2014 Potential Draftee and Trade Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter Pivo

Mitchell looked alright in the games I saw him play - but I had forgotten all about him as obviously he isn't getting time on TV not being in the senior side.

Maybe he would be a decent get but surely other clubs would consider making an offer.

If we finish say fifth and Frawley leaves Melb. (that would give them another top 10 pick) it would give us pick 16 and pick 34. So we would need offer pick 34 which would seem unlikely to get the job done. But worth a try.

If we got Frawley at a fair price and Mitchell and kept our first ND pick - now that would be a good outcome.

Dream on !

JD , not saying you did or didn't just commenting in general mate , I didn't put you offside. Having a look at the Swans board they have the vibe he is going nowhere. They think trading is a one way win opportunity I feel , and to be honest when was the last time lost in a trade?

Even Membury , other clubs should almost get him for R3 , he has done little to nothing.

Geelong have been linked to a few names so far and its only early. If for some reason he was offered around Id say Geelong would be very interested in seeing if they could get a deal done

Can I just throw up an idea. I saw something on Friday night that I liked, think we don't have and could be gettable.

His name Travis Colyer.

I have always liked him but he's only played 3 games this year and always seems to be on the periphery. What I really like is that he has breakaway speed and can find the ball. He could be a diamond in the rough. I am not sure we have someone like him. Yes we have some quick players like a Varcoe, Motlop and Murdoch. But Colyer is a bit smaller and is an in an under type who when he gets it goes. He could offer us something a bit different and I reckon could be got for not much.

I would rather have him on our list than Schroder, Stringer and Sheringham. Even Taylor Hunt for that matter. Those guys just seem to bring same old same old. We could get Colyer cheaply and really develop him into a better player.

I am sure I will be lambasted to think of a guy who cant even get a game at Essendon and people will be quick to point out his flaws but there are plenty of players with flaws who go to another club and improve and become a valuable addition to that team.

Anyhow I sometimes like to think outside the box and its good fodder for discussion.

OK, just finished watching the WA V Vic Metro game from Friday.

Pretty scrappy sort of game with the wind but WA look a way off this year.

Forget Collingwood having a first round pick this year (unless they trade in) as they'll have to use that selection to get Darcy Moore.

Angus Brayshaw looks very, very likely as an inside mid with good skills, while Petracca is just very good (and unlikely to get near our pick).

WA

Too be honest, on this viewing, there isn't a lot to get enthused about. Funnily enough, despite Wright giving the VM mids silver service, I quite liked Billy Frampton. While he seemed to struggle in ruck he is a good size and pretty mobile. Went forward late in the game (once it was well and truly over) and moved pretty well.

Clem Smith (a guy I really liked after watching him last year as a bottom ager) was disappointing. Managed to go for a few runs late in the game but didn't have much impact.

Jarrod Gartlett went on some eye catching runs and kicked a really nice goal against the wind from the pocket. Quick and pretty skilled.

Connor Blakely battled gamely against the odds but didn't stand out until later in the game when he broke away from a few stoppages. Has played a bit of senior footy which will hold in him pretty good stead come draft time. Despite not getting as much of it as previous games I think there is plenty to work with.

Tyler Keitel looks raw. Good size and did one or two nice things. Could be a lot of upside with him and played in defence in the second half.

Ryan Lim found plenty of ball and is that great midfield size of 185-187cm but, to my eye, didn't seem overly efficient by foot. Still, as I often say around this time of year, finding the footy is half the battle.

Aidan Anderson was an interesting one. Like his teammate Blakely he has played a bit of senior footy and he kicked 3 nice goals but probably only had 4 kicks. Could be something to work with but since we have McCarthy and Burbury already I doubt we'd consider someone like him. Bit of potential though.

VM

Daniel Neilson played on the last line and did a good job. He was helped out by WA's tendency to bomb the ball in high but he killed the contest well and was clean enough with his disposal. Wouldn't mind him growing another couple of cms.

Brenton Payne from the Western Jets was super impressive as the second tall. Can take a good grab and kicks well. Did some good things when the ball was on the ground too. Looks a bit skinny but you'd hope he'd fill out over the first couple of years at an AFL club. At least in this game he did just as well as Moore I thought.

The Jets have a couple of good ones this year (been a while) and Jayden Laverde looks a serious prospect as a tall mid.

Damien Cavka got a lot of the ball and ran out the game well. Wasn't dazzling but a very solid outing and did everything with a minimum of fuss.

The one who really stood out though was Paul Ahern. A really impressive game by this kid. Kicked goals and, in tough conditions, used the footy pretty well. I couldn't help thinking Ahern is like a reverse Darcy Lang. Where Lang is an inside player who can get on the outside and run, Ahern is an outside player who can go and get his own ball when needed. An ability to carry the ball and spread from contests was noticeable. Looking forward to watching him again.

Black Booker: Liam Duggan. Didn't really do too much but there was something about him when he did get the ball. I think he could be a very good player.

The Pivotonian , nice write up agree with pretty much all. I agree , like the look Laverde 189 a nice size across back. Seemed to make his own time a bit

One kid who took my eye who you have not mentioned was
Jordan De Goey (VIC – Fwd/Mid) , http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-06-26/de-goeys-hard-lesson

He seems a nice mix inside and outside , can kick a long goal. Haven't seen much of him but something appealed. Looked to have a good size to build on as well

The Pivotonian , nice write up agree with pretty much all. I agree , like the look Laverde 189 a nice size across back. Seemed to make his own time a bit

One kid who took my eye who you have not mentioned was
Jordan De Goey (VIC – Fwd/Mid) , http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-06-26/de-goeys-hard-lesson

He seems a nice mix inside and outside , can kick a long goal. Haven't seen much of him but something appealed. Looked to have a good size to build on as well
Yeah, the commentators talked De Goey up a bit but I wasn't that impressed with his game. Showed some glimpses but I didn't think there was anything overly special there.

Obviously it is just one viewing so I may well change my opinion on him.

Perception. I mean, Anderson didn't touch it yet I think there was something there to work with. Lots would disagree.

EDIT: to add to the whole "perception" thing. On the game at Skilled I was pretty happy with Payne's output compared against Moore (assumed to be a 1st Rounder). Yet looking at the Draft Board I noticed a more learned punter than I has Payne being a rookie selection.

Clearly I've only see Payne once but, based on that, I reckon he'd be a terrific bloody rookie. :eek:

Everyone sees things differently.

Mitchell is like getting Troy Menzel. Great idea but not gonna happen. He is pulling 60 touches a game in the NSW VFL and can't get a gig in the ones. Swans will have some MF retirements soon and he will slot right in. No chance he leaves… and he's a FS too. Their price, like Carlton with Tenzel wold be horrendous.

GO Catters

Harder to get than Menzel I reckon but you don't want to die wondering, heck I hope they try.

One I thought was interesting in the draft is Tom Lamb, bit of a Bontempelli type, got the freakish skillset possibly a little raw like MB but definite similarities, stands about 193cm.
They said MB was raw talent and would take time, but how wrong were they saying that!
Goes through the midfield, likes to move fwd, mark and kick goals, interesting type.

Yeah, the commentators talked De Goey up a bit but I wasn't that impressed with his game. Showed some glimpses but I didn't think there was anything overly special there.

Obviously it is just one viewing so I may well change my opinion on him.

Perception. I mean, Anderson didn't touch it yet I think there was something there to work with. Lots would disagree.

EDIT: to add to the whole "perception" thing. On the game at Simonds I was pretty happy with Payne's output compared against Moore (assumed to be a 1st Rounder). Yet looking at the Draft Board I noticed a more learned punter than I has Payne being a rookie selection.

Clearly I've only see Payne once but, based on that, I reckon he'd be a terrific bloody rookie. :eek:

Everyone sees things differently.

How right you are , opinions are neither right or wrong , its just opinion.
To be honest I hardly heard any comments , the commentary tend to annoy me. So condescending. I liked his body shape , certainly like the goal and it made me say Id like to see more of him.

How right you are , opinions are neither right or wrong , its just opinion.
To be honest I hardly heard any comments , the commentary tend to annoy me. So condescending. I liked his body shape , certainly like the goal and it made me say Id like to see more of him.
See, I still see it as Skilled. :D

:oops:

See, I still see it as Skilled. :D

:oops:

And you are not alone , stuffed if I know why people pay for changing the name when years down the track they still call it Shell or Skilled or what ever. Flushing money , I'm surprised Cook hasn't been stronger on it in the media if he wants to keep the $$$$$$$$

Skilled are very happy with the situation though. ;)

I still haven't gotten around to watching the VC V SA game but did anyone (Turbocat, year of the cat??) get a look at the other Caleb? As in Marchbank?

Tallish defender and seems to be putting together a solid carnival. Just wondering if anyone has seen him yet (I know I have the game but interested in other people's thoughts).

I still haven't gotten around to watching the VC V SA game but did anyone (Turbocat, year of the cat??) get a look at the other Caleb? As in Marchbank?

Tallish defender and seems to be putting together a solid carnival. Just wondering if anyone has seen him yet (I know I have the game but interested in other people's thoughts).

I too have not looked at much of it , bit of the last quarter thats all. Strong wind , a one sided score and a strong defense from SA in Q4 made it almost impossible to rate players.

Peeps were talking about going for another ruck as we have Hmac, Daws and Blitz. What about Ben Griffiths from Rihmond. Seems to be on the out with Dimma and can't get a run. Goes up for one game and goes back down next week consistently. Bloke destroyed us in the VFL game V Tigers earlier in the year and marked everything on a wet shitty day..

Just a thought….. would be cheap….

GO Catters

Peeps were talking about going for another ruck as we have Hmac, Daws and Blitz. What about Ben Griffiths from Rihmond. Seems to be on the out with Dimma and can't get a run. Goes up for one game and goes back down next week consistently. Bloke destroyed us in the VFL game V Tigers earlier in the year and marked everything on a wet shitty day..

GO Catters

At pick 19 2009, sounds like he can play forward and back, must be fairly agile given he's 200/102 on their books. HMac will not last long imo, just don't think he's mobile enough.

Beats trying to make something out of a skinny rookie or late pick when this guy was a P19 and is AFL size right now.
As you said, would come cheap for a little insurance and sounds like he can play.

GO Catters

I suppose it depends what it would cost us but would be good to have another back up ruckman at the club - and one with some potential to get better.

I wonder if we could trade THunt for him ?

No haven't seen it either Pivo. I have only seen highlights of Marchbank and he certainly looks like a player. Reports are that he is reliable and an excellent decision maker. Good footskills and a handy intercept mark. I'm just not too sure whether he is the big-bodied defender that we really need. He looks to me to be more like JK in build. Not quite big enough to play on the monsters. Still with Taylor our only key defender in the AFL under 30 I think we need to be considering players like Marchbank.

If you look at a potential senior team in 2016 then we have some gaping holes down back. We definitely lose Enright, Lonergan and Rivers with Mackie probably only a further year away. Bews and Thurlow come in for Enright and that other small defenders role. I'm comfortable with those two being good players for us. But we have to find players to fill the other positions. The jury is well and truly out on Hamling. JK looks a player from what we have seen. I don't know about Brown playing down back? I really think that 2015 has to be the year to be getting games into the likes of Hamling and JK. We need both to have big summers in the gym too. Hamling finally needs to stack the weight on.

And then there is the ruck issue..

Watched a bit tonight, gee its almost not worth it. VC played so poorly. Its almost a wasted game. I cant remember to many games like this , wonder its a consequence of them changing the system , and the side is just tired or too young.

Durdin did a couple of nice things , Stretch as well , do well if the get him for an R2 or later. Doubt too may decisions would be made on this game.

Some talk Tom Lamb might slide a little on the back of a not so stellar carnival so far, but still ok. Might see us with a chance we wouldn't otherwise have got.
I'd say if we took Lang with our P16, we'd be silly not to grab Lamb if he falls far enough to us.

Some talk Tom Lamb might slide a little on the back of a not so stellar carnival so far, but still ok. Might see us with a chance we wouldn't otherwise have got.
I'd say if we took Lang with our P16, we'd be silly not to grab Lamb if he falls far enough to us.

Hard to judge pm the two games , it would be on the back of other performances which I have not scene. Probably a question for those that have seen a lot of him, as always who will be there.. So other kid may slide as well , meanwhile so kid comes with rush.

Yeah you're right Turbo, Depends on where their priorities are but Geelong are usually midfield first, then usually utility/mid, this guy is a Mr Versatile and supposed elite big tank.
Laverde is another big mid/ute.

Right, SA V VC now out of the way.

Rubbish game, Vic Country were pretty poor but with the conditions it wasn't easy.

For the winners...SA

I'm pretty sure we all know that Caleb Daniel was best on. Very easy to spot as well since he dons the helmet. Was in everything with 27 touches, 8 tackles and 3 goals. The stats men had him operating at 96% which, considering the conditions is bloody impressive going (although, as I have argued with some AFL players, the fact Daniel handballed 15 times probably keeps his efficiency up since it is easier to hit the man at a closer range...but that is a minor gripe). He was impressive, a good kick (3 goals in tricky conditions) and just kept running. BUT....his size really worries me. At under 170cms I worry how he'd go against guys 185-190cm. Small forward might be his position to begin with. He is tiny.

Harrison Wigg is probably another name that people will have been hearing since the commencement of the carnival as he has been racking up touches (I assume off half-back since that is where he was stationed for this game). Left footer who knows how to find it. Considered an elite user by foot (windy conditions probably hampered him a bit as he turned a few kicks over) and set up a number of SA attacks.

The guy I liked most on the day is actually an under aged player, Stephen Tahana. Threw himself around and seemed to know when to come off his man to help a teammate. Tidy user of the ball. Be one to look out for next year.

Callum Wilkie was pretty unobtrusive down back but just got the job done and shared duties on both Lamb and Goddard (when he went forward late), with Hayes (who also was alright). At 192cm, Wilkie is a bit of a tweener and is likely to be suited to that 3rd tall role. But did a really nice blanketing role on a couple of highly rated players.

Another name that I hadn't heard much about coming in to the comp but played a good game in the midfield was Corey Gregson. Nowhere near as eye catching as Daniel but had 3 clearances, 7 tackles and 9 of his 13 touches were contested. Like Daniel, a little on the small side for my liking but he played a good game.

Sturt stablemates James Rose and Dean Gore both did some nice things while the two SA rucks (Miller and Read also looked promising).

Durdin, even coming off an injury, looks a top 5 prospect. Took some really good marks. Just looks a player.

And for VC...

By all accounts Hugh Goddard has had a poor-ish Champs (by his standards). He is a great size and there was a patch where he clunked a couple of nice marks. But his kicking looked super lazy (one step jobs). You can tell he has talent but, like a few of his teammates on the day, looked a little disinterested.

McCartin did alright from very limited supply while a guy I was really keen to see, Billy Evans, couldn't get a touch (the few he did get were OK but he was disappointing).

Caleb Marchbank did a few nice things and worked into the game as it wore on as did Daniel Caprion but their performances weren't really anything to write home about.

Country's best player, I thought, was Teia Miles. He worked tirelessly and found the footy 19 times. Like Daniel, Miles was operating at a high efficiency and, again like Daniel, Miles handballed more than he kicked. But he was good and was all over the ground displaying pretty good fitness and an ability to know where to run.

Lukas Webb was another who worked his way into the game but his disposal wasn't all that good. The fact he looked like he was having a dip ensured he got a nod from me.

After halftime, particularly in the 3rd, Jordan Cunico, started to provide a bit of outside drive and provided some link through the midfield. He looked pretty likely.

Maishmen, Mathieson and Drummond (although his disposal was ordinary, would like to see him under the roof) also get a mention.

For a side so highly rated, it was a forgettable day for the Country side. I recorded their game today at Docklands so I look forward to seeing a few of their guys where the conditions won't be a factor.

Harrison Wigg is probably another name that people will have been hearing since the commencement of the carnival as he has been racking up touches (I assume off half-back since that is where he was stationed for this game). Left footer who knows how to find it. Considered an elite user by foot (windy conditions probably hampered him a bit as he turned a few kicks over) and set up a number of SA attacks.

This guy is one I quite like the look of. Has a kick like Suckling but far harder at the man when he hasn't got the ball. He's been consistently good these championships from what I have seen.

Will be interesting to see the WA v VC game. Smith had a better one and Keitel played down back and was impressive. Your man Blakely was also good.