2003 Draft prospects?

Originally posted by Weaver
Eddie Betts is too young for this year. He is also very small.

Lachlan McGhie is not available to Richmond via father/son.

Ryley Dunn has a great leap and a good mark but he is undersized for key position, not mobile or skillful enough for a flanker and still needs to improve his kicking. He will drop down the draft because of uncertanties about his AFL position.

Josh Madden is slow, has an ungainly running and kicking style because he holds his head so far foward and is hunchbacked as a result. He is not tall enough to ruck but does have that great leap. Really in the too hard basket.

The rush for key position and ruckman types may push McLean out of the top 5 as it did with Spriggs and plenty of other players of that type.

Comparing Brock Mclean and David Spriggs is silly considering spriggs is what 175cm and 75kg?? and Brock is more like 184cm and 85kg.
Brock can play in a heap of possies he can play across the back like on a flank up forward on a flank on the wing and were he normally plays on the ball but with Spriggs he is primarily used as a on baller he very rarely goes anywere else.
I doubt very much that Brock will go outside the top 5 if he does it would be a suprise.
But talking about the need for tall Ruckman or Key possie players what about a bloke by the name of Ben Clifton from Calder he is about 195 preety skinny but has the body that would build up h could be a good early pick for a club caise he is very athletic can run and is mobile.
thoughts???

The tassie player in question is Brett Robinson. Played in the 2002 Nationals, and is captain of the Mariners this year.

Goes in bloody hard and is great at the stoppages (which is probably why an ump noticed him). Have to see him at the Nationals this year before making a call. Only weighs 68kg.

Eddie Betts is too small, 170cm and 62kg. Very clean hands, reads the play well, capable of some freakish things (I was down in Tassie when he kicked a goal from the boundary that would have put Daicos to shame), but I think he will be a bit like Dinnell last year, just too small for recruiters to take a risk.

Lachlan McGhie? I'm not sold. Is so big he can easily outbody most of his opponents at TAC level, but I'm still not sure about his impact around the ground. Seems to spend a lot of time tapping the ball then standing there.

Also when he plays forward he isn't exactly super quick on the lead. Only mark I've seen him take in the forward line virtually hit him on the head.

Don't get me wrong, he can play and will get drafted, but I think he does have a few weaknesses at this stage.

Ben Clifton is 191cm and 84kg, and yes, he will be drafted.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
The tassie player in question is Brett Robinson. Played in the 2002 Nationals, and is captain of the Mariners this year.

Goes in bloody hard and is great at the stoppages (which is probably why an ump noticed him). Have to see him at the Nationals this year before making a call. Only weighs 68kg.

Thanks!

Originally posted by tige19
Comparing Brock Mclean and David Spriggs is silly considering spriggs is what 175cm and 75kg?? and Brock is more like 184cm and 85kg.

The comparison to Spriggs was in that they are both onballers, not that they are necessarily similar players. Byron Schammer fell out of the top 10 and Salopek fell to 6th.

At least half of the top 10 will be key position or ruckmen and I rate Tenace and Cooney ahead of McLean.

Robinson was fantastic at the Nationals last year and should have got the 'reserved' spot in the All-Aus team ahead of Shakleton.

Everyone should just take a wander across to the Geelong Supporters Messageboard (not the BF one), some serious discussion of draft prospects there :( .

Originally posted by Weaver
The comparison to Spriggs was in that they are both onballers, not that they are necessarily similar players. Byron Schammer fell out of the top 10 and Salopek fell to 6th.

At least half of the top 10 will be key position or ruckmen and I rate Tenace and Cooney ahead of McLean.

Robinson was fantastic at the Nationals last year and should have got the 'reserved' spot in the All-Aus team ahead of Shakleton.

Never seen Cooney play but the guy would have to be preety special to be rated ahead of Brock and Tenace ahead of Brock very very doubtfull.
Have you ever seen Brock play???

Originally posted by tige19
Never seen Cooney play but the guy would have to be preety special to be rated ahead of Brock and Tenace ahead of Brock very very doubtfull.
Have you ever seen Brock play???

Yes I have. And I would make the point again that generally inside midfielders drop down the draft order. Rucks, key-position and dynamic wingmen are rarer and go earlier. I think McLean will go in the 5-10 range.

The Scouts won't be able to resist Tenace.

I've played alongside Josh Madden for my footy club. It was great being fed the ball from him, he killed any ruckmen. But then again it was FDFL. He has an amazing leap, but he is not tall enough for a ruckman. He has a weird kicking style but is a fair player. Might make the AFL.

Another one who I kknow and have played with is a mate of mine, Adam Bentick. Hard-working on-baller with great fitness and exceptional skills. Great footy brain and just won the Neale Daniher Medal for best on ground in the Herald Sun Shield. Played Vic and plays for Calder. He is a real professional, I remember he was working on his fitness in under 12's while we were all taking shots for goal from the boundary. Should make AFL.

And yet another I know and have played with is Ben Jolley, who is a fantastic player and should make the AFL with ease.

Jordon Bannister, in the Victory Room after yesterday's match, threw this name into the hat.

Nathan Lovett-Murray. He is the current Michael Long scholarship holder and has been performing quite well for Bendigo this season. Has versatility, a good set of hands and that little bit of flair.

Don't be suprised to see Theo Adams, Craig Jovanovic and Brent Busustow all from South Fremantle colts in the mix this year.