NRL 2012 Melbourne Storm Thread

This was the winner of the first Billy Slater Challenge.

An2y3HZCAAAahxJ.jpg

I just wonder if O'Neil will lose his spot sooner rather then later to Chambers. I can't imagine Chambers was recruited to not play and only can imagine that they are waiting for him to find his feet again.

Been really disappointed at our first two games. Canberra should have beaten us. I feel we are still playing a gameplan from 2010. A lot of attempts to be special rather then be clinical.

If we continue to play the flashy game then we will get some hidings this year from the more clinical teams.

Billy Slater needs to stop doing stupid passes. Hold the ball take the tackle.

Smith and Cronk brilliant as always. Ryles will be a great addition once fully fit and Hoffman hasn't been to bad at all. Will take a couple of games to get right back into it. Would almost definitely play SOO.

Have only seen the highlights package, but an absolute stunner of a try from Slater in the second half! Would definitely be up there for try of the year (and perhaps the decade!).

Looks as though they are still struggling to play a full game though, most of the action was in the second half with a lot of errors in the first.

Slater with an absolute gem.

Performance wise we were quite poor. Still not playing 80 mins.
First half was woeful. Useless.

2nd half of the 2nd half we lifted and just ****ed them out of the game,

I don't know how O'Neil gets a game still.

3 wins out of 3 games and Storm supporters are whinging.

We have plenty of depth this year and I have faith in Craig to bring in players like Chambers, etc. from the NSW cup when changes need to be made.

I must say Hoffy is a bit of a worry though.

We have plenty of depth this year and I have faith in Craig to bring in players like Chambers, etc. from the NSW cup when changes need to be made.

I must say Hoffy is a bit of a worry though.

Our captain came out and said that we are still not playing 80 mins.

Hoffy just needs game time. Will come good.

Our captain came out and said that we are still not playing 80 mins.

Hoffy just needs game time. Will come good.

Yes, but you have to be happy with scoring 30 points in an away game, in a tropical storm. The ball handling was fantastic in the circumstances, and there were some ripper tries.

The forwards will only improve - Ryles has been getting better every game.

Not whinging. 3 out 3 is good but we've only played the Bunnies, Raiders and Titans, none of which are powerhouses at the moment.

The team are playing well, but will need to lift their game considerably to beat the likes of the Broncos, Warriors and Bulldogs.

Next two games are against the Roosters and Knights, both very winnable. The first real test will be in round 6 when they play the Cowboys up in Townsville.

Yes, but you have to be happy with scoring 30 points in an away game, in a tropical storm. The ball handling was fantastic in the circumstances, and there were some ripper tries.

The forwards will only improve - Ryles has been getting better every game.

Yeah I'm happy for the wins but not all teams will allow us to have fantastic moments. To beat Manly, Bulldogs and the other 2 or 3 top clubs we will need to not switch off.

Not worried at all. The big 3 haven't had much of a pre-season, so their best footy is definitely ahead of them. Widdop, Bromwich, Ryles and Hoffman all have another gear to click into. Lowrie, Quinn and Duffie have exceeded expectations.

Then we are still yet to see Chambers, Waqa, Lowe, Greenfield, Garbutt, Harris, Fonua, K-Bro and Kelly! Things look very rosey. It will be interesting to see how our best 17 looks come finals time compared to now, I'm expecting a few young guys to stake a claim around Origin time.

I can't see how Kelly will stay around.
His future rests entirely on Cronk's. Who knows, maybe he gets a crack come Origin time and overtakes Widdop? He has certainly done a long apprenticeship, he should be cherry ripe.

Quite a few players out of contract this year - Cronk, Manu, Neilson and a lot of clubs circling already.

Storm are holding talks with Cronk, but with the other players nothing has been put on the table as far as I know.

What's the hold up?

I'd hate to see Manu go as he's our best forward and the Tigers want him.

Quite a few players out of contract this year - Cronk, Manu, Neilson and a lot of clubs circling already.

Storm are holding talks with Cronk, but with the other players nothing has been put on the table as far as I know.

What's the hold up?

I'd hate to see Manu go as he's our best forward and the Tigers want him.
Manu seems to be off contract every year. Has he been signing a heap of 1 year deals, or is it just me?

I'd want him and Cronk signed up, everyone else is replaceable.

Can someone update me on what the current feelings are regarding the contract situations for our players, especially Cronk? I will be absolutely gutted if we lose him.

Also, if the whole team were healthy and ready to go, what do you see as our best lineup?

Can someone update me on what the current feelings are regarding the contract situations for our players, especially Cronk? I will be absolutely gutted if we lose him.

Also, if the whole team were healthy and ready to go, what do you see as our best lineup?

I was watching NRL on Fox Weds. night with Cam Smith a guest panellist and even he hasn't got a clue re Cronk's future. He did say that Coop's a very private person and hasn't discussed or indicated where he'd be playing next year.

I hope Cam Smith and Bellyache get in his ear very soon so he can put pen to paper with a Storm contract.

With Manu I have less confidence in him staying at the Storm (his girlfriend and some family are from Sydney) and unless Storm come up with a big offer I think he could leave:o

With regard to our best line up being healthy and fit, not sure whether you mean for next year if say Cronk and Manu leave?

I was referring to our best lineup for this season, including Cronk and the other upcoming out-of-contract guys.

Given the choice between keeping Cronk or Manu, I reckon the club would prefer to hold on to Cronk. Cronk is at his best when he's playing with Slater and Smith anyway, which might make him less attractive to other teams.

Rumours swirling around here is that Cronk has signed a 3 year deal with the Titans.

If not they have the Titans as front runners. Why would anyone sign with them when they may not even exist come next season.

Not the end of the world if Cronk goes. Life goes on.
We need depth. We don't have it.
If it means that another ofmthe Big 4 goes, then so be it. Frees up cap space.
If he is being offer $2.4 mill over 3 years, he would be mad not to take it. Good luck to him.

We are now linked to Kieren Foran from Manly. Apparently we have entered the race.

Doesn't look good for Cronk staying. If he is going I would expect an announcement next week.

Anyone know Inglis's contract length? I thought it was only 2 years but there is no mention of him being available end of year. I know the original plan was for him to go away for two years and attempt to re-sign him.

Confused now.