his second stint in the side.

I think he could be a real solid contributor if he gets it right, even though competition in that wing role is heating up abit
I will judge an AFL on many varied but have never (to the best recollection) criticised them on courage because I'm yet to be sold anyone could reach AFL level being "soft".

Might be wrong but can't mentally hold the thought that an AFL player could stay in the system as a squib.

I will judge an AFL on many varied but have never (to the best recollection) criticised them on courage because I'm yet to be sold anyone could reach AFL level being "soft".

Might be wrong but can't mentally hold the thought that an AFL player could stay in the system as a squib.
It usually comes from indecision rather than cowardice