List Mgmt. 2014 Draft Watch Thread

Anyone think we will trade one of our first rounders for a mature gun to strengthen a area of our game?

No. We have no need for that nor would we want to place unnecessary strain on our salary cap. The only area I would feel comfortable with us doing that would be for a consistent small defender. Someone like Jarryn Geary. Even still, not much point when Lemmens is doing just fine. Go to the draft.

I think we will look at Weller, Pickett and Smith but I would like to target tall endurance machine who has a weapon of a kick ala Isaac Smith or KK mk2. just to adapt to ports running/high kicking efficiency game as I see them as our number one threat over the next 5 years.

Just posted this thread on the main board.

But i'm curious tho think what SUNS fans think. If you found out that someone snubbed our club would you be angry. Or grateful?

Would we have preferred Caddy was up front from the start (if he knew he did not want to be here)

It's just come to light, not to much surprise I might add, that Chad Wingard all but refused to play at GWS.

Although stopping short of telling them he 'Would not' play for the Giants, he basically stated that if the Giants drafted him they would regret it.

"I was pretty honest in how I was feeling,"

"They're trying to build a team from nothing and if I lied to them and said 'yeah I want to be here and I'm going to be here for your future', they're putting all their chips on me [only] to find I want to go home in two years.

"They're pretty much going to lose me for nothing.

"So I think that because I was so honest, they still got to pick someone else who wanted to be there and they didn't get nothing for their pick three, four or five which was what they would have had [me at]."

What do you think. Did Chad do the right thing in telling GWS his feelings. Does this compromise the draft and set standards for the future. How often does it happen, especially with high end picks?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-05-15/chads-giant-refusal

I have no problem with what Wingard said. Saves the club and person a lot of hassle.

Being a bit harsh on Caddy IMO. For all we know he did want to stick around for the long haul. Remember he had that pretty serious foot injury which kept him pretty much on his own in that first year. So while all of our 2010 draftees were bonding and playing games together, Caddy was in the sheds on his own doing rehab. For nearly 11 months. Can't blame him for getting lonely there and eventually wanting to seek a trade to go home. And he did make it easy for us to get a deal done.

This guy starting to interest me, should he slip to our pick... we need another small defender IMO.

#7 Carlton – Liam Duggan (VIC – Def/Mid)
Height: 183cm, Weight: 76kg, DOB: 11/12/1996
Recruited from: Western Jets
Style:
Player comparison: Luke McDonald
Range: 3-15
Profile: Duggan is a classy player who can play both through the midfield and off a back flank to a high standard. He’s showing this year that he can win his own ball and is also a very lively tackler through the midfield. He has some real pace but his real point of difference is his footskills. With ball in hand Duggan is all class using it well on his left foot, doing damage and seeming to have more time than most to deliver choosing the right options up the field and then making the right decision. He hits targets both over short and long distances so you want the ball in his hands. He also has an above average burst of speed and some linebreaking ability. Duggan has excellent ability down back to read the ball in the air and take the intercept mark. As a December birthday and with his strong continued development there is lots of improvement left.

No. We have no need for that nor would we want to place unnecessary strain on our salary cap. The only area I would feel comfortable with us doing that would be for a consistent small defender. Someone like Jarryn Geary. Even still, not much point when Lemmens is doing just fine. Go to the draft.
Would you guys look at trading up in the draft?

For example, our first pick (eg pick 5) for your first pick + Geelong's compensation pick (eg picks picks 13 and 15)? I presume that for you guys it's quality over quantity, so I was thinking that would suit both teams.

Would you guys look at trading up in the draft?

For example, our first pick (eg pick 5) for your first pick + Geelong's compensation pick (eg picks picks 13 and 15)? I presume that for you guys it's quality over quantity, so I was thinking that would suit both teams.

Don't think there is a huge pressing need on our list for us to trade up.

By the way, the draft would be 20 times more exciting if teams were allowed to trade on the day of the draft, and if future picks were allowed to be traded.

Yeah seems unlikely that we would trade up I would have thought. We are lacking some depth in some key areas as seen by our 2s side. I would have thought it's best to replenish those stocks as best we can with more first round talent.

If Josh Caddy had been upfront and said similar at the SUNS and we overlooked him at pick 7 - The next player in the draft was a kid by the name of Dyson Heppell.

Makes me very angry

Agree, we could of saved ourself picking a sook AND we could of saved Dyson from all those injections

See the bombers SHOOT UP, up to win the premiership flag

still think we need a classy lead up forward, and since the Cannon is a poor defender and now offering little from the rebound I think we may look to another HBF. How is Tape progressing anyone? Better defender than McKenzie but doesn't have the ability to wreak havoc on opposition zones like the Cannon used to be able to do.

Spot on SM. I agree McKenzie has lost most of his x-factor being stuck in the back pocket. He now seems our designated kick out guy which is kinda handy but also a waste at the same time. Would love to see him back up on the wing providing run, linkage and most of all goals from outside 50 bypassing opposition back lines. Tape back in the 22 would allow Trent to move up the ground, but Tape is so 1 dimensional. Provides very little run, unless he has changed his game in the off season?

In need of a gun medium sized forward elite marking
In need of more marks in and around forward 50
The marks will come when the midfield builds.

We have a few good medium forward marks. They are just injured or rookies at the moment.

Paige cardona has a mid year phantom draft having the suns at pick 10 lachie weller and pick 16 compo from geelong Corey Ellis
Not sure we really need to many more pure midfielders.. Considering prestia martin omeara swallow lonergan all have 10 years ahead of them..
I'm think more quick mid sized goal attacking players like chad wingard or even Aaron hall Type mould. Just more defensive pressure and a better kick then him of cause.
To have a look head here
http://boundforglorynews.com/paige-cardonas-phantom-draft-1-0/

I would be stoked if we got Lachie. Can never have enough mids, especially ones with his footskills.

In need of a gun medium sized forward elite marking
In need of more marks in and around forward 50

I reckon if he meets the Scott Clayton's tick of approval we should look to pick up this guy with one of our first round picks. He looks like he is a unique type of player who is naturally strong, great contested mark who is developing his tank to be able to rotate into the midfield as big bodied inside midfielder, all attributes which are complimentary to our classy midfield and tall KPFs.

Knightmare's mock draft reckons he could go to us with the Geelong Compo Pick:

#12 Gold Coast (Via Compensation Pick from Geelong) – Christian Petracca (VIC – Fwd/Mid)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 92kg, DOB: 04/01/1996
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges
Style:
Player comparison: Stewart Crameri (less athletic)
Range: 5-30
Profile: Strong unit who is a real physically imposing marking presence up forward. Despite his limited height for his type he plays like a real key position player and just outbodies anyone in the TAC and also outmarks them thanks not only to that extra size on his frame but also his superior marking ability and ability to read the drop of the ball. At this level he hits the scoreboard like few others can with the way he takes over games and is just a manchild. Petracca also has the ability to play not only the deep forward role which he does so well but he can also play up the field both on a forward flank and on the ball so he does give you options. On the ball is where Petracca’s improvement has come this year as a guy who can win his own ball inside and be a monster around the stoppages but then also has shown that he has the smarts to find the time and space on the outside and find the uncontested ball which has been pleasing. To start his career I expect Petracca to play mostly forward whether that be deep or higher up the field but with time I expect Petracca to become more a rotational midfielder who splits his minutes between playing forward and on the ball.

Here is a recent article on him that has Mark Neeld (not the greatest advocate on football talent I know) comparing him to a Stevie J / Chappy type, and he compares himself to an Ollie Wines (might have him and Jessie Lonergan covered on the size of his legs looking at the photo) / Dusty Martin:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/...-away-basketball/story-fngnvmqa-1226938898654

I reckon if he meets the Scott Clayton's tick of approval we should look to pick up this guy with one of our first round picks. He looks like he is a unique type of player who is naturally strong, great contested mark who is developing his tank to be able to rotate into the midfield as big bodied inside midfielder, all attributes which are complimentary to our classy midfield and tall KPFs.

Knightmare's mock draft reckons he could go to us with the Geelong Compo Pick:

#12 Gold Coast (Via Compensation Pick from Geelong) – Christian Petracca (VIC – Fwd/Mid)
Height: 186cm, Weight: 92kg, DOB: 04/01/1996
Recruited from: Eastern Ranges
Style:
Player comparison: Stewart Crameri (less athletic)
Range: 5-30
Profile: Strong unit who is a real physically imposing marking presence up forward. Despite his limited height for his type he plays like a real key position player and just outbodies anyone in the TAC and also outmarks them thanks not only to that extra size on his frame but also his superior marking ability and ability to read the drop of the ball. At this level he hits the scoreboard like few others can with the way he takes over games and is just a manchild. Petracca also has the ability to play not only the deep forward role which he does so well but he can also play up the field both on a forward flank and on the ball so he does give you options. On the ball is where Petracca’s improvement has come this year as a guy who can win his own ball inside and be a monster around the stoppages but then also has shown that he has the smarts to find the time and space on the outside and find the uncontested ball which has been pleasing. To start his career I expect Petracca to play mostly forward whether that be deep or higher up the field but with time I expect Petracca to become more a rotational midfielder who splits his minutes between playing forward and on the ball.

Here is a recent article on him that has Mark Neeld (not the greatest advocate on football talent I know) comparing him to a Stevie J / Chappy type, and he compares himself to an Ollie Wines (might have him and Jessie Lonergan covered on the size of his legs looking at the photo) / Dusty Martin:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/...-away-basketball/story-fngnvmqa-1226938898654

Have my eye on him. Not really sure how I feel about him still but he is interesting.

5% chance we'll get him. Not the Clayton pick at all. You could argue that Jesse isn't the Clayton pick at all, but we were really screaming out for an inside player like Jesse, forcing Clayton's hand. This guy looks like an inside ball winner at AFL level, of which we have a fair few already. Pass for mine.

Yeah definitely not the type Clayton usually goes for.

Clem Smith also really excites me (not in a Bruce Mcavaney homoerotic way) but we probably won't have a pick low enough to grab him if we take Lachie. If he is available at our first and Lachie isn't though then we should go for it.

#14 North Melbourne – Clem Smith (WA - Util)
Height:177cm, Weight: 74kg, DOB: 03/02/1996
Recruited from: Perth
Style: Byron Pickett
Player comparison:
Range: 10-30
Profile: Clem Smith is as hard as you’ll find and has electric pace making him a big time weapon and someone with a really unique game. He’s not a big guy and not tall but he has a real presence with the way he hits guys, bumps, tackles and hits the contests harder than anyone else on the field at any time. He can do the undisciplined and sometimes goes over the line but he’s got some real fight to him and you love to see that old fashion footballer, particularly when they have some special footballing talent to go with that. The other real point of difference with Smith is the way he takes on the game. He has excellent pace and can break the lines. He’ll need to iron out his footskills but he’s got some talent and is someone you notice out on the field with the hardness he plays with.

Im liking you fellas thinking on smaller players. I rate good skills ahead of height with todays style of footy. If the game changes to 'slower, and bombing it long' id go for tall guys. But right now, skills and speed.