Certified Legendary Thread 2012 Grand Final: Sydney v Hawthorn

• Thread starter Thread starter Ed_Gein

Though Reid was quiet, to say he had a bad match would be overdoing it. Similar to Hannebery he was immense in the last.

Hodge is the umps love child, gives away so many frees yet doesn't get penalised.

From our good friends at Norf:

Sydney seriously play the most boring gamestyle in AFL history. I'd ****ing hate to have to watch their garbage for 22 games a year, their supporters must hate life

Have to concede rewatching the 2005 side they could at times play some boring footy, i just want to win so i dont mind, but they were very much about shutting sides down.

I actually think longmire has the side playing with dare and pace, we cut the hawks to shred

tell the north flogs to get a clue, they love that down hill skier harvey think he will play til he is 40, only useful against the minnows.

Why go on such a shit board, anyhow they have nothing to do with this thread

Have to concede rewatching the 2005 side they could at times play some boring footy, i just want to win so i dont mind, but they were very much about shutting sides down.

I actually think longmire has the side playing with dare and pace, we cut the hawks to shred

I agree, watching the replay I can't believe how much we attacked down the middle in that second quarter.

Gerard Whateley (one of the footy journos who really knows his stuff) did acknowledge this after the game from memory, that we don't just shut sides down any more, but can be brilliant with the ball as well.

Both grand finals were intense and compelling viewing but 2005 was a dour struggle by comparison, though that had a lot to do with the fact that the Eagles' forward 50 entries were so woeful and they didn't have a key forward who stood up on the day!

I agree, watching the replay I can't believe how much we attacked down the middle in that second quarter.

Before the match i was saying we could make a right game of it if we exposed the Hawks through the middle. When i was watching the Hawks v Crows the week before, the Crows smashed them through the middle many times and got a lot of goals because of it. Only reason they lost was because of the umps.

It really is a fatal flaw in the Hawks gameplan. If you allow so much easy ball through the middle and let your opponents have shots on goal from straight in front, a good team will make you pay more often than not. It opens up the goals and you can spread your attack etc.... I reckon Clarkson would be mad not to review that part of his gameplan in the offseason.

i watched the last quater replay the other day for the first time.. went overseas granny night for a month. was suprised at how much hawthorn dominated play in the last quater, until hanners goaled against the flow. cant wait to get the dvd and check out the different commentaries. best game of footy ive ever seen.

Half way through sen commentary. Surprised dermott found time to call the game in between waving his hawks flag and scarf, so far its the most one eyed commentary i have ever heard, may as well get a member of the hawks cheer squad in

Haha no it was funny I actually giggled at that one,It just read like, no big deal guys but I beat WC by myself.

if i played on michael gardner then maybe

Really enjoyed the Mitch Morton post season interview on the 'Premiers' website...very level headed and thoughtful. No dickhead!

Not going to post link

I don't know if it's available anywhere, but, at the Motor Show, Volkswagen (who are apparently a sponsor of the Swans, and Naming Rights Sponsor of Lewis Jetta), had a very good five minute summary of the game, with most of our goals, and some of the better goals for the Hawks. As someone who didn't see the game live, it's probably the best montage that I've seen of it.

UPDATE: Heard a rumour that Volkswagen were relinquishing Jetta's naming rights to QBE, who will now name him Lewis Low-Insurance-Premium. He also overtakes LRT as the Most Hyphenated Lewis at the Sydney Swans.