2013 SEQAFL Division 3

I like the sound of a northside div and southside div. Bar a few teams, we basically have that this year.

Every comp has weak and strong teams, always going to be the way.

I heard SUNS, LIONS ,NT plus 1 team from Gold Coast, 2 teams from Brisbane and 1 from North Qld possibly Cairns to join Sydney and Canberra teams in one comp no more nth and sth

I Like the idea of promotion/relegation - one idea discussed last year was the possibility of a play off game from those in the relegation/promotion positions. For instance on current ladders Wynnum would play say Coomera if they win the flag. The winner to go to div 2 the loser to div 3. This means you need to beat the lowest team in the division above to have a chance of moving up.

With four sides coming down from NEAFL you would imagine they would have to play at the top level of the AFLQ. Not sure if it is as simple as dropping the bottom four sides down a division though. Perhaps there needs to be a tender process for spots in each division. 35 sides into how many divisions? you could do 12 in div 1 12 in div 2 and 11 in div 3 and perhaps have a div 4 side try and get the numbers to come up and have 12 sides there as well.

So many possabilities I am glad we have the chance now though to discuss it and give feedback to the AFL. We as the general AFLQ public need to use this oppurtunity to have our say.

I think we need 4 divs of preferebly 10 teams. With current div 4 to make up the numbers. Maybe have the old system where some current div 4 clubs play seniors and others reserves in the new div 4.

This would be good on a few fronts. 10 team comps are good becuase you play 18 games and each team plays twice. And the current div four has teams like Zilmere and Woodsmen, who could easily play seniors dominating in a lower comp able to step up. And other develeping clubs like Collingwood Park who could play in reserves, able to play at a lower level to give them a chance.

I Like the idea of promotion/relegation - one idea discussed last year was the possibility of a play off game from those in the relegation/promotion positions. For instance on current ladders Wynnum would play say Coomera if they win the flag. The winner to go to div 2 the loser to div 3. This means you need to beat the lowest team in the division above to have a chance of moving up.
Sounds good in theory but when do you play this game? After the Div 3 grand final? So you'll have a team of blokes pissed for a week after celebrating a flag playing a bottom side who hasn't played for four weeks? It's not really workable unless you don't have finals, and who's going to want to play Div 3 footy without the chance of a grand final?

you make a good point Lenny - It is a tough decision to be made though - clubs I think for too long have dictated where they want to play by who knows who. I think there just needs to be a deffinative process in place. i.e grand finalists go up and bottom two come down or every three years the form side goes up and the weakest side down. not sure how you would work that maybe based on premiershippoints over three years. Lots of discussion ahead anyways and I look forward to hearing everyones theories. This affects the whole league as well not just division three.

I just hope the div 3 clubs get the chance to stay in a competetive fairly even comp. in other words we dont want to have to play a Morningside with our community team and get trounced.

A lot of these plans spell one thing to me:

"Early Retirement" :confused:

(some would argue that it is more late than early though)

Below list of clubs have nominated for finals hosting:

Palm Beach Currumbin
Western Magpies
Springwood
Coolangatta Tweed
Yeronga
Coorparoo
Wynnum
Caloundra
Robina
Pine Rivers
Pomona
Glasshouse Hinterland
Collingwood Park
Ballina
Byron

Palm Beach Currumbin
Western Magpies
Springwood
Coolangatta Tweed
Yeronga
Coorparoo
Wynnum
Caloundra
Robina
Pine Rivers
Pomona
Glasshouse Hinterland
Collingwood Park
Ballina
Byron

So probably Pine Rivers host 3 v 4. What would be the best place for Coomera v Beenleigh?

Pomona it will be based on your record this year Swoopa.
What do you mean mate?

I meant a club had to nominate and pay for a specific level of final. So for example Coolangatta may have nominated to host Div 2 or Div 1 only, while Pomona may have only nominated and paid for a Div 4 Grand Final.

Either way, finals are near!

What do you mean mate?

I meant a club had to nominate and pay for a specific level of final. So for example Coolangatta may have nominated to host Div 2 or Div 1 only, while Pomona may have only nominated and paid for a Div 4 Grand Final.

Either way, finals are near!

Think it was a gag in relation to your season of misadventure (travelling to caboolture etc)

Palm Beach Currumbin
Western Magpies
Springwood
Coolangatta Tweed
Yeronga
Coorparoo
Wynnum
Caloundra
Robina
Pine Rivers
Pomona
Glasshouse Hinterland
Collingwood Park
Ballina
Byron

For travel purposes Swoop I hope that we get Springwood but I do enjoy finals at Wynnum who in the past has hosted many div 3 prelim finals. In fact the last senior premiership from Beenleigh in 09 was won there. I couldn't see Zillmere listed does that mean the grand final will not be played there this year?

So probably Pine Rivers host 3 v 4. What would be the best place for Coomera v Beenleigh?

Springwood would be a great neutral venue assuming there are no closer options for Coomera who deserve to have a venue better suited to them after finishing on top. It would be a pain in the ass for both teams having to travel to Brisbane somewhere when closer venues are available.

Springwood would be a great neutral venue assuming there are no closer options for Coomera who deserve to have a venue better suited to them after finishing on top. It would be a pain in the arse for both teams having to travel to Brisbane somewhere when closer venues are available.

I think springwood is the fairest option but this will also fall into the category of common sense, I wont hold my breath.....
It's disappointing to see that only one div 3 club can see value in hosting a final. I hope this is one area that aflq correct next year. the price tag they put on to host is way to high for any club to make the day profitable (grand final being the exception) especially when you have the cost of fencing security etc to go on top. I have to question if they really need to make more money from us?

Springwood would be a great neutral venue assuming there are no closer options for Coomera who deserve to have a venue better suited to them after finishing on top. It would be a pain in the arse for both teams having to travel to Brisbane somewhere when closer venues are available.
Agree with that 100%. Guess we just wait and see hey?!

Hate to be the bearer of bad news but......

Springwood playing at home 10 aug which would be week 1 div 3 finals.

Wynnum are suppose to play robina at robina that week so that ground is available.

Of above list magpies play at home but yeronga kings Pbc and cooly are all away.

Be interesting to see where game ends up - possibly even a Sunday game heaven forbid!!

My money is on a Sunday game. AFLQ have been spruiking the fact finals could be on a Sunday since midyear and with most teams still playing during week 1 I would say volunteers to run a final would be slim if on a Saturday.

This is going to create headaches I am sure. Home finals for top teams would make a lot of sense, but no money (for AFLQ that is).

Yeah I'm pretty sure there is precedence around a Sunday final - tough gig finish on top, can't host final, play Sunday and if lose potentially have a 6 day turn around for a prelim!!

I'd think the 2 grounds at yeronga might b an option - I mean being aflq headquarters surely there's a sweetener there somewhere for them to be held there!

We were really disappointed to not be able to host a final. The AFLQ checklist basically ruled us out with so many volunteers involved in playing it was near impossible to think we could run a day. Partner that with clubrooms only 75% complete and we just couldn't see ourselves "passing". Council owned grounds adds to the difficulty of course.

It would be nice to think that the first round at least could be standard before the "qualification" process came into it, but hey I'm just a football romantic I guess.

As quite the religious club we have our boys attending mass on Sundays so we really hope for a Saturday game! :rolleyes:

I think springwood is the fairest option but this will also fall into the category of common sense, I wont hold my breath.....
It's disappointing to see that only one div 3 club can see value in hosting a final. I hope this is one area that aflq correct next year. the price tag they put on to host is way to high for any club to make the day profitable (grand final being the exception) especially when you have the cost of fencing security etc to go on top. I have to question if they really need to make more money from us?

How else are they going to fund the NEAFL

2013 SEQAFL Division 3