John Connel

Sydney roosters
So looking at our top 4 picks what would you say we would want MM has said our first 2 will be mids so after that do we take 1 tall and 1 flank type player if so would we be happy with

#2 Shannon Hurn- Probably wont last till pick 5
#5 Xavier Ellis- Remember he wont play for us next year with school
#21 Beau Muston- Take a gamble if he is still there
#23 Austin Lucy- Defender to take the place of wakes when he retiers

Now i know that some of thease players could easily be gone by the time our picks come but im just intrested to see what people think would best suit our needs.

hawthorn will snaffle Ellis with 3 if we pass on him....got to take Ellis at 2...Hurn has more chance of lasting to 5 than Ellis does

id like to see Pendlebury taken at 21 or 23

The more I read about Ellis and Hurn, the less I want them. Hurn in particular, purely from what I've heard, sounds like a Shackleton with good skills.

I'd be happy with Kennedy and Thomas I reckon.

#2 Ellis
#5 Kennedy/Thomas/Pfeiffer
#21 Varcoe/Muston/Swallow
#23 Bower/Lucy/Douglas
#37 Mills/Grant/Jackson

I know its vague, but would be happy with any variety of the above.
Obviously, I think we should only draft 1 backman.

FIGJAM said:
2. Hurn
5. Clarke
21. Muston
23. Lucy
37. Jackson

PSD 2. T. Baird

Why the ******** not?!!

A) Clark, to me, is the most likely to be a bust. Too slow off the mark to play KP for mine.

B) I don't think Muston is worth the risk if we're only going to pick up two real midfielders.

C) Jackson reminds me way too much of Chad Morrison for me to want him. Except he's not as good on the ball as Morrison is :eek:

D) I think we could pick up someone with more ability than Baird drafting at #53 given our success with late picks.

But other than disagreeing with 4 of your 6 picks... Well, 5 really, but I respect your right to like Hurn over Ellis - I rate Ellis #1 though, and really think we should be going for him.

I'll be disappointed if we take Hurn over Ellis and then don't get Ellis as well, but will accept it and understand that Hurn may indeed turn out better.

However, if we look somewhere other than Hurn or Ellis at #2 and then miss out on one of them at #5 I'll be ********ed.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
Yet you still go around talking about the "correct opinion" on drafting strategy ;)
If you want my serious two picks, then I would pick the best available. I dunno who we think that is. If it's Ryder and Kennedy, then so be it!

Buckanara said "Ellis was clearly the second best player in the draft.". This to me means he wants us to take him and leave who they want (eg. Ryder/Kennedy/Hurn who they may rank at #1).

I'd love to get Hurn at 2, then watch the Dawks and Filth fight over the KP players. I doubt the Filth will want to sweat on another skinny high draft pick after Walker and Russell. I doubt the Dawks would risk taking Ellis and having two picks with the Filth eyeing off Ryder or Kennedy, and maybe us pinching one too! Like you say, Clarke is a loose cannon, plus Dowler's arguably a risk now.

So you see, I reckon you can have drafting strategy, whilst still sticking to your best available policy!

People say Hurn's more likely to slide, but he won't get past pick 4. I personally reckon Ellis is more likely to slide. And if he don't slide, and we don't rate the big boys, then you go with Thomas, who's a skinny talented kid who may end up better than Ellis anyway! Maybe that's what are thinking anyway, with the only strong hint of our actions really being our interest in Thomas. One strong body, one flashy outside matchwinner.

All supposition at this stage. I wish Saturday would hurry up already, as it's making me crook!

I definitely think we need Hurn. He has all of the attributes to become a very good footballer. If this means we need to draft him with #2, then lets do so because he won't be hanging around much longer. (The scum will possibly take him with #4)

Ellis will be a very good player as well. He could easily be the next Nick Dal Santo. If we don't draft him with #2, he won't stick around much longer either. (Hawthorn will possibly pick him up with #3)

I'm excited!

John Connel said:
So looking at our top 4 picks what would you say we would want MM has said our first 2 will be mids so after that do we take 1 tall and 1 flank type player if so would we be happy with

#2 Shannon Hurn- Probably wont last till pick 5
#5 Xavier Ellis- Remember he wont play for us next year with school
#21 Beau Muston- Take a gamble if he is still there
#23 Austin Lucy- Defender to take the place of wakes when he retiers

Now i know that some of thease players could easily be gone by the time our picks come but im just intrested to see what people think would best suit our needs.
Hurn is likely to still be there at 5 and Ellis is very unlikely to be there at 5. Even if Ellis doesn't play next season he is a lower risk than Hurn IMO.
The hot tip is we will take Gilbert around our 21 and 23 picks. He is a defender aged 19 from Southport, Burgatron wrote we were interested in him, and often is right on the money with these types of selections. He tipped us to pick Rusling at 23.

For the record here's my tips based on guess work, Burgatron and Footydraft.com:
PRIORITY
2. X.Ellis

ROUND 1
5. D.Thomas - I know I have stated that I can guarantee we won't take him but the rumour is gathering heaps of momentum and credibility

ROUND 2
21. D.Stanley

23. T.Varcoe

ROUND 3
37. S. Gilbert

ROUND 4
52. PASS

PSD
2. T.Davidson

I don't think we're interested in any other player and I think we will pass on 52 to give Davo more time to prove his fitness.

If we take Davidson other than as a rookie then someone needs to be hung from a Lexus flagpole, skun and then shot. Not for drafting him but for having him, delisting him and then spending a pick on him which we could have used on someone else. If he is good enough and fit enough to be on the list then what’s changed in a couple of months? Honestly, if we do take him onto the senior list then it’s just another example of our stupid mismanagement and no one will be accountable for it. In fact spending a draft pick and not having that list spot which is alternatively occupied by another sub par player will be spun into the greatest move of all time.

As for the draft, i usually like the best player at your pick but in this instance unless it is a tall of outstanding potential (unlikely) then we have to take midfielders because if we don’t we'll have to trade quality and early picks to get them in the future anyway. We have zero future without 2 more quality midfielders. If we miss out on a good tall then we will be far less likely to notice the difference.

dont be suprised if we take sam iles at pick 53 or whatever we've got! collingwood recruiters have seen him play quiet a few times down here in hobart and have liked what they've seen :thumbsu:

Lenny29 said:
The more I read about Ellis and Hurn, the less I want them. Hurn in particular, purely from what I've heard, sounds like a Shackleton with good skills.

I'd be happy with Kennedy and Thomas I reckon.

what are the down sides to ellis?! i dont get why people are so critical of him? The only problem i can see is that he is too skinny and he might not put on weight. highly unlikley if you ask me! jsut look at the genetics in his family and see if they are all like that, if yes then stay away!

cypher said:
Wrong.:thumbsd: :)

Great draft for every club.:thumbsu:
Paul Bower was a good get at #20, for sure. I guess the old idea that key backs don't get drafted high because the talented talls are all played forward was basically right for most of the draft though.

And I agree with the second point - it seems almost every club was able to get good value and what they needed out of the club.