2012 Potential Draftee and Trade Watch

Dec 10, 2003
Newtown
Its about time to start a 2012 thread of potential players that we may be looking at , come the end of season 2012.

Lets start the ball rolling with this kid.

Troy Menzel

Brother of Daniel , a gifted player who the club has already had a look at over a pre-season. An article in todays Age is interesting. I knew he had a knee but I didn't know it was a Lars. Very unusual for such a young player

Anyway , the way Daniel adapted to AFL , Id certainly think he would be a good addition to the club. Where will he go in the draft. Smart Phantom drafts on the Draft Board like Knightmare and Chris25 rate him , perhaps as a top 20 player. Did very well on the recent trip to London against the European Side. Probably not the greatest recommendation but still it shows capability. One to watch come the Champs

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/lars-gives-legup-to-youngster-on-rise-20120428-1xrva.html

Another article or two

http://news-review-messenger.whereilive.com.au/news/story/troy-menzel-creates-bulldogs-history/

http://www.australiantimes.co.uk/sport/afl/aussie-rookies-too-good-for-the-european-legion.htm

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/toumpass-surreal-few-weeks/story-e6freo2u-1226164342442

Jimmy Toumpas is another highly rated player from over the border. Already playing senior footy.

[youtube]_2IxC_SIGNI[/youtube]

Already highly rated by a few I'll assume but wonder whether his light frame might see him slide a little considering the way the game is played these days and see what is happening to slender built players (think Sam Blease).

Playing against men will help him though.

From what I've read Toumpas is an outstanding talent. Assuming our first pick isn't in the first 15, you'd assume he'd be gone by the time our first pick comes.

Maybe Kennedy might still be there though? Another fantastic talent whose placing might be affected by his height.

Not sure I want another midget midfielder. That said think a midfielder needs to be the priority this year - maybe not 'inside' as such but with a well rounded game. Someone who could potentially challenge from Round 1 next year.

No worries Jes , we will take Whitfield when he fall's thru to us.:D

What about Mayes? I remember him at last years champs impressing me.

No worries Jes , we will take Whitfield when he fall's thru to us.:D

What about Mayes? I remember him at last years champs impressing me.
Hopefully Stringer continues to hobble around and plummets ;)

Yeah I liked Mayes but I seem to remember him being more of a lead-up forward (dare I say it but Ryan Gamble-esque)? I'll have to check my notes. Reading through some of the stuff on D&T someone like Vlastuin could be handy - sounds like there's some debate on where he'll end up, could be in our range.

Tend to agree Jes (although I consider Kennedy more of a small forward than a mid but definitely agree with your ideas). Unless someone slides to our first pick that is so good that you just have to pick them then you'd think we'd be looking for good ball winning mids (along with another key defender later on of course).

I do agree someone ready round 1 would help (given Chapman and Corey's age, the lack of inside mids in the 2's bar Hogan etc) although I'm not sure there's many of that in this draft, admittedly it's too early in the year to call that because we haven't had champs and camp yet, but while it looks like a really really good midfield draft, not convinced that many of them will be ready straight away.

Along those lines though I do have a name for you, albeit it's a trade thought (no not Danger or Boak as I think they'll be too hard to attain) that I think you'll like, although this might not be the right thread for it.

Hopefully Stringer continues to hobble around and plummets ;)

Yeah I liked Mayes but I seem to remember him being more of a lead-up forward (dare I say it but Ryan Gamble-esque)? I'll have to check my notes. Reading through some of the stuff on D&T someone like Vlastuin could be handy - sounds like there's some debate on where he'll end up, could be in our range.

My memory of him is mid/forward type , I suppose just like Menzel,Duncan,HS probably all fit into so he may not be what we want but I really remember him doing it in a manor I like. Sort of thought he he could become a Kelly type.

But it can be deceiving at junior level. Menzel played back and really I missed him. High 180's and skilled with footy smart. Look forward to seeing him this year.

~~~

PO as its Potential Draft and Trade don't see a problem dropping the name here. It effects the draft of we trade of picks. Are you thinking a highly out of form early draft pick from a bottom club? The way things are going at Melb , I just wonder whether they will do a clean out with a big broom.

Along those lines though I do have a name for you, albeit it's a trade thought (no not Danger or Boak as I think they'll be too hard to attain) that I think you'll like, although this might not be the right thread for it.

Wow PO, that's a tease, especially when I can't find a follow up in any other thread!

Do tell?

Wow PO, that's a tease, especially when I can't find a follow up in any other thread!

Do tell?

It's not really a tease, because it's just a player who I would like us to target who has ability and would fit our needs well, rather than anyone I actually have any mail that we would be likely to go after.

Ok....thought for a moment you might've heard a bit of gossip.

Personally, I'm really curious to see how our player development and drafting pans out over the next year or two......bringing ability and experience into the side at the same pace with which it is lost is going to be especially difficult for us. We're seeing it already this year, and there are some notable departures looming on the horizon yet again.

We've got the ability on the list, notwithstanding the fact that we could still fill a couple of more areas on the list (inside midfielders and a key defender) but I've been very pleased with the 09 and 10 crop so far and Poodle and Motlop are starting to make 08 look good as well.

As you rightly point out, with the retirements, it's just a matter of trying to stagger the transition so it's gradual and the kids are given time to find their feet.

It's funny but after the 2010 draft a few were surprised we took only mid sized players and here we all are now (quite rightly in my mind) wanting to take (largely) another batch of mids. I don't know about the rest of you but I see the likes of Smedts, Duncan and Menzel as being more flanker types or outside running types rather than players that are likely to develop into genuine inside midfielders. I'm hoping that Schroder and Horlin-Smith may have a better inside game but I still think it's an area that needs attention with Ling gone and Corey and Chappy to soon follow.

Aside from Selwood and Christensen (and as I say possibly Schroder and H-S) do we have any other youngsters that can win a hard ball? That's why Dangerfield would be perfect but alas probably unattainable. I'm not convinced that Boak would be a great pickup. All depends on price I suppose..

Aside from an inside mid surely a ruckman must be pretty high on our agenda this year. How much faith the club has in Simpson, West and Vardy will be shown at draft time. Will they look at a Grundy or McBean if one falls to our first pick at the expense of their next highly rated mid?

No I do agree. A guy like Duncan, who was an outstanding pick by the way, is never going to become an inside mid, yes he will improve in that area and become part of the rotation but he'll never be primarily a ball winner because he's so damaging on the outside and around goals which means he's best used in a different role. Same with Menz etc.

Wells has drafted extremely well and quite rightly given the age of our defence got a few young mid size defenders (Smedts Guthrie etc) but it's now time to turn our attention to the midfield.

Schroder can definitely become an inside mid once he builds his endurance, and hyphen will develop inside, but we don't have a lot of options outside of that (Hogan yes but he's not young and no cert to make it). So I would imagine our first couple of picks will focus on that type of player.

On the rucks, I disagree a bit. We have three good young rucks and a gap filler (Orren). Unless by the end of the year Vardy's career looks in doubt we don't need to take another. In any case there's not much depth in the rucks this year, beyond Grundy who will definitely be top 10, and McBean I doubt we will get a look at either unless we miss the 8, I can't see a lot of ruck depth, I wouldn't take one before the rookie at best (you often get value with rucks as rookies anyway). I'd be much more focused on the key defence where we only have 1 young KPD (Gillies) as a pose to the ruck where we have three good young prospects.

It's funny but after the 2010 draft a few were surprised we took only mid sized players and here we all are now (quite rightly in my mind) wanting to take (largely) another batch of mids. I don't know about the rest of you but I see the likes of Smedts, Duncan and Menzel as being more flanker types or outside running types rather than players that are likely to develop into genuine inside midfielders. I'm hoping that Schroder and Horlin-Smith may have a better inside game but I still think it's an area that needs attention with Ling gone and Corey and Chappy to soon follow.

Aside from Selwood and Christensen (and as I say possibly Schroder and H-S) do we have any other youngsters that can win a hard ball? That's why Dangerfield would be perfect but alas probably unattainable. I'm not convinced that Boak would be a great pickup. All depends on price I suppose..
My thoughts exactly yotc. I reckon Duncan is already developing an inside game and Smedts has the potential, but there are no standouts amongst the prospect pool. McCarthy is another one who has the tools but is someway off yet.

Looking back, would love to pick up someone like Luke Parker who had an impact in his first year and already looks an entrenched part of the Swans 22 in his second season. That said for whatever reason guys like Parker and Bastinac tend to slide somewhat - guess recruiters like upside (a dirty, dirty word) more than runs on the board.

Aside from an inside mid surely a ruckman must be pretty high on our agenda this year. How much faith the club has in Simpson, West and Vardy will be shown at draft time. Will they look at a Grundy or McBean if one falls to our first pick at the expense of their next highly rated mid?
You'd think they'd have to pick one - three rucks isn't enough going forward (Orren obviously being a short-term acquisition). Question is where in the order?

My thoughts exactly yotc. I reckon Duncan is already developing an inside game and Smedts has the potential, but there are no standouts amongst the prospect pool. McCarthy is another one who has the tools but is someway off yet.

Looking back, would love to pick up someone like Luke Parker who had an impact in his first year and already looks an entrenched part of the Swans 22 in his second season. That said for whatever reason guys like Parker and Bastinac tend to slide somewhat - guess recruiters like upside (a dirty, dirty word) more than runs on the board.

Hopefully Schroder will continue to develop an inside game - it took Chapman from memory about 4 seasons before he established himself. I see Jordan as requiring a similar period to become an AFL player if he is to make it at all. He is certainly a tank. Watching him on Sunday down at Sandringham he shows signs but isn't getting anywhere near enough of the footy at the moment at VFL level to be considered for the seniors. He clearly needs to improve his tank.

Horlin-Smith looks a great prospect to me as well but looks to be one that again will have to develop a true inside game rather than it being a strong part of his natural game. To me, with a couple more pre-seasons lifting weights, he could become a Joel Corey type but with better footskills. He's terrific overhead and makes good decisions in close. He's not blessed with pace so really needs to be able to win his own ball if he's to make it in the modern game.

The U18 Champs invariably throw up a few new names that have yet to be talked about at this stage. Last year it was Greene who shot to prominence from no-where. Hopefully we can find a quality inside kid - one that has a quick first 5m would be handy too!

You'd think they'd have to pick one - three rucks isn't enough going forward (Orren obviously being a short-term acquisition). Question is where in the order?

I do agree, if we could get a mid who can make an impact right out of the box, that would be great.

Re rucks, we may need to take one but this looks like a thin year for rucks to me like last year was (that said the talls usually come from further back than the mids but at this stage I can't see many obvious prospects beyond Grundy and McBean). You would thus think it's unlikely we'd hit a ruck early, I reckon it might wait til the rookie draft.

Although I should point out that my thoughts there are based on an underlying assumption that we will probably promote Stringer and Walker which means we are likely to only have 3-4 picks max. If we had more picks, I'd be willing to take another ruck, but with limited picks you'd think we'd want to come away with a couple of genuine mids and a key defender.

That's a serious ? behind Simpson's name in the contracted players thread, what if he is up 2012,I can't see him getting to many games this year he's starting from a long way back with no preseason,so the question is does he get another contract on potential?

AKONER said he worked with a family friend of Simpson's and was told he re-signed for 2012 and 2013.

In any case, even if he was OOC, he will definitely be here next year given the issues Vardy is having. Without a doubt.

Have watched McBean most of his junior career. Big wraps too. Doubt he will be around our pick.

AND considering he is from the Cannons, GWS will be all over him.

AKONER said he worked with a family friend of Simpson's and was told he re-signed for 2012 and 2013.

In any case, even if he was OOC, he will definitely be here next year given the issues Vardy is having. Without a doubt.

Signed for 2 years last season according to his family friend.

2012 Potential Draftee and Trade Watch