2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Neutral I think I speak for 95% of the big footy population when I say give it a rest mate!! We all get the fact ur deeply in love with the nambour footy club but ya havn cracks at clubs that r just hear to hav a game of footy.. Duty of care? Seriously it's div 3 footy which is full of blokes who just play for the Luv an pride of jumper so good luck finding a bloke that's not gonna put they're hand up to back up if required.. U should seriously consider takin ya sports science shit an headin straight to another forum!!
Thanks for your advice naphan - I do hope you won't be upset if I don't heed it though. I was just responding to a couple of blokes who implied that I did not know what I was talking about regarding muscle fatigue and fractures. I do not love Nambour but I have a mighty respect for them after watching the way they conduct themselves both on and off the field -something I think most other clubs should do if they wish to improve themselves. Naphan, unless you have been elected as the official spokes person for this forum, then just like me you speak for one person only.....you - and I respect that. How about respecting what other people have to say regardless of whether you agree or not.

You will have to read a bit better and less lecture smy. I was saying that to play 2 games of footy you would have to be.......training 4-5 nights a week at a very high intensity. I never implied that Nambour or anyone else for that matter was training like this.

Just a little something I took off the web for you.

THE EFFECTS OF MUSCLE FATIGUE ON BONE STRAIN
TOMOAKI YOSHIKAWA

1,4, SATOSHI MORI2, A. J. SANTIESTEBAN3
T. C. SUN

1,4, ELSE HAFSTAD1,4, JIE CHEN
AND

DAVID B. BURR*

Departments of Anatomy and Orthopedic Surgery, Indiana University School of
Medicine,

Department of Orthopedic Surgery, The University of the Ryukyus,

Department of Physical Therapy, Indiana University School of Medicine,

Biomechanics and Biomaterials Research Center, Indiana University-Purdue
University at Indianapolis

and 5
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indiana
University-Purdue University at Indianapolis, USA
Accepted 19 November 1993
Summary
There is anecdotal evidence that bone strains may increase to the point that bone
becomes susceptible to rapid failure when muscles become fatigued. To determine
whether neuromuscular response could be a factor in accelerating bone failure, we tested
the hypothesis that muscle fatigue causes a significant increase in peak principal and
shear strains in bone. Ten adult foxhounds were subjected to rigorous exercise that
caused muscular fatigue while myoelectrical activity of the quadriceps and hamstrings
and strain on the distal tibia were monitored simultaneously. Ground reaction forces on
the dog hindlimbs were measured before and after strain gauges had been applied to the
tibia. The data show a significant shift to lower median myoelectrical frequencies in the
quadriceps, indicating muscular fatigue, following the 20 min exercise period. In
conjunction with this shift, peak principal and shear strains increased on both
compressive and tensile cortices of the tibia and shear strain on the tensile cortex
increased significantly (

P
=0.02). The largest changes were along the anterior and anterolateral
surfaces of the tibia, where peak principal strain increased by an average of
26–35 % following muscular fatigue. The cross-sectional strain distribution was
calculated at the gauge site at peak strain at the beginning of the exercise period and at
peak strain after 20 min of exercise. These data show a change in strain distribution when
muscle becomes fatigued. Strains on the posterior cortex of the bone showed the greatest
change. Correlation analysis demonstrated a significant inverse association between
median myoelectrical frequency and bone strain after 20 min of exercise (Spearman
r

2=1.00; P
=0.05). These data show that muscle fatigue may be associated with increased
bone strain.
*Present
You might want to interpret what you cut and paste a bit better too. This study has NOTHING to do with bone breaks caused by impact. It is showing the correlation between muscular fatigue and bone breaks along the lines of stress fractures (in laymans terms) specifically of the tibia. I'm not sure you have to be a rocket scientist to work out that duhhh. significant volumes of training / exercise leads directly to stress fractures.

You are being mischievous by even suggesting that a guy has a busted leg today because he was "fatigued" and not because he was just dead set unlucky. This isn't a stress injury, it is an impact injury. If you read that article then you will find that after 20min of exercise we have issues - so should we call the game off after this point because of "duty of care"??

It has been fun chatting boys, see you next week. Early I know but my picks are:

Caboolture to bounce back by a couple of goals - more if the nude nut is back,
Logan with a % boster,
Coomera and Beenleigh match of the round - Beenleigh to win.....just,
Nambour by another record score - hope no one cries over that statement,
Redcliffe to belt Moorooka - that OK dug?

It has been fun chatting boys, see you next week. Early I know but my picks are:

Logan with a % boster,
Nuetral
Our big fella will be back next week.He has been away with work.

You want my opinion now BOC???:)
In all seriousness I don't think there is a magic formula they have used (they are still in Div 3 and haven't catapaulted year after year of course) but I reckon one thing is money - or lack of it. They haven't built their club around buying players, which i think we can all agree is a fast way to go up and but a damn fast way to go down as well when it runs out and in fact generally ensures the club is worse than when it started. They have employed excellent coaches over the past 6-7 years starting with Penguin (Dave Harding) who instilled a professional attitude in the club followed by Benny Stanley last year and this one, with another bloke in between who was pretty good too from all reports. Probably the most important factor has been off field leadership too. Very underrated quality and requires people without egos to be there - footy clubs often are run by egotists who rate their personal status by the division their club plays in and never look at the bank balance bc this scares them. They also need to be workers and not just figureheads at this level. if you don't want to get your hands dirty then you shouldn't be a president IMO.

The blokes from maroochy went there bc Stanley was a popular player there (junior player right thru to senior player all his life) and I think most blokes would prefer to play senior footy even if it means being a division or 2 lower. Spring ended up BACK there - was his original club before being drafted really and his old man wanted to play with him and alot easier to do this playing 1's at Nambour than Noosa! Caloundra - well lets just say blokes leave Caloundra i find over the years. New pres this year will help them immensely but they will need that help bc IMO Nambour has leap frogged them as the club of choice to play lower than PHC.

Can't say I have my finger on the pulse of every club here (if you read my posts am very general about most stuff - only bloke I've heard of at Beenleigh for instance is Morro!!:)) but lots of mates involved at various clubs! Now i know thats not quite the "world" that you alluded to in the Div 2 thread but they do say this is Gods Country!!

Hey smy1305 - I am the bloke in between and still at the Club as assistant Coach to the "Great Ben Stanley". Your right, there is no magic formula unless respect, attitude and mateship (RAM) is a magic formula. Penguin layed the foundations of a great club, as opposed to a team, with the assistance of a chap called Lance Nunn who I also rate as one of the great Presidents. I followed some good club guidelines when I was Coaching, with a little bit of my own spin, and now Ben has taken us to the next level with some innovative coaching, great leadership and the will to have a go. I am not on the committee but to my knowledge there is not one player receiving any incentive other than the chance to play finals and some good awards post match. We would have gone to another division this year except we did not have the numbers pre season. Last year we really struggled to have enough for the 2's and thought it silly until we were strong in both grades.

Great Club - Great People.

You are 2nd person to tell me that this weekend. I knew I missed my calling.
I still think 5th will come down to you guys and Logan... They were good yesterday. Much fitter and there structures were better than when we played them at home. So you willing to take a punt now and say you are definitely playing finals?

Despite thinking you are a tool I will respect your first non idiotic post and say we have a little way to go to be making such statements but I think we can and yesterday proved what I have said all along. We lack depth but our best 22-28 are good enough.

Next couple of weeks will decide if it's a certainty or possibly.

Logan with a % boster,
It would be a massive turnaround neutral but we will front up with two teams and have a go you never know what might happen, Calamvale proved that

Neutral,
You are coming across as a bit of a muppet. I'm the bloke in question that went down yesterday (broken Tib and Fib). I strongly suggest, that with all your wisdom of "science" you investigate a situation before you begin running your mouth like a true 'keyboard warrior'.
Before you start spouting off with your silly ideas, like stating that I sustained the injury because I've "been doing too much" or something stupid like that - remember you don't indeed have all the facts. I am a quailfied P.T and know very well how to train myself within the limitations of my body. I, infact, do train 4-6 times a week - FYI. 2 nights on the track and 4 nights in the gym, as I have been doing for the last 12 months. This injury is just one of those things in football. Not a fault of my own through fatigue, as I was rather fresh after the reserves game, nor was it the Nambour players fault. He simply fell awkwardly on my leg whilst competing for the ball.
As for the "duty of care" bullshit, I heard around the club that the Reserves were going to field a short team. Being the Captain of Seniors and knowing that I was most able to help out when needed by playing the 2 games, I put my hand up first. To their credit, a few other fit bodies from Seniors followed suit and helped out.

If you have silly opinions like this in the future, I suggest you keep them to yourself.

Finally I would like to extend my thanks to the Nambour Football Club for all their help and well wishes after I went down. Truely a class act on their part. Just wish the Ambos where a bit quicker, as that morphine was very much needed.

It would be a massive turnaround neutral but we will front up with two teams and have a go you never know what might happen, Calamvale proved that
Dug, good luck next week and as for blokes doubling up, we've all been in that position and to me it's a commendable attitude that blokes will do it for their club!

Neutral,
You are coming across as a bit of a muppet. I'm the bloke in question that went down yesterday (broken Tib and Fib). I strongly suggest, that with all your wisdom of "science" you investigate a situation before you begin running your mouth like a true 'keyboard warrior'.
Before you start spouting off with your silly ideas, like stating that I sustained the injury because I've "been doing too much" or something stupid like that - remember you don't indeed have all the facts. I am a quailfied P.T and know very well how to train myself within the limitations of my body. I, infact, do train 4-6 times a week - FYI. 2 nights on the track and 4 nights in the gym, as I have been doing for the last 12 months. This injury is just one of those things in football. Not a fault of my own through fatigue, as I was rather fresh after the reserves game, nor was it the Nambour players fault. He simply fell awkwardly on my leg whilst competing for the ball.
As for the "duty of care" bullshit, I heard around the club that the Reserves were going to field a short team. Being the Captain of Seniors and knowing that I was most able to help out when needed by playing the 2 games, I put my hand up first. To their credit, a few other fit bodies from Seniors followed suit and helped out.

If you have silly opinions like this in the future, I suggest you keep them to yourself.

Finally I would like to extend my thanks to the Nambour Football Club for all their help and well wishes after I went down. Truely a class act on their part. Just wish the Ambos where a bit quicker, as that morphine was very much needed.

Sorry to hear about the injury Roosterman. Best wishes from Coomera AFC.

Hope you recover well for a good 2013.

For the record I backed up 4 times last year and fatigue never comes into the thought process when your team mates need you.

Usually you have a few ressies come up and help the seniors out, but today was the first time I had seen it done the other way around with senior players putting there hand up to play down and help the ressies out as numbers were a bit short. There were 6 of us who played both games, with 4 of us being seniors every week, another being there abouts and a new bloke who played both games. I put my hand up as they were short and thought I'd play forward pocket and just rotate on and off, but as it turns out they needed me at CHB which I was happy to play and I ended up playing the full game. Our senior captain played a full game in the middle, another played the whole game in various positions and another played most of the game and came off for short breaks here and there.

Not going to lie I was a bit tired going into the seniors game, as I'm sure the others were too, but being all of 1 meter away when our captain got injured, I can safely say that if you think that was caused by fatigue then I suggest you get a refund on your degree (if you have one), chose another field of work to save others from your nonsense, get your eyes tested and get yourself checked for any mental illness. It was just one of those football things, their player coming back hard and our skipper running hard towards him. No ones fault but deffinately not 'fatigue' as you so stupidly put it. After it happened a few of us, myself included, didn't want to go back out and we just felt flat. Even in the midst of his incredible pain, as he was being put into the ambulance, he shouted 'ROOSTERS' a couple of times which buoyed us a bit and it showed how much of a team and club man he is. In the end I think we were Dissapointed (well I was anyway) we couldn't at least get a goal for him - but not for a lack of effort.

Nambour are a class side and they showed it today.

To me though, their true class was showed when our captain went down within the opening minutes, especially their captain (number 11?). He offered assistance and said that a fair few of their players lived around the area and could help our captain if need be. After the game he came out and again offfered the help for our captain and talked to us about always trying hard and as long as you play for the love of the game, then you're a winner (don't think he said the last part word for word, but that's how I interpreted it). He was a top bloke and Nambour are very lucky to have him.

I think everyone at Rooster land would like to thank Nambour Football Club for their assistance and well wishes yesterday.

Despite thinking you are a tool I will respect your first non idiotic post and say we have a little way to go to be making such statements but I think we can and yesterday proved what I have said all along. We lack depth but our best 22-28 are good enough.

Next couple of weeks will decide if it's a certainty or possibly.

Ditto little man. So we share some common ground finally... I think you're a **** who rates himself way too much. So touchy when it comes to having your opinion challenged... Suggest you change your tampon and stop taking yourself so seriously.

Hahahahahahahahahaha good call mate.

For some one with such a strong opinion you sure are weak as piss hiding behind your keyboard.

Now off you go, the adults are talking.

For some one with such a strong opinion you sure are weak as piss hiding behind your keyboard.

If you knew anything about me you would know I have every reason in the world to think very highly of myself. My life is perfect. Don't be jealous.

Now off you go, the adults are talking.

Sorry to hear about the injury Roosterman. Best wishes from Coomera AFC.

Hope you recover well for a good 2013.

For the record I backed up 4 times last year and fatigue never comes into the thought process when your team mates need you.

Almost every club in our Div has been in this position at one time or another.

Just silly to blame a one off broken leg on fatigue.

Almost every club in our Div has been in this position at one time or another.

Just silly to blame a one off broken leg on fatigue.

Yeah I think it was a strange call for that particular injury. A torn muscle perhaps could be understood. I do get his point but I doubt any team would have done anything differently.

I bet it was a hard call for Calamvale to forfeit. I bet pride in the jumper would have had every player at that club wanting to back up to avoid the forfeit.

Now to change the subject to something more positive what is everyone's GF predictions (excluding their own side to make it fair):

Seniors:
Nambour (no brainer) and Redcliffe (edging out Cabbo in thrilling final)

Reserves:
Beenleigh (based on current form) and Ipswich (based on their desperate effort to take some silverware home... I mean "Youth Policy")

Yeah I think it was a strange call for that particular injury. A torn muscle perhaps could be understood. I do get his point but I doubt any team would have done anything differently.

I bet it was a hard call for Calamvale to forfeit. I bet pride in the jumper would have had every player at that club wanting to back up to avoid the forfeit.

Now to change the subject to something more positive what is everyone's GF predictions (excluding their own side to make it fair):

Seniors:

Reserves:
Beenleigh (based on current form) and Ipswich (based on their desperate effort to take some silverware home... I mean "Youth Policy")

Nambour and UQ to play in the ressies GF is my prediction. Nambour arent stupid and have depth and will have quality plyers available into finals, UQ have an ego to feed and will do outrageous things to ensure they are there. Youth policy to come third

Seniors:

Reserves:

Seniors Nambour vs coomera
Reserves Ipswich vs Nambour
Should be cracking game this week buffs coomera swoopa in both grades.
Should be a sell out 2 great sides

Seniors Nambour vs coomera
Reserves Ipswich vs Nambour
Should be cracking game this week buffs coomera swoopa in both grades.
Should be a sell out 2 great sides

I heard Dreamworld is selling tickets on the Giant Drop for both games!!

Hope you're right about Seniors!

Hey smy1305 - I am the bloke in between and still at the Club as assistant Coach to the "Great Ben Stanley". Your right, there is no magic formula unless respect, attitude and mateship (RAM) is a magic formula. Penguin layed the foundations of a great club, as opposed to a team, with the assistance of a chap called Lance Nunn who I also rate as one of the great Presidents. I followed some good club guidelines when I was Coaching, with a little bit of my own spin, and now Ben has taken us to the next level with some innovative coaching, great leadership and the will to have a go. I am not on the committee but to my knowledge there is not one player receiving any incentive other than the chance to play finals and some good awards post match. We would have gone to another division this year except we did not have the numbers pre season. Last year we really struggled to have enough for the 2's and thought it silly until we were strong in both grades.

Great Club - Great People.

And well done to you mate - sorry I didn't know your name - the other 2 I know pretty well so that was easy!! It is fantastic to see the football club up and about again. i'm sure that you guys will elevate yourself when the time is right. And yes i didn't mention Lance by name but he deserves enormous credit for where the footy club is right now and is the prototype of what a good president at local level is IMO. Good luck for the rest of the year. Was out there today; hope the PNG boys are comfortable!!:)

Seniors:

Reserves:

It went the other way, some of us seniors put our hands up to help the ressies out as some pulled out late, but it is good we gave them a hand as they have helped us out at various times throughout the year.

Seniors: Nambour vs. Caboolture

Reserves: No idea.

I was amazed at Nambour's ability to always have 2,3 or 4 players running through and they always had time to identify, and the skill to hit that target. They never panicked and would chose the right option 9.5/10. Shoe in to win IMO.