Keeper Lg. 2014 List Management Thread.

Trade alert

Backtoback receives pick 8

Sparrows receives pick 11, Sam Naismith, Tom Sheridan

Drew23

Well done Jordie_tackles , you can't go wrong there.

It will be interesting to see how Sheridan goes - will he be leap-frogged by Weller and Blakely, or will he continue his steady development and win more game time? With you having Pyke, Naismith is a great investment, and I bet that he player you were targeting at Pick 8 is still available at Pick 11:p

Well done Jordie_tackles , you can't go wrong there.

It will be interesting to see how Sheridan goes - will he be leap-frogged by Weller and Blakely, or will he continue his steady development and win more game time? With you having Pyke, Naismith is a great investment, and I bet that he player you were targeting at Pick 8 is still available at Pick 11:p
I think pick 8 is interesting, if I didn't have 7 then it would have been harder but I can stretch my options a bit more now and Naismith is handy. Sheridan is interesting, maybe only has a year or two left in the system if he doesn't perform as players will pass him soon enough if he doesn't. Has potential.

Double trade announcement -

tenderwarrior gets - Jared Polec, Sam Grimley and pick 36

LWP gets - Alex Rance and pick 14

Then...

mrpez gets - Mitch Grigg, Keiran Harper and Pick 14

LWP gets - Picks 6 and 37.

Explanation:

Giving up Polec is a big call but Rance completes my backline rebuild. He is only 25 and I see him playing a Sam Fisher type career arc. He will be picking up close to 20 touches a game well into his 30's barring injury.

Grigg also has a heap of potential but is in a bundle with the likes of Kerridge, Lyons, Cameron, Matt Crouch, Knight etc for that mid/hff role.

Grimley and Harper were both going to be delisted so im ok with giving them up. Both have shown signs but both are well down the depth chart for their respective clubs.

With 36/37 being a wash, Grimley and Harper delisting options and pick 14 being handballed I have essentially traded Polec and Grigg for Rance and pick 6 which I think is a win on my end.

TW gets a top end mid and a ruck/forward, Pez gets a couple of risk v reward mid/fwds with a drop in the first round and I get a top pick and a locked in best 22 defender without giving up my 2nd or 3rd rounders.

Now I need to delist 3 players to use my picks. If anyone wants to make me an offer for a pick upgrade Ill give you until Monday to do so.

Ill discuss which 3 players im delisting in PMs only until then. Will seriously take any upgrade on pick 6, 23 or 37 if someone wants to pick up one of these guys cheap.

If not ill delist them Monday and prepare for the draft :)

I accept the trade above, though I think @LWP has done very well.

Looking at my line-up for 2015 I thought Rance might struggle to hold his place given the types of players I want to play in my back line. Rance has some massive games every year, but he also has games where he is a lock-down player and finished with 12 touches. There has been some chatter that he might be set loose a bit, so we will wait and see. with the likes of Macmillan, Mayes, Langdon, Thurlow, Sutcliffe and Gleeson being added to my backline, and McGovern and Savage also both becoming Back eligible, I should be able to cover the loss of Rance.

On the flip side, Polec has shown some real promise in his first year at Port, and if he can maintain his 2014 early season form for an extended period he will be one of my most important players going forward. His form dropped a bit late in the season, but after another Port pre-season I expect him to be much fitter this year, as he was reportedly underdone when he rocked up from Brisbane.

Grimley is a huge punt, but he was pretty much a freebie. He can kick a few goals, but is so far on the outer at Hawthorn it would takes several long-term injuries for him to get a game. Hopefully he has a great year in the VFL and can follow Lowden onto another AFL list in 2016. If he stinks it up this year, I have my first FA delisting sorted for later in the season :p

This leads into my final trade of the period..

Tutty receives: Guthrie, Young, Williams and Pick 54

Warriors receives: Gaff, Pick 43 and Pick 49

I know that I only traded Gaff to Tutty a few days ago, but as Rockford alluded to in a previous post, I have changed my strategy recently which meant Gaff became relevant again. I actually rate Guthrie the greater talent, but Gaff suits my strategy better. Being a Geelong supporter, I still get to enjoy Guthrie running around for the Cats, and hope like crazy that Gaff can improve his consistency. Gaff is rated above Guthrie as it stands though, so Tutty receives a few promising youngsters in Young and Williams as compensation, and also adding depth to his list.

Young and Williams I rated as two very promising players, and with Tutty already having Moore, Young suits him to a tee, as they seem to be at loggerheads to cement a spot in the Port line up. Williams was tipped by his former coach to have a break-out season in 2015, he is a class act.

Now it is time to plan for the draft. Last year I stunk it up with picking Frazer Thurlow at around Pick 32 and Mason Shaw at 38, leaving players on my radar like McDonough, Biggs and Langdon on the table. This year I hope to be a bit smarter with my three picks, 36, 43 and 49.

Now I am done trading, I will do a write up of all my additions this off-season - including the 3 draft picks, it will be 16 list changes in total :eek:

Just a heads up all -

The draft will be in about a month's time. Ultimate Footy usually opens in early Feb so I think a week or two after that will be the deadline for list management and then another week after that we will draft.

Need to make sure UC has a big enough window to update lists and draft order on their system.

Grima, mzungu, van berlo still on the table. Keen for some more talks. Also may need to delist a player or two so also may have something there. Cheers

Some words on the earlier trades with Tutty, L_W_P and Rockford

I have changed some of the pieces for what they ended up being, as some pieces were on-traded, or even traded back!

Smith, Hrovat and Mullett for Daniher, Thurlow and Sutcliffe
This started out as Rockford’s classic ‘just hypothetical’ bantering, and then it focused more on myself trading Smith for a chance to add some depth to my list – which I wasn't really interested in. Then Rockford mentioned ‘Daniher’. I had Daniher as the clear Number 1 pick in the 2012 draft, of which I had originally had the number one draft pick (I traded it away). As I watched him develop this year, I was starting to rue the choice to trade the chance to get him – He is only 20, and has so much potential it isn't funny. I was now all ears, aware of his potential. Smith is a very good player, a forward who can both kick goals and put out midfielder stats is very valuable to this format, and Smith is one of the best in the craft, even at a young age. We saw their value as similar, but we both knew that as good as Smith could be, Daniher’s potential, like his height, towers above.

Rockford knew that I held Hrovat in very high regard, but that I was willing to trade him, likewise Mullett. We both believe Thurlow has huge upside, and while Sutcliffe wasn't originally part of the trade, he essentially replaces Mullett’s spot on my list, and Russell’s spot in my squad. Sutcliffe should have a pretty safe future at Fremantle, with their aging backline. He also has potential to push further up the ground. He offers my squad some stability, as he should play every game bar injury.

Heppell, Guthrie, Young, Williams and Pick 50 for Ellis, Coniglio, Pick 23, Pick 43 and Pick 49
Initially this was to be part of a 3-way trade with Drew, where I traded something for Coniglio, but in the end it was to be a simple trade between myself and Tutty. For reasons already explained it worked out easier to include Rockford, who was more than happy to land Heppell. This trade essentially gave me peace of mind with the ASASDA investigation, as though I have other players in Carlisle and Bellchambers on my list, Heppell was by far the hardest for me to replace in my best 22 should he find himself suspended (highly unlikely, but..).

Ellis fits the type of player I am looking for, and Coniglio I think is ready to show why he was so highly rated in his draft year. The trade also allowed me to freshen up my list with some participation in the draft – I spend so much time studying the rookies, I may as well use that information to try and make my squad stronger!

Rance, Duryea, Johannisen, Pick 23 for Polec, Macmillan, Grimley and Pick 36
This combo of trades with LWP was the final piece in my trading puzzle. Polec suits to a tee what I am trying to do with my team, while landing Macmillan made it easier to pull the trigger on losing Rance. Grimley? Blah... with this trade LWP takes the total of WARRIOR backs traded for this off season to SIX!

All up I will have added 16 new players to my squad for the 2015 season. I am hoping that I have added some quality to my best 22, by my calculations I traded out 5 ‘best 22’ players and traded in 8 in their place, so I should be a little bit better depth wise. This year I am hoping to make it to the first week of the finals – if I make it to the second week, I will be ecstatic :D

I'm sitting in the departure lounge and am heading to a new rig. Just realised I won't be on the "wifi list" yet out there and while it shouldn't take them long to add me to it there is always a possibility that I don't end up with Internet for the next 28 days at all. Hopefully won't be the case but if I do go dark for the next month then everyone knows why :) if it does happen then I'll be looking forward to catching up on the rest of the trades.

No worries mate. I can do your draft picks for you if you are out of range.. It was Tom Logan who was the smokey you were picking up with Pick 13 wasn't it?

Cameron was one the fringe at my end, grimley on the fringe at tenders end, good trade imo. I get a ruck who is competing with Ceglar so adding some more coverage overall