2009 Media Thread

Re: Media Thread

**Breaking News**

I have scoured through all the papers & websites so I don't think has been reported yet anywhere in the media but there is massive debut for a future rising star for the Saints.

He'll be playing on the Sunday (Friday would have been magic) at the dome but we're very excited about Bubblegoose Jnr's first game on the big stage. He's been tearing up the track over summer with a massive preseason & we're expecting quite a buzz on the Auskick DT sites.

:)

I hope that future club president CHB will be there to secure a potential father / son prospect !

Anyway, good luck and lots of fun to Bubblegoose Jnr.

St Kilda vows to cure interstate record
Mark Stevens | April 03, 2009

NEAR enough is no longer good enough as St Kilda tonight embarks on a mission to improve its horror record in Adelaide. The Saints have won only four games in 18 years at AAMI Stadium - the least of any club.

Despite an emotional qualifying-final win against the Crows in 2005, the Saints have saluted in only two of their past 12 at the ground. It mirrors a poor 28 per cent strike rate at all interstate venues since the start of 2002.

But star midfielder Brendon Goddard said the days of accepting "honourable losses" on the road were over. "It's easy to go interstate and lose. Lose and lose well," Goddard said. "Have a close loss, an honourable loss, and accept that. I guess we were in that frame of mind early in my career."

But Goddard said the Saints had the maturity to not use travel as an excuse. "No loss is acceptable, no matter who it is against and where it is." "You soon realise to be a great team you need to win interstate," Goddard said.

He said the Adelaide clash was a chance to make a statement. "It is a chance within the group to gain confidence - go interstate and have another win," Goddard said. "We just want to get off to a good start. In previous years we haven't started too well. We might have won Round 1, but the first 10 games have not been so good. "We need to set a bit of a tone and an example for the rest of the year."

St Kilda's travel sickness was a worry for former coach Grant Thomas. He said in 2007 that he wanted to drop Stephen Milne from the 2005 qualifying final the week after kicking 11 goals because of his record on the road. Thomas was over-ruled. Milne's record interstate has since improved.

Brendon Goddard takes a chill pill to gain respect at St Kilda
Mark Stevens | April 03, 2009

EVERY club has its pranksters and competitors when the focus turns ping-pong, pinnies or pool. Brendon Goddard is clearly in the latter category in the players' lounge down at Moorabbin. "You could chuck me on the table-tennis table, or anywhere, and the boys will say I'm just too competitive," Goddard said. "That's just my nature." And at times, the anger at missing a crosscourt forehand has been replicated on the AFL arena.

Goddard has no problem admitting he used to chew too many "angry pills". "I just think in the past I've abused the umpires too much," Goddard said. "I might have copped unfair decisions and I guess I've tried to take it out on some of the umpires."

It means the St Kilda star has been a long way short of an umpire's pet. In his 114-game career, Goddard had won only 53 free-kicks and given away 102. In each of his first six full seasons, Goddard has finished in negative territory for frees.

The umps have handed him only 15 Brownlow votes through the journey. Goddard said he had "definitely" been too demonstrative at times. "No doubt it's an issue - especially the the way I've portrayed my body language at times," Goddard said. "I've worked on that the last year or two."

And the results are coming. After one game this year, he has a 1-0 positive record. Hey, you've got to start somewhere. His teammates took notice during the summer, with Goddard being elevated to the leadership group for the first time. "A few things have held me back . . . the anger issues," Goddard said. "I always felt like a good leader and set high standards. "I set such high standards for myself if someone else isn't doing the same, I can get a bit narky. I've learned to deal with that. "I think I can lead from example, have a pretty good understanding of the game and have always got something to share."

As he matures off the field, Goddard has blossomed into a genuine member of the AFL's elite. Nick Riewoldt is clearly No. 1 at St Kilda, but you could mount as case that Sam Fisher and Goddard are vying for No. 2. Fisher perhaps has his nose in front, but Goddard is coming fast. The 23-year-old has returned from a knee reconstruction a far more complete player. All his key indicators are up.

Goddard was missing from Round 7, 2007, to Round 3, 2008, but re-emerged as if he had had nothing but minor arthroscopic surgery. Before his left knee buckled, Goddard averaged 16 disposals in 90 games. Post-knee, he has averaged 24 in 24. His average SuperCoach points have soared from 79 to 106. Goddard said the enforced break actually helped him.

"People always used to say it helps you as a person or a player, but I never knew why," Goddard said. "It helps you so much mentally to go through so much. "I just didn't want to leave anything to chance. "When it got to the stage of coming back, I felt I had worked so hard. I knew I had done everything I could and slept easily at night."

Goddard has endured minor setback with pain at the front of his knee, linked to the removal of the patella tendon to help patch up the anterior cruciate ligament. But Goddard insists it is far better than last year and as good as possible.

And the aim this year is to end St Kilda's long-standing lack of goalkicking midfielders. If Goddard can kick 30-plus, it will be an enormous positive. "We've talked about it and we've known it's been an issue in the past. Great teams always have goalkicking midfielders," Goddard said. "We feel me being in midfield helps us. "I feel as though if I get a chance inside 50 I'm more than likely, or I'll back myself, to kick a goal."

Goddard beat Adam Goodes on Saturday night, but copped a rude reminder of the speed and toughness of the modern game. "Playing Round 1, you realise how hard footy is. How much it takes out of you and how much you have to put in," Goddard said. "I guess there were times early in my career where you thought you were working hard, but you weren't really. "I am now dedicated to getting the best out of myself."

And that includes getting the anger out of himself.

He also gave the Saints a huge wrap in the age last year before we lost to the Eagles in that game that still sends shivers down my spine. Hope this isn't an omen.

'sparked controversy' LOL

with who? when there's no thread on it on bigfooty then you know it's not controversial. he can send a tribute to whoever he wants, nothing wrong with that.

anyway, some organisations will sook about anything to get some attention

Nice to see the media being impartial as always.

"tribute to his brother..."
"How to do you feel about tributes to proven criminals?"

Wonder how Evonne would feel if Goddard wrote an article calling her a scaremongering hack, you'd bet she wouldn't be happy about it one bit.

Has Dal grown during the off-season ("big" saint!). Noticed Monty did not make the best - hmmmm.

Big Saint makes early running

NICK Dal Santo is making the early running in the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year, after impressing both St Kilda coach Ross Lyon and Adelaide coach Neil Craig in round two.

Dal Santo won nine votes for his performance in Friday night’s victory at AAMI Stadium. In round one he scooped a maximum 10 votes after St Kilda’s opening win over the Sydney Swans.

Hot on the big Saint’s heels is two-time winner Gary Ablett, whose 29 touches against
Richmond at Skilled Stadium won him best-on-ground honours from both coaches.

In the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year – the only award voted for by the coaches themselves – coaches vote each week on a 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis. Coaches vote only on their own matches, but may vote for players on the opposing team.

Past winners of the prestigious award include Gary Ablett Jr (2007-08), Simon Goodwin and Adam Goodes (joint winners in 2006), Barry Hall (2005) and Warren Tredrea (2004).

ROUND TWO VOTING

Adelaide v St Kilda
9 Nick Dal Santo (St K)
8 Justin Koschitzke (St K)
7 Tyson Edwards (Adel)
2 Nathan Bock (Adel)
2 Jason Gram (St K)
1 Steven Baker (St K)
1 Sam Fisher (St K)

Would be nice if they could spell his name right. Interesting comment on Max :

Xavier Clark trying to beat the squeeze

Michael Horan | April 07, 2009

Xavier Clarke is pushing hard to play his first game of the season, but there might not be room for him in an unbeaten St Kilda line-up.
Clarke has been best afield in the past two VFL practice matches after a calf injury had restricted his pre-season preparation.

However the Saints' impressive form may mean Clarke will have to be content with taking on Casey Scorpions at Trevor Barker Oval on Sunday - the day after the senior side tackles the undefeated West Coast Eagles at Etihad Stadium.

''Xavier is really important to us. He's been a bit thin in his preparation, he missed the last practice game and until then he'd been going quite well,'' coach Ross Lyon said this afternoon.

''But we're reluctant to bring in players who are underdone. It's a bit like the Australian Test team, once you're in and you're winning its hard to break in.

'' (But) he's is certainly putting pressure on and he was probably our best player in the twos last week ... but I don't want to give away too much.''

But likely match-up could work the opposite way from defender Matt McGuire, who also is waiting to play his first game of the season.

''Matt is in the mix. They (West Coast) play a lot of tall forwards, so he'll come into consideration. There are players like Lynch and Hansen he may be able to match up on,'' Lyon said.

In-form big man Justin Koschitzke missed training to attend a funeral while full-back Max Hudghton remains two weeks away from playing as he recovers from a calf complaint.

Lyon and a posse of assistants travelled to Perth after Friday's success against the Crows in Adelaide to watch the Eagles' 50-point demolition of Port Adelaide on Sunday.

‘’They were outstanding," Lyon said. "They competed really well and we know we've got a big challenged on our hands.

"I counted off the top of my head about five premiership players, some exciting young talent. They’ve tweaked their game plan a bit with their ball use and defending, so it's an exciting challenge and we’re looking forward to testing ourselves at our home ground."

Would be nice if they could spell his name right. Interesting comment on Max :

Xavier Clark trying to beat the squeeze

Michael Horan | April 07, 2009

Xavier Clarke is pushing hard to play his first game of the season, but there might not be room for him in an unbeaten St Kilda line-up.
Clarke has been best afield in the past two VFL practice matches after a calf injury had restricted his pre-season preparation.

However the Saints' impressive form may mean Clarke will have to be content with taking on Casey Scorpions at Trevor Barker Oval on Sunday - the day after the senior side tackles the undefeated West Coast Eagles at Etihad Stadium.

''Xavier is really important to us. He's been a bit thin in his preparation, he missed the last practice game and until then he'd been going quite well,'' coach Ross Lyon said this afternoon.

''But we're reluctant to bring in players who are underdone. It's a bit like the Australian Test team, once you're in and you're winning its hard to break in.

'' (But) he's is certainly putting pressure on and he was probably our best player in the twos last week ... but I don't want to give away too much.''

But likely match-up could work the opposite way from defender Matt McGuire, who also is waiting to play his first game of the season.

''Matt is in the mix. They (West Coast) play a lot of tall forwards, so he'll come into consideration. There are players like Lynch and Hansen he may be able to match up on,'' Lyon said.

In-form big man Justin Koschitzke missed training to attend a funeral while full-back Max Hudghton remains two weeks away from playing as he recovers from a calf complaint.

Lyon and a posse of assistants travelled to Perth after Friday's success against the Crows in Adelaide to watch the Eagles' 50-point demolition of Port Adelaide on Sunday.

‘’They were outstanding," Lyon said. "They competed really well and we know we've got a big challenged on our hands.

"I counted off the top of my head about five premiership players, some exciting young talent. They’ve tweaked their game plan a bit with their ball use and defending, so it's an exciting challenge and we’re looking forward to testing ourselves at our home ground."
a bit hypocritical but understandable given x's issues with soft tissue injuries

When was the last time we had a regular senior player finding it hard to get a spot in our starting 22 despite good form?
Finally some pressure for the last spots.

God those pictures are like "you want how much for that car?"

Definitely the look of shady used car salesmen...

Can't remember where I saw it, but Baker was being interviewed the other day & was asked about his Dad? Seems he's a bit of a nutter too, streaking etc - in a good way though :D damn where did I see that, it ain't online. :confused:

Not StKilda realted, i repeat nothing to do with us, just wanted to share with everyone. :)

Since it was deleted off the main board and all.

Top draftee faces spectre of jail time

One high-profile Victorian club is very angry at one of its star draftees. And it’s not over something trivial like a push and shove in a bar or nightclub. It is alleged that the star recruit was involved in a gang invasion of a house where baseball bats and machetes were used. It happened in his home state before last year’s draft and my contacts in that state tell me the courts have been extremely harsh in judging similar cases. He is likely to be charged with assault and in all probability may go to jail. One insider at the club told me that if the club had known “we would have gone down a different track and recruited someone else”. Maybe the AFL should demand full disclosure form draftees in future. It would be pretty crook if you were to draft somebody and he was to suddenly say “I’ll see you in 18 months when I get out”.

*cough* Karma *cough*

Not StKilda realted, i repeat nothing to do with us, just wanted to share with everyone. :)

*cough* Karma *cough*

it's good our "house" is cleared up isn't it!

this week we see:

- "unknown" club with this trouble ( i know it was speculated on the main board of club and player but "unknown" seems appropriate)
- kangas with a rubber chicken and a video camera
- nathan bock.

all from other clubs. i mean 10 years ago it was our club who was the rabble on the main pages and for me it feels good that we have finally cleared our act up as a club.

and "Definitely the look of shady used car salesmen... ": true, but not such a bad thing remembering the great Lazar Vidovic was a used car salesman of some repute :D

Ahaha touche, but then again looking like one is far worse than actually being one.:D

And I agree, far better to be the ones sitting back "glad it's not us" instead of "goddamnit not again..."

*cough* Karma *cough*
there are three blokes it could be, one I would think is highly unlikely the other two are probable, am interested to see who it is.

edit: make it 5

2009 Media Thread