2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Coomera reserves played well to beat UQ today. A very well drilled team (bar a couple of free kicks which resulted in goals), they broke well out of defence and always seemed to get a goal from the centre bounce after UQ kicked one. Let UQ back in to get it within a kick twice (in the 3rd and 4th quarters), although this was probably because of UQ upping their intensity for 5-10 minute periods and banging on some quick ones.
In the seniors Coomera always seemed to be in control and probably could have won by more but for some errant goal kicking. Pretty good field kicking and overall better ball use was the biggest difference. UQ battled hard though and are continuing to improve after a few years of seldom being competitive in Div 3 (the old Div 2) seniors.
Both games played in good spirits, and full credit to Coomera for bringing a massive traveling army of supporters! Sorry the power was out and the rooms were without lights...

I don't think CabooltureVBuffaloes willbe much of a contest. Buffaloes have not beaten a top 3 team all year.
Logan V Tigers will be a good hard game.

At least Morro's terrible tipping stats will be intact after the weekend!
But I would have thought you blokes would have injuries to key players??
Cant wait to play you blokes whether you are at full strength or not we are confident.

Hi guys.

Coomera reserves played well to beat UQ today. A very well drilled team (bar a couple of free kicks which resulted in goals), they broke well out of defence and always seemed to get a goal from the centre bounce after UQ kicked one. Let UQ back in to get it within a kick twice (in the 3rd and 4th quarters), although this was probably because of UQ upping their intensity for 5-10 minute periods and banging on some quick ones.
In the seniors Coomera always seemed to be in control and probably could have won by more but for some errant goal kicking. Pretty good field kicking and overall better ball use was the biggest difference. UQ battled hard though and are continuing to improve after a few years of seldom being competitive in Div 3 (the old Div 2) seniors.
Both games played in good spirits, and full credit to Coomera for bringing a massive traveling army of supporters! Sorry the power was out and the rooms were without lights...

Agree 100%. Both games were played in the right spirit with great football played by both teams. UQ blokes have a great club spirit and they played some very good football at times. Our boys played well with a few lapses.

Although the power was out the UQ Staff put on a great day. These things happen at local footy and can't always be predicted but the important thing is how you respond. The club ran a good day with the limited facilities available.

Prob need a working bee for that wonky clubhouse end goal post though ha ha

Looks like Ipswich 2's are set on stacking their way through....

Good luck to any of the legitimate sides who plays them.

Ha ha I see what you did there Morro! Must be a good feeling at the buffs this week!

We have never lost faith mate, well at Least I know I Didn't.

Only the second time all year we have had enough numbers available in the ones and guys have missed out.

We have never lost faith mate, well at Least I know I Didn't.

Only the second time all year we have had enough numbers available in the ones and guys have missed out.

Amazing the difference a full list can make to both divisions. Should be a competitive run home by all!

Is it really going to be worth me going to Nambour today? They are a real chance to kick a world record score if the rain stays away. It is a pity that Beenleigh v Caboolture and Logan v Redcliffe are both "away". They are both going to be good games. Oh well it is not often you get to watch a world record.

Caboolture by 4 goals,
Nambour by the world record mentioner earlier,
Calamvale to beat Ipswich reserves in the ones,
Coomera by a couple, and
Logan to upset Redcliffe by 2 goals

Not quite a world record but reasonably convincing...:eek:

Is it really going to be worth me going to Nambour today? They are a real chance to kick a world record score if the rain stays away. It is a pity that Beenleigh v Caboolture and Logan v Redcliffe are both "away". They are both going to be good games. Oh well it is not often you get to watch a world record.

Caboolture by 4 goals,
Nambour by the world record mentioner earlier,
Calamvale to beat Ipswich reserves in the ones,
Coomera by a couple, and
Logan to upset Redcliffe by 2 goals
Neutral, you need to show some respect for the teams that struggle in this league mate. Yes we did struggle today, beaten all over the park today by a team that is a class above this league but if you did show up today you would've seen a club that play passion and never gave in all day. In both grades you would not of seen a player walk off with their head down. Yeah the score board wasn't pretty we had a number of players double up but we had two teams on the park. Local footy not all about close games and good teams it's about guys going out there and having a crack and passion for their club and the roosters had bucket loads of it today. To the Nambour people on this forum, thanks for the hospitality today and all the the help and well wishes that went to our skipper who broke his leg today, a big thumbs up to the Nambour footy club. Finally I would like to say yes we got smashed today, but as coach of the roosters I could not have been prouder of the group that represented the club today. Tough day at the office, but we will bounce back. Hope it was worth the trip neutral?

Haha you really are upset that I don't rate Redcliffe aren't you?

Buffs will win and set up a cracking second half of the year.

Logan v Redcliffe is a tough one, I have heard mixed reports about Logan of late. Toss of coin and for our sakes I hope redcliffe win.

All the others pick themselves accept I'll go with Calamvale in what could be described as an upset. It would be a win for the good guys at least anyway.

As much as it might surprise you dude... Your opinion about Redcliffe isn't important to anyone at the club. Everyone is entitled to an opinion... Even a smurf like you gets to voice one! Good win today for you guys. I guess it's easier when you can recruit blokes not good enough playing a div higher to help you out in the latter part of the year. I few tough games still for you before you guaranteed a spot in the 5. But it makes it interesting.

Neutral, you need to show some respect for the teams that struggle in this league mate. Yes we did struggle today, beaten all over the park today by a team that is a class above this league but if you did show up today you would've seen a club that play passion and never gave in all day. In both grades you would not of seen a player walk off with their head down. Yeah the score board wasn't pretty we had a number of players double up but we had two teams on the park. Local footy not all about close games and good teams it's about guys going out there and having a crack and passion for their club and the roosters had bucket loads of it today. To the Nambour people on this forum, thanks for the hospitality today and all the the help and well wishes that went to our skipper who broke his leg today, a big thumbs up to the Nambour footy club. Finally I would like to say yes we got smashed today, but as coach of the roosters I could not have been prouder of the group that represented the club today. Tough day at the office, but we will bounce back. Hope it was worth the trip neutral?
Dug - all I did was predict the result, and got reasonably close I would say. It was terrible to witness the bloke go down with a broken leg but fantastic to see the support you got from Nambour. Having players double up is never a good thing, I have studied a bit of science and I would bet the bloke who broke his leg is one of the double ups? Am I right? I am surprised that there were not more serious injuries out of this. Unless these guys are training 4-5 nights a week at a very high intensity there bodies will be subjected to all types of pressures and fatigue that will result in serious injuries - duty of care by your club????

Your blokes can hold their heads up but I will never respect a club, regardless of their position on the ladder, who allows the idiot in #45 to try and bash opponents. It is a tribute to Nambour's great discipline that he did not start an all in that would have been very ugly . If you are the coach dug you are responsible for the future of this club and allowing these type of actions to continue tells me that the future of the Roosters will continue to be near the bottom of the ladder. He is a big man but also a bully, Nambours smallest player, a little balding fellow, legally smashed him in a tackle and he went to water.

I witnessed the Nambour machine play ruthless football. They were, as always, very well drilled, disciplined and well coached. No lairising, smart asses or big heads. They looked like a Team with one eye on the prize......5 flags in a row I believe.

Dug - all I did was predict the result, and got reasonably close I would say. It was terrible to witness the bloke go down with a broken leg but fantastic to see the support you got from Nambour. Having players double up is never a good thing, I have studied a bit of science and I would bet the bloke who broke his leg is one of the double ups? Am I right? I am surprised that there were not more serious injuries out of this. Unless these guys are training 4-5 nights a week at a very high intensity there bodies will be subjected to all types of pressures and fatigue that will result in serious injuries - duty of care by your club????

Your blokes can hold their heads up but I will never respect a club, regardless of their position on the ladder, who allows the idiot in #45 to try and bash opponents. It is a tribute to Nambour's great discipline that he did not start an all in that would have been very ugly . If you are the coach dug you are responsible for the future of this club and allowing these type of actions to continue tells me that the future of the Roosters will continue to be near the bottom of the ladder. He is a big man but also a bully, Nambours smallest player, a little balding fellow, legally smashed him in a tackle and he went to water.

I witnessed the Nambour machine play ruthless football. They were, as always, very well drilled, disciplined and well coached. No lairising, smart asses or big heads. They looked like a Team with one eye on the prize......5 flags in a row I believe.
Let me start by saying not one player was forced to double up & if you think our players injury was caused from fatigue I think your wrong. We are well aware of our duty of care for our players and take it very seriously. I don't ask anything of my players that I wouldn't do myself and I was one of the players that doubled up not bad for an old bloke. I would say that considering the score both teams were well disaplined, nambour also had one player going around sniping and late hitting all day so don't get high and mighty if you are not going to fair. All credit to nambour, their players and coaching staff for the way they go about their business totally professional and yes you are right they will win this year

Nice response dug? - I call it as I see it, please tell me the # of the sniping Nambour player because I did not see it. I am getting on a bit though and may have missed it......but I think not. Please tell me your medical back ground/experience so I can understand where you are comming from regarding doubling up not causing injury. Everything I have ever studied tells me that fatigue is the number one cause of injury.

That type of injury could've happened happened to any player, that is what I'm saying. I'm not saying fatigue doesn't cause injury, I've played enough footy to know that. All I am going to say is, that our players said the nambour players played the game fair and hard except for one player. I was a little bit closer to the game than you and saw it up front, I must have blocking your view.

Come on neutral, I don't know what you studied, but broken legs are generally caused by impact not fatigue haha

As much as it might surprise you dude... Your opinion about Redcliffe isn't important to anyone at the club. Everyone is entitled to an opinion... Even a smurf like you gets to voice one! Good win today for you guys. I guess it's easier when you can recruit blokes not good enough playing a div higher to help you out in the latter part of the year. I few tough games still for you before you guaranteed a spot in the 5. But it makes it interesting.

Hahaha you are funny.

You are 2nd person to tell me that this weekend. I knew I missed my calling.
I still think 5th will come down to you guys and Logan... They were good yesterday. Much fitter and there structures were better than when we played them at home. So you willing to take a punt now and say you are definitely playing finals?

Come on neutral, I don't know what you studied, but broken legs are generally caused by impact not fatigue haha
True Morro - but muscle supports bone and when fatigued does not support as well in an impact situation.

Are your boys back? Will you have these numbers now until the rest of the year? Will you get over Coomera next week? I must say I didn't think you would get over Caboolture, I have seen them run Nambour very close twice this year. I see the nude nut has not played for caboolture again, would he have made a difference? Can anyone from Caboolture let us know what is going on with the big fella? Pies 11?

gee whiz Neutral - not sure who you were watching but there would not be a Nambour player train 4-5 times per week whether it was footy, running, weights, swimming, cycling whatever let alone some poor bloke from Moorooka. Think you are overrating the level of training here massively!
Yep - fatigue causes injuries and in general most injuries occur in the back 3rd of a match bc of this BUT as Morro said (something wrong here mate, we are agreeing a bit of late :)) an impact injury can occur at any stage and is down to luck in most cases. The impact fatigue would have here is decision making and for want of a better term, clumsiness. Long bow to draw based on what you are saying and in any case what is the alternative - you say "duty of care"?? I would say adults that make their own call. We have juniors all over Australia this weekend playing 2 matches and sometimes 3.

As for my quals to speak well I won't go into them all but I do lecture in it.
I reckon good response by Dug - I too coached a club in the mid 90's that was in a very similar situation and it was bloody hard work, asking players to double up, getting belted by the better sides etc. That clubs name - Nambour....

gee whiz Neutral - not sure who you were watching but there would not be a Nambour player train 4-5 times per week whether it was footy, running, weights, swimming, cycling whatever let alone some poor bloke from Moorooka. Think you are overrating the level of training here massively!
Yep - fatigue causes injuries and in general most injuries occur in the back 3rd of a match bc of this BUT as Morro said (something wrong here mate, we are agreeing a bit of late :)) an impact injury can occur at any stage and is down to luck in most cases. The impact fatigue would have here is decision making and for want of a better term, clumsiness. Long bow to draw based on what you are saying and in any case what is the alternative - you say "duty of care"?? I would say adults that make their own call. We have juniors all over Australia this weekend playing 2 matches and sometimes 3.

As for my quals to speak well I won't go into them all but I do lecture in it.
I reckon good response by Dug - I too coached a club in the mid 90's that was in a very similar situation and it was bloody hard work, asking players to double up, getting belted by the better sides etc. That clubs name - Nambour....
You will have to read a bit better and less lecture smy. I was saying that to play 2 games of footy you would have to be.......training 4-5 nights a week at a very high intensity. I never implied that Nambour or anyone else for that matter was training like this.

Just a little something I took off the web for you.

THE EFFECTS OF MUSCLE FATIGUE ON BONE STRAIN
TOMOAKI YOSHIKAWA

1,4, SATOSHI MORI2, A. J. SANTIESTEBAN3
T. C. SUN

1,4, ELSE HAFSTAD1,4, JIE CHEN
AND

DAVID B. BURR*

Departments of Anatomy and Orthopedic Surgery, Indiana University School of
Medicine,

Department of Orthopedic Surgery, The University of the Ryukyus,

Department of Physical Therapy, Indiana University School of Medicine,

Biomechanics and Biomaterials Research Center, Indiana University-Purdue
University at Indianapolis

and 5
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indiana
University-Purdue University at Indianapolis, USA
Accepted 19 November 1993
Summary
There is anecdotal evidence that bone strains may increase to the point that bone
becomes susceptible to rapid failure when muscles become fatigued. To determine
whether neuromuscular response could be a factor in accelerating bone failure, we tested
the hypothesis that muscle fatigue causes a significant increase in peak principal and
shear strains in bone. Ten adult foxhounds were subjected to rigorous exercise that
caused muscular fatigue while myoelectrical activity of the quadriceps and hamstrings
and strain on the distal tibia were monitored simultaneously. Ground reaction forces on
the dog hindlimbs were measured before and after strain gauges had been applied to the
tibia. The data show a significant shift to lower median myoelectrical frequencies in the
quadriceps, indicating muscular fatigue, following the 20 min exercise period. In
conjunction with this shift, peak principal and shear strains increased on both
compressive and tensile cortices of the tibia and shear strain on the tensile cortex
increased significantly (

P
=0.02). The largest changes were along the anterior and anterolateral
surfaces of the tibia, where peak principal strain increased by an average of
26–35 % following muscular fatigue. The cross-sectional strain distribution was
calculated at the gauge site at peak strain at the beginning of the exercise period and at
peak strain after 20 min of exercise. These data show a change in strain distribution when
muscle becomes fatigued. Strains on the posterior cortex of the bone showed the greatest
change. Correlation analysis demonstrated a significant inverse association between
median myoelectrical frequency and bone strain after 20 min of exercise (Spearman
r

2=1.00; P
=0.05). These data show that muscle fatigue may be associated with increased
bone strain.
*Present

Neutral I think I speak for 95% of the big footy population when I say give it a rest mate!! We all get the fact ur deeply in love with the nambour footy club but ya havn cracks at clubs that r just hear to hav a game of footy.. Duty of care? Seriously it's div 3 footy which is full of blokes who just play for the Luv an pride of jumper so good luck finding a bloke that's not gonna put they're hand up to back up if required.. U should seriously consider takin ya sports science shit an headin straight to another forum!!