Draft Review 2003 - Redo the Draft

Re: redo the 2003 draft now that we have seen them

Like I said, you can't say Cooney has done better.
(And the Sydney game you are talking about he had 25 disposals)

Sylvia's consistency was actually quite good in 2009.
Like I said, pay more attention in 2010. A better supporting cast will help.

Cooney clear cut #1

Davey/Shaw/Fisher rank depending on needs

Sylvia is a wildcard, can be very, very good or very, very ordinary. One thing he hasn't been is consistent. Also has had some off field issues.

The rest.

I reckon Stanton's every bit as valuable as Shaw. Shaw had that one hot patch a couple of years back, but other than that has "just" been a good, hard-running half-back.
Certainly not a lot of real top-end talent.

I reckon Stanton's every bit as valuable as Shaw. Shaw had that one hot patch a couple of years back, but other than that has "just" been a good, hard-running half-back.
Certainly not a lot of real top-end talent.

I'd have Stanton ahead of Shaw, no question.

Cooney clear cut #1

Davey/Shaw/Fisher rank depending on needs

Sylvia is a wildcard, can be very, very good or very, very ordinary. One thing he hasn't been is consistent. Also has had some off field issues.

The rest.

Sylvia has off-field issues? Didn't you just nominate Shaw??!

Consistent last season. In previous seasons his consistency was affected by recurring OP problems, which he now is able to manage.
His problem has never been bad decision-making, lack of courage or poor skills, only running to the right spots and getting his body to contests which he can now do with ease.

I'd take Sylvia over Shaw any day.

I cant believe some Melbourne fans would only consider taking Cooney over Sylvia. it's a no brainer, the proven star versus the potential star.

Sylvia has 20+ touches 15 times in his career, Cooney has done it 21 matches in a row. You can talk about the 3 or 4 nassive games Sylvia has had all you want, the fact is Cooney is consistently better and has also had far more massive games

I cant believe some Melbourne fans would only consider taking Cooney over Sylvia. it's a no brainer, the proven star versus the potential star.

Sylvia has 20+ touches 15 times in his career, Cooney has done it 21 matches in a row. You can talk about the 3 or 4 nassive games Sylvia has had all you want, the fact is Cooney is consistently better and has also had far more massive games

I agree. And some of Cooney's clearance work is very under-rated. He's a smart footballer that wasn't at his best in 09. He and Sylvia are different types, but Cooney is presently streets ahead.

Cant believe David Mundy's name hasn't been mentioned here. Has played 100 odd games in a row since debut, mostly fairly consistent as well, excellent skills, plenty of upside for him as well as he gets his fitness up further and has good leadership skills. For those mentioning names like Raff Clarke, Buchanan, Walker, Rischetteli etc as being better performed than Mundy take off the rose coloured glasses and look at things a bit more subjectively.
My top 5 for what its worth
1. Cooney
2. Sam Fisher
3. Troy Chaplin
4. David Mundy
5. Colin Sylvia

Mundy wasn't in that draft. He was in the same draft as Ryan Griffin a year later along with Daledio

You, like many other non-melb supporters, obviously have not been paying attention to Sylvia.

Don't be surprised if he's top 5 in the brownlow this year. His style of game is the type that racks up votes.

When Melb becomes a contender then Sylvia might demand some REAL attention from opposition clubs and we will see how he handles it but for now the heat really isn't on him unlike Cooney who has had it more or less his whole career and excelled. Sylvia just hasn't been tested enough to be demanding the sort of respect you are calling for.

# 1: Cooney...

#2-16: Throw a blanket over them. Pick for your teams needs.

Melbourne supporters who think that Sylvia is better than Cooney are certainly taking the p1ss out of themselves, and us as well, surely....:confused:

Cooney by a country mile...

Lock Thread....

u have to be kidding me to even consider sylver in the class of cooney is a joke mate is no where near as good and never will be.. cooney is in his own class

This thread wouldn't quite be the same without your contribution.

Thanks.

LOL:D

The only player i'd consider taking before Sylvia in this draft is Cooney.

With opinions like that I can only assume that you're the Melbourne Recruitment Manager. It would explain the last few years.

We'll see.

This draft is for a player's future performance; not for what he has already done.

Mundy wasn't in that draft. He was in the same draft as Ryan Griffin a year later along with Daledio

Nah mate your wrong Mundy was definetly drafted in 2003 (pick 19).He made his debut in 2005 after a full year in the WAFL with Subiaco. He is a year older than Griffen and Deledio and finished 3rd to them in the Rising star in 2005

You, like many other non-melb supporters, obviously have not been paying attention to Sylvia.

Apparently you haven't being paying a lot of attention to Adam Cooney. Would have thought he would have been pretty hard to miss, but obviously not :eek:

Sylvia has talent and shown glimpses. But this is a thread about a draft 6 seasons ago, he'd wanna get a hurry on, because even including injuries, he's been around a long time and isn't a kid anymore. He'd wanna have a big 2010. Maybe he will, but if I was a Dee's fan I'd just be happy if its anywhere near Cooney's level

Apparently you haven't being paying a lot of attention to Adam Cooney. Would have thought he would have been pretty hard to miss, but obviously not :eek:

Sylvia has talent and shown glimpses. But this is a thread about a draft 6 seasons ago, he'd wanna get a hurry on, because even including injuries, he's been around a long time and isn't a kid anymore. He'd wanna have a big 2010. Maybe he will, but if I was a Dee's fan I'd just be happy if its anywhere near Cooney's level

Try reading the thread first genius - I said Cooney's best was not better than Sylvia's absolute best.
I didn't say Sylvia is better.
I've seen both, and they are neck and neck.

Try reading the thread first genius - I said Cooney's best was not better than Sylvia's absolute best.

What has happened to Melbourne supporters since the 2009 ND ?

You have lost all sense of perspective.

Sylvia is nowhere near Cooney's standard at this point of time.

You should be hoping that either Scully or Trengrove end up as good as Cooney.

LOL:D

The only player i'd consider taking before Sylvia in this draft is Cooney.

Gets worse he totally failed to mention the likes of Butler and Waters. Both are premiership players who have had horrible injuries throughout there careers.

We aced this draft. Produced two players that played in a winning GF side in there second year of AFL football. :thumbsu:

Gets worse he totally failed to mention the likes of Butler and Waters. Both are premiership players who have had horrible injuries throughout there careers.

We aced this draft. Produced two players that played in a winning GF side in there second year of AFL football. :thumbsu:
That doesn't make sense, logically.
Waters has played some pretty good footy, but on balance he's the 2nd or 3rd best small defender in an average side.
Butler is not even that good.

Cooney is head and shoulders the best performed player of this draft, that is beyond dispute. Only the out and out biased could disagree.

However, if I was asked to pick which player I could take after Cooney, I would probably choose Sylvia. He looks as though he has put his assclowning days behind him and is finally delivering on his potential.

Then I would look at McLean, who still has plenty of good football left in him or Heath Shaw.

Jeremy Clayton was the one that really missed out, that kid could have been anything if he was fair dinkum about his football.

Lol and I'm saying you obviously need to watch Cooney more champ. Where's the misunderstanding here sports fan??

I'm not misunderstanding anything. Must be you.

I've seen most of Cooney's games.
Give me an example of his best if you're so sure its so much better.

It's a bit harder to pick out Cooneys very best games because unlike Sylvia he has had more then 3 of them. We all know Sylvia's best, 37 touches and 4 goals in a game they lost to a side that won 9 games for the year.

Cooneys best is probably when he got 33 disposals, 5 goals and 6 tackles to win us the game against the Crows in 2006. He also kicked the match sealing goal in the last minute when we only lead by a point. He won us the game, something Sylvia has never done.You can also pick out many of the games in 08 that he got 3 votes in, you should remember those they were when he won the brownlow.