2009 Player Discussion - Part 2

Does anyone know anything at all about Tom Swifts situation? I'm considering moving him for Zaha or Beams but I obviously don't want to do it without knwoing every angle.

(Sorry if it's already somewhere on the board, I'm at work and can't spent time trawling through posts as Big Footy is a big no no.)

From what I have heard was pretty good the first couple of rounds in WAFL, but looked sore(knee I believe) and was pretty dissapointing this week.

If Eagles get blown out again and the midfield is pathetic, has to be a shot.

I have Swift and thought about trading him out for Beams or Zaharakis and if I am going to make that trade it needs to be this week. However, with the Eagles getting thumped by 97pts, theres likely to be several players swapped in this week and Swift would be right up there if we were to drop someone like Fletcher. His name is bound to be thrown up by the media as a possibility so I will wait to see how Worsfold responds.

It would be nice to see Swift atleast named as an emergency, that would give us some indication as to what frame of mind Woosha is in.

Swifty played an outstanding game 2 weeks ago in the WAFL, and was solid again this week

His fitness is the only worry (not suprising, he hasnt played footy in 2 years)

A chance for selection in the coming weeks

Reckon Butler might be a sniff after a good showing in the WAFL?

I would expect Butler to be the first player in this week
29 odd touches in the WAFL off the backline (a great DT game :D)

I would expect Butler, Kennedy, Wirrpanda all to come in
Who would be dropped for Kennedy? What effect will Kennedy's inclusion have on Mitch Brown? (Yes, i know that they play different positions)

Before the start of season someone posted some pretty interesting stats on Boomer. It said in his last 2 seasons (I think) his first 6 games, because of the certain opponents who he doesn't fare as well against, he scores a lot worse than his average would suggest.

I've seen a few fair people post about how Harves is quite renowned for his slow starts, although just checking out the scores he produced in the first 4 or so rounds never once did he score as low as what he has so far this season. Check out his scores in the first 6 rounds from the past 3 seasons.

2008: 82, 92, 97, | 106, 117, 85. (6 game ave = 96.5/Season ave = 94.6)
2007: 98, 111, 94, | 84, 70, 52. (6 game ave = 84.8/Season ave = 95.9)
2006: 93, 47, 107, | 94, 80, 105. (6 game ave = 87.6/Season ave = 92.6)

Which begs the question; why is it suggested that his current scores are simply a correlation to his first few performances of seasons gone. Sure his first 6 game averages over those years are only 10 or so points less than what his end of year average ends up being, however if you compare the first 3 games of those years to those of this year, there is a telling sign...

2009: 72, 59, 69. (3 game ave = 66.6)

2008: 82, 92, 97. (3 game ave = 90.3)
2007: 98, 111, 94. (3 game ave = 101)
2006: 93, 47, 107. (3 game ave = 82.33)

Note how, unlike in the past 3 years, he has not been able to score 90+ in at least 2 out of the 3 games he's played so far - which is a particularly worrying factor.

The only thing that is keeping him in my team at the moment is the fact i have already used 3 trades, although i'm edging closer and closer towards trading him for someone like Riewoldt or SJ.

Thoughts? :confused:

2008 - originally priced at 96, averaged 90 over first 9
2007 - originally priced at 93, averaged 84 over first 10

So does tend to start a little slow over these years, not alot to be worried about though.

I've seen a few fair people post about how Harves is quite renowned for his slow starts, although just checking out the scores he produced in the first 4 or so rounds never once did he score as low as what he has so far this season. Check out his scores in the first 6 rounds from the past 3 seasons.

2008: 82, 92, 97, | 106, 117, 85. (6 game ave = 96.5/Season ave = 94.6)
2007: 98, 111, 94, | 84, 70, 52. (6 game ave = 84.8/Season ave = 95.9)
2006: 93, 47, 107, | 94, 80, 105. (6 game ave = 87.6/Season ave = 92.6)

Which begs the question; why is it suggested that his current scores are simply a correlation to his first few performances of seasons gone. Sure his first 6 game averages over those years are only 10 or so points less than what his end of year average ends up being, however if you compare the first 3 games of those years to those of this year, there is a telling sign...

2009: 72, 59, 69. (3 game ave = 66.6)

2008: 82, 92, 97. (3 game ave = 90.3)
2007: 98, 111, 94. (3 game ave = 101)
2006: 93, 47, 107. (3 game ave = 82.33)

Note how, unlike in the past 3 years, he has not been able to score 90+ in at least 2 out of the 3 games he's played so far - which is a particularly worrying factor.

The only thing that is keeping him in my team at the moment is the fact i have already used 3 trades, although i'm edging closer and closer towards trading him for someone like Riewoldt or SJ.

Thoughts? :confused:

You are a better DT'er than that :):thumbsu:

Thanks for your show of support and confidence in me Beanie, it has helped me to reassess my options and decide to keep Harvey for a little longer. :thumbsu::)

I guess, it's just i'm somewhat nervous that my team had such an off round (1,881) in one that a majority of people posted massive scores. So, as a result, i'm looking to fix the aspects of my side that i see as weaknesses, such as Harvey. Although looking at it now i'm not certain as to whether they're as drastic as what this weeks score indicates, after scoring 2,066 and 1,959 previously. I suppose a 20 from the injured Ellis, bad captain choice, bad rookie selection and Kreuzer, Tuck scoring low were also among the contributing factors. I can only hope i bounce back into form.

You had the exact same problems as me. Scored 1892, has Ellis, Kruezer, Waite and a few rooks playing.

Im not going to start trading my under-performing premiums though. Stick to your trading plan - these form slumps happen, and you would think that he would pick it up over the season.

Thanks for your show of support and confidence in me Beanie, it has helped me to reassess my options and decide to keep Harvey for a little longer. :thumbsu::)
I think I'm going to do the same.
I guess we really just have to back him in. He's been so reliable in the past, surely you can't keep him down. However, if he can't lift this week against the Dons (especially after the Roos poor game last week) then I will be very worried...
Let's hope it's simply poor form and that the (albeit unfounded) very quiet whispers of a possible foot problem are not true.

Any thoughts on Cooney? Is he worth picking up now (or at all)? Do you guys have him in mind for your ideal lineup?

Wait on cooney. He could easily drop another 70k. He would be mighty tempting at around 300-310k, which he could well fall too.

He would only be in the top 20 of the mids though. Ive youve got 3 of ABCS then you would be alright with bringing him as a 5th-6th mid IMO.

Cooney should bottom out somewhere between rounds seven and ten, depending on how we ease him in from next round onwards.

Like Lakey said, unless you've already got the Abletts and Bartels I wouldn't even consider Cooney.

ajs is sitting in the top 70 and got the 5th highest score for round 5..
He has a solid team

I don't think that Lakey was suggesting he had a bad team, more impressed that he managed to fit 3 top end premiums into his side.

Whilst yes that is an impressive rank, what a lot forget is that this is only round 3, heading into round 4. Dreamteam is a marathon rather than a sprint.

Yeh, not saying he doesnt. I was just more surprised.

If everything goes to plan for him, he could post some monster scores in the final rounds.
Thats cool, hes just a mate so was just pointing out that even tho he is top heavy in the mid hes still doing pretty well..
Have him in the 2nd round of league matches will be fun times

I have Swift and thought about trading him out for Beams or Zaharakis and if I am going to make that trade it needs to be this week. However, with the Eagles getting thumped by 97pts, theres likely to be several players swapped in this week and Swift would be right up there if we were to drop someone like Fletcher. His name is bound to be thrown up by the media as a possibility so I will wait to see how Worsfold responds.

It would be nice to see Swift atleast named as an emergency, that would give us some indication as to what frame of mind Woosha is in.

Same with me, I'm 98% I'm letting him go for Beams this week. Just too far away and not a good enough fitness base to be anywhere near as damaging as Beams/Zaha if and when he does make the team.

2009 Player Discussion - Part 2