2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Impressive for any club at this time of year. :thumbsu:

Big Tim Tam Pearson (He loves that name) is the Big White Hope! He will be good for you guys.
Haha, I'll remember that. We managed 43 last week which was also nice to see. It'll be interesting to see how many are there tomorrow.

Latest rumour has:

Out: Nambour, Redcliffe and Caboolture
In: Pine Rivers, Carrara and Coolangatta

Think Nambour will go up as will Caloundra to div 2 (Russell Evans apparently coach, not sure he would coach there unless in Div 2). Not sure about the others but that is a BIG drop for Coolie if true Swoopa

Yeah I know. They have wallowed towards the bottom for several years now. I'd like to suggest it was after my departure that it all fell apart. Alas we were on that way in my days too.

My sources tell me that there is division in the club about dropping so this is slowing down a decision. In my opinion if they are in Div 3 they will be fairly strong as I have been informed that they are fairly cashed up.

Sucks for those of us who don't pay players but good for the division I guess.

Carrara seem to be spruiking their chances a little which if true would also be good for the division and Gold Coast footy.

Me, I'm dreading the preseason ahead as the good intentions of fitness have made way for my frosty friend and copious amounts of ass sitting.

Me, I'm dreading the preseason ahead as the good intentions of fitness have made way for my frosty friend and copious amounts of arse sitting.[/quote]

I know the feeling. I have driven past our home ground on a daily basis and I always think to myself it is time to start. Now my bike is out of action I will either retire (75%) chance or turn up, throw up and try to get a kick again (25%).

Yeah my home gym has become quite the useful clothes hanger thus far since the season ended. My running shoes have had a couple of laps of a golf course but that's about it!

So are the changes to the competition official yet? Spoken to a couple of Div 3 coaches regarding playing and they couldn't give me a definitive answer

Surely some of the Sunshine Coast lads will have some ideas? Also wherefore art thou Neutral Observer? Such a knowledged man will be up to date!

My word is Nambour up Div 2 as well as Caloundra. No idea about anyone else but it would not surprise to see Caboolture head up as well. They could be a super club if they kept the young fellas that are head hunted by Nth Brisbane PHC and NEAFL clubs.

Originally, the League was going to make an announcement across all grades two weeks ago - but they've delayed that until this Friday to make sure everything is in order.

Not 100% what will be announced - but it sounds like the following might be happening (some of this is based on hearsay):
* University from Div 2 up to Div 1
* Nambour, Caboolture, Redcliffe, & Caloundra up to Div 2
* Some new teams in Div 3 including Pine Rivers, Carrara (anyone else?)
* Zillmere to bring a team into Div 4 (?)

The Coolangatta rumour above was a surprise - so no idea what is happening there.
Looking forward to seeing the League's announcement tomorrow. Can't wait to start seeing some draft fixtures prepared. There will be some awkward weekends with the Lions playing 3 Saturday afternoon games, & the Suns with 4 Saturday afternoon games.

Think there may be a slow transistion for the governing body to begin creating a "north" and "south" competition for Div 2 and 3 if all of what you suggest toucan is correct. Not a dumb idea at all IMO for the levels below PHC Div 1 IMO. Think the term "divisions" will be removed in due course and it will be a "north", "south" situation not unlike div 4. I reckon Nambour for instance would be more than happy to have Redcliffe, Caloundra and Caboolture in their division for travel purposes. The same as dropping Coolie to div 3 makes sense if the AFLQ are looking at this division as being a south division. Thats just my thoughts anyway on what the general move seems to be..

I can't see the Div 2 clubs and players being too impressed with 4 Northsides teams possibly being given the Nod. Looks like it could be a Long Drive for the Robina,Nambour and Caloundra Boys. Maybe the league could look at playing Gold Coast Home games at Wynnum/Springwood against Sunshine Coast teams and maybe Home games at Zillmere/Caboolture for Sunshine Coast teams v Gold Coast Teams. Or at least set up a North and South League.

Yeah agree Sherrin but this is my point I reckon - Robina, Coolie, Coomera, etc really should be in the same comp. The quality of the teams will not be compromised as there is no real reason for players to shift bn sides for "better standard" reasons except if they want to move to PHC. Just think this all makes sense in the lower divisions where player payments aren't as forthcoming, more local derbies, hopefully greater spectator numbers, better revenue for clubs, better survival rate!! Some smarter ppl than me could probably put together 2 divisions from Div 2 and 3 and (some) 4 sides that would be a north / south situation. Doesn't really matter if the standard is 100% even (bc it isn't now anyway in either division). The x factor would be west sides I think like Ipswich as to where they would fit in.

I can't see the Div 2 clubs and players being too impressed with 4 Northsides teams possibly being given the Nod. Looks like it could be a Long Drive for the Robina,Nambour and Caloundra Boys. Maybe the league could look at playing Gold Coast Home games at Wynnum/Springwood against Sunshine Coast teams and maybe Home games at Zillmere/Caboolture for Sunshine Coast teams v Gold Coast Teams. Or at least set up a North and South League.
so how does it benifit clubs to play home fixtures at a third party club, great for wynnum/springwood and caboolture/zillmere but other than their support i think this is one of the dumbest ideas i have heard. clubs want a level level competition, and pay the aflq good money to work it out so each club has a fair share of home and away games and a chance to win. if anything is being planned that will alter the makeup of the divisions as drastically as some are talking i am sure clubs would know about it by now. if i was a conspiracy theorist i would be thinking, is the sacking of Dougie related to this isssue, he was the division planner and coordinator?? hmmmm.

also , if people think coolie arent going to thump div 3 sides (if they do drop that far down) then they believe in the tooth fairy. the league has a desire for even numbers in the higher comps and wont have that if UQ go up and Coolie drop. maybe something else is in the wind. Springwood/Everton seniors, sorry Mayne.

No way will there be North/South Divs. Whats the big deal driving an hour and a bit on a Saturday? As long as the teams in Div 3 are of Div 3 standard, Div 2 of Div 2 etc, thats what the league should be aiming at. Great games from sides being of equal or similar ability. In a perfect world they would all be 15 minutes apart, but reality is you will never have a fair comp if you split into North/South.

so how does it benifit clubs to play home fixtures at a third party club, great for wynnum/springwood and caboolture/zillmere but other than their support i think this is one of the dumbest ideas i have heard. clubs want a level level competition, and pay the aflq good money to work it out so each club has a fair share of home and away games and a chance to win. if anything is being planned that will alter the makeup of the divisions as drastically as some are talking i am sure clubs would know about it by now. if i was a conspiracy theorist i would be thinking, is the sacking of Dougie related to this isssue, he was the division planner and coordinator?? hmmmm.

Improbabalywrong playing a home and away match at a Neutral venue has already happened this year and as well as last year in the State Association.

Few years back the AFLSQ gave a Home GRAND FINAL to a club that made the Grand Final. Do you think the AFLSQ gave a dam over a Level playing field for the Opposition team??

Could never see a game being played at a neutral venue because of "distance issues" though Sherrin - ground conditions, finals (completely different kettle of fish, GF venues are decided before the games are played..) for sure.

Do you think though IPW that Coolie would retain their current playing group IF they went down to Div 3?? Of course not. And in my mind it wouldn't be called "div 3" anyway but the south division playing against Robina, Beenleigh, Logan, etc

Look, I'm just throwing out hypotheticals and a sort of rationalisation of the thinking that might go on behind closed doors. Megaman - you may not mind driving 2hrs to play footy but alot of blokes do, especially if no money is changing hands. In the lower divisions I imagine there is not alot of $$ being thrown around generally (stand corrected). I think it is logical to have sides relatively close geographically to be playing each other as often as possible for everyones sake - players, staff, supporters. Not sure anyone could say that Div 3 this year was an "even" comp anyway. Had a distinct top half and bottom half. Not sure about Div 2? Its just an opinion but I would suggest that the north/south idea is being stongly debated at admin level bc it would encourage / keep more people in the game generally.

No way will there be North/South Divs. Whats the big deal driving an hour and a bit on a Saturday? As long as the teams in Div 3 are of Div 3 standard, Div 2 of Div 2 etc, thats what the league should be aiming at. Great games from sides being of equal or similar ability. In a perfect world they would all be 15 minutes apart, but reality is you will never have a fair comp if you split into North/South.

They aren't though..

Could never see a game being played at a neutral venue because of "distance issues" though Sherrin - ground conditions, finals (completely different kettle of fish, GF venues are decided before the games are played..) for sure.

Do you think though IPW that Coolie would retain their current playing group IF they went down to Div 3?? Of course not. And in my mind it wouldn't be called "div 3" anyway but the south division playing against Robina, Beenleigh, Logan, etc

Look, I'm just throwing out hypotheticals and a sort of rationalisation of the thinking that might go on behind closed doors. Megaman - you may not mind driving 2hrs to play footy but alot of blokes do, especially if no money is changing hands. In the lower divisions I imagine there is not alot of $$ being thrown around generally (stand corrected). I think it is logical to have sides relatively close geographically to be playing each other as often as possible for everyones sake - players, staff, supporters. Not sure anyone could say that Div 3 this year was an "even" comp anyway. Had a distinct top half and bottom half. Not sure about Div 2? Its just an opinion but I would suggest that the north/south idea is being stongly debated at admin level bc it would encourage / keep more people in the game generally.

if the AFLQ/ AFLSEQ or what ever acronym they use this year was really interested in continuing particpation levels based on travel, it would start at youth levels, if we expect our kids to travel to play in games where enjoyment and a chance to compete against teams of roughly the same skill level keeps them in the game, why not for us that are already converted. There are dominant clubs in every district, some with strong juniors some without the ability to attract large sponsors, all differenet. Surely, one or three, two hour tips up the road a year is hardly worth trying to re-invent the wheel for. If participation levels are a concern then i suggest the league looks deeper

Improbabalywrong playing a home and away match at a Neutral venue has already happened this year and as well as last year in the State Association.

Few years back the AFLSQ gave a Home GRAND FINAL to a club that made the Grand Final. Do you think the AFLSQ gave a dam over a Level playing field for the Opposition team??

mate the league has clubs without a home ground playing at nuetral venues all the time, doesnt mean that clubs that rely on bar talkings and canteen sales etc. should give up their right because of an extra hours travel, get a bus organised. the AFLSQ should give a dam and clubs should tell them to give a dam.