2004 ??

• Thread starter Thread starter noddy

We should do both. Have a red hot crack at the flag AND blood some youngsters in the process.

IMHO, we have too many weaknesses to be a genuine Premiership Material. Our ruckman can't mark a ball to save thir life, our FB gets pushed aside easily by bigger forwards, our game plan is not the one that wins finals AND we have a seriously stubborn coach. Its way too much asking for youngsters to carry our team.

Our best players need to play at their peek for the entire season and finals for us to have a crack at a premiership. We definetly need to blood youngsters in 2004 but also try the best we can to win a premiership. If everything goes to as well as it possibly could and footy gods smile upon us in close games and when injuroes are concerned then we are a very good chance at a flag.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
AND we have a seriously stubborn coach.

That's the one, and you can throw a couple of other adjectives in as well.

If we have a bit of luck we can even go closer to the flag than this year, but we won't get to the big one, let alone win it.

2005 is the year :cool:

Without Clarke, Smart and Carey, I cannot see it. We are a better chance in 2004 than we are in 2005. I know you are hinting at Ayres' departure but I bet of he gets us to prelim final next year he is safe UNFOTUNATELY:(

I think we'll almost be better off with a few more departures. I'd be most worried by Smarty's retirement, but hopefully Parker or someone else can step up and fill that void. Clarke and Carey are losses, but not devastating to the club.

And in 2004, unless a miracle happens, we'll have a coach that can hopefully recognise when a player is hurting us badly on the field, a coach that understands when certain matchups just aren't working, and a coach that will, fingers crossed, allow the boys to play free flowing, exciting footy, within a solid structure/gameplan. IMO, that's much more important than any loss of tired, old veterans.

2005 is the year :cool:

Originally posted by ant

And in 2004, unless a miracle happens, we'll have a coach that can hopefully recognise when a player is hurting us badly on the field, a coach that understands when certain matchups just aren't working, and a coach that will, fingers crossed, allow the boys to play free flowing, exciting footy, within a solid structure/gameplan. IMO, that's much more important than any loss of tired, old veterans.

Well that's season 2004 rooted then!!! :(

Ayres has to go, he is a dumb coach and IMHO will not take us to a Premiership, Im hoping he will 'fluke' us a Premiership though:rolleyes:

I think the players will have to win it for themselves:D :D :D

Hope you have a BIG bucket Dave!!!!!!!

Terrific at what exactly? Just a plain old terrific bloke? Terrific at barbies? Terrific at interviews? Terrific husband and father?
Surely not.... :eek:

Ayres appears as terrific bloke but he is far from terrific coach.

Reality is there is noone better out there that Ayres, apart from Wallace but he has stated publicly that he will only go to a side he can see winning a premiership. With our aging stars I am certain he won't find out list attractive enough:(

John Longmire or Gary O'Donnell would be good fits of the assistants, I'd think

Reality is there is noone better out there that Ayres, apart from Wallace but he has stated publicly that he will only go to a side he can see winning a premiership. With our aging stars I am certain he won't find out list attractive enough:(
Good.

We're not interested in Wallace.

Yet another ordinary coach with a poor record at finals time.

Originally posted by Porthos
John Longmire or Gary O'Donnell would be good fits of the assistants, I'd think
We defintitely need new assistant blood. Preferably someone with some tactical nouse. Wouldn't mid getting Jonas back. Wherever he goes, teams seem to go well.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
We defintitely need new assistant blood. Preferably someone with some tactical nouse. Wouldn't mid getting Jonas back. Wherever he goes, teams seem to go well.
I agree. We need to clear out our assistant panel. Only keep Craig and Jars the rest should go. Jonas would be sensational but I am not sure if he will leave Sydney.

I agree with Porthos that O'Donnell would also be very good.

We need some new blood in coaching box with new ideas.

How about getting Pittman as a ruck coach??????

I agree. We need to clear out our assistant panel. Only keep Craig and Jars the rest should go. Jonas would be sensational but I am not sure if he will leave Sydney.

I agree with Porthos that O'Donnell would also be very good.

We need some new blood in coaching box with new ideas.

How about getting Pittman as a ruck coach??????

Mickan should go and Curran maybe. my main concern with Curran is that he would never have a different point of view to Ayres.

O'Donnell would be excellent. Pittman a great choice for ruck coach, but wouldn't he be contracted to the ugly boys (quote Charles Herringbone 5AA :D)??

Originally posted by macca23
Mickan should go and Curran maybe. my main concern with Curran is that he would never have a different point of view to Ayres.

O'Donnell would be excellent. Pittman a great choice for ruck coach, but wouldn't he be contracted to the ugly boys (quote Charles Herringbone 5AA :D)??
I agree re Curran and Mickan.

Mickan is our forward coach. The person I would LOVE to be our forward coach is Wayne Carey when he retires at the end of next year. I read somewhere that him and Sally are happy in Adelaide and are planning to stay here once he retires. I reckon he would be PERFECT. This would mean we probably have to put up with Mickan for another year.

Curran is like love sick puppy. What ever Ayres says he just nods and never disagrees. O'Donnell would be FANTASTIC.

I am not sure if Pitto is contracted to teh other mob but if he is what about Rehn??????

Originally posted by DaveW
I thought Porthos was suggesting those two as potential head coaches.

Why would they come to Adelaide to do the same job they already do?
Better money, bigger challenge.

Every year assistant coaches change clubs to have pretty much same positions;)

Mickan is our forward coach. The person I would LOVE to be our forward coach is Wayne Carey when he retires at the end of next year. I read somewhere that him and Sally are happy in Adelaide and are planning to stay here once he retires. I reckon he would be PERFECT. This would mean we probably have to put up with Mickan for another year.
Yes, Carey said something like: "I didn't realise how much I'd missed Adelaide," on Fox Footy on Monday night. And went on to say that he's very settled there.

Originally posted by DaveW
Yes, Carey said something like: "I didn't realise how much I'd missed Adelaide," on Fox Footy on Monday night. And went on to say that he's very settled there.

He also said that he & Sally would eventually head back to Wagga once he is finished with AFL footy, did not put any time span on the move but i got the impression he will look at life with the AFC after his playing days are over, so who knows.

As for new blood in the coaching box i fully agree but i would love to see new faces from ex AFL players recently retired & preferably from other clubs other than our own to give fresh ideas for Gary to ponder over,

Same as most of you guys keep Jarman & Craig the rest to move on,

I think Carey will be involved with the AFC in the future, it's not like he can go knocking on the Kangaroos door at the moment:rolleyes: well i would say for a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG time:rolleyes: