2008 Individual Player Expectations Part 1

Saw something like this on another board so i thought i would do something simular. Will been done in order of player numbers.

1. Jason Davenport
James has had a rapid development in the past 2 years and expect him to keep improving. Must become a better kick, a bit like Wojcinski in that sometimes he is running to fast to dispose of it properly, not necessarily a bad thing though. I would expect him to maybe play a game or two depending on injuries. There are simular players ahead of him. Will get a run in NAB Cup but on the whole expect another solid VFL year. A player for the future though.

2. Tom Harley
A great season as captain last year and expect another. Can and will play tall or small as required in the role of 3rd key defender. Hopefully he can stay injury free and with his age may not play on the quicker players like last year but expect Tom to be a key for us not only on but also off the field.

3. Jimmy Bartel
How can a Brownlow Medalist improve? I guess if Jimmy can maintain his performance levels we will be happy. I expect him to get tagged a lot more tightly this season but as he is happy to go and get the hard ball himself and his strong marking ability going forward he will still be able to break the tagging shackles. Possibly see him kick a few more goals this year with his marking ability. He is still relatively young so natural improvements in strength, fitness and skills etc will elevate Jimmy into the upper echelon of the AFL this year (if not already).

4. Andrew Mackie
Had a breakthrough season last year off half back and I expect him to play a simular role this year. As last year was his first year playing at that level I expect him to still have some improvement in him (obviously strength is one). With his height and hopefully some added strength I would like to see him play on some taller players that are mobile like Milburn has done just to add another string to his bow. He must not rest on one good year need to consolidate this year.

5. Travis Varcoe
A good second year last year but this year is a big one for him. Third year in the system and the old huge pre season has never been more appropriate for Travis. He has to have one. He is exiting we all know that but he has to get more of the ball this year and not just be a forward pocket wonder. Improved fitness levels should get him up the ground more where he can use his pace to break through the middle. Expect him to be given the opportunities just has to make the most of them.

6. Brad Ottens
Came as a forward now is a genuine top ruckman. I expect Brad to continue in that role. But as fine wine does ruckman generally become better with age and I think Brad can do the same. With hopefully Blake improving I think Brad might just spend a bit more time up forward this year and kick a few more goals as Blake will take more load in the ruck. The best of Brad Ottens is still yet to come, exiting.

7. Harry Taylor
Has played a bit of senior footy and is 21 I think so probably has the ability to play ones this year. But obviously tough to break into a premiership side. By all reports is tearing up the track in pre season and I would expect him to get a run in the NAB Cup. Is versatile and might just be a wild card in Geelong’s pack to play a fair bit of senior footy this year. Wells doesn’t waste picks to often especially on 21 year olds in the first round.

8. Josh Hunt
I think Josh had a great finish to the season after being out of the side. I think that showed a bit of character. Showed an ability to play on the smaller forwards which was of value to the side. I expect him to fill a simular role this year. He just has to not think he is better than he is and just knuckle down and be a hard nosed defender. Disposal is fantastic and of real benefit to our side. Might even need to drop a few kilos to get some more pace might be handy as he is a tank.

9. James Kelly
Really matured last season I think and was a good player. But needs to become a great player, and I think he can. He is the player in our on ball division who had the most improvement in him I think. He needs to become elite and I think he can. Training along side Ablett, Bartel, Ling and Corey should show him the way. Maybe needs to hurt teams a bit more with his disposal and toughness is never in question. My challenge to James Kelly is do you want to be a good player or a great player. I think he can become an elite midfielder just needs to put in the work and it may be the little thinks like diet or extra training, do it James.

10. Kane Tenace
Make or break year for Kane. An unfulfilled talent. I think the area that lets him down the most is his skills that are so crucial in todays football. Maybe its confidence. But he MUST have a big pre season and say to the footy club I am worth keeping. I still think he needs to be harder at the footy. A couple of years ago I suggested a tagging role for him and I still think that may teach him a lot. But we are pretty right for taggers (Ling, Rooke). Ideally the wing is his best position and I think there is a spot there for him but he will have to show he is better than guys already considered regulars in the side and that could be tough. It has to start in the pre season for Kane. Expect a NAB Cup run for him to prove this and the rest will be up to him.

1. Jason Davenport
I actually expect a bit more. I think he should aim for around 5 games. He has attributes which not many others do in our squad. His standard play is to grab the ball in the middle of the ground and stream towards goal. About the only other player we have that does this regularly is GAJ. Having another who gets less attention could be a great asset. His kicking is inconsistent, but not horrible. He has his on and off days.

10. Kane Tenace
Make or break year for Kane. An unfulfilled talent. I think the area that lets him down the most is his skills that are so crucial in todays football. Maybe its confidence. But he MUST have a big pre season and say to the footy club I am worth keeping. I still think he needs to be harder at the footy. A couple of years ago I suggested a tagging role for him and I still think that may teach him a lot. But we are pretty right for taggers (Ling, Rooke). Ideally the wing is his best position and I think there is a spot there for him but he will have to show he is better than guys already considered regulars in the side and that could be tough. It has to start in the pre season for Kane. Expect a NAB Cup run for him to prove this and the rest will be up to him.

I reckon, along with perhaps Prismall and Varcoe, Kane is competing for the spot that Byrnes had in the grand final. Will be fascinating to see how all three progress this year.

6. Brad Ottens
Came as a forward now is a genuine top ruckman. I expect Brad to continue in that role. But as fine wine does ruckman generally become better with age and I think Brad can do the same. With hopefully Blake improving I think Brad might just spend a bit more time up forward this year and kick a few more goals as Blake will take more load in the ruck. The best of Brad Ottens is still yet to come, exiting.

I'd like to see Ottens lose 5kg and become a little more mobile. He was fantastic in the Grand Final - had a run and a bounce on the wing and a chase and tackle on the other wing - but he was stuffed afterwards each time and had to come off. Could kick straighter too. Just nit-picking, he had a great season.

I think the balance between being too heavy and immobile and too small that they get bashed around by the bigger opponents is around what Ottens is now. If he downsizes at all he's likely to get knocked around too much IMO. In comparison to the likes of sandilands and lade, Ottens is a nice size IMO.

The other thing about Ottens is that he's probably only done 1 full pre-season in his whole career. That has a serious impact on his ability to get his fitness up to the top level. I don't know what his prep has been like this time in, but if he has done a decent pre-season he won't need to shed weight.

I reckon, along with perhaps Prismall and Varcoe, Kane is competing for the spot that Byrnes had in the grand final. Will be fascinating to see how all three progress this year.

So Djerkurra is out of the question as someone who could steal Byrnes' spot?

No, but the other three are well ahead of him at the moment. I think Djerrkura's aim for 2008 should be to have a solid VFL season after his injury plagued 2007 with perhaps a couple of games in the ones if circumstances arise.

1. Jason Davenport
James has had a rapid development in the past 2 years and expect him to keep improving. Must become a better kick, a bit like Wojcinski in that sometimes he is running to fast to dispose of it properly, not necessarily a bad thing though. I would expect him to maybe play a game or two depending on injuries. There are simular players ahead of him. Will get a run in NAB Cup but on the whole expect another solid VFL year. A player for the future though.

Disagree here. I think one of his great strengths is his ability to kick effectively on the run without slowing at all. He missed a few shots on goal in the finals series, but over the year was a great kick. I think he just has a good technique for kicking on the run. What he needs to work on most is his defensive side.

I think he is right in the running for the Byrnes spot and should be aiming for a few games, or even a majority if we have a few injuries.

2. Tom Harley
A great season as captain last year and expect another. Can and will play tall or small as required in the role of 3rd key defender. Hopefully he can stay injury free and with his age may not play on the quicker players like last year but expect Tom to be a key for us not only on but also off the field.

Spot on.

3. Jimmy Bartel
How can a Brownlow Medalist improve? I guess if Jimmy can maintain his performance levels we will be happy. I expect him to get tagged a lot more tightly this season but as he is happy to go and get the hard ball himself and his strong marking ability going forward he will still be able to break the tagging shackles. Possibly see him kick a few more goals this year with his marking ability. He is still relatively young so natural improvements in strength, fitness and skills etc will elevate Jimmy into the upper echelon of the AFL this year (if not already).

He is already well and truly in the "upper echelon", no doubt. Definitely an elite player.

And the thing about him being tagged is that you can't tag our whole midfield, so do you target Jimmy ahead of Gaz, Corey and Selwood? If he does get tagged a lot more (NOT a given), expect a couple of our other midfielders to have massive years.

4. Andrew Mackie
Had a breakthrough season last year off half back and I expect him to play a simular role this year. As last year was his first year playing at that level I expect him to still have some improvement in him (obviously strength is one). With his height and hopefully some added strength I would like to see him play on some taller players that are mobile like Milburn has done just to add another string to his bow. He must not rest on one good year need to consolidate this year.

Spot on.

5. Travis Varcoe
A good second year last year but this year is a big one for him. Third year in the system and the old huge pre season has never been more appropriate for Travis. He has to have one. He is exiting we all know that but he has to get more of the ball this year and not just be a forward pocket wonder. Improved fitness levels should get him up the ground more where he can use his pace to break through the middle. Expect him to be given the opportunities just has to make the most of them.

I think he has to stay in the forward line for now. We already have a whole lot of players rotating through the middle, and I like his fantastic goal sense and his defensive forward line pressure. He may be more a midfielder long term but not yet (see G Ablett Jnr circa 2004).

6. Brad Ottens

We finally get a dominant ruckman on the park and you want to stick him in the forward line?? No! We are a much better side when he is in the middle, and I hope thats where he stays.

That said, a lot will depend on our ability to fill the hole Nathan will leave - I'm hoping that T-Hawk will really step up this year, allowing Ottens to stay on ball as much as possible.

7. Harry Taylor
Has played a bit of senior footy and is 21 I think so probably has the ability to play ones this year. But obviously tough to break into a premiership side. By all reports is tearing up the track in pre season and I would expect him to get a run in the NAB Cup. Is versatile and might just be a wild card in Geelong’s pack to play a fair bit of senior footy this year. Wells doesn’t waste picks to often especially on 21 year olds in the first round.

Haven't seen him play yet, so hard to comment. Sounds like a good option though, especially if Egan struggles with injury or Milburn or Mackie go down.

8. Josh Hunt
I think Josh had a great finish to the season after being out of the side. I think that showed a bit of character. Showed an ability to play on the smaller forwards which was of value to the side. I expect him to fill a simular role this year. He just has to not think he is better than he is and just knuckle down and be a hard nosed defender. Disposal is fantastic and of real benefit to our side. Might even need to drop a few kilos to get some more pace might be handy as he is a tank.

Spot on. I like his size though - how was that bump on Motlop in the first couple of minutes the first time we played Port last year??

9. James Kelly
Really matured last season I think and was a good player. But needs to become a great player, and I think he can. He is the player in our on ball division who had the most improvement in him I think. He needs to become elite and I think he can. Training along side Ablett, Bartel, Ling and Corey should show him the way. Maybe needs to hurt teams a bit more with his disposal and toughness is never in question. My challenge to James Kelly is do you want to be a good player or a great player. I think he can become an elite midfielder just needs to put in the work and it may be the little thinks like diet or extra training, do it James.

Spot on. Hope he becomes another star.

10. Kane Tenace

Spot on again, although not sure he needs to tag - I think he is first and foremost an undeveloped offensive weapon. He needs confidence and a bit of a licence from the coaching staff to run and take risks. He was involved in some great pieces of play in his first year in 2004, but just seems to have lost confidence since then.

I'd try to get him involved more at stoppages - his great strength as a junior was accelerating out of packs and hitting targets (Judd anyone??). Clearances are one of our (few) weaknesses, so if we can get him doing that consistently at AFL level then we will have a serious asset.

I'd like to see Ottens lose 5kg and become a little more mobile. He was fantastic in the Grand Final - had a run and a bounce on the wing and a chase and tackle on the other wing - but he was stuffed afterwards each time and had to come off. Could kick straighter too. Just nit-picking, he had a great season.

Why don't we just clone Superman 22 times and stick him out there?

Fair dinkum, that run down of Pettigrew in the GF was so far beyond the athletic capabilities of most ruckmen in the AFL its not funny, and still you want more from him.

The run and bounce was away from Brogan too - supposedly an athletic type, but couldn't get anywhere near Otto.

Why don't we just clone Superman 22 times and stick him out there?

Fair dinkum, that run down of Pettigrew in the GF was so far beyond the athletic capabilities of most ruckmen in the AFL its not funny, and still you want more from him.

The run and bounce was away from Brogan too - supposedly an athletic type, but couldn't get anywhere near Otto.

Bingo. Ottens did have a full preseason last year and it came up beautifully for us. Sure, he may not be a sprinter and his tank may not be as large as others, but he was a big presence throughout the year as a result of his fitness and general good health. Don't think he needs to lose weight - his size is an asset that backs his deceptive skills.

Nice summaries there, pretty well agreed with all of them.

Agreed re:Ottens. He also brings alot of smarts to each marking contest. When the ball is popped up on his head he often doesn't look to mark but palms it down to a crumber, ala Ling in the 2007 GF.

Lets face it, without his domination in the preliminary the Woods would have won the flag and we would all be in tears.... again....