List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Trade FA Megathread

I wouldn't be totally against taking him as a rookie. But that'd depend on what we do in the National Draft.
We're not a side blessed with players that have break away speed. In saying that, I'd say he'll probably be completely over looked if he can't hold down a spot in a team crying out for blokes who can impact the game offensively.

Rivers, & Jamie Bennell, are a couple of players playing consistent AFL footy since departing the Dees..
He's got some talent & some tools that we're sorely lacking in, & that's pace..
Going to cost zip, & if he's proven he can play at senior level..
We've got Richo, Huddo, & soon Bevo etc taking care of the development of our young contracted stars coming through..
If Blease is fair dinkum & Richo can work his magic, Blease's run alter's the dynamics of our current side significantly..
If we could just find another Aussie Jones clone..

Rumors going around that Dangerfield could walk.

Lets open up that free agency checkbook

Sanderson sacked

Perhaps there is something to those FB rumours of Dangerfield and pick 9 to Melbourne for Toumpas and picks 2 and 3?

If Danger has made it clear he wants out then it would make sense to trade him now and get that sort of return, rather than risk him walking through FA next year and getting a fraction of that as compensation. Picks 2, 3 and Toumpas could help set them up for years to come.

Rivers, & Jamie Bennell, are a couple of players playing consistent AFL footy since departing the Dees..
He's got some talent & some tools that we're sorely lacking in, & that's pace..
Going to cost zip, & if he's proven he can play at senior level..
We've got Richo, Huddo, & soon Bevo etc taking care of the development of our young contracted stars coming through..
If Blease is fair dinkum & Richo can work his magic, Blease's run alter's the dynamics of our current side significantly..
If we could just find another Aussie Jones clone..

Sanderson sacked

Pretty much my thoughts also, although Bennel and Rivers probably played a bit more senior footy than Blease. I'm not saying we will, but picking up someone with his pace who can hit the scoreboard would make sense. Especially given he fits our age profile.

The thing is, a trade like that really benefits neither side. It's like for like. It's common knowledge you're in need of KPPs, and Vickery is a much better player than he gets credit for. He's not rated well in large part because he's a big flog with a stupid haircut. Also common knowledge is we lack midfield depth, in particular speed, which Steven is perfect for. I rate him pretty highly btw but he's not a bonafide A grade player or anything (yet).

Like I said on the Richmond board I'm probably quite clearly biased, but a trade involving Vickery, Steven and draft picks (in your favour) would be win-win IMO

So yes I'm serious!
Did you catch a look at Steven last year? He's an A grader, held back by injury this year.

No no no.... We need Waite to go to Fremantle, cos if you listen to Freo supporters, apparently Ross has learnt his lesson on recruiting recycled blokes.... :D

Waite would be not a bad idea for freo, if they go down the recycled path. He gets injured a bit doesn't he.

.....We already have a figjam in the rucks, with Hickey + Longer, with Holmes and Pierce both being very highly rated in their performances in the VFL......
Wouldn't say our rucks are up themselves. In fact they seem pretty team-oriented and down to earth.
I think you mean we have a logjam in the ruck department.
A much sweeter problem to have.:)

OK I hardly ever post here... I pretty much come here hoping to see an actual trade rumour or story. Clearly I waste alot of time reading as there is 100s of pages of hypotheticals (mostly shocking ones) but I still normally enjoy some of the stuff I see. Anyways let me get to my point... Im amazed that my StKilda comrads would actually entertain/ embrace a Jack Steven trade. He's been a shinning light in a poorly performing rebuilding side and im amazed that you guys cannot see how much he will excell in a good side. We are ment to be stock piling young talent not trading it for another gamble at the draft (before you jump on me I know we need all the picks we can get) but why would we trade a proven gun with crazy potential for another risk? Luckily Pelican isnt stupid enough to do this and im going to safely assume that other clubs wouldnt even think to offer as they could not believe we are that stupid. Just to clear it up obviously there is a handful of players you would trade Steven for but other clubs wont offer those players in a trade for him. Remember our club moto guys... good day

Would you have said the same about McEvoy last year? Obviously Steven is a more important and better player but with that would come a better deal. I'm quite happy to keep him, but if a fantastic offer came our way we'd be stupid to not consider it.

I think the difference is that we could cover the McEvoy loss with Hickey and Pierce, and then Longer and Holmes as it turned out. I don't see any other top notch mids that can run clear through packs in our ranks. We looked slow this season without any real pacy mids.

You're right that we should entertain deals, but as has been said before it would need to in "an offer we can't refuse" territory which I don't see happening when looking at the teams that have the cattle/picks that could pull that kind of deal off. For example Melbourne aren't going to trade picks 2 and 3 for steven and one of our lower draft picks (which is the kind of "can't refuse" territory I'm thinking). Picks in exchange for Steven is a bit shaky anyway given you'd be trading desperately needed proven talent with prospective talent. The only way I see it happening is some sort of deal involving Dangerfield if he really wanted to leave Adelaide, but it would have to be more than just Dangerfield in my mind given we'd just be swapping an young 'elite' mid for a different young 'elite' mid, which I don't see the motivation for.

I don't think anyone's saying we should be actively looking for a trade, but that, if one came up which was well worth our while, we would be stupid not to consider it. The club can't afford to label anyone 'un-tradeable', and we would be negligent to do so. No matter how talented they are.

Obviously there's a difference between throwing up hypotheticals on a forum and actually being in the position to make a trade. We have gone through a number of situations in this thread, sometimes purely to get a discussion going more than anything else. It's unlikely Steven will be traded, but it's certainly possible and entertaining (to some) to discuss the potential deals. No harm done.

Danger for #1? What if they throw in their first rounder? second rounder?
The whole FA thing really complicates it. If he's happy to come here via trade then you'd have to assume he'd be happy to come here via FA right? I guess the only thing is if a bidding war is sparked, then we'd have no choice but to pony up pick 1.

Indeed. And a lot can happen in a year. What if by the time he's available via FA, he's suddenly fallen in love with their new coach, etc?

Adelaide have pick 9. Knightmare has them taking Pickett with that. BUT Lachie Weller would still be available probably by then. That'd mean that for pick #1, we could get Dangerfield AND Weller.

I could be happy with that.

Adelaide have pick 9. Knightmare has them taking Pickett with that. BUT Lachie Weller would still be available probably by then. That'd mean that for pick #1, we could get Dangerfield AND Weller.

I could be happy with that.
857040-0c78ab98-9bac-11e3-9a97-2ed07c1403ff.jpg

64259_7622a27149d5572a98e1802cdef82ccb.jpg

2980950_1_L.jpg

:D

On ball;

RK: Hickey - Dunstan - Weller
CR: Montagna - Steven - Dangerfield

:eek: