noddy

/The Bays/Man U
Ok 2003 is way gone & maybe now it's time to look ahead & have a say in what we shall expect from our club in regards to 2004,

my first ? to myself is do we still go flat out for a flag next year & play our best possible side week in week out & only play those that are worthy of a spot on form & reputation ?

or do we blood at least 2 or 3 rookies regardless of form in the hope of future long-term success ?

Points to consider are,

1 We will have Wayne Carey & Nigel for 1 more year,
2 Burns & Clarke will probably only have 1 more year left
3 On the whole our present group of rookies do not give me the impression of future success
4 Our mid 20/late 20 group is becoming top heavy
5 Our 2nd tier players have generally not taken the next step up in 03 & could still reach that level in 04

My first thought was - well bugger it bite the bullet draft /trade for the long term & make the next 2-3 years a re-building one,

But to be honest while we still have the engine room & a core group of on/off field leaders then we have no choice other than to go flat out next year to at least make the Grand Final if not winning it,

So bring on next year & with a favorable smile from the footy gods up above there is no reason why we can't achieve the ultimate once again,

I think we must play blokes like Reilly, Rutten, Hentschel, Parker, Schuback and Skippy next year.

I think our premiership chances in 2004 are there, but I think that we are an outside chance only, say a 10/1. My feeling is we are a key forward and key backman short of mixing it with the big boys and nothing we can do in the short term to fix it is worth the risk to our future.

I am confident that playing Skippy, Reilly and Chewy would not hurt our premiership chances. They would take places away from say Begley, Bode and Burns, none of whom consistently set the world on fire this year.

Blokes like Rutten, Hentschel and Parker are potentially more damaging, but need to be given plenty of match time if we are to be some form of chance in 2005 and beyond.

It's a tough year for the AFC. Just try and put a team together with these guys in and it's a pretty tough call regarding whose place they take.

My feeling is we will have the best of both worlds next year. An outside chance of a flag and the ability to blood the future as well. It will require excellent team management, but it is possible.

You guys have NO chance. Look at your list theres not much emerging talent there apart from Johncock. Oh yes another recruit from the Magpies just like Mcleod.

And just for the record can you tell me how many showdowns the crows have won.

Originally posted by power#1
You guys have NO chance. Look at your list theres not much emerging talent there apart from Johncock. Oh yes another recruit from the Magpies just like Mcleod.

:eek: :confused: :mad:
someone's got an attitude problem... showdowns, schmowdowns... finals are what really matters!

You poor mis-guided prick.

When will the feral element of Port Adelaide ever learn that there's only one match worth winning each year - the Grand Final, and your lot have never been in one.

Off you go tossbag!!

What have the Magpies got anything to do with??

Showdowns get you four points which gets you a spot onthe ladder to have a crack at finals.

It seems if every gameyou played was a showdown and you won every one, it still wouldn't matter as you can't win finals when it matters.

Worry about your own mob sunshine.

[Originally posted by power#1[/I]
...and apparently your lot was shot because you didn't have Francou, Primus and Roger James playing.

North Adelaide and Norwood players.

You sorry clowns are proof of what happens if you have too many Port Magpies in your team.

Port#1 you can win the next 25,000 Showdowns, winning Showdowns doesnt win you Premierships my friend, Port are the Biggest Finals Chokers in living memory and THAT IS A FACT 2-9 and the only side you can beat is Essendon.................I think the AFC has more of a chance than the CHOKERS from Alberton in 2004:D :D :D As what was said on another thread....................water restriction are now OVER, it's the only thing Port is good for:rolleyes:

As for the AFC in 2004, go all out to win it, it will honestly be our last chance as after this year we will go through a rebuilding phase for 2-3 years, but I think it is still important to get as many of the 'kids' playing as we can, especially whist the experience is there;)

i would rather the port boys win a grand final than a showdown.

Originally posted by napsyd
I think we must play blokes like Reilly, Rutten, Hentschel, Parker, Schuback and Skippy next year.

I think our premiership chances in 2004 are there, but I think that we are an outside chance only, say a 10/1. My feeling is we are a key forward and key backman short of mixing it with the big boys and nothing we can do in the short term to fix it is worth the risk to our future.

I reckon that you've got it right. We have to have a crack at the flag, because it's not totally out of reach, but we have to play the young blood that you've mentioned above.

We definitely are a a key forward and key backman short and if we play these young bucks, they just might emerge and fill those two gaps.

Also our style of play MUST change!! unless there's a man totally unmarked, we have to give away this style of entry into our forward 50 by coming around the flanks.

I watched that Final against Geelong in 1997 last night. What a fantastic game that was. Every time we drove the ball up forward, the commentator would say here they go to CHF as per Blighty's instructions. That was Blighty's structure and gameplan and it had to be observed.

The beauty of that of course is that it's the shortest way home and the crumbers know where to go.

Thanks for increasing the traffic on the Crows Board.

I'm glad that winning the 2 showdowns makes you feel warm & fuzzy inside - obviously far more important to you than doing well in the major round. Personally I'm hurting because we missed a chance to win the flag - losing the showdowns is minor in comparision.

Originally posted by _espoir
i would rather the port boys win a grand final than a showdown.

I know you would.

But you have an advantage over power#1 (how cute - his nickname and IQ all in one)

You can think. ;)

Originally posted by maccas_no1

As for the AFC in 2004, go all out to win it, it will honestly be our last chance as after this year we will go through a rebuilding phase for 2-3 years, but I think it is still important to get as many of the 'kids' playing as we can, especially whist the experience is there;)
Thats a good comment.
I agree, we need to get the young ones in while there is still some older guys there that can lead the way.

There would be no sense in blooding the young blokes in two or three years time when there is no experienced players left like Carey, Hart, Smart etc to learn from. If we did this, i reckon we'd probably end up in the bottom half of the ladder for most of the year in a couple of years time.

I reckon in 2004 we will still hang around the top eight with a mix of young guys and experienced guys. In a couple of years time after the rebuliding stage, we should really have some established gun talent.

Btw, Maccas_no1, I love the last line of your signatures, thats a funny one! :D :D

We should be aiming for a wooden spoon.

And no more than five wins.

Two high draft picks should amend the current dearth in young talent we have.