Review 2009 Draft

Re: Still vs Carlisle

Ok. Enough BS. Who will play first - thats what your essentially asking.

Jake Carslie ( 18 yrs old) played for Calder Cannons in the 2009 premiership, also Vic Metro, won TAC Cup team of the year honours. Athletic & agile, loves contests, is reasonably good below the knees, can take a grab, has huge arms, can play back or forward, excellent kicking style & efficiecy, still growing ( 196cm), quick for size.
Looks comfortable at either end of the ground.

Michael Still ( 194 cm ) is a classy tall forward who finished second overall to Jackie Watts in the 2008 TAC goalkicking. He has great hands & a great kicking action & is athletic. He plays mainly FF however has spent some time at CHB. Last year he focused mainly on his VCE, however I think that he was either injured for a large part of the VFL season or simply unavaliable as I dont recall him playing a game. Note that he took a real stunner to the Crichton Medal Night. A mate of mine in Melb has meet him & noted how calm, cool & professional he was. A future star perhaps. I have not seen him play the game& this info is based on the opinions of supposed experts.

If Carslie has stoped growing ( he grew 22cm in the last 2 years ) then they may well compeate for the same position. With neither gumby or neagle tearing it up, both could replace lloyd & Lucas as the prefered key fwd structure by 2011. Personally I reckon that Carslie is a head of Still - but thats based mostly on his reputation & there is not that much piublished about Still.

My 2 cents any way.

Re: Who will play more footy, Colyer or Ball?

Pointless.

I think it's time to move on from this whole Ball situation, he has been drafted to Collingwood and that's probably when I thought these threads would stop.

As pointed out by Kelvin, we have Lonergan, McVeigh, Welsh and Prismall who can all play that inside role and just because they weren't a top draft pick doesn't mean they can't be as good as Luke Ball.

I was not surprised at all with us not taking Ball. In fact it was mentioned on draft day that our interest wasn't genuine and we were only looking at bluffing other sides into picking him up in the hope he pushes a player to us.

If you look at our list then we already have too many Luke Balls. McVeigh and Welsh are better than him now. Watson is our no. 1 midfielder. Hocking is coming along nicely and we have Myers waiting in the background to try and play an inside game.

Prismall was recruited to play inside/out and then there's Lonergan. Lonergan can pinch hit forward while Ball has never shown he can do that.

The correct option was taken in drafting a kid that can hopefully give us 10 years of service rather than adding a plodder with poor kicking who may or may not be in our best 22.

One of a few days of the year where Kelvin and i are on the same page. The planets must be aligned :)

Pointless.

I think it's time to move on from this whole Ball situation, he has been drafted to Collingwood and that's probably when I thought these threads would stop.

As pointed out by Kelvin, we have Lonergan, McVeigh, Welsh and Prismall who can all play that inside role and just because they weren't a top draft pick doesn't mean they can't be as good as Luke Ball.

It is an interesting point that for some reason people do not seem to factor in the fact that it is very possible for the likes of Lonergan and Hocking to improve and be the players that can give Watson more of a hand.

Hocking for one was certainly a player who came through under 18's as an inside midfielder. This year he was thrown the tagging role becasue there was no one else and despite what a lot say he is not actually a natural tagger, he was simply the one player who had the endurance and defensive mindset to try and do it.

It is an interesting point that for some reason people do not seem to factor in the fact that it is very possible for the likes of Lonergan and Hocking to improve and be the players that can give Watson more of a hand.

Hocking for one was certainly a player who came through under 18's as an inside midfielder. This year he was thrown the tagging role because there was no one else and despite what a lot say he is not actually a natural tagger, he was simply the one player who had the endurance and defensive mindset to try and do it.

Forgot to mention Hocking, and he's probably one of the most promising inside prospects:eek:

Might as well add Myers to that list. Thing is, when thinking about Ball, we already have that type of player and by adding him to the list we would just be adding to an area with no shortage.

Then there are the small forwards. Davey had an up and down season after his reco, Jetta lost all confidence and we lacked a small forward. Coyler fits that role, and with the loss of Lovett he also brings line breaking speed.

I suspect this is not just about passing on Ball, but Coyler's height. Coyler, Rioli, McGlynn and Harvey are all about the same height, added to that there is also the chance that he could grow. Not to mentioned Christensen is only 1cm taller...

Ant, first of all fantastic post. Just wondering if I could pick your brain..

In your opinion how would you compare Melksham to Lucas, Carlisle to Black & Colyer to Bartlett? Also would you chose as we did, if given the choice between two in those cases?

Melsham v Lucas - pretty close. Melksham probably a slightly better kick on both sides but Lucas a more consistant ball winner. Personally i had a slight leaning to Lucas of Melksham becasue Lucas did perform well in the Champ series but in saying that it was not a lot and Lucas does have some kicking issues and needs to stop being a bit selective about which contests he goes to. Of the midfielders i thought would be around my order was Lucas , Melksham , Christenson , Stevens.

Carlisle v Black - hard simply becasue i have only seen Black play via a few DVD's of games and a few video files of his highlights sent to me. Otherwise i have to go by the recruting reports.
I thought that Carlisle was the third best tall in the draft but i have seen more of him live. Balck is probably a fraction more athletic, both are good marks and both have pretty good skills.
Carlisle in front of Black for me as i have seen that Carlisle can play both ends of the ground.

Bartlett v Colyer - both very quick. Both can find the ball inside but also provide outsdie run. Bartlett may be a slightly more natural midfielder and be a little better in the skills separtment.
From all reports Brtlett should be fine after his knee reco but there is a little margin for doubt.
The more i ended up watching games with Colyer in them towards the end of the season and leading into the draft the more i liked him. He just has something about him that keeps you thinking that he will be a good player.
It will be an interseting call to look at in the future. Bartlett is very much an untried prospect with minimal games and an injury concern but he has the raw ability and attitude to training and rehab that will see him get the best out of himself.
Going to sit on the fence here becasue i really like both players. When i did my top 100 rankings Colyer was in front of Bartlett by not a lot and Bartlett does score well in with potential upside.

Re: Still vs Carlisle

It is a great problem to have. Hopefully it makes Neagle step up and cement his spot this year. It certainly eases the concern about Gumby and Neagle not making it. Without them we could still potentially have a great spine.
FB _____ Hooker ______
HB _____ Pears Daniher
C ___________________
HF _____ Hurley ______
F _____ Carlise Still

Melsham v Lucas - pretty close. Melksham probably a slightly better kick on both sides but Lucas a more consistant ball winner. Personally i had a slight leaning to Lucas of Melksham becasue Lucas did perform well in the Champ series but in saying that it was not a lot and Lucas does have some kicking issues and needs to stop being a bit selective about which contests he goes to. Of the midfielders i thought would be around my order was Lucas , Melksham , Christenson , Stevens.

Carlisle v Black - hard simply becasue i have only seen Black play via a few DVD's of games and a few video files of his highlights sent to me. Otherwise i have to go by the recruting reports.
I thought that Carlisle was the third best tall in the draft but i have seen more of him live. Balck is probably a fraction more athletic, both are good marks and both have pretty good skills.
Carlisle in front of Black for me as i have seen that Carlisle can play both ends of the ground.

Bartlett v Colyer - both very quick. Both can find the ball inside but also provide outsdie run. Bartlett may be a slightly more natural midfielder and be a little better in the skills separtment.
From all reports Brtlett should be fine after his knee reco but there is a little margin for doubt.
The more i ended up watching games with Colyer in them towards the end of the season and leading into the draft the more i liked him. He just has something about him that keeps you thinking that he will be a good player.
It will be an interseting call to look at in the future. Bartlett is very much an untried prospect with minimal games and an injury concern but he has the raw ability and attitude to training and rehab that will see him get the best out of himself.
Going to sit on the fence here becasue i really like both players. When i did my top 100 rankings Colyer was in front of Bartlett by not a lot and Bartlett does score well in with potential upside.

An interesting discussion.

The WA watchers who watch lots of WA colts, Reserves and Seniors have big wraps on Black for his potential upside.

It will be interesting to watch the progress of Carlisle and Black in the upcoming years.

Collier is also highly rated by the WA watchers - Hopefully they are proven correct.

Thanks Ant. Seems like they are line ball decisions, should all be good players. & to BTG on page 2.. how witty :D

thanks 4 reminding us we picked a player who averages 10 disposals agame over someone who averages 26 smell like beverly knight had something to do with this .remember richard cole?

Review 2009 Draft