2009 Media Thread

Re: Media Thread

The programmers at Ch7 are ********s, and it wont surprise me if the next round of AFL TV contracts have a lot more red tape etc regarding which games have to be played when.

I can't see the AFL sitting back and allowing the TV companies to neglect their future expansion markets.

Just on the Media , If anyone wants proof that they read "Big Footy" did anyone see the article on scalping in the Sunday Age.
I was glancing through it and I though "that sounds like something I would have said"
As it turns out I did, it was posted on the main board under "Greedy Bastards etc etc""
Most of the info for the artical seems to have come from there.

So now the real question is can we work together with some others in Big Footy to drum up some really juicy "fake news" in an attempt to get the Media to run with it?
Then again for all I know you lot may be Journo's.

Just on the Media , If anyone wants proof that they read "Big Footy" did anyone see the article on scalping in the Sunday Age.
I was glancing through it and I though "that sounds like something I would have said"
As it turns out I did, it was posted on the main board under "Greedy Bastards etc etc""
Most of the info for the artical seems to have come from there.

So now the real question is can we work together with some others in Big Footy to drum up some really juicy "fake news" in an attempt to get the Media to run with it?
Then again for all I know you lot may be Journo's.

Damn they're onto me, quick Robbo, to the quackmobile, we'll stop by Maccas on the way! Is the Australian the only pure one left? HAVE THEY NO SHAME!

Honestly this site is powerful enough to do something like that.

But it would need to be planned, and you'd wanna take aim at someone who deserves it. Like Dimwit and AA. Start an epic rumour, make everyone play along and hey presto they'd probs pick up on it.

Seems life is good for the big fella at the minute :

Former AFL bad boy Michael Gardiner has celebrated his 30th birthday with Saints teammates at Riva in St Kilda.

Gardiner, who kicked the winning goal for his side against Geelong on Sunday, joined close mates from the senior list for a relaxed dinner after the game.

It was the second celebration of the milestone birthday for Gardiner, who jetted off to Hamilton Island with his fiancee Danielle McCann and Saints teammate Luke Ball and his girlfriend, Amy Pollard, last month.

Gardiner and McCann plan to wed in November, and close mate Ben Cousins is expected to be in the groom's party.

Not sure if you're all aware, but Gardi's fiancee is the sister of Adam Cooney's fiancee/wife.

Busy time in the McCann household!

Not sure if you're all aware, but Gardi's fiancee is the sister of Adam Cooney's fiancee/wife.

Busy time in the McCann household!

McCann's must like their footballers..

Ross the Boss was on "One Week at a Time" last night. It was pretty lame as Dean Laidley analysed each quarter of the game in the most monotone voice ever heard on TV, but Ross gave some insights into what the coaches were thinking.

He implied Bartel was becoming a pest, so they sent Ray to tag him.

Was unhappy in the last quarter when we got 3 goals up and certain players (who remained nameless) weren't where they were meant to be.

Was surprised that Ablett wasn't in the middle in the first quarter.

Thought our clearance work was down. Think he said they made a bit of a blue when they had Dal and Monty off at the same time for 6-7 minutes at a critical stage.

Huge wrap for Lenny - in particular his precise kicking late in the game. But the coaches votes didn't have Lenny as one of the best 5 on the ground.

Seemed happy that Harley couldn't find a suitable match-up.

Was quick to try and isolate Milne on Kelly late - kicked a goal and nearly followed up with the clincher (just dropped that diving mark 10m out).

They then asked a whole bunch of shithouse questions like :
- Were you worried about Geelong getting a run-on in the last quarter?
- What is it about being a senior coach that you can't prepare for?
- Geelong has Ottens and Johnson out - who do you have? (Dur - Max? Dur - King?)

But he did actually go into depth on the last one. Talked about Goose at some length, and how disappointed he was at not getting a game. Just said that Geelong don't play tall and there was no match-up for him. Tried to be positive about his prospects.

Said that he didn't want to offend anyone, but that they really rated Eddy's run and that he was first emergency.

Also implied Dempster is very close.

Mentioned Armo too.

Seems life is good for the big fella at the minute :

Former AFL bad boy Michael Gardiner has celebrated his 30th birthday with Saints teammates at Riva in St Kilda.

Gardiner, who kicked the winning goal for his side against Geelong on Sunday, joined close mates from the senior list for a relaxed dinner after the game.

It was the second celebration of the milestone birthday for Gardiner, who jetted off to Hamilton Island with his fiancee Danielle McCann and Saints teammate Luke Ball and his girlfriend, Amy Pollard, last month.

Gardiner and McCann plan to wed in November, and close mate Ben Cousins is expected to be in the groom's party.

Oh, and Gardi's match winner was his 100th AFL goal.

Saints deny recruiting Dean Laidley as finals analyst

Mark Robinson | July 09, 2009 12:00am

ST KILDA has dismissed a meeting between coach Ross Lyon and departed North Melbourne coach Dean Laidley as nothing more than a "chat over coffee".

The scuttlebutt had it Lyon was considering an eight-week role for Laidley as opposition analyst.

The job description was to dissect the strategies and structures of Geelong, the Western Bulldogs, Collingwood and probably Adelaide, to the point that the Saints, with the use of Laidley as well as their regular forward scouts, would have encyclopedic knowledge of their opposition.

Laidley met Lyon in recent days. It's understood the pair will talk again when Laidley returns from a family holiday about Round 18.

Laidley, who leaves for overseas next week, refused to comment yesterday.

Lyon told the Herald Sun: "Categoric, there is no role at the St Kilda Football Club. We caught up for coffee, chewed the fat, shared philosophies on footy . . . it was a quiet, respectful coffee."

Lyon said there was no offer of a job.

Coincidentally, Lyon was an interested observer on Channel 10's One Week At A Time on Monday when Laidley reviewed the coaching strategies of Lyon and Geelong's Mark Thompson from Sunday's clash of the titans.

Also, Matthew Drain, the Saints' general manager of football and list management, was at Essendon through 1999-2001 when then assistant coach Robert Shaw was directed by then coach Kevin Sheedy to ignore Essendon and concentrate on, for the final six weeks of each season, their potential Grand Final rivals.

Shaw said yesterday Laidley would be a welcome addition to any coaching panel.

"He is now a professional consultant analysing opposition set-ups, which is a terrific left-field thought process," Shaw said.

"While the talent of your internal scouting is very good, here is a bloke who will have a perspective from another club, and they've always got great additional value.

"Dean Laidley's team was obviously not as good as St Kilda, so he would look at different ways of beating sides. Remember, he's been out of the game for three minutes and premierships, well, you do whatever it takes.

"St Kilda is a team capable of winning the premiership. They might never have that opportunity again, so whatever it takes."

Shaw's role at Essendon, understood to be a first in full-time analysis of opposition teams, was to analyse opposition stoppages and forward and defensive set-ups.

"In those days, before they caught on to us, we used to do a lot of 'iso' filming of, for example, Craig Bradley, of key players," Shaw said.

"We did centre square and stoppage set-ups by camera. I'd move around the ground. Sometimes I would have access to corporate boxes where I could film."

Mark Robinson providing a 101 in pulling a story out of your arse and running with it.
Make it happen Roscoe. :cool:

Saints deny recruiting Dean Laidley as finals analyst

Mark Robinson | July 09, 2009 12:00am

ST KILDA has dismissed a meeting between coach Ross Lyon and departed North Melbourne coach Dean Laidley as nothing more than a "chat over coffee".

The scuttlebutt had it Lyon was considering an eight-week role for Laidley as opposition analyst.

The job description was to dissect the strategies and structures of Geelong, the Western Bulldogs, Collingwood and probably Adelaide, to the point that the Saints, with the use of Laidley as well as their regular forward scouts, would have encyclopedic knowledge of their opposition.

Laidley met Lyon in recent days. It's understood the pair will talk again when Laidley returns from a family holiday about Round 18.

Laidley, who leaves for overseas next week, refused to comment yesterday.

Lyon told the Herald Sun: "Categoric, there is no role at the St Kilda Football Club. We caught up for coffee, chewed the fat, shared philosophies on footy . . . it was a quiet, respectful coffee."

Lyon said there was no offer of a job.

Coincidentally, Lyon was an interested observer on Channel 10's One Week At A Time on Monday when Laidley reviewed the coaching strategies of Lyon and Geelong's Mark Thompson from Sunday's clash of the titans.

Also, Matthew Drain, the Saints' general manager of football and list management, was at Essendon through 1999-2001 when then assistant coach Robert Shaw was directed by then coach Kevin Sheedy to ignore Essendon and concentrate on, for the final six weeks of each season, their potential Grand Final rivals.

Shaw said yesterday Laidley would be a welcome addition to any coaching panel.

"He is now a professional consultant analysing opposition set-ups, which is a terrific left-field thought process," Shaw said.

"While the talent of your internal scouting is very good, here is a bloke who will have a perspective from another club, and they've always got great additional value.

"Dean Laidley's team was obviously not as good as St Kilda, so he would look at different ways of beating sides. Remember, he's been out of the game for three minutes and premierships, well, you do whatever it takes.

"St Kilda is a team capable of winning the premiership. They might never have that opportunity again, so whatever it takes."

Shaw's role at Essendon, understood to be a first in full-time analysis of opposition teams, was to analyse opposition stoppages and forward and defensive set-ups.

"In those days, before they caught on to us, we used to do a lot of 'iso' filming of, for example, Craig Bradley, of key players," Shaw said.

"We did centre square and stoppage set-ups by camera. I'd move around the ground. Sometimes I would have access to corporate boxes where I could film."

Mark Robinson providing a 101 in pulling a story out of your arse and running with it.
Make it happen Roscoe. :cool:

Seeing as Essendon won one premiership when they should have won three, I'm not sure we should be following their lead. I especially like the image of Shaw scoping out Essendon's 1999 GF opponent.

McLaren reaches 100 games for "Saints"

Koroit playing coach Joe McLaren's football career resembles a mouth-watering sandwich. ("Is that my _ucking sandwich???" - Mark Thompson)

The outer layers comprise two stints with his home club Koroit, 10 years apart, with the filling provided by five seasons with St Kilda, one with North Melbourne and two with South Fremantle.

McLaren, 31, returned home in 2005 to finish his senior career, adding some of the most rewarding layers to his career.

His return season yielded a Maskell Medal; 2007 brought a premiership alongside brothers Chris and Liam and VCFL captaincy; and in 2008 he was appointed Koroit playing coach.

The latest career marker comes tomorrow at Cobden when he plays his 100th game for the Saints, an achievement which carries the added bonus of club life membership.

McLaren said yesterday the amount of time involved in reaching the milestone made it something to savour. "It's taken me nearly 16 years to get there," he said, mindful of his senior debut in round three, 1994, against Camperdown.

It was also a memorable first game for the teenager after teammate Anthony Mahony tapped Camperdown ruckman Robbie Mifsud on the nose. "It scared the life out of me," McLaren recalled. "It was the most incredible thing I've ever seen. I stood out in front of the scoreboard for the rest of the day."

McLaren played for the Geelong Falcons in 1995 before being drafted by St Kilda, where he played 57 games and kicked 33 goals, mostly in the midfield. He was traded to North Melbourne in 2001, playing 12 games before heading west.

Being drafted remains a major career highlights for the Saints' mentor, although it was topped in 2007 when he helped Koroit win its fourth Hampden league premiership.

Mini is due to play his 50th game this week - not bad for a bloke who was delisted after 23 games and redrafted as a rookie.

His 12 goals this year in 14 games exceeds the 7 he kicked in his previous 35 matches. 20 score assists this year is some serious output.

And he's sported one of the best pr0n star moustaches seen in recent times.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Michael Gardiner, a match winner for St Kilda in its six-point victory over Geelong last Sunday, is to be rewarded by the Saints with a one-year contract extension offer.

Gardiner, who played his best game in 22 matches for St Kilda since being recruited at the end of 2006, enjoyed a memorable 30th birthday by booting four goals against the Cats, including the winner after a towering pack mark with less than 90 seconds left on the clock.

But while Gardiner and his usual veteran ruck partner Steven King both appear well placed to be secured for at least another season, Max Hudghton, 32, is to announce that this will be his final year.

Saints coach Ross Lyon said Gardiner was in his best physical condition since arriving at Moorabbin almost three years ago and declared him a required player next season. "In his form we'll certainly say yes to another year," Lyon said. "We're keen to keep him, that's logical and Michael knows that. "His body's in really good nick and, barring a serious injury between now and the end of the year, he will be offered another contract."

Whilst the first line sounds like something the journo made up on the crapper that morning, some good stuff on Gilbo-Plug / Gunbert :

Sam Gilbert, the code breaker

St Kilda fans joke that they would love to rob a bank with Sam Gilbert, throw him the bag of cash and watch him run out the front door as an army of cops fruitlessly tries to cuff him.

Sounds ridiculous, but anyone who has watched Gilbert help the Saints to their 14-0 start to the season would almost deem it plausible. Gilbert is the competition's most-improved player in its most-improved team - a rebounding defender with an exciting arsenal of sidesteps and "don't argues" that has left would-be tacklers floundering.

The dashing Saints half-back has conceded just 13 goals to direct opponents. Despite claiming the second-most groundball gets in the defensive 50m in the competition and an average of 21 disposals a game, he has been caught holding the ball only once. It is the sort of form that has him right in the thick of All-Australian selection in what would be the latest achievement in a remarkable journey to AFL prominence.

Gilbert, 22, grew up in Terranora, just south of the Queensland-New South Wales border in a rugby league-obsessed household. His grandfather and great-grandfather both played for Sydney club St George Illawarra and there was no time in the Gilbert home for what was dubbed "Gay-FL". "I didn't watch any AFL growing up, it was always league," Gilbert said. "Dad knew nothing about Aussie rules and even now he still only knows little bits and pieces. He really only likes watching it when I play."

The modest Gilbert says he was "just a player", but those who know say he was more than handy with a rugby ball in his hands. He played for Bilambil Jets and in his early teens was enrolled in a sports excellence program at Palm Beach-Currumbin High School on the Gold Coast. But his slight build sparked some teasing from mates, who insisted he was pursuing the wrong sport. "Because I was tall and skinny I had a lot of mates who kept cracking jokes that I should be playing (Aussie rules)," Gilbert said. "It was a running joke."

Gilbert was 15 when good mate Mark Lynch approached him at cricket training during the summer to invite him to the Coolangatta-Tweed Blues. "I never thought he would play," Lynch said. "He dominated league when he was younger, but he just rocked up. He had all the rugby league attributes from the start, like all the stepping and tackling you can see now when he plays. But it took him a while to pick up his kicking and he stood out a bit."

Gilbert has a more vivid recollection of his first game. "I got caught running too far about three times," he said. "I kept running with it and not bouncing it and getting pinged."

But just hours into this new sport, Gilbert was picked for a junior representative side and was hooked. "That first game, they had like a round-robin tournament and they picked their under-16s Gold Coast team and I got selected that day. I got lucky, it was my first game," he said. "I could tackle a little bit and I think they just saw that I was tall and thought they'd put me in the program. I ended up liking it a lot more than league and just kept playing it."

Then he told the family. "They gave me a bit of stick. I copped a bit, but they were obviously supportive," Gilbert said. "They were very happy for me and they saw that I liked it more and were pretty keen to come and watch me play." But Gilbert missed out on the Queensland under-16 squad.

And when he was overlooked for the state's under-18 side ahead of the national championships, he figured his AFL prospects were cactus. "I was a little bit disappointed both times, but I went away from that and just moved on," he said. "Once I got dropped from the under-18s, my footy probably improved because I was more relaxed. "I still wanted to play at the highest level, but I was realistic and thought no one is going to draft a player who doesn't make the Queensland state side, so I went back to Southport and enjoyed playing with my mates."

Then came a massive second chance. Gilbert was selected and appointed vice-captain in the Queensland under-21 side to play Western Australia in a curtain-raiser at Carrara Stadium. With at least eight AFL club scouts looking on, Gilbert ran riot from defence. "No one really gave us a chance of winning and we were sitting in the rooms joking that we were going to get smashed and we ended up going out there and knocking them off," Gilbert said.

Lynch remembers it as the best game his mate had played. Gilbert said: "I got a couple of kicks. It was more that people started talking about it. After that game everyone started to say I was a chance to be drafted and then a couple of clubs rang me and then I went to the draft camp. It moved pretty quickly."

In less than two years the rugby league prodigy-turned Aussie rules defender had improved massively. "A lot of it has to do with when I mark well because when I don't mark well I tend not to play well," Gilbert said. "I could do the other things like tackle, chase and spoil, but marking and obviously kicking was something I lacked and they are probably the two main skills you need in Aussie rules. "As they slowly came along, so did my game."

Then-Queensland under-21 coach Jason Cotter remembers a kid desperate to better himself. "He was just information-hungry," Cotter said. "I reckon his rugby league background gave him confidence. "He was always a good tackler, and when he's playing, you still see it today. He loves to step off the left foot and that's because, with league, the defence is coming front-on at you and you need to get around them and he's still got that habit. "We always thought he was a really big hope. In 2005 we told everyone we spoke to: 'If you don't have a look at him, you're mad'."

Gilbert starred in defence in Southport's 2005 AFLQ grand final win against Morningside and then won the AFLQ Rising Star Award. St Kilda had seen enough and took Gilbert with pick No. 33 in the national draft a couple of months later.

So impressed were AFLQ officials with Gilbert's development and the second-chance message he sends to aspiring youngsters, they instigated the Sam Gilbert Medal, presented each year to the best player in the Queensland under-21 side. "All my mates refuse to win it, they say they will not wear it and will not acknowledge it at all," Gilbert said, laughing. "It (the medal) is embarrassing, very embarrassing. It's something I'll always have and that I'm deeply proud of, but I think it's something I'll look back on later in my career."

After playing just two games and being made emergency 12 times in 2006, Gilbert stormed on to the scene in 2007, earned a Rising Star nomination and was crowned the Saints' most promising new player. He overcame a shoulder injury in a solid 2008 season, but has rocketed into the limelight this year with an exhilarating blend of close-checking defending and surging forward runs.

Gilbert has bulked up to 89kg and is deceptively tall at 194cm - taller than skipper and fellow Gold Coaster Nick Riewoldt. His speed and athleticism have shut down Ryan O'Keefe, Brad Johnson, Travis Cloke and Alwyn Davey, making him a versatile weapon for coach Ross Lyon.

It would be easy for Gilbert to issue a few told-you-so's to his junior detractors, but that's not his style. He says he has not exceeded expectations because he didn't have too many to begin with. "Being from the Gold Coast and starting so late, I feel I was lucky," Gilbert said. "Just these little things along the way kept putting me on the path. Even at the Saints things have popped up to help me become a better player.

"Like when I felt the improvement with my kicking had stalled someone helped me. And with my marking I'll see something and try it and it will work for me. "It's a team game. The team has improved as well and that's helped me as an individual. As a young defender I didn't want to roll off too much or sag off my opponent and give them easy kicks. "I think with confidence you develop that and I think the team's pressure and the way the midfielders and the forwards are going about it makes it a bit easier for the defenders."

Gilbert signed a contract extension earlier this year, tying him to Moorabbin until the end of 2011 and keeping him out of reach of the new Gold Coast team.

Gilbert describes himself as a "pretty relaxed bloke" who is keen to learn a trade before his career ends. He starts a plumbing course next week and is busy helping teammate Steven Baker renovate his East Brighton house.

"I also play a little bit of golf, but I wouldn't call it a hobby. You've got to be good at something to call it a hobby," he said. "I'm no good."

Unlike where it counts, where Saints fans are falling more in love with the Sammy Gilbert sidestep every week. "In rugby league that's what you do and I think that's one aspect I've taken with me, but I'll get caught soon," he said.

We won't be betting on it.

I think big Vida handed out one of those lefts to Hinkley in the 1991 final against Geelong on TV the other day (which cost us our last chance of winning the game)!

Former St Kilda ruckman Lazar Vidovic wants to fight Barry Hall

Former St Kilda ruckman Lazar Vidovic - one of the true tough guys of football - wants to fight his old teammate Barry Hall. Although Vidovic is 44, he is keen to get in the ring with Hall.

Vidovic, who is now working in the fruit industry, will speak with Paul Ferreri, a former Australian and Commonwealth bantamweight champion who took the ex-Saint in many boxing sessions during his playing days.

Despite Hall's background as an amateur boxer and wraps on him as potential professional heavyweight champion, Vidovic is not frightened by the prospect of slugging it out with the former Sydney Swans forward. "Ferreri has always been egging me on to do something, so I'll be talking to him this week," Vidovic said. "I was thinking we might be able to do this as a fundraiser for Jimmy Stynes. "Barry has got a mean right hook on him and I've got a mean left, so it could be interesting."

Like Hall, Vidovic was a regular at the AFL Tribunal. He once received a six-match suspension for decking Freo's Brendan Krummel and Matthew Burton. "Beside the footy field, I did a lot of fighting in the back blocks of Broadmeadows when I was growing up," Vidovic said. "I'm up around 122 kilograms, so I'd have to drop about 10kg and would probably need five months to prepare for the fight."

When Eagle flies, soaring Saint misses out

Samantha Lame | July 15, 2009

It should now be known as mark-gate: the moment Michael Gardiner's chance of winning mark of the year was jeopardised by a Facebook campaign. "What? He didn't win mark of the round?" Greg Hobbs, the co-author of 100 Greatest Marks said yesterday upon being informed of the result of the weekly fans vote that led to Darren Glass' round-14 grab being favoured over Gardiner's match-definer against Geelong. "Gardiner's was one of the greatest pressure marks I've ever seen. It's not the greatest mark I've seen — I've seen guys go higher and all that sort of stuff — but as far as pressure goes it couldn't have been topped. It ranks with (Leo) Barry's. One saved the game and one won it."

But speccy-loving footy fans, as they do each week, voted with their fingers. 56 per cent of the round-14 vote went to Glass who, in the final term in a match against Melbourne, sailed high over Russell Robertson. Gardiner, the hero of St Kilda's thrilling victory of Geelong after he soared across a pack with just a minute remaining, won just 32 per cent. Fellow Saint Nick Riewoldt got 12 per cent of the vote for his courageous opening-term grab while running with the flight of the ball.

Clearly still bruised from St Kilda's triumph over his beloved Cats, former Geelong forward Billy Brownless said last night: "I loved Darren Glass' mark. I thought it was fantastic, an outstanding mark. A lot better than Gardiner's mark and resulting goal." After making the statement, Brownless admitted he had not seen the Eagle's grab.

Conversely, Demon Robertson has been trying to forget it. He admitted he does not follow the award on a weekly basis, but said that if he had known his round-14 opponent was up for the accolade he would have logged on and voted for Gardiner. "I just remember going 'what the hell is this?' and then it was an instant thought process of 'I deserve that.' I really think that Gardiner's mark was better," he said, tongue firmly planted in cheek.

Saints coach Ross Lyon was surprised to learn last night that fans had favoured another high flyer over Gardiner. "I thought he'd be a certainty, at least now that I know mark of the round exists," he said, chuckling. "I'm shocked either of them were able to get off the ground and catapult themselves."

Fortunately for Gardiner, Robert Walls gets a weekly nomination for the Alex Jesaulenko Medal that will be awarded after the All-Australian selection committee has the final say after the grand final. If Walls' weekly vote differs from the public's, both nominations remain in contention. After round 14 he voted for Gardiner. "I remember the Darren Glass mark. It was a good mark, but gee it was nothing like Gardiner's. I'm amazed that they voted for that," he said last night.

Further investigation revealed that West Coast's communications co-ordinator Anna Carew-Reid might be the reason behind Glass' triumph. When contacted yesterday she said that on being notified of Glass' nomination she added a link to the voting page on West Coast's Facebook site, which, at last count, had 23,222 fans.

The affair caused AFL chief Andrew Demetriou to espouse the virtues of democracy last night. "I saw the Gardiner mark," he said. "It was an incredible mark at that point of the game, and a great game. But far be it from me to interfere with the democratic process. If you ask the public to choose you have to respect what the public choose."

Well you know something's wrong with a process when Demetriou backs it.

Problem with democracy is a lot of the public are idiots, biased or both.

Lift your game Ross, mark of the round should be on the white board! "Right, Kosi, Rooey, make a pack, Gards that's when you come in from the side and soar we'll get that medal yet boys!"

And I certainly hope Clueless was having a joke at that because that is rather sad and indicative of the problem with public voting in these cases with one eyed supporters. "Well I only saw the one mark but by golly the one I didn't see was fantastic because it wasn't from x club I hate!"

Wont Maverick and Pup be pissed at Joey

We better hope Matt Maguire gets a game then.....

.......does anyone feel the need?

deck1.jpg

2009 Media Thread