2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

I'm going for -
Nambour V Coomera*

And

Ipswich V Beenleigh*

*i think the 2nd spot in the grandfinal could be just about anyone in the comp in both grades. But Nambour in 1s and Ipswich in 2s certainties

I'll go with Swoopa's tip for the GF, although finishing 3rd this year may be a blessing in disguise, just thinking back to Pt Adelaide against Geelong, and it's not like Nambour are inexperienced in finals.... Good luck for all sides during the finals! I gather this 'youth policy' that Ipswich are employing is a 'stacking the twos with wannabe heroes' in disguise, without the disguise?

Something like that Footy 1st. Doesn't build a good future if the youth aren't playing along side the best players. Bit harsh on the genuine reserves sides.

Yeah any teams playing actual reserve players should feel ripped off! How long has this been going on as their seniors are only a couple of games from 5th now, had they won a couple in the last few weeks.....

Hopefully they follow the same fate as Cabo ressies last year who stacked the ressies and dominated the ressies finals before falling just short at the big dance.

Redcliffe were clearly the 2nd best side all year but Cabo started the stack as soon as their seniors looked average.

Hopefully they follow the same fate as Cabo ressies last year who stacked the ressies and dominated the ressies finals before falling just short at the big dance.

Redcliffe were clearly the 2nd best side all year but Cabo started the stack as soon as their seniors looked average.

Morro, what is the rule exactly? I understand the 5 games minimum to qualify for finals, but someone told me there was also a maximum amount of senior games you can play to qualify to play for reserve finals?

If that's what they're doing then I agree! Ur guys beat Caboolture in the GF? I have never seen the point in stacking, fringe players in the ones if eligible maybe, but as long as they're not pushing out ressies players that have played all year

Morro, what is the rule exactly? I understand the 5 games minimum to qualify for finals, but someone told me there was also a maximum amount of senior games you can play to qualify to play for reserve finals?

Yeah there is a maximum but I'm not sure what that number is exactly.

I agree 100%. There is always fringe players or guys who have specific commitments some weeks but the Best 22 (or more specifically the best 6 per position) should play Seniors to try and get the points.

I doubt Nambour gained their success by trying to win a Ressies flag. The competive nature of trying to play Senior football is what will grow a club so stacking Ressies as a "youth policy" just doesn't make sense to me.

The youth just get flogged each week by quality players while the quality players at their club run around having a ball of it. Great way for young guys to lose interest in a club.

However this is just my opinion and I am not wishing to jump on a soap box!

Last year I havent heard anything different the rules were,

if you play 6 ressies games and any number of senior games you can play either grade finals, the amount of senior games has no bearing on eligibility. We looked into this pretty hard with AFLQ last season as you can understand.
We only had 1 player drop down from the senior finals side but he had played more ressies and seniors anyway.

Morro, for a bloke who complains a lot about other people's "outside opinion" of his club, you sure do take every opportunity to express your own uninformed view about Caboolture's twos. Isn't it the losers who're supposed to have the sour grapes?

For the record, of the 22 who played in last year's GF, only four could legitamely be called senior players, and even then they were fringe, having played up and down all year due to form and fitness. Yes, that includes big Limo, who struggled with injuries all season.

To suggest that we stacked our reserves in the latter part of the season at the expense of our seniors is absolutely ridiculous. Our ones finished fourth, and had they kicked straight against Coomera (24 scoring shots to 18) would have advanced to the second week of the finals.

Believe me, as a reserves player who's suffered through season after season of thrashings, our club's first priority has always been senior success. Last year was probably the best reserves side we've had in my ten years at the club and we gave it a red hot crack. But you guys were the best team all year and deserved your win on the day, having handled the conditions better. Congratulations (for real, no sarcasm).

Morro, for a bloke who complains a lot about other people's "outside opinion" of his club, you sure do take every opportunity to express your own uninformed view about Caboolture's twos. Isn't it the losers who're supposed to have the sour grapes?

For the record, of the 22 who played in last year's GF, only four could legitamely be called senior players, and even then they were fringe, having played up and down all year due to form and fitness. Yes, that includes big Limo, who struggled with injuries all season.

To suggest that we stacked our reserves in the latter part of the season at the expense of our seniors is absolutely ridiculous. Our ones finished fourth, and had they kicked straight against Coomera (24 scoring shots to 18) would have advanced to the second week of the finals.

Believe me, as a reserves player who's suffered through season after season of thrashings, our club's first priority has always been senior success. Last year was probably the best reserves side we've had in my ten years at the club and we gave it a red hot crack. But you guys were the best team all year and deserved your win on the day, having handled the conditions better. Congratulations (for real, no sarcasm).

Danny there is a difference between complaining and defending your club. I think if you take enough time to read my posts you will see I am generally in the latter.

You had a number of guys play in that GF that had played just the right amount of games to qualify, coincidence, maybe, but unlikely, one of them even finished top 5 in the senior league medal. I also spoke with several ressies players who were quite upset and reinforced my statements above.

If I am wrong and I could be, I didnt make it up, I had it first hand from players who felt harshly done by, by the clubs decision to qualify players.

Reagrding the GF, thanks mate, I think the conditions helped us to be honest, as your big forwards were your strength but the conditions possible made them a weakness atleast until the man mountain went into the ruck and rag dolled everyone haha.

What has happened to your FF Kearnsy(spelling?) quality bloke and gun player. I would imagine your club was better for having him on board. I thought he should have been your senior FF not ressies but I assume his age was why he played down?

Danny there is a difference between defending your club and complaining. I think if you take enough time to read my posts you will see I am generally in the latter.

So you agree, you are complaining :p

one of them even finished top 5 in the senior league medal

Do you remember the name? B&F medal or goalkicking?

As far as I know, only one of the four guys I mentioned still needed to qualify late in the season, so the club may have deliberately played him down. But again, there's no way this would have been done if he was a consistent senior selection as our ones were still very much in contention at that stage.

As for the upset players, who wouldn't be dirty about missing out on a GF? But that's footy. The coach has to pick the best 22 available to them. I'm probably lucky I made the cut ;)

Yeah, big Limo into the ruck was almost the turning point for us.

Spot on with your assessment of Kernsy. Last year was always going to be his swansong though. Tried to talk him out of retirement at our GF wake, but he wants to concentrate on his kids' sport now.

So you agree, you are complaining :p

Do you remember the name? B&F medal or goalkicking?

As far as I know, only one of the four guys I mentioned still needed to qualify late in the season, so the club may have deliberately played him down. But again, there's no way this would have been done if he was a consistent senior selection as our ones were still very much in contention at that stage.

As for the upset players, who wouldn't be dirty about missing out on a GF? But that's footy. The coach has to pick the best 22 available to them. I'm probably lucky I made the cut ;)

Yeah, big Limo into the ruck was almost the turning point for us.

Spot on with your assessment of Kernsy. Last year was always going to be his swansong though. Tried to talk him out of retirement at our GF wake, but he wants to concentrate on his kids' sport now.

haha shit by you for picking up on that haha:(

Was in the league B&F mate. Little nuggetty onballer, very good player.

Shame about Kernsy, one of the few gentleman of the comp in my opinion and too good to be hanhing up the boots albeit for good reasons.

I will take you on your word and was just reporting what I was told from players at your club, could have been sour grapes I guess. However if you qualified one intentionally and your memory is vague, then it is possible the same thing happened with more thatn one player as reported.

Shame about Kernsy, one of the few gentleman of the comp in my opinion and too good to be hanhing up the boots albeit for good reasons.

I will take you on your word and was just reporting what I was told from players at your club, could have been sour grapes I guess. However if you qualified one intentionally and your memory is vague, then it is possible the same thing happened with more thatn one player as reported.

Tough getting dropped for the GF especially if you had played most of the year but that is footy I guess.

Last year our Ressies got knocked out by a Logan team they had beaten well twice during the year. However their Seniors had the week off and there were several blokes who had not been seen in the Ressies before. They were then beaten the following week however (when their Seniors were back playing).

Not sure if any thing dodgy went down there but we were disappointed. I wouldn't accuse anyone of doing it without proof so will always give the benefit of the doubt.

Tough getting dropped for the GF especially if you had played most of the year but that is footy I guess.

Last year our Ressies got knocked out by a Logan team they had beaten well twice during the year. However their Seniors had the week off and there were several blokes who had not been seen in the Ressies before. They were then beaten the following week however (when their Seniors were back playing).

Not sure if any thing dodgy went down there but we were disappointed. I wouldn't accuse anyone of doing it without proof so will always give the benefit of the doubt.

Thus has been going on since Adam was a boy though Swoopa - even in the old VFL - it was the reason why a side occasionally won the premiership from 5th back in those days, bc when the senior side was eliminated there was 4-5 blokes available who had qualified during the season. At the risk of putting a few noses out of joint, is the #1 reason why reserves premierships aren't rated very highly in my book - its a dogs breakfast as to who will be in one week to the next come finals time and rests solely on how the A grade are going. If you win the double, then that is a big achievement. Very few coaches will say to a bloke "look you did qualify to play in my side but I'm not going to play you at the risk of putting another blokes nose out of joint". Thats footy I reckon as you said. Noone said it was fair.

Yeah I know what you mean. We have a core group in both grades and would have some guys in Reserves that have played Seniors at some stage in some games. Benefit of having a competitive culture for spots which we need as a young club. Happy to say we are only interested in keeping things above board and that won't change while our current coaching group is around which is good.

Morro
I am the senior coach of the Caboolture FC.
In regard of STACKING the reserves side in the finals the following is fact.
Every player that played reserves football in the finals series were players that had qualified throughout the season.
Both Limo and the on baller had played both senior and reserves football throughout the season.
We didn't get one player permitted by the QAFL.They were all fully qualified.
I would suggest that our reserves side performed very well throughout the entire season and deserved their spot in the GF.
Well done to both of your sides on the weekend and look forward to future battles.

Morro
I am the senior coach of the Caboolture FC.
In regard of STACKING the reserves side in the finals the following is fact.
Every player that played reserves football in the finals series were players that had qualified throughout the season.
Both Limo and the on baller had played both senior and reserves football throughout the season.
We didn't get one player permitted by the QAFL.They were all fully qualified.
I would suggest that our reserves side performed very well throughout the entire season and deserved their spot in the GF.
Well done to both of your sides on the weekend and look forward to future battles.

That comes from the top :) Well said. I guess it would be hard to not pick guys that are qualified if they are amongst the best 22.

Graham as a coach what are your thoughts on Ipswichs "youth policy" (playing best players in reserves to make way in Seniors for younger guys)? I can understand if you don't wish to comment but I would be interested to hear a fellow coaches opinion.

Is it something you would ever consider if your Seniors weren't as strong as they are (and a shot at a flag)?

excuse my potential ignorance....... but has anyone from Ipswich come out and said "we are going to play kids in the ones and try and win a 2's flag". I had a look at the 2's team list from the weekend and blokes like Luke K and hhis brother & Lutto have been at Ipswich forever - Luke K won the b&f in the league in 04 and 05 when we beat them. The guy would have to be early to mid 30's. Any chance he's decided that footy isnt his number 1 priority anymore and he is just happy having a kick in the 2's with his mates for fun?
Supposedly stacking 2's is an interesting topic. Robina have won a number of 2's flags and 2 in my time as the double which is the ultimate for any club as SMY said.
PLaying devil's advocate.... interested in people definition of stacking the 2's. Morro you are currently a senior player who has played senior footy at 2 clubs in your league, yet u decided to coach the 2's and captain them last year. Surely you had a couple of mates who had played 1's previously who wanted to play footy with you in the 2's. Is this stacking the 2's to win a flag? Similar questions could be asked of Spook at Robina over time - clearly in the best 22 but chooses to play 2's.
I cant commit to training because of work but still wanna have a kick so have asked the club to play me in the 2's to give the guys who are committed to training both nights the opportunity to play seniors - does that mean we are stacking the reserves?
Obviously against blokes playing 13 senior games and then 1's not being eligible for finals and then 10 or so players playing there 5 games to qualify - but you could argue that all of the above arguments are stacking in some form or another.
No club has ever recruited a senior player on the basis of the fact they "won a 2's flag the year before" so maybe ipswich deserve the benefit of the doubt?
Obviously if someone from the club has said "we've written the 1's off and just want to win a 2's flag" then please render the above dribble irrelevant!!!!

Agree BOC - have NEVER heard a club say - "lets win the 2's premiership this year at the expense of the 1's". Often it does get back to sour grapes. I remember towards the end of my playing career having a kick in the 2's and coming up against some sides in finals that had their seniors kicked out and their 2's side picked up an extra 4-6 blokes who played seniors the week before - if the rules state its fine then suck it up. I actually remember beating a couple of these sides bc we were a pretty decent group and had good spirit whereas on the flip side often a "filled" side does not. It is what it is and the bottom line is it is 2's footy. Noosa played off against the Magpies in both 1s and 2s in 2006 and we lost both games!! I know the club would have been a lot happier to lose the 2's if it meant the 1's would have won. :(

SMY one good thing to come out of the 04 gf and i believe the 06 PHC gf's (i might be wrong on this) but you HAVE to play the 2's and 1's gf on the same day.
In 04 i got dropped for the semi final and played 2's and kicked 9 and was lucky enough to get my spot back for the gf. But the league played the 2's gf on the saturday and the 1's on the sunday. very strange feeling watching ur mates going berserk with medals around their neck celebrating the clubs first ever flag and having to go home and try and sleep to play the next day. I think the same thing happened to Noosa with gf's on seperate days or was it same day at different locations? cause from memory the 1's gf was played as the curtain raiser to the state league 2s gf and the state league 1s gf at carrarra

It was quite easily the worst piece of scheduling I have ver been involved with that weekend BOC, and the AFLQ have got a few contenders in my time here too! Magpies and Noosa were playing each other in the 1s and 2s GF's and the 2's GF was played at Zillmere as a stand alone game on the Saturday (I played in this one), the 1's played at 11.00am at Carrara FFS (I was assistant coach on this day!!:mad: ) on the Sunday as a curtain raiser to the State league GF. It was just ridiculous.
I went and watched Noosa in their last 2 GF's with the 2's before it and they were ripper days, especially '10 at Grange - that was an incredible day in a great venue for local footy. Fortunately i think with the redevelopment of Yeronga that all GF's will be likely played there from now on (or should be). I didn't even think that last years GF should have been played at Maroochydore - a GF venue should be sorted out weeks before no matter who is playing and should be played in Brisbane IMO unless there is 2 GC sides or Sunny coast sides playing being the only exception. last years was a no brainer to be played in Brisbane IMO with a GC and SC side playing.

excuse my potential ignorance....... but has anyone from Ipswich come out and said "we are going to play kids in the ones and try and win a 2's flag". I had a look at the 2's team list from the weekend and blokes like Luke K and hhis brother & Lutto have been at Ipswich forever - Luke K won the b&f in the league in 04 and 05 when we beat them. The guy would have to be early to mid 30's. Any chance he's decided that footy isnt his number 1 priority anymore and he is just happy having a kick in the 2's with his mates for fun?
Supposedly stacking 2's is an interesting topic. Robina have won a number of 2's flags and 2 in my time as the double which is the ultimate for any club as SMY said.
PLaying devil's advocate.... interested in people definition of stacking the 2's. Morro you are currently a senior player who has played senior footy at 2 clubs in your league, yet u decided to coach the 2's and captain them last year. Surely you had a couple of mates who had played 1's previously who wanted to play footy with you in the 2's. Is this stacking the 2's to win a flag? Similar questions could be asked of Spook at Robina over time - clearly in the best 22 but chooses to play 2's.
I cant commit to training because of work but still wanna have a kick so have asked the club to play me in the 2's to give the guys who are committed to training both nights the opportunity to play seniors - does that mean we are stacking the reserves?
Obviously against blokes playing 13 senior games and then 1's not being eligible for finals and then 10 or so players playing there 5 games to qualify - but you could argue that all of the above arguments are stacking in some form or another.
No club has ever recruited a senior player on the basis of the fact they "won a 2's flag the year before" so maybe ipswich deserve the benefit of the doubt?
Obviously if someone from the club has said "we've written the 1's off and just want to win a 2's flag" then please render the above dribble irrelevant!!!!

Agree with everything Chunk. They said it to us and some of their players on the day made some comments about it. Not sure about individuals but agree that some blokes just decide to give away Senior footy to enjoy a run with mates (plus beers watching seniors and shorter quarters are a benefit!)

It is their current policy but they may have been in their current position regardless. My only concern is that you need your younger blokes playing alongside the wiser heads and most skilled blokes. Not just "taking a bullet" for the club and getting flogged every week.

Hopefully it works out for them and creates and even healthier competition in the future.

That comes from the top :) Well said. I guess it would be hard to not pick guys that are qualified if they are amongst the best 22.

Graham as a coach what are your thoughts on Ipswichs "youth policy" (playing best players in reserves to make way in Seniors for younger guys)? I can understand if you don't wish to comment but I would be interested to hear a fellow coaches opinion.

Is it something you would ever consider if your Seniors weren't as strong as they are (and a shot at a flag)?
Not my job to comment on Ipswich mate as i have no understanding on what the club is doing.
As far as we are concerned i believe in giving our younger players the opportunity to play senior football.These positions are created on form and training requirements and are usually made available by senior players not meeting training committments.
The club has played 9 U/18s though the senior side and 7 through the reserves side including a couple that have just come out of U/16s and some of those have played senior football all year which is a credit to them.
I think that junior development in all clubs leads to a stronger future.
We believe that this created an enviroment where these players will strive to play senior football and assist us in player retention which is getting increasingly more difficult.
Coming from down south the one thing i would really like to see is more clubs taking the time to have a beer and chat after a game.All the best for the rest of the year and if we play each other again come up and say G'Day and i'll buy you a frothie.

Not my job to comment on Ipswich mate as i have no understanding on what the club is doing.
As far as we are concerned i believe in giving our younger players the opportunity to play senior football.These positions are created on form and training requirements and are usually made available by senior players not meeting training committments.
The club has played 9 U/18s though the senior side and 7 through the reserves side including a couple that have just come out of U/16s and some of those have played senior football all year which is a credit to them.
I think that junior development in all clubs leads to a stronger future.
We believe that this created an enviroment where these players will strive to play senior football and assist us in player retention which is getting increasingly more difficult.
Coming from down south the one thing i would really like to see is more clubs taking the time to have a beer and chat after a game.All the best for the rest of the year and if we play each other again come up and say G'Day and i'll buy you a frothie.

Sounds like you have the right idea. We also like to promote sticking around for a beer but due to the Suns game when we played a lot of the guys had to jump straight on the bus.

However a few of us stuck around and shared a beer with your president, VP and his father I believe? Myself included.

The redevelopment looks great too!