have lade as second ruck atm

looking at trading him out

what do you guys reckon

keep him

or get kruze potential +100k

or mcintosh jolly or fraser

thoughts would be welcome

would love to keep lade but feel I have made an error in getting him due to his age and TOG

eyy guys does anyone know if trav tuck is gonna ba bak this week? I know we wont know till teams are out but i got work from 4-10 and need to make a decision now.... anyone have any info on the likely hood of him playing?

If you read the Hawks board it's very much a split opinion on whether or not he'll get up & i think the last post i read sums it up pretty well that he's very much a 50/50 chance. So put him on the field but make sure u have an emergency in place in case he doesn't get up hope that helps

I checked on the Hawks Board and couldnt see anything. Thanks for the help mate:)

Ok think this question needs to asked.. or thread setup somewhere title.. Which Rookie to play on field over other rookies..? Like Captain predictions

As we all have a fairly good crop of Rookies.. Ala Robinsons/Z-Man/Cheney/Beams/Rich/Otten/Dangermouse/ etc... Be good to get some discussion on who poeple think will do better based on what team there going up against and current form..

For Instance.. Im stuck on who to play.. ooh the options.. I got beams/rich/robinson.. Im thinking robinson as carlton are playing dons.. And Brisbane playing the notorious Sydney so Rich might get a tag and numbers be down alot.. and Beams is playing Geelong who if the nab grand final is anything to go by.. all woodies players numbers should be down.. Ideas People..

Also.. Taylor walker, Ziebell, or garlett in FWds

And Broughton, Cheney, Rance, HIll, Suban, Petrenko.. in backs ?

Anyone else going to play Robinson over Rich?
Rich playing Sydney. Carlton going to smash Essendon, so Robinson in with a chance of getting good junk time numbers.

Thoughts?

Would like to generate some discussion on both Brent Harvey and Matthew Pavlich. I was tempted to create a 'Early season under-performing guns' type thread to perhaps discuss trends in the form of usually reliable types who have had worrying starts. However for fear of being r*ped and pillaged I've kept it in here.

Do those who have Harvey think he will lift. He is showing some very worrying signs here. Does he have a niggle? Is he just getting slower with age? I must admit the idea of a sideways trade whilst he still has some value keeps creeping into my head.

And on Pav... surely he will lift. He's too good a player. But the below par score against his whipping boys Essendon was a worry, then followed up with another lowly game this weekend. Has a role change hurt him. There's no doubt he's lost weight - most likely in an attempt to get more speed through the middle. Am I the only one a little concerned?

Keep them.

Just a few Examples of some premiums who have started slow, but stormed home:

Hodge 2007 – averaged just 84 over first 8 rounds then averaged 101.3 till end of season
Fisher 2008 – averaged just 76 until round 7, then averaged 96 till end of season
Fisher 2006 – averaged just 74 over first 3, then averaged 92 till the end of the season
Enright 2008 – averaged just 74 over first 10, then averaged 98 till end of the season
Enright 2007 – averaged just 78 over first 10, then averaged 96 till end of the season
Enright 2006 – averaged just 82 over first 10, then averaged 97 till end of the season
Mackie 2008 – averaged 70 over first 5, then averaged 94 till end of the season
Bowden 2008 – averaged just 75 over first 12, then averaged 117 till end of the season
Bowden 2007 – averaged just 69 over first 4, then averaged 101 till end of the season
Bowden 2006 – averaged just 78 over first 6, then averaged 102 till end of the season
Ablett 2007 – averaged 82 until round 5, then averaged 103 till end of the season
Hayes 2007 – averaged 85 over first 3, then 95 from then on
Hayes 2006 - averaged 79 over first 5, then 99 from then on
Stanton 2008 – averaged 79 over the first 9, then stormed home by averaging 103 for rest of season
Power 2007 – averaged just 69 over first 4, then averaged 98 over remainder of season
Bruce 2008 – averaged just 73 over first five, and then 101 over remainder of season
JBrown 2008 - averaged just 65 over first 6, then 97 for rest of year
JBrown 2007 – averaged just 79 over first 12 (Was priced at 110 ave too), then averaged 111 to finish

In conclusion, hold on to your premiums. Yeah they might drop a chunk of cash and people might pick them up cheaper, but you picked them as keepers, so keep them – they will produce if you have patience.

Yeh I agree with you, and will keep Pav for sure.
Boomer however worries me. At least the guys you mentioned were averaging 70! :D

Will have to look into it more over the week.

Remember to, it is onyl round 3. Some of these premiums averaged less than 80 over first half of season, but still ended up producing the goods.
It must just be a case of Monday-itis. I'm sure during the week I'll come to my senses and realise what a stupid thing it would be to drop him... I hope:eek:

Boomer however worries me. At least the guys you mentioned were averaging 70! :D

I have him also, just look at him being your 6th-7th forward later on. You would think he could average 85-95, if not we are all up shit creek. Has a habit of putting in the occasional stinker or 3, hopefully he has had them in the first 3 rds and its all up from here.

Before the start of season someone posted some pretty interesting stats on Boomer. It said in his last 2 seasons (I think) his first 6 games, because of the certain opponents who he doesn't fare as well against, he scores a lot worse than his average would suggest.
I can't be bothered finding it, but it was definitely what turned me off buying Boomer until at least 6 weeks in. I know it probably doesn't help you now, but it might reassure you to keep him by seeing it isn't totally unusual for him to score like this.
I'd look into it a bit before I got to worried.

I'm interested to hear some feedback on Pav though. I would never consider trading him because you can't keep a champion down, but I don't have Foxtel so I haven't seen much of him this year and haven't had the luxury of seeing how he is actually playing.
What are peoples thoughts on him and why his scoring down so much?

Upgrading Rookies dosnt usually come into play untill at least round 10, once all rookies have peaked

Some people look at suring underpeforming guns during this time, but others (like myself) just sit back and watch the money creep up

I hope to dump 1 or 2 before rd 10, the likes of Rich/Ottens/Beams are the most likely to peak highest so they will be last to go. What do you do with the likes of Brown tho, much lower peak, maybe 200-225k is his limit, could even be one of those you just keep for the majority of year as a backup, we are going to need plenty of them later on.

Lots of variables to consider:

Have they peaked?
Is there a suitable downgrade coming along?
Is there a premium there ready?

Just hope my boys hold up for the next 3 weeks. But I can see myself nipping at Pavs heals already... :D

It must just be a case of Monday-itis. I'm sure during the week I'll come to my senses and realise what a stupid thing it would be to drop him... I hope:eek:

This is what supercoach is for! You can just log on and trade away, getting rid of the craving for that "trade" button!

Trading him to Havery and gaining cash looks good ey? ;):p

Trading him to riewoldt and gaining cash is looking even better ;)

Does anyone know anything at all about Tom Swifts situation? I'm considering moving him for Zaha or Beams but I obviously don't want to do it without knwoing every angle.

(Sorry if it's already somewhere on the board, I'm at work and can't spent time trawling through posts as Big Footy is a big no no.)

2009 Player Discussion - Part 2