2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Morro
I am the senior coach of the Caboolture FC.
In regard of STACKING the reserves side in the finals the following is fact.
Every player that played reserves football in the finals series were players that had qualified throughout the season.
Both Limo and the on baller had played both senior and reserves football throughout the season.
We didn't get one player permitted by the QAFL.They were all fully qualified.
I would suggest that our reserves side performed very well throughout the entire season and deserved their spot in the GF.
Well done to both of your sides on the weekend and look forward to future battles.

Fair enough mate, as I said I took Danny on his word and certainly offer you the same respect based on the well written response. Danny did contradict you slightly though but lets not split hairs.

Great senior game on the weekend Graham, was a bloody nail biter there at stages thats for sure.

Regarding your comment on sticking around for a beer after a game, I am from Vic and it was compulsary. I cant believe the attitude up here towards it. I have made some great mates in the league that I see twice a year and maybe in finals and really enjoy the banter. Obviously I am not everyones favorite player but who is and who cares. Despite my comments regarding the cabo ressies I have always thought Cabo were a decent bunch of blokes in general and would gladly have a beer with most, maybe not Pies 11 as he is a goose, but everyone else :D

excuse my potential ignorance....... but has anyone from Ipswich come out and said "we are going to play kids in the ones and try and win a 2's flag". I had a look at the 2's team list from the weekend and blokes like Luke K and hhis brother & Lutto have been at Ipswich forever - Luke K won the b&f in the league in 04 and 05 when we beat them. The guy would have to be early to mid 30's. Any chance he's decided that footy isnt his number 1 priority anymore and he is just happy having a kick in the 2's with his mates for fun?
Supposedly stacking 2's is an interesting topic. Robina have won a number of 2's flags and 2 in my time as the double which is the ultimate for any club as SMY said.
PLaying devil's advocate.... interested in people definition of stacking the 2's. Morro you are currently a senior player who has played senior footy at 2 clubs in your league, yet u decided to coach the 2's and captain them last year. Surely you had a couple of mates who had played 1's previously who wanted to play footy with you in the 2's. Is this stacking the 2's to win a flag? Similar questions could be asked of Spook at Robina over time - clearly in the best 22 but chooses to play 2's.
I cant commit to training because of work but still wanna have a kick so have asked the club to play me in the 2's to give the guys who are committed to training both nights the opportunity to play seniors - does that mean we are stacking the reserves?
Obviously against blokes playing 13 senior games and then 1's not being eligible for finals and then 10 or so players playing there 5 games to qualify - but you could argue that all of the above arguments are stacking in some form or another.
No club has ever recruited a senior player on the basis of the fact they "won a 2's flag the year before" so maybe ipswich deserve the benefit of the doubt?
Obviously if someone from the club has said "we've written the 1's off and just want to win a 2's flag" then please render the above dribble irrelevant!!!!

Thats a fair point mate, but I dont believe anyone who could have or should have played seniors didnt in my 2 years coaching. I had a great relationship with the senior coach and we certainly didnt let players pick and choose. Despite having a great loyalty from the young guys they still played senior footy when required and I certainly encouraged them.

I see where your going with it though and have experienced before but not when coaching.

Not my job to comment on Ipswich mate as i have no understanding on what the club is doing.
As far as we are concerned i believe in giving our younger players the opportunity to play senior football.These positions are created on form and training requirements and are usually made available by senior players not meeting training committments.
The club has played 9 U/18s though the senior side and 7 through the reserves side including a couple that have just come out of U/16s and some of those have played senior football all year which is a credit to them.
I think that junior development in all clubs leads to a stronger future.
We believe that this created an enviroment where these players will strive to play senior football and assist us in player retention which is getting increasingly more difficult.
Coming from down south the one thing i would really like to see is more clubs taking the time to have a beer and chat after a game.All the best for the rest of the year and if we play each other again come up and say G'Day and i'll buy you a frothie.
Hayden Jeffrey had a run in your seniors yet Graham? i know he is very young but a very good young footballer - hard as a cats head.

Fair enough mate, as I said I took Danny on his word and certainly offer you the same respect based on the well written response. Danny did contradict you slightly though but lets not split hairs.

Great senior game on the weekend Graham, was a bloody nail biter there at stages thats for sure.

Regarding your comment on sticking around for a beer after a game, I am from Vic and it was compulsary. I cant believe the attitude up here towards it. I have made some great mates in the league that I see twice a year and maybe in finals and really enjoy the banter. Obviously I am not everyones favorite player but who is and who cares. Despite my comments regarding the cabo ressies I have always thought Cabo were a decent bunch of blokes in general and would gladly have a beer with most, maybe not Pies 11 as he is a goose, but everyone else :D

I know at Noosa when I was there and Brett was coach it was mandatory as well Morro. Can't believe coaches don't make it so - to me its just a respect thing and you are spot on re making mates from other clubs too.

Hmmmm, very interesting coming from you Morro, seeing as your entire club didn't purchase a single item from our canteen/bar when we played you a few weeks back. Now I know it's not complusory to buy anything, but I found your comment incredibly rich seeing as that happened.

I know at Noosa when I was there and Brett was coach it was mandatory as well Morro. Can't believe coaches don't make it so - to me its just a respect thing and you are spot on re making mates from other clubs too.

Read my comment above.

Hayden Jeffrey had a run in your seniors yet Graham? i know he is very young but a very good young footballer - hard as a cats head.
He is certainly someone i have spoken to about having a run in he seniors.Over the past 2 months he has had an enormous program mate with club--raiders--and state footy.
He will certainly have a taste before seasons end.Fantastic young blike who tains quite often with us.

Morro in future get your facts right when accusing sides of dropping people back. Lets hope you muppets can scrape into the finals. I cant wait to see you fail in august again! I will be happy to have a beer after the game with you blokes. What is your policy? I seem to remember you blokes doing the sligh get away a few times?

He is certainly someone i have spoken to about having a run in he seniors.Over the past 2 months he has had an enormous program mate with club--raiders--and state footy.
He will certainly have a taste before seasons end.Fantastic young blike who tains quite often with us.
Was suppoesed to be Bloke and Trains

Hmmmm, very interesting coming from you Morro, seeing as your entire club didn't purchase a single item from our canteen/bar when we played you a few weeks back. Now I know it's not complusory to buy anything, but I found your comment incredibly rich seeing as that happened.

Ur wrong mate i bought something so did the other player beside me.

Read my comment above.

Well if that's the case I apologize for the buying nothing part, that is what I was told and being a player I didn't have an eye on the canteeen/bar so was shocked when I heard it.

I do however recall none of your seniors hanging around for a beer after our game. Remember Morro saying it was due to cold showers (which we also had), but that doesn't explain the coaches or any supporters who were still around.

We (committee and coaches) are definitely trying to push for our players to stick around for a beer. From memory we did a good job at Marooka, Nambour, Ipswich, Calamvale and UQ but due to a few people driving and Suns game we didn't have a good showing at Beenleigh or Caboolture (except for a few).

Our Ressies will have a couple but it can be hard getting Seniors to stick back after a big day.

I know that if myself and/or Obama are on the bus it doesn't leave until we have had a beer with the opposition. It is a tradition that should not change.

Must say that Calamvale have the best food. Once you've had a Famous Leopard Burger nothing else will do! Ha ha

Well if that's the case I apologize for the buying nothing part, that is what I was told and being a player I didn't have an eye on the canteeen/bar so was shocked when I heard it.

I do however recall none of your seniors hanging around for a beer after our game. Remember Morro saying it was due to cold showers (which we also had), but that doesn't explain the coaches or any supporters who were still around.

Oi peanut you come on here all high and mighty, get shut down straight away and still try and have a crack.

Pull your head in.

If you can't provide upto scratch facilities don't whinge about something you know nothing about it. The whole coaching panel and several players stuck around that which was explained weeks ago.

Don't let the facts get in the way of a good story though.

Graham, alot of credit should go to Denis for his job in keeping the 18's going at Caboolture. The way he coached the kids in the past few years is a credit to himself and the club as it keeps the kids coming through. We here at Redcliffe have had about a dozen or so kids from the 18's now plying their trade in the seniors and reserves.

Also, I spoke to The captain of Ipswich ressies after our game recently and he pushed the youth poilcy within the club. I'm not too sure if they can win the flag as time on in finals may be a bit much though time will tell.

Morro, I had the a beer with Kernsy a little while ago and he had no intention of returning after last years GF. We had a pretty good discussion regarding dropping players back but he was adamant that wasn't the case. He is a bloke I have alot of time for and I nearly ended up there last year as I was also close to the coach (Maxy). I am glad I stayed put as it is an exciting time at the tigers with how our seniors are performing.

Morro in future get your facts right when accusing sides of dropping people back. Lets hope you muppets can scrape into the finals. I cant wait to see you fail in august again! I will be happy to have a beer after the game with you blokes. What is your policy? I seem to remember you blokes doing the sligh get away a few times?

So glad you could join us pies, someone had to drop the intellect on here quick smart.

Considering my source was players at your club I reckon my facts were fine. Its a shame you don't share your coach's ability to communicate reasonably.

Ps. Might pay to research your own clubs failings in finals before shooting your mouth off about the most consistently strong. club in our league for the last 5-6 years and have won 2 flags in 3 years. You hang in there though little one.

u fairy listen to u just like u guys have failed the last few years ? what happend on the weekend member ur post few weeks bak. bit embarrasing

Graham, alot of credit should go to Denis for his job in keeping the 18's going at Caboolture. The way he coached the kids in the past few years is a credit to himself and the club as it keeps the kids coming through. We here at Redcliffe have had about a dozen or so kids from the 18's now plying their trade in the seniors and reserves.

Also, I spoke to The captain of Ipswich ressies after our game recently and he pushed the youth poilcy within the club. I'm not too sure if they can win the flag as time on in finals may be a bit much though time will tell.

Morro, I had the a beer with Kernsy a little while ago and he had no intention of returning after last years GF. We had a pretty good discussion regarding dropping players back but he was adamant that wasn't the case. He is a bloke I have alot of time for and I nearly ended up there last year as I was also close to the coach (Maxy). I am glad I stayed put as it is an exciting time at the tigers with how our seniors are performing.

Good to hear the youth development is strong up North. We are hoping to have 18s back next couple of years with 16s coming through. We had a side last year but numbers were hard to come by with so many others clubs about.

Now we are hoping for our young guys will come through and we'll have u6 through Seniors.

Read my comment above.

Mate ur a goose.. If ya gonna carrying on about opposition not sticking around or purchasing food make sure u hav actual food in the canteen. Somehow I think the potato chips an killer pythons was not satisfactory enough for most at the game given that up to the start of the snrs that's all there was to eat.. Can't speak for after the game as I didn't waste my time goin back

Just like we failed on Saturday idiot.. Keep the comments coming mate coz so far u hav only b shown how much of a tool u really r.. Let's hope u muppets actually string a together a win against the top teams without ya big full frwd.. 3 loses in a row against teams in the top 5 ouch..that's gotta shake things up abit

Gees i got 3 big fish on that post. Just reeling them in hahaha

Mate ur a goose.. If ya gonna carrying on about opposition not sticking around or purchasing food make sure u hav actual food in the canteen. Somehow I think the potato chips an killer pythons was not satisfactory enough for most at the game given that up to the start of the snrs that's all there was to eat.. Can't speak for after the game as I didn't waste my time goin back

Could be worse, you could have clubs complaining about the lack of Jim Beam! :O