2014 Rookie Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Doggies7

It's true. Macca really sorted out the list for us.
Absolutely, he has put the building blocks in place and set some really high standards at this club. When/if someone else manages to get any sort of success out of this list I hope we give a bit of credit to Macca, he will be a huge part of that success, even though he couldn't be the one to take us there himself.

Lol at people hanging off Goodes' VFL GF medal as if its some sort of bonafide pass for a spot on the list.

It was another classic case of the match day medal awarding panel getting things wrong.

Jong, Jones and Campbell were all ahead of him and thats saying something as I think Liam Jones is a POS. Goodes' performance was on the tier of Fogarty, Russell and Greenwood, good but not a standout performance.

His medal seemed to be political i.e:
- a player that has always been in the VFL and thus 'embodies' it. An afl listed footscray player like Jong winning it would not do much for the VFL.
- name well known to the commentators/voting panel (they blew their wad every time Goodes did something),
- a good news VFL story in that he got on an AFL list and had some modicum of success late in his career; and
- a 31 yo playing in his 3rd or so VFL GF (can he win one more?, lets make him a VFL great).

Lol at people hanging off Goodes' VFL GF medal as if its some sort of bonafide pass for a spot on the list.

It was another classic case of the match day medal awarding panel getting things wrong.

Jong, Jones and Campbell were all ahead of him and thats saying something as I think Liam Jones is a POS. Goodes' performance was on the tier of Fogarty, Russell and Greenwood, good but not a standout performance.

- a player that has always been in the VFL and thus 'embodies' it. An afl listed footscray player like Jong winning it would not do much for the VFL.
- name well known to the commentators/voting panel (they blew their wad every time Goodes did something),
- a good news VFL story in that he got on an AFL list and had some modicum of success late in his career; and
- a 31 yo playing in his 3rd or so VFL GF (can he win one more?, lets make him a VFL great).
i've watched the game within the last 45 minutes and sorry to say but Goodes was easily BOG. Jong and Jones did finish in a canter though

Just did a little empirical research on our rookie drafts back to 1997

From 1997 – 2013 we’ve drafted 45 players

Players of note/playing and still have a reasonable chance of adding to their tally:
M Boyd – 239 games (2001)
D Morris – 193 games (2004)
L Picken – 129 games (2008)
L Dahlhaus – 71 games (2010)
J Harbrow – 70 games (2006)
A Contessa – 40 games (1998)
J Johannisen - 29 games (2010)
M Austin - 29 games (2011)
T Campbell – 20 games (2011)
B Goodes – 15 games (2012)
L Jong – 10 games (2011)

Few others like Moles, Hooper and Mulligan played a handful.

What is evident:
From 1997 (where i started) to 2003, 17 players were drafted of which only 2 (Contessa and Boyd) played (12%).

From 2004 to 2009, 18 players were drafted with around half of that figure playing AFL. 3 key players were unearthed though in Morris, Harbrow and Picken (17% key player return).

From 2010 to 2013, 10 players were drafted (0 in 2013 though), however 6 of those players are listed above and at least 4 have the opportunity to progress their careers in the future.

Basically up to 2009 it equated to a decent player every 2.5 RD’s. Since then, including the guys above, we’ve managed to recruit say 4 players (JJ, Dahl, TC and LJ) with a future – 1 decent player every RD. The interesting part is that this includes the period of 2012-2013 where we took Goodes with the only pick, then had 0 picks in 2013.

The RD has been an important part of list management, and is becoming moreso in the most recent years, however will the 2012-2013 drought and this years’ 50% recycling leave us short a player or two when we’re challenging?

*Player (U/age and AFL) development and identification must be acknowledged as a contributor in the recent success of the RD for us .

It's been a very long time since our off season has been as unsettling and bewildering as this one.

This year is Probably only behind the shenanigans of 1989.

Thus again we must lower our expectations - rebuild refresh restructure remold whatever it is

Without the weekly confrontation with reality the off season belongs to the true believers

Not one of these sub 182 cm picks could be sacrificed for a single ruck forward back with any height

We must be in the premiership window loading up for an attack

It's all a hoax

Just did a little empirical research on our rookie drafts back to 1997

From 1997 – 2013 we’ve drafted 45 players

Players of note/playing and still have a reasonable chance of adding to their tally:
M Boyd – 239 games (2001)
D Morris – 193 games (2004)
L Picken – 129 games (2008)
L Dahlhaus – 71 games (2010)
J Harbrow – 70 games (2006)
A Contessa – 40 games (1998)
J Johannisen - 29 games (2010)
M Austin - 29 games (2011)
T Campbell – 20 games (2011)
B Goodes – 15 games (2012)
L Jong – 10 games (2011)

Few others like Moles, Hooper and Mulligan played a handful.

What is evident:
From 1997 (where i started) to 2003, 17 players were drafted of which only 2 (Contessa and Boyd) played (12%).

From 2004 to 2009, 18 players were drafted with around half of that figure playing AFL. 3 key players were unearthed though in Morris, Harbrow and Picken (17% key player return).

From 2010 to 2013, 10 players were drafted (0 in 2013 though), however 6 of those players are listed above and at least 4 have the opportunity to progress their careers in the future.

Basically up to 2009 it equated to a decent player every 2.5 RD’s. Since then, including the guys above, we’ve managed to recruit say 4 players (JJ, Dahl, TC and LJ) with a future – 1 decent player every RD. The interesting part is that this includes the period of 2012-2013 where we took Goodes with the only pick, then had 0 picks in 2013.

The RD has been an important part of list management, and is becoming moreso in the most recent years, however will the 2012-2013 drought and this years’ 50% recycling leave us short a player or two when we’re challenging?

*Player (U/age and AFL) development and identification must be acknowledged as a contributor in the recent success of the RD for us .
Great work.

What would be interesting would be to compare our Rookie Draft selections to say a Hawthorn or other top 4 side over the same period and see how they're different.

I wonder how many clubs allocate Rookie picks to development type players versus "the next best". Taking the latter may affect your structure in the longer term if there are a shortage of decent talls? Taking project players is a risk if you don't have adequate development processes? Also, did the years of the compromised draft affect a clubs willingness to take a punt in the RD?

Someone will write a book one day...

Fair go - Mattdougie has said that it is his opinion and his eyes (I guess his judgement) tell him Hrovat won't make it. I don't agree with MD on this issue, but surely it is a reasonable opinion to have given that Hrovat hasn't set the world on fire just yet.

And I like that MD didn't belittle Hrovat - unlike some of the piss weak denigration of Brett Goodes by some on here. Fair enough to not rate a player, but there is no need to use derogatory language for anyone who pulls on the hoops for our club.

Couldn't agree more. Leave Goodes be. Geezus...you'd think he was a criminal with the way some people carry on. As a Rookie you could hardly say he's doing it for the coin.

He loves the club and the boys he plays with. I'd give my left nut to run out in our jumper and am envious of everyone that does.

Sorry mate but Goodes was BOG in that game. Only one that came close was Jong who was brilliant for periods but Goodes was more consistent.

I'm sorry guys but is Hrovat a rookie? No? Then just please give this a rest, take it to a relevant thread or make your own.

Okay Rookie draft.
I like the looks of Smith as he provides another point of difference to our young talented mids in Bonts, Macrae, Stringer and Hrovat. We looked to really put a premium on skills and playing fast this off-season, I'm happy with this.

I'm not sure on Kelly and would be interested to see if he ends up either a back or mid. I guess Bev knows more about him than most so will have to trust him.

Goodes gives us cover if a mature body goes down (surely that's worth a rookie spot) and Pearce has some chance as that lockdown small defender.

Jordan Kelly can play, doesn't have any x-factor, just plays football, does most things right, nothing outstanding. Could slot in at half-back or midfield at the Dogs, probably half-back given the strength of the midfield there.

Why'd he get delisted from the Hawks?

Happy with the first 2 picks, both seem to have something that could be of use to the team. Wasn't phased either way with the re-listing of Pearce, has't really shown me anything to excite me, but has had a shocking run with injury this year so happy to give him a another crack. Bewildered by the Goodes re-listing, understand the arguments people have mentioned about the need for a mature body, but if that was the case i would rather draft a big bodied 25 year old from the VFL who hasn't had a chance, Goodes has had plenty of chances and from what i have seen his skills are not up to AFL level. By all means he seems like a real asset to have at the club, why not play him at Footscray and employ him a coaching/mentor role.

I wanted a KPD as a back up but at this late in the draft there most likely wasn't much around, but i can't believe the club couldn't have found a really good solid midfielder in his mid 20's to give a chance to. Disappointing but we move on.

On a side note, i love big footy, it gives all of us a chance to express our opinions, but reckon some of the guys who have different opinions to the majority seem to be really chastised on here lately, just because they don't agree with who the club has picked, people seem to think that means they don't still love the club. Reckon it is a shame.